Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farmer Bullied buyer from sale

• 23-08-2018 6:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

I have been bullied from buying a 5 acre Site. The farmer renting the land sent me a message through a friend to inform me not to buy the land. He said that whoever buys the land will not last long on it as he has been renting it last 30 years. We were in the process of getting planning permission and had deposit paid. This kind of carry on would put you off looking for a site. Don't think the owner of the land would be too happy to hear this. And the lease is up for renewal in November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Accidentally

If you take this as bullying, God help you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 luffanywalk

And what would you call it then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Joe Daly

The bull McCabe is at it again did you confront him, what a joke sending a message through your friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Why did you walk away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

It's a threat of violence from the Bull McCabe.

Joe was too quick for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Simple. Report it to the gardai and send him a copy of the correspondence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

I have been bullied from buying a 5 acre Site. The farmer renting the land sent me a message through a friend to inform me not to buy the land. He said that whoever buys the land will not last long on it as he has been renting it last 30 years. We were in the process of getting planning permission and had deposit paid. This kind of carry on would put you off looking for a site. Don't think the owner of the land would be too happy to hear this. And the lease is up for renewal in November.

If he was serious it wouldn't be a text you'd be receiving.

Ignore and carry on as you were.

What is it then verbally threating somebody .

Pulled out of the sale. We keep animals and be worried about what could happen. My wife would not be comfortable living there also with our 2 kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

Go straight to the Guards. Will your friend give a statement if required?

These fellas are 99.9% of the time cowards who are full of hot air.

Nowadays with Trail cameras etc it's pretty easy to catch a scamp like him by the balls should he try any funny business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Inform the owner as to why you have pulled out. I'm sure they'll be interested as to why they may have lost out. We'll find out how much balls he has when he comes looking to renew in Nov.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 TheDairyMan

was the friend yours or his or mutual?

Mutual friend which i don't want to have him involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭valtra2

Grow a pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 TheDairyMan

he's not a friend if he didnt tell him to go f himself and tell you himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

Send word via mutual friend that you'll let him lease the ground from you.

The prick can be finding out in November that you want €1k an acre per year. Paid up front.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Land is a pretty emotive thing in rural Ireland and I'm guessing the OP lives already somewhere in the area, perhaps a 'blow-in'? Tricky, how well connected is the chap who's been leasing the land?

Sounds like OP has already figured it's not worth the hassle but as mentioned above, make absolutely sure that the seller knows why you've pulled out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭lalababa

Do what you want op. If it was me and the land was up for sale and I had invested time money and emotion into buying it I wouldn't let that put me off. Just the price!

BarryD2 wrote:
    Land is a pretty emotive thing in rural Ireland and I'm guessing the OP lives already somewhere in the area, perhaps a 'blow-in'? Tricky, how well connected is the chap who's been leasing the land?

Both me and Farmer are locals. Estate Agent is letting the seller know the situation. I reckon there will be trouble ahead for the Farmer when lease come up for renewal. If only he had thought it through. The search goes on for me now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Both me and Farmer are locals. Estate Agent is letting the seller know the situation. I reckon there will be trouble ahead for the Farmer when lease come up for renewal. If only he had thought it through. The search goes on for me now.

I would never have walked away. Lads at that crack are all bluffers. If he went for a drink I have looked for a situation in front of other people and confronted him and asked him if he had a problem with me buying it. If he said yes I have told him I was buying it anyway. Plenty of land around for renting.

Slava Ukrainii

I do understand you have the consider your wife's reluctance. How we might handle such situations if we had only ourselves to consider if often quite different.

Water John wrote: »
    I do understand you have the consider your wife's reluctance. How we might handle such situations if we had only ourselves to consider if often quite different.

If we were in that situation and herself found out what I say would be mild. She be off looking with the fryingpan in hand.

Slava Ukrainii

I can be fairly bolshie if I feel right is on my side, but have backed off once or twice for family reasons.
    Put the word out locally that your looking for a site. for anyone who asks you can tell them why you've been put in this position. Word will get around quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Personally I'd leave it too.

While he may be full of hot air but he may not be. Also he could make your planning application a pain in the face.

Not worth the hassle. Life is too short.

Had the misfortune of putting up with 50 letters, numerous complaints to the council, two of which resulted in planning delay, solicitor involvement and personal threats. Bull**** and ultimately no one wins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,125 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

If someone threathened me like that, I'd leave them picking up their teeth with broken fingers............

...seriously though, buy it for the crack and let us know how you get on.

While he may be full of hot air but he may not be. Also he could make your planning application a pain in the face.

Had the misfortune of putting up with 50 letters, numerous complaints to the council, two of which resulted in planning delay, solicitor involvement and personal threats. Bull**** and ultimately no one wins

You walk away from lads like these and you might as well leave the area. It amazing if you stand you ground and do virtually nothing they f@@koff. Usually if they start acting like that you in turn make there life a misery. Complain about any little thing they do wrong to relevant department. Put a half dozen eggs where they will find them easy.

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

Missus and I had some, but not all, of the above. Made things very unhappy for both of us and in the end we gave up, in the interests of a quiet life.

Some months later, the troublemaker killed himself. It came too late for us but I have to admit that we weren't too upset when we heard the news. :(

You walk away from lads like these and you might as well leave the area. It amazing if you stand you ground and do virtually nothing they f@@koff. Usually if they start acting like that you in turn make there life a misery. Complain about any little thing they do wrong to relevant department. Put a half dozen eggs where they will find them easy.

Well I stood my ground and as per above put up with 2 years of ****e and substantial solicitor bill. Also a superious complaint to my professional body which I had to answer plus the appeal.

Easy to tell someone to stand up but I've now decieded you're better live the quiet life.

We don't have to live in the house for ever the OP and family do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,593 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

I'm not impressed with your friend being the middle man here.

Is there something you're telling us about this farmer - is he a known rogue?

How can you getting permission on the site and have deposit paid? Was this part of the agreement? I thought this would have waited until the sale completed.

Also, was this man bidding against you for the plot? Was there anyone else bidding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,321 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Farmers and land very tricky situation. Especially as he has rented it for 30 years and probably feels he has a hold on it and looked after it for so long.

I think you did right it's just not worth it.

Also he could make your planning application a pain in the face.

How can he do that? If he is a neighbour with adjoining lands then he may have an entitlement, but I think it would be safe to say by the sound of this fella that a visit from the dept. would cause him a lot more grief.

Farmers and land very tricky situation. Especially as he has rented it for 30 years and probably feels he has a hold on it and looked after it for so long.

Yes, indeed. But it depends on what he was bidding and if it was acceptable. Maybe he thought he could low ball and no-one would come in on top of him.

Also, OP - was the land well cared for?

For me it would a case of 'fnck the land' but I'd leave him regretting the day and hour that he threatened me and my family.

How can he do that? If he is a neighbour with adjoining lands then he may have an entitlement, but I think it would be safe to say by the sound of this fella that a visit from the dept. would cause him a lot more grief.

My buddy was
    Employed a dick of an engineer to help too.

Oh the memories.

Also that rule is definitely not followed by all councils ,
    http://www.thejournal.ie/galway-couple-planning-nightmare-3751712-Dec2017/

Know of one in Meath refused planning due to objections from John Smith and Micky Mouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

I think you did right it's just not worth it.

He probably dug the rocks out of that field with his bare hands.

valtra2 wrote: »
    Grow a pair.

He had more than the coward that got somebody else to pass on the word to a man that was going to make a home for himself. He was probably getting the land at handy rent .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Joe Daly wrote: »
    He had more than the coward that got somebody else to pass on the word to a man that was going to make a home for himself. He was probably getting the land at handy rent .

That would make me even more determined to buy it. Plenty gob****es like him around. I know a man that had a farm beside him come up for sale and he used to block the entrance with tractors when anyone came to view it to make it look like they’d be dealing with awkward neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

This guy was just blowing hot air but it worked perfect for him.
    I’d be 100% confident of OP went ahead with the purchase he’d never be heard of again.

Some cheek on him. At the very least I’d be going to the owner about it, see can you put a fly on the ointment over him leasing the land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,125 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

If we didn't learn to stand up for ourselves in this country , we'd still be waving the union Jack.
    I'd be a quiet enough type of fella, but I've a fair temper and when I loose it, I really loose it. In the last place I worked, got bullied by this guy. I let things go on 2 occasions . Totally lost it the third time. The sight of the guy shaking with fear, when I went for him, Is something ill never forget. Bullies are just cowards behind it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Ur dealing with a little coward mouse ,wouldn’t go to u directly .my advice fook him and bid away who dose he think he is

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

This s##t drives me mad.First thing id do is inform the current owner.i 100%agree with your decision if its not important to you as life is too short and your probaly not in a strong positon to take him on. .but id make dam sure that the current owner knows exactly what hes doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I learnt pretty quickly to stand up for myself when i started working in england.  Lads with threats like that are always full of ****. I used to get a lot of the ex squaddies giving it the big man (Apparently they were all in the sas) over there but used to fairly quieten them by when you tell them just to **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Accidentally

And what would you call it then?

I would call it some idiot chancing his arm. The countryside is full of fools like this, who think they're being cute, and the last thing you want to do is encourage them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

If you do buy and move in you will probably have a feud with the bully for years to come and that is no fun. It might end up negatively affecting your family life as well.
    Tell the seller what happened and hopefully get the bully in hot water.
    Do not go to threaten or talk to him face to face, it sounds like he might be the type that would go straight to the Gardai and make up accusations against you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

personally I would continue with the plans and purchase the land if you can.

I would let my mutual friend that your not going to buy the land and let this "friend" tell the odd lad the same story. Then buy the land anyway.

You will have thrown the dummy move and the other lad will be caught on the hop.

2 ways to skin a rabbit and if you twist the rules to suit yourself and still play within them there is nothing to fear. I was caught at the same ****e years ago with planning but twisted the rules and well I have my building :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

The way I see it there are two choices.

1) pull out of the proposed deal and give in to a narrow minded and possibly unstable bully.

2) make up your mind to go ahead with the deal and enjoy all the consequences.
    When dealing with people like this you have to show them you are prepared to go that extra step further every time they push you, until they get the message that you will not be pushed around. Some people are better at this than others, upbringing has a lot to do with it.

Without knowing the exact circumstances its hard to say what's the best course to take. Personally I'd "speak softly and carry a big stick"

That fella is all talk. If the land's for sale, it's for sale. If he won't buy it himself then he doesn't have a horse in that race. He can put up or shut up. Buy it, build your home and ignore him. The sense of entitlement some pricks have is unreal.

Without knowing the exact circumstances its hard to say what's the best course to take. Personally I'd "speak softly and carry a big stick"

Well said. If a man isn't inclined to be doing it that way himself, and we're not all made to handle that kind of thing, have a look at your circle of family and friends, carefully. Somewhere amongst them you'll find a fella who'll have no problem going toe to toe with that bully. For every rank bastard like him, there's a strong fella willing to take him down a few pegs when it's affecting a decent skin like the OP who just wants to build their home in their own locality and get on with everyone.

Have a good think about it yourself OP. That fella probably could have bought that land many times down through the years and didn't. He's wasted his own opportunities and now you're letting him waste one of yours. Why would you let him off with it?

I'd nearly consider just renting the 5 acres to keep him off it even if I didn't buy and couldn't see a way to make it work otherwise. That mutual friend of yours should be left to one side in all of it. As someone else said, if he was a friend he would have told the prick to F.R.O. in no uncertain terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

it all depends on what kind of man the bully is, and you can find out via your 'friend'
    there are lads I'd take seriously when they say **** and lads i know won't act on what they say(even if its good) so i would of probably done something like.

me to friend - 'is he seriously threatening me?'
    friend - 'ya'
    me to friend - 'hop in there so' and off to the local garda station.

some of the hardest lads start behaving themselves when their 'victims' are willing to get official

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Apiarist

JayZeus wrote: »
    That fella is all talk. If the land's for sale, it's for sale. If he won't buy it himself then he doesn't have a horse in that race. ...

Exactly. I can sympathize with a farmer who rented a field for 30 years, but it is for sale now. If the OP does not buy it, then somebody else will. Or does the farmer intend to pass "messages" to all potential buyers?

The only reason I can surmise for the threat to OP is that the farmer tries to lower the price of the land to get it for himself on the cheap.

Great to be bolshie. I'd have no problem doing it and sticking it to him. Have learnt in business not to be walked on. However I respect that the OP's OH has misgivings. Then his family comes first. Peace in the house, wherever it's built.

Sometimes, others, esp family, incl OH, don't need to know every turn of what happens to you. I know some people whose OH have access to all their emails and bank transactions. No, that would drive me nuts. I might handle the above situation without my OH knowing at all and given the push back. No point in worrying her. But OP is where he is and family harmony takes precedent.
    Look for another field.