Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Career in the gardai

• 26-08-2018 4:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10

Hi

I was wondering what life is like in the gardai. Like what do ye do on a day to day basis. Also is it hard to get into some of the specialist units such as the k9, armed response unit and the emergency response unit I think it’s called.

Also do you have any input in where u are stationed or do they decide and can u transfer to another station if you want to i.e closer to home

All replies appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Hi

I was wondering what life is like in the gardai. Like what do ye do on a day to day basis. Also is it hard to get into some of the specialist units such as the k9, armed response unit and the emergency response unit I think it’s called.

Also do you have any input in where u are stationed or do they decide and can u transfer to another station if you want to i.e closer to home

All replies appreciated

You will be stationed wherever the Commissioner believes you will be required. However certainly Dublin natives invariably will get Dublin stations. You can always apply for a transfer to be nearer your home and it is up to the authorities to agree or not.

I'd say that getting into armed units would be competive enough and you would need to show some initiative and inclination e.g. being afraid of guns wouldnt be an asset. From what I know being stationed in the cities gives a lot more options career wise rather than being in some one horse town in rural Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

Edgware wrote: »
    You will be stationed wherever the Commissioner believes you will be required. However certainly Dublin natives invariably will get Dublin stations. You can always apply for a transfer to be nearer your home and it is up to the authorities to agree or not.

A friend of a friend from Sligo was stationed in Ballina Co. Mayo. But that is the minority tbf. 90% are stationed in Dublin as far as I am aware..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Wouldn't say it's particularly amazing at the moment, pay is fairly poor for new recruits, for the responsibilities and dangers involved, shift work to. You d probably be better off heading into a factory, you might get better money for the shifts, far safer to.

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Wouldn't say it's particularly amazing at the moment, pay is fairly poor for new recruits, for the responsibilities and dangers involved, shift work to. You d probably be better off heading into a factory, you might get better money for the shifts, far safer to.

Interesting take on it.. Are you in the AGS can I ask???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

job seeker wrote:
    Interesting take on it.. Are you in the AGS can I ask???

No not at all, not working in that sector at all, just my own opinions, so I could be completely wrong, be very interesting to hear from an actual garda though. I do know a chap that served a couple of year's a few years ago, ran out of it, said wasn't a particularly nice working environment and dangerous to

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    No not at all, not working in that sector at all, just my own opinions, so I could be completely wrong, be very interesting to hear from an actual garda though. I do know a chap that served a couple of year's a few years ago, ran out of it, said wasn't a particularly nice working environment and dangerous to

No, that's fair enough. Neither am I. But every job/career has it's pro's/con's, dangers, perks etc. I guess it's the perspective you look at i front. I do think though that a career in the AGS has a lot to offer. Annually increase in wages, state pension, different daily experiences, the opportunity to help people and make a difference in society, you also have the opportunity to specialise in a variety of department, job security... Just to name a few.

While, you are entitled to your opinion. I wouldn't focus on the bad parts of a career in the AGS. As, for the OP, I wouldn't discourage him/her from aiming to get in to the AGS if that's what they want. Who know's they may like it!? :);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭unattendedbag

Day to day for the first few years on a regular unit will be the same in most stations. Cities are busier than towns but the work is usually the same in its core.

You will have a mixture of beat duty, being in the patrol car, responding to calls and patrolling areas. Also a good few days are spent in the station attending to the public office or doing Gaoler in the cell area. It's rotated to give everyone a change.

Opportunities for specialised units come more often in bigger cities as there is much more happening and more of a chance to make an impression. Also overtime is plentiful in Dublin. Probationers can even double their wages at the moment if they are willing to work enough overtime.

The dog unit, horse unit, sub aqua units etc... Are national units that probably only open a competition every 10 years or so. Even at that there are probably only 2 or 3 positions and are fiercely contested so don't join for these positions alone. The armed response units are a little more in numbers but again the positions are highly contested. If you like shooting guns then join the defence forces.

Transfers kind of work on a supply and demand basis. Anyone can probably arrange a swap to Dublin as there are many waiting on a transfer out. Likewise it's very hard to get transfer to cork,galway or other provincial towns far from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Fabio_1988

Day to day for the first few years on a regular unit will be the same in most stations. Cities are busier than towns but the work is usually the same in its core.

You will have a mixture of beat duty, being in the patrol car, responding to calls and patrolling areas. Also a good few days are spent in the station attending to the public office or doing Gaoler in the cell area. It's rotated to give everyone a change.

Opportunities for specialised units come more often in bigger cities as there is much more happening and more of a chance to make an impression. Also overtime is plentiful in Dublin. Probationers can even double their wages at the moment if they are willing to work enough overtime.

The dog unit, horse unit, sub aqua units etc... Are national units that probably only open a competition every 10 years or so. Even at that there are probably only 2 or 3 positions and are fiercely contested so don't join for these positions alone. The armed response units are a little more in numbers but again the positions are highly contested. If you like shooting guns then join the defence forces.

Transfers kind of work on a supply and demand basis. Anyone can probably arrange a swap to Dublin as there are many waiting on a transfer out. Likewise it's very hard to get transfer to cork,galway or other provincial towns far from Dublin.

Hi, just wondering if the station you're sent to for your phase 2 training could be the same as your permanent station or is it usually always somewhere completely different? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Doyle93

I'm a Dub and looking to get city centre, store street, Pearse street etc suppose there's a very good chance of this happening then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭unattendedbag

Hi, just wondering if the station you're sent to for your phase 2 training could be the same as your permanent station or is it usually always somewhere completely different? Thanks

I'm not 100% up to date on the new training system but it seems that most people stay in the station they get allocated after getting attested.
    Doyle93 wrote: »
    I'm a Dub and looking to get city centre, store street, Pearse street etc suppose there's a very good chance of this happening then?
    Yes you will probably be in Dublin but not your home division.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Irish Kings

Hi
    I was wondering what life is like in the gardai.

Basically you chase around after gypo's all day, and then navigate the political backstabbing that goes on between guards when you're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

Fabio_1988 wrote: »

Training has changed you do phase 1 in templemore for 32 weeks then attestation and your first station is where you stay and complete phase 2 and 3. You can apply for a transfer after 2 years probation. Only in rare cases are you moved before this and if you are it will more than likely be out to the sub district station of the one your in. A good 75 to 80% are being sent to dublin so be prepared to do a stint

Fabio_1988 wrote: »

There is no phase 2 training anymore. Phase 2 used to be student Garda observing for 6 months in a station. It's gone now, you go to your station as a sworn in member with full powers, with a mentor for some months, on probation.