The 148th Open at Royal Portrush

• Administrators Posts: 55,856 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Ah here Darren Clarke. Just three putted on 18 to probably miss the cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,707 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Clarke almost certainly gone on +3, Sugrue still in with a chance of making the cut at +2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Think Clarke had pints on his mind there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,649 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

clarke head gone .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭PhuckHugh22

PARlance wrote: »
    Think Clarke had pints on his mind there

Can somebody get Dave McIntyre up there pronto to ask him if he wanted to play at the weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Sharp MZ700

Will +2 make the cut lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭dennyire

GreeBo wrote: »
    71 players on +1 so it will likely move to +2.

Cant see your logic there, top 70 +ties go through , which currently leaves projected cut at +1. There are an awful number of players on +2

can't say Clarke missing the cut pains me.

really hope Lowry finishes out well today and keep his composure over the next 2 days to be there with a chance on Sunday afternoon.

not renowned for Sunday composure but maybe the manner of sticking to it to take the win in the middle east earlier this year could stand to him if he has a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,649 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Will +2 make the cut lads?

lads on sky seem to think it will.

i think it depends if rain stops still scoring out there .

The easiest holes are at the start and 2/3rds of the field shot over par yesterday so it makes sense the cut would trend towards +2

Poor bogey there from Shane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,964 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Poor bogey there from Shane

FFS that hasn’t happened on my tv yet.
    I must be behind.
    Might have to stop reading this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭Remind me

dennyire wrote: »
    Cant see your logic there, top 70 +ties go through , which currently leaves projected cut at +1. There are an awful number of players on +2

Doesn’t matter how many there is, once it’s plus ties you can add 15 players maybe.

It is more likely +2 than +1

sorry . i hate saying this .

Rory is brutal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,707 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I must be behind.

Mine either, yer man must be in an alternative universe or something

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

sorry . i hate saying this .

Rory is brutal

This weekend for sure

I must be behind.

Ya sky showing a delayed clip of that. I have the feature groups going on different screens with Sky also.

Mine either, yer man must be in an alternative universe or something

Nope watched it on the app about 3/4 mins before sky showed it.
    Strange that Sky is not giving us live shots of the leader with a tricky par putt.

Remind me wrote: »
    Doesn’t matter how many there is, once it’s plus ties you can add 15 players maybe.

It is more likely +2 than +1

Hope you are right... would love to see Sugrue play over the weekend

sorry if im coming across as a grumpy old bollix.

but these fist pumps for fairly basic things from caddies are a bit snowflake.

its golf in the rain. get on with it and in.

youll nearly see a fist pump for getting rain gear off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,474 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I've made it home to see Shane make bogey then go into the bunker. I'll turn off now

flakey iron shot there from SL into the bunker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,117 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

great recovery from Shane, should be a par

slow motion of bunker shot class.

• Administrators Posts: 55,856 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

If Lowry can get that shot back to finish at -10 he can go in absolutely delighted with himself.

Hope you are right... would love to see Sugrue play over the weekend

There are currently 71 players better than +2. Once a couple of those players drop to +2 or worse it will move to +2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,444 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

GreeBo wrote: »
    71 players on +1 so it will likely move to +2.

Not that hard to understand. It would take 2 of those players to drop a shot and all of a sudden +2 becomes tied for 69th

Remind me wrote: »
    There are currently 71 players enter than +2. Once a couple of those players drop to +2 or worse it will move to +2

But there are a few payers also capable of moving from +2 to +1

Of course but more likely players moving the other direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭Panrich

awec wrote: »
    If Lowry can get that shot back to finish at -10 he can go in absolutely delighted with himself.

If he can keep it at -9 he’ll take it. Very dangerous finishing holes.