Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you agree with government interference in personal lives

• 26-07-2018 4:42pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭Pretzeluck

Apparently Finland, UK and Ireland are on the top 5 states that have the largest restriction on personal freedoms.
    Personal freedoms like
    Taxing sugar
    Alcohol (sold only at specified times)
    Cigarettes
    Night club and pub rules (close at a certain time)
    And other similar restrictions
    Do you agree with them or would you prefer if it were like central European countries such as Germany which is at the bottom of the 28 European union countries in terms of personal freedoms, being the most free from government interference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Pa8301

Pretzeluck wrote: »
    Apparently Finland, UK and Ireland are on the top 5 states that have the largest restriction on personal freedoms.
    Personal freedoms like
    Taxing sugar
    Cigarettes
    Do you agree with them or would you prefer if it were like central European countries such as Germany which is at the bottom of the 28 European union countries in terms of personal freedoms, being the most free from government interference.

What's your opinion OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Personal freedoms like
    Taxing sugar
    Cigarettes

Eh?

Germany shuts down on Saturday afternoon until Monday.

Most continental states have far more restrictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Chaos Tourist

A few pubs round my way (midlands) certainly don't close at the specified time on the weekend. It's probably happening across the country. I know it's not meant to be that way officially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

There are some justifiable intrusions, and some unjustifiable ones.

Having certain drugs on prescription to minimise people getting hooked on morphine - good

Forcing people to use seatbelts and motorcycle helmets - good

Forcing children to attend school or some other formal education up to the age of 16 - good

Banning the sale of alcohol and cigarettes to children under 18 - good

Banning sexual relations with children under the age of 17 - mostly good, always good when one of the parties is significantly older than 17

Banning the sale of alcohol before 12:30pm and after 11pm on a Sunday. Pain in the Ass if you're just going for a few quiet drinks, don't have work the next day and didn't even get the kids settled until half 9 that night.

Mandatory closing times in general in pubs and clubs seems to just exacerbate public disorder as people get thrown out into the streets at the same time every weekend in busy city centers.

But usually, even the 'nanny state' laws that you don't like, you can usually see the justification for them, even if you think that on balance they're not worth the restriction on your own personal freedom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Too much state sponsored "health and safety" $hite these days. If you want to continue to evolve you must engage in risk... health and safety is just interference to keep the pond stagnant. Imagine this type interference over 100 years ago when those lads invented the airplane, the boys are about to take off and over the hill comes some health and safety ball point wielding bastard with his clipboard asking "hey lads ye got a permit and safety licence for that yoke there? No? Shut it down"

Make America Get Out of Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Eh?

Are they forced to by the state, or do they choose to??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Are they forced to by the state, or do they choose to??

They are forced to on Sundays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Personal freedoms like
    Taxing sugar
    Cigarettes

I'm not sure of your source for these tables but elsewhere we are equal top for political rights and civil liberties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

there is too much state interference in our lives.
    way too much

what is shocking and laughable is that the rabble actually want more control. Moronic numbskulls bleat on social media/joe duffy…"there should be a law against that" and others that willingly trade freedoms for the illusion of security from the state whenever a terrorist attack occurs ( clearly I mean modern day UK/US in this point)

no there fcuking shouldn't....people shouldn't have to conform to your standard.

All this serves is to create people mentally dependant on the state unable to function themselves and people who have an inability to tackle their own problems.
    In other words , sheep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭jbt123

I'd prefer minimal government intrusion into my life. I don't like the nanny state rules and regulations that are becoming all the more prevalent.

I'm an adult and am well capable of making the decisions on how to live my life and the consequences of doing so.

I agree with akrasia - i'm ok with the ones like seatbelts.
    i'm even ok with tax relief on pensions contributions to encourage people to save for their retirement.
    anything beyond high level things like that i think are far too susceptible to corruption and their own interests e.g. the alcohol sales and taxes were purely to drum up business for pubs. what does a government have to be doing with business for pubs??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

bluewolf wrote: »
    I agree with akrasia - i'm ok with the ones like seatbelts.
    i'm even ok with tax relief on pensions contributions to encourage people to save for their retirement.
    anything beyond high level things like that i think are far too susceptible to corruption and their own interests e.g. the alcohol sales and taxes were purely to drum up business for pubs. what does a government have to be doing with business for pubs??

If the government ends up footing the bill in some way; extra policing, health services etc then they have business (not implying that recent activity is purely down to this).

Ipso wrote: »
    If the government ends up footing the bill in some way; extra policing, health services etc then they have business (not implying that recent activity is purely down to this).

You'd think they wouldn't be trying to get people into the pubs so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

bluewolf wrote: »
    You'd think they wouldn't be trying to get people into the pubs so

Yeah, for example there was a recent proposal to allow breweries to operate almost as a bar but it's not going anywhere due to the pub lobby.

My point was that there are instances where people can't complain about government intervention/intrusion and then at the same time expect the government to fix everything and to provide services and what not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

buried wrote: »
    Too much state sponsored "health and safety" $hite these days. If you want to continue to evolve you must engage in risk... health and safety is just interference to keep the pond stagnant. Imagine this type interference over 100 years ago when those lads invented the airplane, the boys are about to take off and over the hill comes some health and safety ball point wielding bastard with his clipboard asking "hey lads ye got a permit and safety licence for that yoke there? No? Shut it down"

And yet the red bull flutag happened in Dublin this year where lunatics were encouraged to drive bathtubs over a pier

Ipso wrote: »
    Yeah, for example there was a recent proposal to allow breweries to operate almost as a bar but it's not going anywhere due to the pub lobby.

My point was that there are instances where people can't complain about government intervention/intrusion and then at the same time expect the government to fix everything and to provide services and what not.

I think it is safe to say i don't expect the govt to fix everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Eh?

It shuts down in terms of shopping, so what? Being able to shop for anything at any given time from someone working the weekend for minimum wage is hardly a personal freedom.

There may be other examples that are more valid, Germany loves their rules and regulations for sure. But this isn't one of them. Its not a restriction of personal freedom, its protection of workers.

Akrasia wrote: »
    And yet the red bull flutag happened in Dublin this year where lunatics were encouraged to drive bathtubs over a pier

Well that's Good. May as well show off thick lunacy in front a large crowd so the audience can learn from the lunatic scene

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭Pretzeluck

Pa8301 wrote: »
    What's your opinion OP?

My opinion is that it's beyond stupid. Especially the HIGH VIZ EVERYWHERE crowd. Go to any continental country and you'll be lucky to see a high viz jacket but here it's a freaking plague. But it improves SAFETY EVERYONE. EVERYONE IS MORE SAFE WHEN THEY PUT ON THAT DISGUSTING VEST OR JACKET.

You're working in McDonald's and bringing rubbish to a bin? Don't you dare to venture outside without a high viz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

The best ones are the guys who sport the full on hairy biker look on their big Guzzi or Harley or whatever, and then High Viz vest. :pac:

Eh?

Ok source please. And is this implemented nationwide or just in a certain state?

My opinion is that it's beyond stupid. Especially the HIGH VIZ EVERYWHERE crowd. Go to any continental country and you'll be lucky to see a high viz jacket but here it's a freaking plague. But it improves SAFETY EVERYONE. EVERYONE IS MORE SAFE WHEN THEY PUT ON THAT DISGUSTING VEST OR JACKET.

You're working in McDonald's and bringing rubbish to a bin? Don't you dare to venture outside without a high viz.

So you're pro personal freedom but anti-choice regarding abortion?

I voted yes so I'm not sure where you got that from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

buried wrote: »
    some health and safety ball point wielding bastard with his clipboard asking "hey lads ye got a permit and safety licence for that yoke there? No? Shut it down"

Yeah well as soon as every freeloading window licker stops trying to claim off every entity in existence for every nail they break, the sooner Mr Clipboard will back away.

Its not a problem with personal freedom we have, its the litigious and /or entitlement culture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Arrival

The point about pubs and clubs closing times is spot on, it's absolutely ridiculous that we as fully grown adults are expected to be okay with being herded out into the streets and head home at a fixed time. It just results in absolute carnage. Pubs and clubs should be allowed the option to stay open 24/7 if they'd like and if it makes business sense for them to do. I'm sick of going abroad and having fantastic nights out where I can relax and take my time drinking all night long according to my own individual wishes only to return home and be forced out the door amongst hundreds of people who are overly drunk as a result of such early closing times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Don't really have a problem with any of those restrictions TBH. It's not like Ireland is North Korea or anything.

Don't know why anybody would want to buy alcohol before 12 midday, although I do think Off License cut off time of 10 at night is a bit of a nonsense.

1. There are 7 freaking billion humans on earth. Why do you have to be selfish and put more people in the world. There isn't enough space for everyone, forests are destroyed at an alarming rate and all other natural resources are exploited to the maximum. Literally killing animals and their habitats to get resources for humans. When is it going to be enough? When there are 100 billion humans and no animals left because all of their habitat is destroyed?

2. You CHOSE to get pregnant. Disabled people don't CHOOSE to be disabled.

3. Don't take public transport if you can't handle standing. What makes you entitled? Your choice? If I CHOOSE to be fat then should I be entitled to a seat as well?

This wouldn't have applied before abortion was legalised as women couldn't choose if they want to have a child or not. After abortion legislation passes, there will be no excuse. I would assume all women are pregnant because they want to be.

Apologies if I misunderstood this post. I took it to mean you were anti abortion. Obviously I was wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

It'd be nice if car insurance wasn't such a stitch-up, especially now on older cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Yeah it's a real hell hole....thinking of moving to some more enlightened place like Saudi altogether.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Yeah well as soon as every freeloading window licker stops trying to claim off every entity in existence for every nail they break, the sooner Mr Clipboard will back away.

Its not a problem with personal freedom we have, its the litigious and /or entitlement culture.

Yeah you are probably right on that score, but when you look at it, all it is is one racket creating another racket. The Clipboards will never back away, its a handy number for them. Same for politicians, this health and safety $hite is just a way they can wield some semblance of power on the citizens to try to show they still have some when in reality, they gave all their real power away long ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Very much not considering I wouldn't let most of them babysit my dogs.
    I've met quite a few and what they do, they do for votes and nothing else.

Yeah it's a real hell hole....thinking of moving to some more enlightened place like Saudi altogether.

Yeah if you want to get your head chopped off for being Christian then sure go ahead. I heard its an amazing country. Can't wait for the execution video.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Sarkozy made it mandatory for every car in France to have a high Viz jacket on board. Presumably because he had shares in high Viz jacket companies.

France is a nanny state as well. They're only required to wear it when on the road though, but they have other dumb laws like 100hp motorcycle ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Cleopatra_

Germany is definitely more restrictive. When you move you have to register your new address with the local authority/council and you need to change the plates on your car. In the UK there is CCTV absolutely everywhere. I've never felt more monitored than I do in the UK. Nobody knew where I was or what I was doing in Ireland and they didn't care either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Personal freedoms like
    Taxing sugar
    Cigarettes

I agree with restrictions on cigarettes (specifically the sale and supply). The other things can, for the most part, be enjoyed within moderation. Cigarettes are manufactured with the sole intent of making people want more cigarettes. I definitely think the government should interfere with that business model as much as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,438 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

I agree with restrictions on cigarettes (specifically the sale and supply). The other things can, for the most part, be enjoyed within moderation. Cigarettes are manufactured with the sole intent of making people want more cigarettes. I definitely think the government should interfere with that business model as much as possible.

Is sugar and alcohol also not highly addictive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Son of a bitch

I used to complain about my freedoms being eroded, but other European neighbours are more restrictive than us
    Alcohol
    Finnish grocery stores do not sell alcoholic beverages with above 5.5% volume, and no alcoholic beverages above 2.8% volume are sold between 21:00 and 09:00. The sole provider of wine and spirits is the government-run Alko, which has limited hours, especially on weekends and public holidays. When buying alcohol, almost all grocery stores will usually require you or anyone in your company who the clerk deems look below the age of 30 to provide proof of age - only a government-issued ID card, drivers' license or passport is acceptable. You will also not be sold alcohol if you are visibly intoxicated or act in a disturbing manner.

Age limit for buying alcohol in grocery stores and Alkos is 18 for under 21%-vol. beverages and 20 for over 21%-vol. beverages. In bars and nightclubs 18 years old can buy also strong alcohol.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

If they didn't tax the bejaysus out of it, and are making a fortune out of it, they might.

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Is sugar and alcohol also not highly addictive?

Not to the same extent as cigarettes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,039 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Ok source please. And is this implemented nationwide or just in a certain state?

Restrictions on shopping hours are common on the continent.

Not to the same extent as cigarettes.

Really, according to who?

Seems sort of obvious, no?

Yes, it seems obvious to me that, nicotine, alcohol and sugar are all highly addictive, all causing complex health issues, even death.

If you consumed sugar or alcohol to the same extent as the average smoker consumes tobacco products, then you'd have a point. Most drinkers aren't addicted. Most smokers are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Don't really have a problem with any of those restrictions TBH. It's not like Ireland is North Korea or anything.

Don't know why anybody would want to buy alcohol before 12 midday, although I do think Off License cut off time of 10 at night is a bit of a nonsense.

I would like to be able to buy alcohol when I am at the shop, which is usually in the morning. It's ridiculous to have barriers blocking off the alcohol area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Thoughtform

paw patrol wrote: »
    there is too much state interference in our lives.
    way too much

what is shocking and laughable is that the rabble actually want more control. Moronic numbskulls bleat on social media/joe duffy…"there should be a law against that" and others that willingly trade freedoms for the illusion of security from the state whenever a terrorist attack occurs ( clearly I mean modern day UK/US in this point)

no there fcuking shouldn't....people shouldn't have to conform to your standard.

All this serves is to create people mentally dependant on the state unable to function themselves and people who have an inability to tackle their own problems.
    In other words , sheep.
    What "way too much" state interference in our lives is there here?

The sheep are the people who buy into the "Ireland is really repressive" hilarity.

As mentioned, Ireland (and elsewhere) has a huge problem with self entitlement and compo culture - blame those greedy leeches for any perceived state interference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

jbt123 wrote: »
    I'd prefer minimal government intrusion into my life. I don't like the nanny state rules and regulations that are becoming all the more prevalent.

I'm an adult and am well capable of making the decisions on how to live my life and the consequences of doing so.
    Just sign this form to opt out of health care and this one to opt out work place protections and finally this on to opt out of the recuse services.

Grand sir you now a free man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Why do people call democratic passed laws as government interference?

The reason for Irish drink laws comes as there is more of a drinking culture here than other countries.

Stuff like sugar taxes are taxes and health initiatives not interference.

Should they also not interfere in stuff like giving you the right to vote, building infrastructure, letting you have a passport etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

murpho999 wrote: »
    Why do people call democratic passed laws as government interference?

The reason for Irish drink laws comes as there is more of a drinking culture here than other countries.

Stuff like sugar taxes are taxes and health initiatives not interference.

Should they also not interfere in stuff like giving you the right to vote, building infrastructure, letting you have a passport etc.

Ireland is mid table in Europe regarding alcohol consumption, and it is falling year on year. So that point is boll1x