Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Caught with ecstasy pills

• 27-08-2018 12:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13

Few days ago a friend (19) of mines house was raided and 75 pills were found he was being co operative with the guards when they came they asked him is there any drugs he said yes and showed them where they were. He has never been in trouble with the guards before. What’s the worst that could happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,677 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I take it they weren't for personal use?

In which case, I'm sure they authorities would class him as a dealer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Sebas1221

sugarman wrote: »
    It'd fall under possession with intent to supply I'd imagine, a fine and up to 12 months imprisonment.

Do you think there defintely will be a conviction since it’s his first time ever getting in trouble with the guards and he was being co operative

It'd fall under possession with intent to supply I'd imagine, a fine and up to 12 months imprisonment.

Do you think there defintely will be a conviction since it’s his first time ever getting in trouble with the guards and he was being co operative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

conviction no doubt id say

He spoke to his solicitor and he said that there more than likely be no conviction but I posted here just to check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Sebas1221 wrote:
    He spoke to his solicitor and he said that there more than likely be no conviction but I posted here just to check

No jail time probably. But I'd say a conviction is nearly certain for 75 pills

Does the fact that he has never been in trouble with the guards before even before he was 18 make a difference here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭zoe 3619

With the amount of pills involved it doesn't look good.
    Whether he gets convicted or not depends on the evidence against him,but I imagine that will be an intent to supply charge?
    Being co-operative isn"t going to dig him out of a hole that deep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Sebas1221 wrote:
    Does the fact that he has never been in trouble with the guards before even before he was 18 make a difference here

Yes. Sentence will be suspended id guess ( not a solicitor )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

Weird that he would admit to having drugs?

KevinCavan wrote: »
    Weird that he would admit to having drugs?

The guards were saying hand it up or if they don’t find anything the sniffer dogs will come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭bilbot79

I think it depends on the value of them. If it goes above a certain amount and there is intent to supply there is a mandatory 10 year sentence which is reduced through various mitigating factors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

Sebas1221 wrote: »
    The guards were saying hand it up or if they don’t find anything the sniffer dogs will come

I’ve never even taken ecstasy, but I’d imagine that was a pure bluff by the guard, wouldn’t imagine the average guard has access to a sniffer dog? Was it the drugs squad, I sound like Snoop Dogg, but actually not into drugs at all myself.:-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

Wont go to prison anyway, probably too late for this advice but get him to tell the guards he chipped in with a few mates to buy them for personal use.

Someone close to him ratted him out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭NOVA MCMXCIV

The co-operation can only be a good thing. You should tell your friend to learn from this, stop whatever he's at – and ultimately, not to worry too much. It's not the end of the world – but it could have been, for someone – had those pills been dodgy. This should be a wake up call to everyone involved. It is not worth it.

Not the end of the world.
    Don't worry too much – but care about it.
    Learn from this!
    You're at a crossroads now.
    One road leads to a sh*t life –
    The other leads to a much more fulfilling one!!

And just to be crystal clear – the fulfilling one is the drug-free one!!!

bilbot79 wrote: »
    I think it depends on the value of them. If it goes above a certain amount and there is intent to supply there is a mandatory 10 year sentence which is reduced through various mitigating factors

They still value pills at a tenner a pop, they havent been that price in over 25 years.

The co-operation can only be a good thing. You should tell your friend to learn from this, stop whatever he's at – and ultimately, not to worry too much. It's not the end of the world – but it could have been, for someone – had those pills been dodgy. This should be a wake up call to everyone involved. It is not worth it.

Not the end of the world.
    Don't worry too much – but care about it.
    Learn from this!
    You're at a crossroads now.
    One road leads to a sh*t life –
    The other leads to a much more fulfilling one!!

And just to be crystal clear – the fulfilling one is the drug-free one!!!

If he does get a conviction does that make jobs harder to get and how long do they stay for do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

How was he being cooperative? They were raiding him for crying out loud! So, does the fact that he prevented his gaff being torn apart by an intensive search earn him brownie points? I doubt it.

If he gave information about his supplier, that would help him, as well as it being a first offense. However, the former would probably be harder to deal with than a few months inside..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭NOVA MCMXCIV

If he does get a conviction does that make jobs harder to get and how long do they stay for do you know?
    I haven't a clue to be honest – I suppose it could, depending on the job – but it's no reason to feel like the world is ending. At 19 – it just might feel like that. The most important thing to remember is – everything can be worked out. The world is not ending – I just hope your friend learns from this...

Hopefully somebody else will come along and answer your question in a more legal respect – good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

thebull85 wrote: »
    They still value pills at a tenner a pop, they havent been that price in over 25 years.
    Challenging that in evidence may be difficult.

It does. If value is €13k or more you could face up to 10 years. For anything under its up to 12 months. Value of 75 pills is only a few hundred.

As I said, probably a fine and suspended sentence being a low enough amount and first time offense.

Should be ok then. Street pricing and Gardai pricing are two very different things. If you had 5k of pills Gardai would probably price at 13k

Victor wrote: »
    Challenging that in evidence may be difficult.

impossible id say.. Their estimate of the street value of drugs are ridiculous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

bilbot79 wrote: »

You have that wrong. If it is above 13k then there is a mandatory minimum 10 year sentence, not a maximum 10 year sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Lock him up and throw away the E's !!

There's a weekends worth there between a few mates, as bull earlier said give this story - there is a problem though that they got a warrant on the basis of drug dealing, which proved somewhat accurate given the find - they may give him a break dependant on other circumstances.

Your friend doesn't seem to have the acumen to be a successful drug dealer so advise him toward early retirement, or at least next time suggest he hold a bag of dummy pills and hand them over when raided!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

It's really silly stuff, isn't it! Best of luck op, a good solicitor is required, won't be cheap

4ensic15 wrote: »
    You have that wrong. If it is above 13k then there is a mandatory minimum 10 year sentence, not a maximum 10 year sentence.

Technically I'm not wrong because I didn't mention if it was minimum or not :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Jobs and travel will be difficult. He'll need to apply for a visa before entering most countries outside the EU and they base their decision on how they treat the crime in their country not ours, so the sentence he receives here has no affect on the decision all they care about is the conviction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Del2005 wrote:
    Jobs and travel will be difficult. He'll need to apply for a visa before entering most countries outside the EU and they base their decision on how they treat the crime in their country not ours, so the sentence he receives here has no affect on the decision all they care about is the conviction.

Jobs and travel will indeed be made more difficult, but I know people with drug convictions, with intent to supply, that have gained access to countries with relative ease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

Sebas1221 wrote:

You should be ok OP.

I was in court about 15 years ago for speeding(90 in a 60). The amount of lads in there for drugs, some for possession, some dealers. The max fine was 100e, all paid back over several months as the said they were out of work. I stood up without a solicitor, the Garda who stopped me didn't show up. I was asked if I was in full time employment, which I was. I got a 300euro fine and 5 penalty points. Perfect system :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

They might not be ecstasy, did he test them or at the very least check pill reports. Lots of fakes out there could end up with a sizable donation to the local rehab center. Seen this happen a few years ago.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

75 is alot. Did someone grass him up?

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Moderator: threads about being caught with drugs are specifically mentioned in the forum charter as prohibited under the rule against legal advice.

This thread is a very good example of the rationale behind that prohibition. Most of the posts in this thread contain legal advice and most if not all of them are wildly inaccurate.

OP, your friend(!) has had the benefit of professional legal advice from a qualified lawyer.

A bunch of anonymous strangers on the internet, who do not know all of the facts, are not going to be in a better position to advise your friend than that solicitor.

Depending on the view taken by AGS, the form of the judge, the district in which the offence took place and a multitude of other factors unknown and unascertained as yet, the outcome in this case could be anything really. But if the solicitor has been confident enough to suggest no conviction will arise, I'd be inclined to ignore any suggestion to the contrary here.

Thread closed.