Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has bodybuilding changed your life?

• 25-08-2018 7:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭

I'm one and a half years lifting weights, Ive been persistent as feck about it. The last 6 months in particular I got very serious on diet and have been very aggressive with my weight training. I have really physically changed a lot. I didn't realize my genetics would be so good to me in just 36 months. I'm far from my ultimate goal but I'm looking pretty good to the point that I don't recognize myself anymore. The skinny guy that no girl ever looked at is gone and now I get lots of female attention. Its sad that the ladies never saw me for who I was before, but now that I'm much bigger with a 3D effect going on they always look and smile. I do appreciate the attention I get now and love a smile from a stranger, but I think I can be snobby about it at times and turn my nose away from them because I respect what I have achieved and didn't do it specifically for the ladies. I think I achieved a lot the past year and a half in terms of muscle building. The reasons I started lifting weights was for myself and also.... for abit of female attention, I admit that. My energy levels are through the roof to.

Have your gains changed your life? Do you notice people treat you differently now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Yep, bang 3lbows on every f*ckin doorway.

Yes though, passed comments here and there make me smile even if they're not meant to.

Biggest thing is how you feel about yourself though.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

The skinny guy that no girl ever looked at is gone and now I get lots of female attention.

didn't do it specifically for the ladies.

The reasons I started lifting weights was for myself and also.... for abit of female attention, I admit that.

Ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Ok

Not specifically for, but not ruling it out either...

the reasons I started lifting weights was for myself and also.... for abit of female attention, I admit that

Well it worked, not short of abit of arse these days I have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

OP reads like its a lot about female attention and a little for yourself.

But that's fine too, to be honest. I'd have thought far more lads went to the gym to improve their body for the same reason than for more 'noble' reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Must be tricky when they get to know what your personality is like, though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Not specifically for, but not ruling it out either...

the reasons I started lifting weights was for myself and also.... for abit of female attention, I admit that

Fair play to you boss for getting in shape, keep it up

guys don't like to watch or read about other guys having a peddle and crank - you're kind of veering into this territory about yourself now

or maybe some do but Im a say no thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ittakestwo

In my case feeling fitter is very positive on my mental health. I would keep fit more for my mental than physical health (no joke).

I do a lot of work from home so getting out to the gym and just seeing the same faces even tho I don't talk to these faces keeps me grounded too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

For me it was because as I got older I started to have a variety of "seated job" issues (sore back, sore SI joint) and I heard it was recommended that women over 40 lift weights as its good for bone density.

Plus I needed something new to do in the gym and I had switched gyms from one that didnt have much in the line of free weights to one that had loads.

1.5 years on and I am far more functional. I dont injure myself in silly ways nearly as often and I dont have to ask people to lift heavy things for me. My posture is much better and overall fitness has increased. My grip strength is much much better and older injuries I had that niggled have mostly been resolved.

Also for my mental health. Deadlifting seems to de-stress me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭guile4582

some of us just have to do it and it feels f**king good..not doing it wouldn't feel normal

i dont do it for the aesthetic (this is an added bonus i suppose, if you care about these things), i do it to be strong af..not so i can beat someone up or whatever, but i am just designed to be strong, its a buzz and i just consider lifting things up and down normal..

that's my best way to explain it

guile4582 wrote: »
    some of us just have to do it and it feels f**king good..not doing it wouldn't feel normal

i dont do it for the aesthetic (this is an added bonus i suppose, if you care about these things), i do it to be strong af..not so i can beat someone up or whatever, but i am just designed to be strong, its a buzz and i just consider lifting things up and down normal..

that's my best way to explain it

Just because you’re strong dosent mean you have the ability to beat someone up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭guile4582

Just because you’re strong dosent mean you have the ability to beat someone up.

...unsubscribes from post....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

guile4582 wrote: »

Got this far and all I could think of was this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭lcstress2012

I'm one and a half years lifting weights, Ive been persistent as feck about it. The last 6 months in particular I got very serious on diet and have been very aggressive with my weight training. I have really physically changed a lot. I didn't realize my genetics would be so good to me in just 36 months. I'm far from my ultimate goal but I'm looking pretty good to the point that I don't recognize myself anymore. The skinny guy that no girl ever looked at is gone and now I get lots of female attention. Its sad that the ladies never saw me for who I was before, but now that I'm much bigger with a 3D effect going on they always look and smile. I do appreciate the attention I get now and love a smile from a stranger, but I think I can be snobby about it at times and turn my nose away from them because I respect what I have achieved and didn't do it specifically for the ladies. I think I achieved a lot the past year and a half in terms of muscle building. The reasons I started lifting weights was for myself and also.... for abit of female attention, I admit that. My energy levels are through the roof to.

Have your gains changed your life? Do you notice people treat you differently now?

Hey, I’m 24 and weight 62kg so really skinny. I started to go the gym a few months ago and want to gain more weight(muscle) just to be bigger really. What did you do/eat to achieve this and what advice would you give ? Thanks ðŸ™

Eat more and lift weights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭corcaigh1

Evert time I take up the weights I lift for a month or two and start getting stronger but see little improvements physically and lose interest, 5ft11 and 210lbs in my 30's, top heavy so id be classed as overweight.

How long were you guys lifting before seeing really noticeable body change?

corcaigh1 wrote: »
    Evert time I take up the weights I lift for a month or two and start getting stronger but see little improvements physically and lose interest, 5ft11 and 210lbs in my 30's, top heavy so id be classed as overweight.

How long were you guys lifting before seeing really noticeable body change?

A noticeable change? To build muscle or lose weight?

To build muscle...

You won’t see any significant changes in less than a year. You’ll get stronger and drop body fat no doubt but you won’t build a huge amount of muscle while doing that

Wow a year! ill have to take it up again and keep at it...

Yes, as with everything in life that you want to improve on, consistency is key

Indeed, in terms of weight loss would you concentrate on weight lifting only or cardio and weightlifting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Indeed, in terms of weight loss would you concentrate on weight lifting only or cardio and weightlifting?

Kitchen.

Whatever you prefer doing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭Pretzeluck

So where are the pics? Can't say anything until the pics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

What weight were you when you started lifting weights? What's your calorie intake? I would be of similar weight/age and go to the gym regularly. DM me if you want to chat about it further.