Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2018 - Round 14 – Monza

• 28-08-2018 10:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭

After Vettel got full points in Spa, he returns to the track where he won his first race. Ferrari should have a distinct advantage here, from their engine and the tifosi.

DlmxWTNUwAEhgsV.jpg:small

All sessions on Sky F1 and the Online Service
    Friday August 31st Free Practice 1, 10:00-11.30
    Friday August 31st, FP2, 14:00-15.30
    Saturday September 1st, FP3, 11:00-12:00
    Saturday September 1st, Qualifying, 14:00-15:00
    Sunday September 2nd, Race, 14.10-16.10

Weather looks like sunshine, warm and nice.

Predictions:
    Ferrari win
    Less than three overtakes between the top teams
    Sauber in the points
    Snorefest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I have some bad news for Eir customers on Saturday, because they hoovered up the Pro 14 rugby rights, they won't show qualifying until 7.30pm. No FP3 coverage at all.
    Channel 4 highlights air first at 5pm.
    Race will be live on Eir however with Channel 4 highlights at 6.45pm.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Surely they can utilise the Xtra channels on both satellite and the app?

We need to get onto them via Twitter to sort this out.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

The pre-race Paddock Pass is up. I look forward to it every race. Quality viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭Harika

Pouring rain in monza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Harika wrote: »
    Pouring rain in monza

If only it was Sunday.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

astrofluff wrote: »
    Surely they can utilise the Xtra channels on both satellite and the app?

We need to get onto them via Twitter to sort this out.

Exactly.
    They have what, 3 or 4 eir sport channels. Surely one could be used, there's nothing else ever on them

BT have no trouble using the Xtra channels when a sports programme is running over.

Let's see if Lando keeps it on the black in this wet session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,904 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

Good man Checo, Force India 1st & 3rd at the end of FP1.

*I know it was wet and the big teams didn't really bother going for a quick lap but Checo was faster than Kimi :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

flazio wrote: »
    I have some bad news for Eir customers on Saturday, because they hoovered up the Pro 14 rugby rights, they won't show qualifying until 7.30pm. No FP3 coverage at all.
    Channel 4 highlights air first at 5pm.
    Race will be live on Eir however with Channel 4 highlights at 6.45pm.

Ah jaysus. :(

Monza is potentially another snoozefest. I think I'll watch both qualy and race highlights on C4. Can't handle another Sky qualy/race.

Some smash by Ericsson right at the start of FP2. Red flag.

Just saw a clip of it, that was a massive accident. Was the DRS stuck open? Looked like the car just veered off to the left when he hit the brakes

Yeah DRS didn't close. When the session resumed, Charles went out and tested the DRS and it wouldn't close either so they boxed him straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

That was a nasty crash alright.

Top 6
    Vettel
    Kimi
    Lewis
    Bottas
    Max
    Dani

As far as I am aware Vettel was on ss and Kimi on s tyres.
    He was only +0.270 behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,837 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Seen it on Sky news. Looked very bad alright. Was he taken to hospital and does he have any injuries?

How long was the session red flagged for?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

He was back in the pits soon after. Wasn't red flagged for that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Roughly 20 minutes.
    Here's a look at the accident.
    Apologies for the poor sound quality.

In case the embed doesn't work. https://youtu.be/tVnIMZcK_BA

This too shall pass.

Few rain drops falling now, the clouds look nasty. That new surface on the start/finish straight seemed to be holding plenty of water in the GP3 race this morning. Things could be very messy if the rain really comes down

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

skipper_G wrote: »
    Things could be very messy if the rain really comes down

I love messy!

2011 wrote: »
    I love messy!

Unfortunately looks like it's brightened up again, rain looks unlikely at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Vandoorne & Hartley for the sack surely

What a blunder, Perez out in Q1 because he was sitting in the pits and not on track. Costly mistake by them. Both Williams through, Vandoorne out qualified again, dead last.

Cmon the rain. Give us a shower from now till the end,.

Vandoorne & Hartley for the sack surely

Vandoorne is a lost cause at this stage, he's reached Dani Kvyat levels of broken. His head is completely shot, he's quick as his junior record shows but seems to be too mentally fragile and can't handle the pressure of F1. Might be better off going elsewhere to try and rebuild his reputation, sportscars or formula e maybe. Wherever Alonso isn't so people won't compare them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Simon Gruber Says

Stroll into Q3. First time for Williams this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Inviere

Seb has this comfortably. I don't think Mercedes have any answers to Ferrari, and both are on Spec 3 engines. I see Seb reeling Lewis in over the next races, and pulling away strongly by the end of the season.

Hamilton, Kimi and Vettel all within a tenth of each other. Bottas 6 tenths away from them, that's a mile off the pace by today's standards

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

Inviere wrote: »
    Seb has this comfortably. I don't think Mercedes have any answers to Ferrari, and both are on Spec 3 engines.

Might not be that straight forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Go Kimi!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Simon Gruber Says

Go on Kimi!!

Kimi ..............

Go on Kimi ye salty old dog ye. What a finish to qualy!

That should keep the home crowd happy.

Guess for tomorrow, Bottas out brakes himself into the Ferraris

Fantastic!

Vettel not happy with giving Raikonen a tow

Kimi's wife crying and everything, I'm not his biggest fan and want to see Leclerc take his seat but that's got to be an amazing feeling for him

Kimi is hallarious! Such an odd ball but I really am a fan.

Lots off boos for Hamilton. Although he irritates me I think he should be treated with respect.

Delighted for Kimi, really shuffed for him. Arrivabene looked so happy too hugging Mintu. Unfortunately, I don't think he'll be allowed to hold it and take the win tomorrow, but fingers crossed for him.

The boo's for Lewis :D He had to be expecting that though. Can't say I like seeing any driver being boo'd though

Have Grosjean's eyebrows disappeared?

2011 wrote: »
    Lots off boos for Hamilton. Although he irritates me I think he should be treated with respect.

Absolutely agree, but there are a few places where it is guaranteed to happen and Monza is one of those places.

That Vettel radio was hilarious!

Good day for Williams as well both cars Q2 & Stroll Q3 . Stroll did really well.

Vandoorne is done I think, what a crap way to have your career go. Crap car this year, crap engine last year. And Alonso as your team mate. It took two races with him telling his team the car physically had something wrong with it before spa and not been listened isn't a helping either. Pity seemed like he had potential.

Hartley for toro Rosso probably knows he is gone too. That far from Gasly too many times. Although Red Bull have no young drivers to come through he could keep his seat.Some how Honda are making progress. These tracks are their bad tracks and 9 nine is really good. 11 really if Riccardo and Hulk ran properly but still not bad

RPFI no Idea what they were doing with Perez but at least that's 3 drivers at the back how should be overtaking for most of the race tomorrow. Good show from no Seat Ocon again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Joeface wrote: »
    Good day for Williams as well both cars Q2 & Stroll Q3 . Stroll did really well.

Vandoorne is done I think, what a crap way to have your career go. Crap car this year, crap engine last year. And Alonso as your team mate. It took two races with him telling his team the car physically had something wrong with it before spa and not been listened isn't a helping either. Pity seemed like he had potential.

Hartley for toro Rosso probably knows he is gone too. That far from Gasly too many times. Although Red Bull have no young drivers to come through he could keep his seat.Some how Honda are making progress. These tracks are their bad tracks and 9 nine is really good. 11 really if Riccardo and Hulk ran properly but still not bad

RPFI no Idea what they were doing with Perez but at least that's 3 drivers at the back how should be overtaking for most of the race tomorrow. Good show from no Seat Ocon again.

Wonder if Ocon might spend a year at TR

Raikkonen is now officially the 8th oldest pole sitter in F1 history.

skipper_G wrote: »
    Vandoorne is a lost cause at this stage, he's reached Dani Kvyat levels of broken. His head is completely shot, he's quick as his junior record shows but seems to be too mentally fragile and can't handle the pressure of F1. Might be better off going elsewhere to try and rebuild his reputation, sportscars or formula e maybe. Wherever Alonso isn't so people won't compare them

Yeah, I don't see him beating Alonso if he manages to finish the season with McLaren.

Even Kvyat wasn't that bad, as TR are looking to bring him back.

Vandoorne reminds me of Alex Zanardi with the performances prior to getting to F1 and during.

He'll want to avoid all series that Alonso goes to in future as you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Hamilton is 7/2 to finish on the podium tomorrow. Max is 1/8 and Bottas 2/1.Surely a clerical mistake there.
    Get on that!!!

https://www.paddypower.com/motor-sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

Wow, can't believe Montoyas record has stood all this time. Like in 2004, outright speed doesn't make for good racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

Just watched on C4. Delighted for Kimi. Stroll did a fairly decent job too.

Hamilton is 7/2 to finish on the podium tomorrow. Max is 1/8 and Bottas 2/1.Surely a clerical mistake there.
    Get on that!!!

https://www.paddypower.com/motor-sport

They've fixed it now and updated to 2/7 :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Was it Magnussen or Alonso who crossed the line first, who should have planned their lap better?

Good to see Stroll do well
    Perez made a bit of a mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Cool_CM wrote: »
    They've fixed it now and updated to 2/7 :-)

I couldnt get on. Sick. Closed my account a few months ago:rolleyes: