Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time between log book been sent and processed

• 06-07-2018 12:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭

Sold my car (2004 bmw e46 sport) to two dubious characters, two sound Romanian lads in fariness but I say dubious because of how fast they were on test drives , crazy crazy stuff. But I just wanted it off my hands fast as I only have one parking space and have upgraded my car.

Too much detail sorry, my question is what if they get caught speeding on a speed camera (not stopped by gardai) but car still registered in my name and i get penalty points etc. , as (1) they may not send log book straight away to rsa / dept of transport, (2) it takes a few days to post and process etc

I rang my local gardai station even though its not their duty and they were v sound about it but not sure they were exactly right, they didnt take my name even tho i asked could they log my call and they just said “ah youll be grand, this is common”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Eh, the seller is supposed to send the logbook, not the buyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

As Kenny has said it was your job to send off the log book. They probably never will. There is some sort of process where you can contact shannon and you will have to fill out an affidavit with a lawyer saying it is no longer yours.
    Do you still have the buyers details?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭anoble66

In my haste to get the car sold (a non runner) I made the same stupid mistake a few months ago. Email or call Shannon they will send you a form to fill out, hopefully you at least got the purchasers name and address. You can get the form signed by commissioner of oaths or solicitor, usually costs around 10e to get signed. Send it to Shannon. This still won't change the registered ownership details on the system but you have some recourse if they clock up penalty points, fines etc. It will also prevent the motortax reminders / arrears.

Good luck....I bet you won't make the same mistake again like myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

When did you sell the car?

As pointed out already you are responsible for sending off the logbook but whats done is done.

Seeing as you already logged a call with the Gardai, I would say give it another few days (working days) and keep checking motortax.ie to check if a transfer of owner has been notified

Heres the link:

https://www.motortax.ie/OMT/changeOwnership.do

If no change by next week perhaps also try calling the lads to see if they sent it off yet or not? ( I would assume you have their ph number)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Eh, the seller is supposed to send the logbook, not the buyer.

Or, if the buyer objects to that, sign it, pop it in an envelope and go post it together. Then both of you know it's done.