Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

shooters on land

• 28-07-2018 4:44pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 134 ✭✭

signs up but they still come on, yesterday in one field its like someone was digging it maybe for badgers or foxes.
    Seems they pay no heed to signs,
    wonder if I tramped across their back garden or dug it out what they would say...

they dont even ask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭TopTec

Had similar problems a few years ago, despite signs, used to come on with dogs and spook the calves. Regular bucks from town.

I used to carry a small camera and started taking pictures of them and their jeeps. Never came back the the following year or since.

TT

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 134 ✭✭adamhughes

TopTec wrote: »
    Had similar problems a few years ago, despite signs, used to come on with dogs and spook the calves. Regular bucks from town.

I used to carry a small camera and started taking pictures of them and their jeeps. Never came back the the following year or since.

TT

did they take the jeeps onto your property?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

adamhughes wrote: »
    signs up but they still come on, yesterday in one field its like someone was digging it maybe for badgers or foxes.
    wonder if I tramped across their back garden or dug it out what they would say...

they dont even ask

Did you ring the gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

As a hunter, I recommend to call the Guards and report armed trespassers on your property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

they dont even ask

If you think they were digging out Badgers, give your local wildlife ranger a call.
    Digging out Badgers is a very serious offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭TopTec

did they take the jeeps onto your property?

Most times they pulled into the gate entrance, either mine or a neighbours. So technically on my property. Once or twice they pulled into the field to hide the motor behind a hedge.

TT

archer22 wrote: »
    If you think they were digging out Badgers, give your local wildlife ranger a call.
    Digging out Badgers is a very serious offence.

Digging out foxes, You'd think the land was theirs,

grassroot1 wrote: »
    Did you ring the gardai

no but neighbour rang some time back and they didnt seem to want to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

A Trail Camera would be a good idea for getting evidence of them trespassing on your property...then insist the auld Guards do something and if they still won't make a complaint to GSOC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

No offence but I doubt it the Gardai take armed trespass very seriously.
    What part of the country are you in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭TooOldBoots

Should have requested the Gardas name,number and who is his super in charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Know someone who lifted bales of silage and use them to block in cars that were in shooting after specifically being asked not to.
    They had to ask to be let out.

Problem went away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Only ever allow those who request here. Local (farmers) hunt is grand - mostly neighbours who come I advance and only ask to go through once or twice year and have no problem with gates fences etc. Anyone I don't know / doesn't ask gets short shift ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 MissusAnderson

_Brian wrote: »
    Know someone who lifted bales of silage and use them to block in cars that were in shooting after specifically being asked not to.
    They had to ask to be let out.

Problem went away.

good idea but when they park in the gap at the road its another story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

good idea but when they park in the gap at the road its another story

Could still put a bale close to the front and back so there is no room for vehicle to move! Or close to the doors that they cannot open them!
    I had a cousin few years ago that had a cow shot as it came over the brow of a hill. The shooter must have thought it was a rabbit or something. The farmers son was following the cows - awful lucky not to have hit him. The Guards came out and tried to find the bullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭harr

Cousin had similar problems a number of years ago he only had a small holding and he only allowed a number of friends to use his land for rabbits.
    A couple of local lads had started to drive jeeps into a few fields and were lamping..they were very unlucky one Sunday when they took the greyhounds looking for rabbits the jeeps four tyres happened to get punctures.
    This was after repeated requests to stay out and after a number of phone calls to the local Barricks to which the local sergeant replied

“ Sure what harm are they doing ? The more you torment them the worse they will get “

The same guard had no problem ringing the cousin to see if he knew anything about the four punctures . :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Blaser1982

archer22 wrote: »
    A Trail Camera would be a good idea for getting evidence of them trespassing on your property...then insist the auld Guards do something and if they still won't make a complaint to GSOC.

If using any camera in hope of catching criminal activity on land you cannot use it as evidence unless you have put signs up warning of cctv/camera in operation. Been down that road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭baaba maal

Does a slurry tank need emptying?