Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC Fight Night Moscow - Hunt vs Oleinik - Sat 15/10/18 - 7pm BT Sport 2

• 15-09-2018 1:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭

106c0fk.jpg

Nice early card tonight, prelims (FightPass only) start at 3.45pm, main card will be finished by 9.30 pm.

Prinks in the gaff and then into town for a few more is my plan of action.

Who ya got in the main event?

I love both lads but hoping for a Hunto walk off and an early night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

taisumov up in a couple of mins, on a tear bigtime
    this should be decent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

It's been an entertaining card so far in the most part.

This Yan v Son fight is very entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

no idea why he didnt stop that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭tinpib

Just flicked over now. Nice to be watching it live for a change. Have Abdurakhimov here, then also Blochowicz and Hunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Arvolski did well to survive that barrage against the cage. Surprised his chin held up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,532 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Awful fight, didn’t have it 30-27 but I think they got the winner right at least.

Lets go, WAR HUNTO!

Those leg kicks are vicious.

When Hnto landed the big right and Aleksei shuck it off you could tell he didn't understand how the fight wasn't over.

Aleksei did will to get the takedown and finish it. He wasn't going to last much longer on the feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,532 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

He makes it look so easy, like a heavyweight Maia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,587 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Delighted Hunt got beaten there!

Always strikes me as too lazy relying on a big punch

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Auroras_encore

Aye fat lad gets beat big shock

What a shame these two lads are the wrong side of 40. Would be great if they were in their prime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

How was that a main event?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Reckon Hunt hangs up the gloves later this year at ufc Adelaide

The casuals out in force showing no respect to a legend of combat sports.

ricero wrote: »

1 fight left on his contract, took no damage there, makes sense for a quick turn around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

Casuals because I questioned why a 44 year old who’s best days are behind him is headlining an event in the first UFC in a new country. Makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,587 ✭✭✭The White Feather

That looked like Hunt landed his big punch and when it didn't get him out of there he seemed to give up

9 pm and the card is over. Feels awful strange.

Decent card, disappointed to see Hunt lose. Looking forward to seeing Yan and Son fight again. Yan could do very well in that bantamweight division.

1 fight left on his contract, took no damage there, makes sense for a quick turn around.

What I mean is that unfrt they are near the end of their careers, I've been following MMA for about 4 years so only seeing the tail end of Hunt which is a shame.

Really like watching that Oleinik guy too, as someone said he like a heavyweight Meia. It would only be a matter of time before he would get a title shot fighting like that if he were 28 instead of 41.

edit: looks like you replied to me by mistake.

ricero wrote: »

8th vs 11 in the rankings in a non-ppv event, one massive name and one big name in Russia. Was a good card over all and a better headliner than most fight night cards. Hunto might be 44 but he's always going to be a risk for anyone in the octagon.

tinpib wrote: »
    What I mean is that unfrt they are near the end of their careers, I've been following MMA for about 4 years so only seeing the tail end of Hunt which is a shame.

Really like watching that Oleinik guy too, as someone said he like a heavyweight Meia. It would only be a matter of time before he would get a title shot fighting like that if he were 28 instead of 41.

edit: looks like you replied to me by mistake.

I did, quoted you by mistake, but I agree with you. It's a pity Hunt didn't get to MMA until he was a bit older and didn't get a decent run in the UFC until he was 40 odd but he was great to see his career over all from K1 through Pride to now, he's always game for a scrap and always has the potential to wreck someone with a big right.

Same with Oleinik, would have been interesting to see how he did in the UFC when he was closer to his prime but even now his ground game is such a high level he makes it exciting to watch even though he moves like he's make from plywood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,269 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Is Hunt a "legend" of the sport? Really?!

The Nal wrote: »
    Is Hunt a "legend" of the sport? Really?!

Of course he is. He's been around forever and beaten some of the best heavyweights of all time. The fact that he's still a top 10 fighter in his mid 40s is incredible. Not just a legend of MMA but a legend of combat sports in general.

Hmmm. Hes lost half of his fights. In kickboxing too.

He lost 6 in a row before and lost 6 of his last 12 or something. Lost to Overeem, Miocic, Werdum, Dos Santos, Mousasi, Fedor, Barnett.....

Love him and all, very entertaining but the throwing legend about is a bit strong.

He lost 6 in a row before and lost 6 of his last 12 or something. Lost to Overeem, Miocic, Werdum, Dos Santos, Mousasi, Fedor, Barnett.....

Love him and all, very entertaining but the throwing legend about is a bit strong.

Wow, I'm pretty sure that will be an opinion not shared by many.

He is definitely a legend. He has pretty much fought every top heavyweight possible and there is no shame at all in losing to any of those people mentioned above. I wonder how many of them were on 'supplements' too. He has wins against Wanderlai Silva and Cro Cop back in pride days and against Bigfoot Silva. He has had some quick loses and quick wins but he's also been involved in some of the most entertaining heavyweight fights in UFC history.

Whelo79 wrote: »
    Wow, I'm pretty sure that will be an opinion not shared by many.

He is definitely a legend. He has pretty much fought every top heavyweight possible and there is no shame at all in losing to any of those people mentioned above. I wonder how many of them were on 'supplements' too. He has wins against Wanderlai Silva and Cro Cop back in pride days and against Bigfoot Silva. He had had some quick lists and quick wins but he's also been involved in some of the most entertaining heavyweight fights in UFC history.

I think its just semantics so. Hes clearly a very entertaining fighter and a good bloke. I've watched a load of his fights too. Just think "legend" is a bit much.

He does seem to be one of the very few clean heavyweights though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

A lot of his losses came from having no grappling when he crossed over to MMA. That run of 6 losses you mention, 5 were submissions. And a Manhoff KO.
    He's kickboxing record is 30-13. And the guys he lost two, are some of the HW kickboxing greats. Semmy Schilt, Jérôme Le Banner, Crocop, Ray Sefo, Enersto Hoost.

Is winning/losing a factor in legendary status? Not for me tbh.
    Nobody is saying he is the GOAT. He's game had holes in it for a long time. But he was always a very dangerous fighter. He deserves legend status based on who he has fought, not the results.

Posts like “Aye fat lad gets beat big shock” are hilariously ignorant.

Mellor wrote: »
    A lot of his losses came from having no grappling when he crossed over to MMA. That run of 6 losses you mention, 5 were submissions. And a Manhoff KO.
    He's kickboxing record is 30-13. And the guys he lost two, are some of the HW kickboxing greats. Semmy Schilt, Jérôme Le Banner, Crocop, Ray Sefo, Enersto Hoost.

Is winning/losing a factor in legendary status? Not for me tbh.
    Nobody is saying he is the GOAT. He's game had holes in it for a long time. But he was always a very dangerous fighter. He deserves legend status based on who he has fought, not the results.

Win/loss is important for me in legendary status yeah. I think it should be as standard. Crossing over to MMA with no grappling isn't a good thing. Like saying a fighter kept getting KO'd because he has no boxing.

Maybe hes legendary in an entertaining aspect, Ill accept that!
    Mellor wrote: »
    Posts like “Aye fat lad gets beat big shock” are hilariously ignorant.

Agree 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Crossing over to MMA with no grappling isn't a good thing
    I agree completely in terms of the modern game. But Hunt started in a different era. Some of those old Pride cards were insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Bisping had this chat on his podcast yesterday and said no way is hunt an MMA or even UFC legend. I'd have to agree. He's just an average, fat fighter who had some fun knockouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Bisping had this chat on his podcast yesterday and said no way is hunt an MMA or even UFC legend.

How does Bisping describe himself? Generic journeyman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Effects wrote: »

Ultimate Fight Winner and Former World Champion I'm guessing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭ASOT

callaway92 wrote: »
    Ultimate Fight Winner and Former World Champion I'm guessing

Proper legend of the sport to be fair to him. I'd also call Hunt a legend though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Effects wrote: »

- Most wins in UFC history
    - Former middleweight UFC champion
    - TUF winner
    - Former Cage Warriors champion
    - Numerous wins in two different weight classes at the highest level of the sport

Hunt is 13-13 in MMA and went on a 6 fight losing streak between 2006-2010.

I like Hunt but Bisping and Hunt’s achievements in the sport cannot be compared. Bisping is on another level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Paully D wrote: »
    6 fight losing streak between 2006-2010.

That's a hard enough thing to keep fighting through tbh.