Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbours camera

• 24-07-2018 6:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭

Just wondering what the laws are regarding cameras on private property. Just noticed this evening the neighbours have put up what looks like a dash cam in one of the bedrooms in the second story at the back of the house. I think it was because the dog is constantly escaping. I'd say it is picking up most of my garden as well. Just wondering if there is a law against this as I don't want my child being filmed when he's outside especially because he's being potty trained atm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Under His Eye

Go talk to your neighbour. These things can be worked out with out getting arsey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Micky8728

Go talk to your neighbour. These things can be worked out with out getting arsey.

No point. Had problems with neighbour since monlved in year ago. Loud music and dog being left in house Barking and howling until owner returns. Any time tried talking they play the racist card and refuse to talk. Mod deletion

Micky8728
    Pls do not post racist remarks here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Since you have no proof of anything I'm not sure what you expect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Can you take the matter up with their landlord?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Stanford

Are you renting your home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

fritzelly wrote: »
    Since you have no proof of anything I'm not sure what you expect

OP expects privacy and is entitled to same.
    If the camera overlooks amd records their back garden that is a privacy problem.

If the tenants can’t be worked with I’d be contacting the landlord

_Brian wrote: »
    If the camera overlooks amd records their back garden that is a privacy problem.

I was just trying to establish that but I agree if the house is rented

Camera could not be working. Ever think that could be the case?

Or perhaps it is.....................could that be the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

Would U just walk around the garden bollix naked.... am sure he will readjust his angles if all he can see is your dangly bits blowing in the wind....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

It's possible but the OP has no way of knowing since his neighbour is not approachable. Personally if someone had a camera trained on their garden but picked up a lot of mine too I would have an issue also tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

_Brian wrote: »

neighbours have put up what looks like a dash cam in one of the bedrooms
    I'd say it is picking up most of my garden as well

So not sure what it is, not sure where it's pointing - lot of assumptions on the OP's behalf

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    It's possible but the OP has no way of knowing since his neighbour is not approachable. Personally if someone had a camera trained on their garden but picked up a lot of mine too I would have an issue also tbh.

The local Gardai would take a dim view if they thought the camera was trained on OP's child in his back garden, perhaps he should have a word with them

This is how online peaedo witch hunts start.

I suggest contacting the landlord or the Data Protection Commission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

Micky8728 wrote: »
    Just wondering what the laws are regarding cameras on private property. Just noticed this evening the neighbours have put up what looks like a dash cam in one of the bedrooms in the second story at the back of the house. I think it was because the dog is constantly escaping. I'd say it is picking up most of my garden as well. Just wondering if there is a law against this as I don't want my child being filmed when he's outside especially because he's being potty trained atm.

You're potty training your kid in the back garden?

When my wife and I potty trained our two lads, sometimes particularly when the weather was good the potty was brought out to the back garden. Kids leave it to the very last second to want to use the toilet. Running inside with a child already in full flow best avoided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭Homer

The problem is that your neighbour is entitled to have a camera protecting his/her property, but you seem to think that he has a clear view of your garden.
    Without seeing the field of view or view that the camera has you have no way of knowing what they can see. The guards won’t be terribly interested in a civil matter like that and I can’t see how you can prove what the camera can or can’t see if you don’t have a good relationship with the neighbour in question?
    You could get the landlord involved but I can’t see how that will help that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭rgodard80a

...the neighbours have put up what looks like a dash cam in one of the bedrooms in the second story at the back of the house. I think it was because the dog is constantly escaping.

In fairness, it sounds like they're trying to see how the dog is escaping.
    It's probably not a permanent thing.
    An escaped dog is a more immediate threat to your kids than the camera.

There are things they can do, if you can request it.

1. try to position the camera to only record their property
    2. some IP cameras can let you "mask off" the image, so that even if your property is in their field of view, that it doesn't record that section of the screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Easy way to deal with him, let him see you take photo of the back of his house where the camera is.

Knock on his door and tell him that if he doesn't play ball you'll be going to the gardai and letting them know he is recording children with it, and that you'll also post a warning on Facebook groups about it.

Let's see how quick he plays ball then lol

Mod
    This LD mod strongly disagrees with this advice
    Have a cup of tea or similar with neighbour at one of the houses or at a neutral place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

italodisco wrote: »
    Easy way to deal with him, let him see you take photo of the back of his house where the camera is.

Knock on his door and tell him that if he doesn't play ball you'll be going to the gardai and letting them know he is recording children with it, and that you'll also post a warning on Facebook groups about it.

Let's see how quick he plays ball then lol

How f**king old are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I don't know the laws because I installed mine myself without actually looking into anything but when there was some problems with the ethnic neighbours coming into our back garden and we mentioned it to the Gardaí, they said they don't give a **** if it picks up a neighbour at the top or sides of the frame as long as it is centered on your own property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

letting them know he is recording children with it

First of all making up serious allegations is a very ****ty thing to do if not illegal.

There was another thread about recording something in a park and the conclusion was it's completely legal to record children if they are visible from a public place and not naked. I believe it is legal to record anything as long as it is visible from a public place you can even record things that are on private property, once the recording device is in a public place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

How f**king old are you?

Firstly I wouldn't do any of it but I'd let him think I would....

And secondly, the reality is if I approached them nicely about it and the started playing up I'd deal with it a whole other way, one that I won't mention here in case I trigger a touchy mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

My advice would be go out once a day to.your back garden and pretend to take a pic of his camera, if it is recording your garden and he sees you doing it in sure he'll have questions, at which point you can bring it up and not only that if he refuses you then have a right to complain through court he came and told you he could see you

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/dublin-man-with-16-cctv-cameras-convicted-of-harassment-after-secretly-filming-neighbours-37134212.html

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

I think people need to look up privacy laws in Ireland a little here, right to privacy is a loose term... Very loose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

GarIT wrote: »
    First of all making up serious allegations is a very ****ty thing to do if not illegal.

There was another thread about recording something in a park and the conclusion was it's completely legal to record children if they are visible from a public place and not naked. I believe it is legal to record anything as long as it is visible from a public place you can even record things that are on private property, once the recording device is in a public place.

It's legal to record or take images of a location that is visible to the public without an expectation of privacy.

You cannot record or take images from a public space of someone who has a reasonable right to privacy.

I don't really get the debate here. A camera trained on someones garden is a breech of reasonable right to privacy.

The DPC has a bunch of stuff on the use of CCTV style cameras.

Recognisable images captured by CCTV systems are "personal data".

They are subject to the provisions of the Data Protection Acts. If you are the person in control of the CCTV system or the images that it produces then you are considered a 'data controller'.

The data controller should be able to justify why they are collecting or using personal data.

A neighbor may object to images of her/his property being recorded and could take a civil legal action if their right to privacy is infringed by the placement of a CCTV camera which records their property.

Any person whose image is recorded on a CCTV system has a right to seek and be supplied with a copy of their own personal data from the footage.

To exercise that right, a person must make an application in writing. The data controller may charge up to €6.35 for responding to such a request and must respond within 40 days.

Your options are ask the neighbor what's going on or talk to a solicitor about complaining to the DPC and take a civil case.

EDIT: or as someone linked to the article go to the Gardai for harassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

People like you disgust me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,535 ✭✭✭facehugger99

How f**king old are you?

Careful now.

That's the kind of question a paedo would ask.

You don't want to wind up on a Facebook group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Lmklad

“Cameras placed so as to record external areas should be positioned in such a way as to prevent or minimise recording of passers-by or of another person's private property.”

Quote is from Data Protection site. The link provides more information

https://www.dataprotection.ie/docs/Data-Protection-CCTV/m/242.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Reati wrote: »
    It's legal to record or take images of a location that is visible to the public without an expectation of privacy.

You cannot record or take images from a public space of someone who has a reasonable right to privacy.

I don't really get the debate here. A camera trained on someones garden is a breech of reasonable right to privacy.

The DPC has a bunch of stuff on the use of CCTV style cameras.

Your options are ask the neighbor what's going on or talk to a solicitor about complaining to the DPC and take a civil case.

EDIT: or as someone linked to the article go to the Gardai for harassment.

If the camera is centered on the neighbours garden and cannot record anything they cannot see from their own window then there is no privacy breach.

not true, it houseing estates houses can be back to back and plenty of people can see into others bedrooms, you can be damn sure that if someone was to record someones bedroom its a privacy breach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Carpentry

No point. Had problems with neighbour since monlved in year ago. Loud music and dog being left in house Barking and howling until owner returns. Any time tried talking they play the racist card and refuse to talk. They are Polish.
    Mod deletion home

Wonder why would they call you a racist ?

Carpentry wrote: »

Just like the media you have taken this out of context.

The quote was taken from this thread

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=106429101

Which asks people to say something controversial, which he did

Carpentry wrote:

Are Polish people a distinctive race collectively? Or are you confusing xenophobia with racism?

No point. Had problems with neighbour since monlved in year ago. Loud music and dog being left in house Barking and howling until owner returns. Any time tried talking they play the racist card and refuse to talk. They are Polish.
    sexmag wrote: »
    Just like the media you have taken this out of context.

The quote was taken from this thread

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=106429101

Which asks people to say something controversial, which he did

what a coincidence

Are Polish people a distinctive race collectively? Or are you confusing xenophobia with racism?

dont know, just quoting OP.

Carpentry wrote:
    dont know, just quoting OP.

Seems strange to suggest racism when you are not sure yourself.

Yes it is. It's not anything to do with the seeing. It's the act of recording it.

Seems strange to suggest racism when you are not sure yourself.

well, after all it wasnt me calling OP the racist was it ?

Carpentry wrote:
    well, after all it wasnt me calling OP the racist was it ?

So can you explain why you would pull a comment from a different thread into this one?
    Lastly accusing someone of being racist is not the criteria to prove they are indeed racist. It's a term regularly used by clueless individuals.

So can you explain why you would pull a comment from a different thread into this one?
    Lastly accusing someone of being racist is not the criteria to prove they are indeed racist.

I dont know, he mentioned polish there and here, so I thought it might be the connection somewhere
    It's a term regularly used by clueless individuals.

I wouldnt know, never called anyone a racist.

not true, it houseing estates houses can be back to back and plenty of people can see into others bedrooms, you can be damn sure that if someone was to record someones bedroom its a privacy breach

How would someone else's bedroom be in the middle of the neighbours garden?

The op isn't talking about someone recording their bedroom, it is a camera facing their own garden with overspill. This isn't a breech.

Carpentry wrote:
    I dont know, he mentioned polish there and here, so I thought it might be the connection somewhere

I'm going to leave it at this but it strikes me as if you are trying to imply something just not willing to be straight out about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,788 ✭✭✭brian_t

The op isn't talking about someone recording their bedroom, it is a camera facing their own garden with overspill.

At the moment it is something that looks like a camera according to the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Stanford wrote: »
    The local Gardai would take a dim view if they thought the camera was trained on OP's child in his back garden, perhaps he should have a word with them

If that's the case, any cctv is dodgy as children could walk by. As said, this how witch hunts start.

How would someone else's bedroom be in the middle of the neighbours garden?

The op isn't talking about someone recording their bedroom, it is a camera facing their own garden with overspill. This isn't a breech.

You've moved the goalposts to suit your posts :)

Anyway, the OP has their options laid out to them in my earlier post.There isn't a debate to be hard here.

I'm going to leave it at this but it strikes me as if you are trying to imply something just not willing to be straight out about it.

That was as straight as it gets. Wasnt implying anything. For real.

Reati wrote: »
    You've moved the goalposts to suit your posts :)

Anyway, the OP has their options laid out to them in my earlier post.There isn't a debate to be hard here.

I was responding to someone else's post about recording someone's bedroom.

Private individuals are exempt from data protection laws when recording their own home or property etc. As long as the camera is centered on their own garden there is no breech of privacy, especially when the overspill is on an area normally viewable by multiple properties.

especially when the overspill is on an area normally viewable by multiple properties.

Can you link us to the part in the legislation that says that?

Of course not, legislation isn't that specific. Rulings have found similar though.

Can you link to the legislation that states under no circumstances can any private property be recorded?