The 148th Open at Royal Portrush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,473 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Some effort in the end but by god he will be kicking himself for awhile over those last two days. Never mind yesterday, he certainly had the chances to go 3-5 shots lower today and took a silly bogey on 13 too.

He really needs to get that attitude right of where he is just relaxed and goes out and just attacks a golf course. Pity he didn’t make the weekend but at least we still have Gmac out early and then Shane to roar home for next two days.

Ah dont think can say as much about today, even if he missed relatively easy putts. A 65 is some shooting, not too many better rounds than that all week. I think he'll look to the Thursday as far easier to shave shots on a 79 (if I could state the obvious anymore).

Clearly emotional in the interview, can see how much pressure he puts himself under. I do think he'll feel he let the fans down, but today wad just great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,964 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

fullstop wrote: »
    If he hit the same shot as he hit just now he wouldn’t be on the fairway though, would he? So it was a bit of a silly ‘point’. But sure we all know your feelings about him, so you’re hardly going to be objective about it.

And he might not even be in the open if he drove it 300 up the middle on the first yesterday. Both rounds would play out differently so nobody can say what would have happened.

Nothing silly except what you’re saying.
    If he hit the fairway he’d still be there. Fact.
    I feel your pain though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,285 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Nothing silly except what you’re saying.
    If he hit the fairway he’d still be there. Fact.
    I feel your pain though.

No what you said originally. Fact. Anyway, I’m not engaging with you any more on it. We both know what you’re up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,964 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

No what you said originally. Fact. Anyway, I’m not engaging with you any more on it. We both know what you’re up to.

Jaysus you should have warned Rory you’re so psychic.

As has happened many times, a very bad round was followed by a very good round, the good round not being enough to compensate for the damage done to his score card.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Fusitive wrote: »
    What a load of nonsense. In the last 19 majors, Rory has 10 top 10 finishes. Some of you lads go on like guys should be consistently winning majors, it doesn't work that way. Even the likes of Woods and Nicklaus had barren spells in their careers. Anyone remember the huge deal that was made out of "The Tiger Slump". That is even a comparison against arguably the two greatest players in history.

I can’t remember the last time Rory properly challenged for a major.

A player of his ability should be challenging for every major.

There is an issue mental wise. That’s a fact. He has the game for all courses. He hits the ball as far as most.

Has the best iron game by far.

Putting is debatable on occasions.

Not sure why everyone has this love in with Rory

There is an issue mental wise. That’s a fact. He has the game for all courses. He hits the ball as far as most.

Long iron maybe, short irons debatable.

Dav010 wrote: »
    Long iron maybe, short irons debatable.

Agreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,188 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I suspect he will never win a major again

When almost retired he will challenge for one. But won’t win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

ur8hueS.jpg?1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Winner coming from Lowry, fleetwood, Koepka, Rose, Spieth or Rahm for me anyway!!!

While lots of big name have missed the cut, there is certainly a great weekend ahead of us and having Shane at the top should make it a massive atmosphere.

Winner coming from Lowry, fleetwood, Koepka, Rose, Spieth or Rahm for me anyway!!!

While lots of big name have missed the cut, there is certainly a great weekend ahead of us and having Shane at the top should make it a massive atmosphere.

Agreed but I think you can include Stenson too.

Agree with that lineup

Rose for me. He is as solid as they come. I’d love Shane to win it but it’s highly unlikely. Other than that fleetwood as I have met him a couple of times and is a top notch bloke

Bye bye mcilrat. An embarrassment to Northern Ireland. Waited 68 years and the hometown hero sh1ts his pants day1.

He shot the best round today. Deserves much plaudits for the fight he showed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Just back from our day at the Open having left home in the wee small hours as they say up north. The day and experience exceeded my expectations in every way - even the rain held off til mid afternoon and wasnt too bad. Having been to a few Irish an European Opens, I wasn’t expecting to get as close to the action and the super stars as we did. Having Shane doing so well was just the icing on the cake. The support for him was brilliant. Of the top guys, Justin Rose showed himself to be such a class act with the galleries even when the cameras weren’t on him. Just a brilliant day all around. Hope the weather holds for the weekend. C’mon Shane!!

Bye bye mcilrat. An embarrassment to Northern Ireland. Waited 68 years and the hometown hero sh1ts his pants day1.

Well done Shane and Holmes.

Have to pull you up on that one. He isn’t an embarrassment to NI, he might however be embarrassed about his round yesterday. I’m sure it wasn’t easy with all the expectations but for sure he would have been expected to perform better for an elite athlete. You would have to wonder about his mental strength to perform under pressure given his performance in majors since his purple patch in 14/15 . He obviously has the ability, but does he have the game when it matters in majors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,976 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Well done Shane and Holmes.

Can't fathom this mindset

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Few people getting a day off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 613 ✭✭✭one man clappin

Jesus the haters are really out tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,285 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

lawred2 wrote: »
    Can't fathom this mindset

It’s pretty sad that (presumably) grown men are sitting at home just hoping for him to miss the cut so then can troll and WUM.

There should be great coverage for the next two days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Is it on bbc next 2 days ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Would not have been a mcilroy fan but his round today and his interview tonight gave great insight into his character , maybe not what wins tournaments but real Irish heart on the sleeve character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭redarmy

Open Championship rookie Bob MacIntyre lambasted Kyle Stanley, one of his playing partners at Royal Portrush, after the American twice hit people in the crowd in the second round without the traditional warning shout of “Fore”.

The 22-year-old from Oban was angered when Stanley, a two-time winner on the PGA Tour, first hit a marshal on the shin with a wayward shot at the 14th then stood and watched without indicating for fans to take evasive action again as he also missed the fairway at the 17th.

On that occasion, the ball hit MacIntyre’s caddie Greg Milne’s mum, Stephanie, and, though she wasn’t hurt, it prompted the Scot to confront Stanley.

“Coming down the last I wasn’t happy with what had happened on the 17th,” said MacIntyre after adding a 72 to his opening 68 to comfortably make the cut on two-under-par on his major debut. Referring to Stanley, he added: “My playing partner doesn’t shout ‘Fore’, his ball goes into the crowd, we’re shouting ‘Fore’ as the ball is coming into the crowd. He’s just standing watching it. And people didn’t have enough time to react when we shouted.

“It hit Greg’s mum. So I told him how it was. I said I wasn’t happy – and he didn’t really like my response. He’s the only one I’ve seen do that. It was straight into the crowd. It was into the crowd from the word go. And we’re expecting him to shout fore. She’s all right, I think, but it’s not what you want. “

Players on the PGA Tour have a habit of not shouting ‘Fore’ but MacIntyre did not mince his words as he confronted Stanley. “Aye, there were harsh words,” added the left-hander, who was pleased to make the cut on his Open debut. “It wasn’t too pleasant. But you’ve got to tell him it’s not right. He didn’t take it well at all.

“Shout ‘Fore’. That ball is going straight into the crowd, you know from the word go it’s going into the crowd. Just shout. We shouted, me and Beef [partner Andrew Johnston], as it was coming down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 613 ✭✭✭one man clappin

Well done Mr MacIntyre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,473 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

He doesn't seem like one to hold back. And fair play to him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,319 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Was there today and very few shouted fore even the Europeans. Even sugrue the amateur from mallow blazed one off the tee a mile right, there was no shout just him and clarkey with their arms up waving to the right. Not good enough.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,976 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Was there today and very few shouted fore even the Europeans. Even sugrue the amateur from mallow blazed one off the tee a mile right, there was no shout just him and clarkey with their arms up waving to the right. Not good enough.

Are there not Marshalls to do that stuff for the pros?

Still think they should shout anyway obviously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,773 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

What time are the final group likely to tee it up on Sunday? Will it mirror tomorrow (so between 10.30 and 11)? Just trying to figure out my Sunday watching schedule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Holy Diver

That’s what I was getting at. He has as much talent as tiger ever had.

He should have 10 Majors minimum by now

Ridiculous statement ffs