The 148th Open at Royal Portrush

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Pissartist wrote: »
    i'm back in work, is it still raining ? How's the wind ?

Good conditions now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

That finish from Gmac just sucked the life out of the NI challenge anyway.

Already looking like Shane will be the home challenger.

Awful finish from a strong contender in Xander too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

You should have played lahinch rory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Rory +8, goodnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Mr.Maroon

McIlroy +8 - buckling under the pressure again.

I've always thought he was mentality weak on the course, but maybe he'd grow out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Redo91

Jesus McIlroy will hardly make the cut now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

+8 what a horrible home event for rory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭galwayllm

Bye bye Rory, and Rory goes bye bye..
    . Haha...

Now don't mind who wins it.

Finally he's playing like he should...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Jaysus that was tough to watch. He actually did quite well to drag himself back into an ok position with 3 holes to go and then just lost the plot again.

He didn’t even birdie two of the par 5’s so he actually could have salvaged that round. These events in your own backyard really do put serious pressure on players and today was another example.

Don’t envy him heading into his press conference. Once again another year without a major and no matter how good his season is actually going, it will ultimately come down to majors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭harpsman

in fairness he is a very nice an respectful man Fowler, so i'd say he won't wear it, shame though i wish he would

It would be a sad reflection on Northern Ireland if he felt he couldn’t wear orange clothes in a golf tournament. Mind you nothing surprises me about that place

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

galwayllm wrote: »
    Bye bye Rory, and Rory goes bye bye..
    . Haha...

Now don't mind who wins it.

Finally he's playing like he should...

Wonderful contributor to the thread. Don’t post in it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Sharp MZ700

Delighted for Shane. Looks like the right side of the draw today, anything around level tomorrow and he's sitting pretty for the weekend.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

Delighted for Shane. Looks like the right side of the draw today, anything around level tomorrow and he's sitting pretty for the weekend.

love to see him win, even to banish the harm chambers bay did to him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Hitch2222

Keano wrote: »
    Wonderful contributor to the thread. Don’t post in it again

I'm sure you'll be busy enough with a few others in light of the score.

Pity about the last having rallied so well after the first, he had a "good 16 holes", I believe that was a previous observation by someone regarding a previous McIlroy round.

It could be worse, you could have been Duval :confused:, happy enough to pin Irish hopes on Lowry, I'd love to see him win it.

Hitch2222 wrote: »
    I'm sure you'll be busy enough with a few others in light of the score.

Pity about the last having rallied so well after the first, he had a "good 16 holes", I believe that was a previous observation by someone regarding a previous McIlroy round.

It could be worse, you could have been Duval :confused:, happy enough to pin Irish hopes on Lowry, I'd love to see him win it.

well i don't see why people can't have an opinion on him, it is part of the open discussion.
    i'm not allowed anyway so that's all i'm saying.
    fair play to clarkey for shooting level par

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭willabur

Rory is having statistically one of the best years in history, only peak tiger (three times) has had better years than rory has had so far since 2004

That for me says that the issue with him is purely between the ears. He seems to struggle massively under pressure at the majors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Delighted for Mcilroy. A most unlikeable character who has abandoned the European tour anyway. Didn't bother his arse showing up for Lahinch two weeks ago. Shame koepka isn't getting much TV coverage. He looks ready to unload

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭boardise

I'm a Rory fan I think it's distasteful for anyone to revel in anyone's misfortune. Almost all top players have shot in the 80s at some point. Any golfer knows that this game can frazzle your brain.
    Rory has had much success and I believe he will again . He still has a good ten years left to enhance his already formidable CV.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I hope I am allowed say this...

What a howler from McIlroy. He is currently 5th last.....

I would say he is mortified, he needs to shoot a 65/66 tomorrow to make the cut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Fusitive

Delighted for Mcilroy. A most unlikeable character who has abandoned the European tour anyway. Didn't bother his arse showing up for Lahinch two weeks ago. Shame koepka isn't getting much TV coverage. He looks ready to unload

Mcilroy saved the Irish Open, an event that was on it's knees. The criticism of him deciding not to play it this year is just the typical what have you done lately for me Irish begrudgery.

boardise wrote: »
    I'm a Rory fan I think it's distasteful for anyone to revel in anyone's misfortune. Almost all top players have shot in the 80s at some point. Any golfer knows that this game can frazzle your brain.
    Rory has had much success and I believe he will again . He still has a good ten years left to enhance his already formidable CV.

I agree, i'd say he will win a few pga's and even some open's on easy courses with no wind where he shoots 20 under.
    But i can't see him win any masters or us opens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Sharp MZ700

Isn't there a McIlroy thread for this sh1t?

very true last time i mention him anyway he's gone as far as this tournament is concerned, how is tiger looking anyone ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭username?!

I feel for Rory. I still fully believe he has another major in him after his performance at the Players. People are quick to forget.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I'm amazed there are so many McIlroy haters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Hitch2222

well i don't see why people can't have an opinion on him, it is part of the open discussion.

I won't say any more either but as it has been highlighted numerous times, the drivel by both GalwayLLM and subsequently by BrendanWalsh are not critiques, they are non-golf related drivel used to incite.

I understand you may agree with elements of their opinions but it's probably worth just sticking to the golfers for their golf and not for their character. I hope you can see where the difference exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,285 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Well when certain people seem intent on nothing but trolling maybe they should stick to abusing people on Twitter instead.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I'm amazed there are so many McIlroy haters.

you'll notice they are all from non-regular posters here.

fullstop wrote: »
    Well when certain people seem intent on nothing but trolling maybe they should stick to abusing people on Twitter instead.

If you mean me show me where i trolled ?
    I'm a golfer and know what i'm talking about, some people in charge of this thread do not even know the difference between the type of courses we play.
    None of us will learn anything from a back slapping echo chamber.

• Administrators Posts: 55,856 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Big ask for McIlroy to sort his head out by tomorrow afternoon. Shocker of a round, made worse by the level of attention he's receiving and the favourite tag that he had.