Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

unauthorised taking of car, drunken driving, dangerous driving. leaving scene

• 13-07-2018 7:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21

just signed up to this site while searching the web on drink driving offenses cant figure out how to start new thread
    so a few weeks back I made a massive mistake while being highly intoxicated,
    got into a mates car got about a mile and crashed into the side of an innocent persons parked car, cant remember much but done a runner and got caught by Gardaí a few moments later. was arrested and taken to the barracks where I was interviewed, attempted to blow into intoxiliser which was unsuccessful Gardaí wouldn't believe me that I actually was trying to blow in but I suffer from asthma, agreed to provide urine sample after that. so results from urine sample came back today which states the wrong surname on result document. I by no means deserve to get off with this as anybody drink driving deserves to be punished but I am wondering would this be a technicality for the case to be dismssed. depend on my license so much and I am so worried about this as I never ever drove a car while drinking before with this being completely out of character if there are any legal minded people on here I would appreciate your input.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

You should be asking a solicitor these questions ... drink driving, driving uninsured (I assume) , leaving the scene of an accident .. all quite serious .. don’t depend on opinions or advise of random smucks like me online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 hawkeye here

I appreciate your reply, but a random smuck like you might be able to give me some assurance that I have some case of defense. I was unable to get in contact with my solicitor when I came home from work and have searched online with no success. I am aware all very serious, as I wasn't actually got in the car I think it is going to be hard for them to prove, although they have a witness and cctv on neighboring property which I doubt they can use as they are recording a public road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

We all make mistakes I know you are probably going through hell right now and it's the end of the world in your mind but you will get through it and come out the other side

Get good legal advice and take the punishment on the chin and learn from it

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Mod
    Title changed from "drink driving"
    Joining AA would help

AA? By no means an alcoholic drink between 4 and 6 times per year, which I now intend not to drink again as I realised from this it doesn’t suit my personality but it will Bother me. But you think I might help my case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

You may get away with the breathalyser/urine results - the other stuff you are stuffed.

fritzelly wrote: »
    You may get away with the breathalyser/urine results - the other stuff you are stuffed.

If I didn’t lose my licence I would be absolutely extatic, atm my head is flaked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

Unless it's a massive difference in name like John Smith when your Jason Samson then I don't see it being anything other than an administrative error which is corrected.

You need to speak with your solicitor as the guards will prepare a file for the dpp to prosecute you and the solicitor will prepare your defence based on all this information.

If I didn’t lose my licence I would be absolutely extatic, atm my head is flaked.

Wee bit optimistic there I'd say - if I was in your position, I'd be delighted if I wasn't doing time for it.

Also, good luck getting insurance in the future! We're all a little safer knowing mod deletion like you are off the road.

Mod
    Be polite, pls

Wee bit optimistic there I'd say - if I was in your position, I'd be delighted if I wasn't doing time for it.

Also, good luck getting insurance in the future! We're all a little safer knowing assholes like you are off the road.

No need to be rude about things. Rule of thumb for reference if you haven’t got something decent to say. Say nothing. Fine I made a stupid mistake /Mod deletion/

No need to be rude about things. Rule of thumb for reference if you haven’t got something m

Nah, people like you deserve no sympathy whatsoever. Hopefully you get the book thrown at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Hit and run whilst pissed, and no insurance or permission to take the car..
    . Now in the cold light of day you're sorry.... Sorry you got caught. More like. No idea if you'll get off but I seriously hope for the safety of all the rest of us, road users you don't.

Nah, people like you deserve no sympathy whatsoever. Hopefully you get the book thrown at you.

Maybe they will maybe they won’t but you will still be a qualified rude person!

Forgive me if I don't take lessons in manners from a scumbag who

- robbed his mates car
    - drove whilst absolutely langers
    - crashed the car
    - left the scene
    - refused to give a breath sample (offering the piss sample, most likely when all but forced to)
    - is trying to get off on a technicality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

You've no chance of keeping the license. Literally zero.

2 years minimum ban I'd say. Most likely 5 given you fled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

This isn't the attitude you should have.

If randmors on the net wind you up for something you did then imagine what a judge will say to you in the box.

Check your attitude and that's some legal advice mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

Hurling abuse at the OP doesn't do anyone any good here, He/She was wrong, and more than likely (and well deservedly) lose their license. A friend of mine left the scene of an accident while driving uninsured got 6 points and 1K fine, and these offences aren't quite as serious in my opinion. No way this will be thrown out over an admin issue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 409 ✭✭Sassygirl1999

No need to be rude about things. Rule of thumb for reference if you haven’t got something decent to say. Say nothing. Fine I made a stupid mistake but I bet your a real asshole!

you are clearly gunning for abuse, not really looking to learn just looking to get away with it, sorry just saying it as i see it reading all of the above, you will need to learn humility and seek forgiveness/mercy

Hurling abuse at the OP doesn't do anyone any good here, He/She was wrong, and more than likely (and well deservedly) lose their license. A friend of mine left the scene of an accident while driving uninsured got 6 points and 1K fine, and these offences aren't quite as serious in my opinion. No way this will be thrown out over an admin issue.

Was your friend pissed and driving a stolen car?

OP is goosed - and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Needles73

screamer wrote: »
    Hit and run whilst pissed, and no insurance or permission to take the car..
    . Now in the cold light of day you're sorry.... Sorry you got caught. More like. No idea if you'll get off but I seriously hope for the safety of all the rest of us, road users you don't.

Yep, plus we pick up the tab for the damaged parked car.....

Forgive me if I don't take lessons in manners from a scumbag who

- robbed his mates car
    - drove whilst absolutely langers
    - crashed the car
    - left the scene
    - refused to give a breath sample (offering the piss sample, most likely when all but forced to)
    - is trying to get off on a technicality.

Mate gave me the car, some mate eh You missed one chap, no insurance... point taken from your end considering me a scumbag judging me on all of the above, but it ain’t the case.I didn’t disagree with any of your statements I simply am trying to get across to you that it is nice to be nice and name calling ain’t nice. No more than any of the mishaps that I’ve done myself.

It's just unfortunate that the OP probably (without knowing the full details) will get the urine result thrown out, one can only hope that the judge takes the breathalyser refusal along with everything else into account and does literally throw the book at him - alas I don't hold up much hope.

you are clearly gunning for abuse, not really looking to learn just looking to get away with it, sorry just saying it as i see it reading all of the above, you will need to learn humility and seek forgiveness/mercy

I’ve learned and am grateful nobody was hurt more than anything.

AA? By no means an alcoholic drink between 4 and 6 times per year, which I now intend not to drink again as I realised from this it doesn’t suit my personality but it will Bother me. But you think I might help my case?

A few years ago, a relative in USA had a small beer with his lunch. Was randomly pulled over, bretyalised, showed slightly over the limit. His punishment was to attend 6 AA meetings. It did the trick. He never again drove after drinking, no matter how little he’d drunk.

It is important for one to accept and do their punishment when they break the law, not look for loopholes.

Mod
    Closing this thread. OP see a solicitor practising in the relevant District Court

Mate gave me the car, some mate eh You missed one chap, no insurance... point taken from your end considering me a scumbag judging me on all of the above, but it ain’t the case.I didn’t disagree with any of your statements I simply am trying to get across to you that it is nice to be nice and name calling ain’t nice. No more than any of the mishaps that I’ve done myself.

Oh yeah, so it's your mates fault then - deflect deflect deflect.

You're right about one thing - it's nice to be nice.

As another saying goes - karma's a bitch - and you're about to get a healthy dose of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

I’ve learned and am grateful nobody was hurt more than anything.

Fair play, we've all done stupid sh1t at some stage, well I have anyway. Don't have anything legally constructive to add, just best of luck and be sure to learn from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

Nobody here can say, unless maybe a solicitor stumbles across the thread.

And even then you'd be taking someones word on the internet that they're a solicitor and that they're right.

So you're basically looking for some assurance that you won't get until you talk to your own solicitor, harsh as that sounds.

If I was you I would be dying to know too before Monday but unless you have a family member or friend who knows a solicitor who'd be willing to chat over weekend then you'll need to just wait.

I have a touch of asthma and occasionally smoke so when I got breathalysed I couldn't blow into the device long enough either, I was surprised how long you have to do it for. Eventually 3rd time it worked and I passed but the Guard joked that I should practice for next time. Point being, it must be common enough for people to try and not produce enough for the device to work, so I doubt you'll have any trouble there, solicitor will point out you tried.

But the rest is for a solicitor. I wouldn't fancy your chances, personally. Certainly seek legal advice but lets be honest here, you were drunk and crashed so if the solicitor says the technicality wont get you off then you can't be too surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,656 ✭✭✭✭road_high

RossieMan wrote: »
    You've no chance of keeping the license. Literally zero.

2 years minimum ban I'd say. Most likely 5 given you fled.

And rightly so...this loon should be doing time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Oh yeah, so it's your mates fault then - deflect deflect deflect.

You're right about one thing - it's nice to be nice.

As another saying goes - karma's a bitch - and you're about to get a healthy dose of it.

What's the point of this?

If he was a scumbag I doubt he would be posting here

The lad is showing remorse

Doesn't need to be doing "time" - no one was killed or hurt thankfully - but max of everything else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

I know someone who did exactly the same except with his own car. Identical situation otherwise. He had already been off the road for two years.
    The Garda taking the official test in the station was ten minutes late doing it. Case was dismissed for drink driving charge. He was done for the rest and paid for the other car etc.

Same fella did the very same thing a couple of years later and was put off the road for 6 years. He's still doing it and will go to jail the next time he's caught.

You might get away with the drink driving charge but hardly the rest. You know yourself you don't deserve to get away with any of it. Don't do what my friend did, learn your lesson before yourself or others die. I'm sure you feel terrible now and have regrets, hopefully that'll come back to you and remind you the next time your drunk with keys in your hand. We all make mistakes, luckily yours wasn't life altering, this time.

What's the point of this?

If he was a scumbag I doubt he would be posting here

The lad is showing remorse

Remorse my **** - he's looking for a technicality to get off on.

The only good thing about this is that he didn't kill anybody!

i am closing this thread! right now

The only good thing about this is that he didn't kill anybody!

Rudeness kicking in again!!

its a shame

how does it feel to be in all the trouble?

So is everyone - bad upbringing and all that
    Very few people go into court and say yep that's me and I did it all - human nature

I'm actually being incredibly reserved to be quite honest with you. I don't fancy taking a holiday from the site.

Anyway, I'm out - from somebody who's lost a good friend to a drunk driver - I sincerely hope you get the book thrown at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Etc

Mate, you're wasting your time looking for advice here, get you a solicitor as soon as you can. You're in a right pickle.

how does it feel to be in all the trouble?

Absolutely terrible!

you should get close to your spiritual source, whether it is your god or your passion, stay out of harms way

Mod
    Thread closed
    Hawkeye, consult a solicitor practising in relevant court area