Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Used Outlander PHEV

• 05-07-2018 1:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭

Hi All,

The wife has had a look at this and is interested in buying it. Took it for a drive over lunch and it seems tight enough although I felt it a bit juddery or hesitant accelerating from low speeds. Admittedly I know nothing about EV's / Hybrids hence why I'm here looking for advice.

http://www.oharacars.ie/viewanad.php?ad_id=2054358&r=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭og2k7

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Hi All,

The wife has had a look at this and is interested in buying it. Took it for a drive over lunch and it seems tight enough although I felt it a bit juddery or hesitant accelerating from low speeds. Admittedly I know nothing about EV's / Hybrids hence why I'm here looking for advice.

http://www.oharacars.ie/viewanad.php?ad_id=2054358&r=

Got same model (2015 though) and 2/3 of mileage for same price (imported myself though). This would be outside the warranty now so something to bear in mind.

Been driving this for the past 3 weeks and very happy: you might want to have a look at this thread for more info: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=107428905

Accelerating would be different than normal cars (especially with ECO on) but something to get used to. Also bear in mind this car weighs 2 tonnes so a lot to move. Very specious and 4x4 and with the electric range quite economical from what i have seen so far.

If you want to still get it, plug in the OBD2 dongle, connect to an Android phone and see the battery condition etc and all alerts etc

Hope this helps

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Go for the facelift model (2015) and ideally the GX4H which has the sat nav and also has a number of improvements including a smoother transition when the petrol engine kicks in for over taking. You will spend similar money with not much leg work importing. I also think the facelift models have a 7 year warranty.

edited to add: You need to look at 2016 for facelift and it seems prices have tightened up. Cheapest I found was nearly £18k....but it had very low miles.

www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201803064305683

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Thats a very good price for an Irish based one... but I would strongly suggest going for the Gx4h model.
    Facelift is nice to have but I'd deem the gx4h trim as more important

goz83 wrote: »
    Go for the facelift model (2015) and ideally the GX4H which has the sat nav and also has a number of improvements including a smoother transition when the petrol engine kicks in for over taking. You will spend similar money with not much leg work importing. I also think the facelift models have a 7 year warranty.

edited to add: You need to look at 2016 for facelift and it seems prices have tightened up. Cheapest I found was nearly £18k....but it had very low miles.

www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201803064305683

This one is a VAN so unless you are looking for one that a no go

I think they are all 5 years/90k miles but could be wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

og2k7 wrote: »
    This one is a VAN so unless you are looking for one that a no go

I think they are all 5 years/90k miles but could be wrong

I hadn't gone through the pictures. I actually think its an 8 year warranty on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Absolute max budget is €16.5k so getting a 2015 4H is going to be a struggle!

It's a great car anyway and if you can live without the additional features offered in 4h trim (i think it's satnav, engine mapping, interior trim, and app connectivity (?) mainly) then I would suggest the 3h level is better than not getting one!

ELM327 wrote: »
    It's a great car anyway and if you can live without the additional features offered in 4h trim (i think it's satnav, engine mapping, interior trim, and app connectivity (?) mainly) then I would suggest the 3h level is better than not getting one!

I got the Gx3H (spent months researching) - and if I had more cash would have gone for 4h but 5k more doesnt justify a so-so navigation (use iphone anyways). I could have stretched but just couldnt pay that much for a couple of more bells and whistles.

Having said that the 3h trim has brilliant speakers (better than any other higher specced (albeit older) cars. Bluetooth connectivity works perfect (voice controls etc) and the dashboard displays al info you need.

Obviously you get more with a higher trim: I definitely would have liked the reversing camera and car connectivity( but got the OBD2 dongle and can connect any android app to the car ) so no massive dramas there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭edanto

Thanks to all for the helpful info posted in this thread; I'm just starting to look at spending ~20k on a phev and want to learn more about Outlander.

Helpful to know about trim level and a way to check battery health. What's a good health result?

Any other gotchas on the Outlander?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

For Outlander it's definitely worth looking at UK, you get a GX4H there for the proce of a GX3H here, incl VRT. It's a bit more hassle though.
    If you stretch to GX5H you get heated rear sets and nicer leather, and some more stuff.
    For me the GX4H is the best value option.
    Specification GX3h
    18” alloy wheels with 225/55 R18 Toyo R18 tyres
    Super All Wheel Control combining:
    Active Yaw control
    Active Stability Control
    Conventional ABS system that works in conjunction with AYC and ASC
    S-AWC in dash display with YAW control and driving force
    Information
    Twin Electric Motor 4WD System
    Magnesium paddle shifters to select level of regenerative braking
    Cabin pre-heater
    A/C with dual zone climate control
    Electric heated folding door mirrors
    Steering wheel audio controls
    Cruise control
    Rear privacy class
    Leather covered steering wheel
    Bluetooth mobile phone compatibility
    Mitsubishi sat-nav audio touchscreen
    Smartphone app for controlling charging
    Acoustic Vehicle Alerting System (beeper when running electric)

Additional specification GX4h
    Satnav with High Def 7” touch screen
    Wide beam HID headlamps
    Heated front seats
    Electric drivers seat
    Reversing camera
    Leather seats.
    DAB radio
    Electric sunroof
    Powered tailgate

Additional specification GX4hs
    Adaptive cruise control
    Forward collision mitigation system
    Lane departure warning system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭PixelTrawler

We picked up a Gx3h a few weeks back from a Mitsubishi main dealer in Dublin. Its a uk import. The dealership arranged swapping out the basic radio for a pioneer sat nav with reversing camera so thats an option to consider.

The install of that was done at our house. A friend picked one up also and got the same pioneer and had heated seats added. So even if you get a gx3h it is possible to upgrade it. Would have liked the 4h but needed the money for other things.

Edit. Just spotted your budget. Ours is a mid 2015, 45k miles and we had change out of 20k including the pioneer.

We probably could have saved more importing directly but i know feck all about cars and its a long way to go back with a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

I would hold off on one of these.A new outlander is on the way and the 1st gen prices will tumble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

magentis wrote: »
    I would hold off on one of these.A new outlander is on the way and the 1st gen prices will tumble.

new model is next year is it not?

I would doubt they will tumble that quickly, maybe end of 2019 you will see a drop but to be honest the Gen 1st will be all out of warranty at that stage so due a tumble anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭Orebro

Thats not the way it works really - every model of car gets replaced and it doesn't mean the arse falls out of the value of them because of it. Besides, the new Outlander isn't going to be a radical change from the current one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

We have a 2015 one , got it in Q1 this year. Thumbs up from us so far. 
    We've put 40 euro of petrol into it back in March... it's August now. Mainly electric motoring around the city. 1500 miles or so on that one tank. We're well used to the charging schtick though, our other car is a pure electric. Got this to fit a few more kids and dogs in, couldn't afford the Tesla. ;)

Orebro wrote: »
    Thats not the way it works really - every model of car gets replaced and it doesn't mean the arse falls out of the value of them because of it. Besides, the new Outlander isn't going to be a radical change from the current one.

If you are buying the salesman will tell you the old one will hold value.....if you are selling they will tell you the older model isnt worth as much:P:P:P:P:P

[COLOR=inherit !important]

#s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini { display: none !important; }[/COLOR]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

pwurple wrote: »
    We have a 2015 one , got it in Q1 this year. Thumbs up from us so far. 
    We've put 40 euro of petrol into it back in March... it's August now. Mainly electric motoring around the city. 1500 miles or so on that one tank. We're well used to the charging schtick though, our other car is a pure electric. Got this to fit a few more kids and dogs in, couldn't afford the Tesla. ;)

That's some charging discipline! Do you have 2 home chargers? Do you charge publicly?

unkel wrote: »
    That's some charging discipline! Do you have 2 home chargers? Do you charge publicly?

To be honest I think we could do similar. Most of our trips in Galaxy are 20km round trip and a few hours between them.

If we moved to Outlander and just kept it plugged in while at home during the day I would say 95% of the weeks trips could be on battery

Orebro wrote: »

I would disagree.

There has also been a gen 1.5 in the mix,if you look at any model,residuals are hit hardest in this scenario.Come back to me in 6 months so I can say I told you so.

I would disagree.

There has also been a gen 1.5 in the mix,if you look at any model,residuals are hit hardest in this scenario.Come back to me in 6 months so I can say I told you so.

It's hard to tell with the Outlander.....the price drops like a stone on any model after 60k miles because the warranty is up on the battery.

Any of the older models will be going over the 60k miles next year probably unless they are kept in storage. Also the 2014 will be outside the 5 year warranty so they will automatically drop.

The mid refresh was in 2016.

A good 2015 with less than 60k miles will keep its value.

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    It's hard to tell with the Outlander.....the price drops like a stone on any model after 60k miles because the warranty is up on the battery.

Any of the older models will be going over the 60k miles next year probably unless they are kept in storage. Also the 2014 will be outside the 5 year warranty so they will automatically drop.

The mid refresh was in 2016.

A good 2015 with less than 60k miles will keep its value.

Don't get me wrong.The outlander is a great machine,but the first gen will look very dated when you have the new one out and the gen 1.5 between.

I would say if you put all 3 together you wouldn't tell them apart

Well maybe people on these forums

But a standard punter. The differences are very little

The new 2019 model is a new engine and new battery but majority of the look of it is hardly ground breaking compared to the other models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

just a word of caution

In case you want to buy the Outlander PHEV because its a 4x4, watch this and then think again

I was seriously thinking about buying one of these yokes, but there were none close by to test on my 4x4 course (my driveway)...having seen how miserably it fails the above test I decided not to bother trekking halfway across the country for a test, be goaded into buying it and then have it bog down in my drive on the first outing.:D

peasant wrote: »
    just a word of caution

In case you want to buy the Outlander PHEV because its a 4x4, watch this and then think again

I was seriously thinking about buying one of these yokes, but there were none close by to test on my 4x4 course (my driveway)...having seen how miserably it fails the above test I decided not to bother trekking halfway across the country for a test, be goaded into buying it and then have it bog down in my drive on the first outing.:D

I have no idea what that test is supposed to show you?

It shows that it really isn't a 4x4.
    There is no physical connection between front and rear axle and the power distribution software is just not able to cope...meaning that as soon as you lose traction on two or more wheels you're stuck, no matter which wheels.

The petrol engined Outlander keeps going, the Phev just sits there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

I have no idea what that test is supposed to show you?

I think it shows you what to do if you ever get stuck on rollers that someone left lying around in a carpark.

Pkiernan wrote: »
    I think it shows you what to do if you ever get stuck on rollers that someone left lying around in a carpark.

substitute "roller" with "icy patch" or "wet grass" or "deep pothole" or "axle articulation" or any other situation where you'd really need a 4x4

A proper 4x4 will be able to get off two/three rollers as one/two wheels still have traction on the ground.
    Like Grand Vitara or Jimny

I think rollers aren't the best test and there are plenty vids of Outlander offroading.

Also we don't know if the driver pressed the Twin-Motor 4WD LOCK button to simulate locking of a center differential and optimally distribute torque to all four wheels for improved traction and stability.

biko wrote: »
    Also we don't know if the driver pressed the Twin-Motor 4WD LOCK button to simulate locking of a center differential and optimally distribute torque to all four wheels for improved traction and stability.

We do actually..the vid shows a picture of the "lock" button whenever it's selected...makes no difference.

I agree that rollers aren't the best test out there to reflect real life, but they are the best standard to compare different systems by (this channel has loads of comparisons online)

Fact is...most other 4x4s pass these tests more or less impressively...the PHEV just sits there and spins its wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Real eye opener this.

I was looking seriously at getting the Outlander but it's looks and small size really put me off.
    The PHEV and 4wd may have made up for it, but not any more.

If I need a proper 4 x 4 I go to Toyota and buy a Land Cruiser.

If I want a run around town, maybe pull a trailer with a lawn mower in it and it will save me on fuel then I buy a Outlander.

My mate has the AWD RAV4. The thing drinks petrol.

I seen videos of the Outlander offroad so this seems like a lot of bullsh*t to me.

Who ran the test? and how much Toyota pay for it? :-)

- no idea
    - probably nothing...the hybrid RAV in the first video ist just as bad:D

EDIT:
    Anyhow..I don't want to diss the Outlander PHEV and/or the concept, I still think it's a great idea.
    The point of my post was to tell potential buyers to re-think how much 4x4 capability they really need.
    If it's just for the odd wet road or a bit of snow the PHEV should cope well enough...pull a horse box out of a muddy field...probably not

Yes, you are right.
    I didn't see the button in the corner of the video.

Traction issues should be a consideration in case someone think they need the Outlander for heavy duty work around the farm.

Most of these will probably be bought by eco-friendly people that still want a big car for all their bits in the city.

I am consdiering one myself but am still happy with my Grand Vitara (which is great for the offroading btw :))

- no idea
    - probably nothing...the hybrid RAV in the first video ist just as bad:D

EDIT:
    Anyhow..I don't want to diss the Outlander PHEV and/or the concept, I still think it's a great idea.
    The point of my post was to tell potential buyers to re-think how much 4x4 capability they really need.
    If it's just for the odd wet road or a bit of snow the PHEV should cope well enough...pull a horse box out of a muddy field...probably not

I dont own a Outlander. I would love one but I would hope anyway buying them would not think they would pull a horsebox out of a field. That is Land Cruiser work.....

The majority of Outlanders I see are around Dublin, I think the most they would have to deal with it trying to get out of the grass verge in Phoenix park:P

Yeees..but that kinda defeats the purpose of a hybrid 4x4...if you don't need 4x4 at all there are many other hybrid alternatives to choose from

Not really.

If I want something to do the school run on battery only the only option really at present is the Outlander PHEV or Kia Niro. Or increase budget by significant amount.

Maybe I am missing another option in the Crossover/SUV type vehicle but it is a fairly limited marketplace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭quenching

Seems to fair pretty well in this real life test:
    https://www.greencarguide.co.uk/features/mitsubishi-outlander-any-good-off-road/

I have one, but the 4WD ability was only an added bonus and even then only for wet roads or the odd snowy day. Most people with a “4WD”” have no idea how to use its ability (me included), and even then most people who think they have a “4WD”, don’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭quenching

I bought mine for the space and the ability to do my daily commute on battery but still have the ability to take 5 people and their luggage to Kerry if I need to without us killing each other. I’m open to suggestions as to what else I could have bought? Diesel doesn’t suit my type of driving and a RAV4 hybrid was out of my price range, and I’d still be using a lot more fuel.

quenching wrote: »
    I bought mine for the space and the ability to do my daily commute on battery but still have the ability to take 5 people and their luggage to Kerry if I need to without us killing each other. I’m open to suggestions as to what else I could have bought? Diesel doesn’t suit my type of driving and a RAV4 hybrid was out of my price range, and I’d still be using a lot more fuel.

Even if RAV was in price range I would stay a million miles away till the new model comes out. Unless you like burning loads of petrol

oops...sorry, got a bit confoozled there between hybrid and PHEV...there really aren't (m)any alternatives to the Outlander when it comes to feffing

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2015-mitsubishi-outlander-2-0-phev-gx4hs-auto/19470918
    Cheap for the year and trim, I've no clue if dealer is good or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭derekbro

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2015-mitsubishi-outlander-2-0-phev-gx4hs-auto/19470918
    157,821 miles! I picked up a 142 (December) GX3H with 64,000 miles for that price.

derekbro wrote: »
    157,821 miles! I picked up a 142 (December) GX3H with 64,000 miles for that price.
    But that's a year older and a less desirable trim level.
    Most will want a 4H at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Huge miles. If the car was well maintained (with proof) that wouldn't bother me, but forget about resale value.

With less mileage in UK you can buy for 11k...I know VRT but still it should come in a lot cheaper.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭creedp

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Real eye opener this.

I was looking seriously at getting the Outlander but it's looks and small size really put me off.
    The PHEV and 4wd may have made up for it, but not any more.

Was looking a this also as a replacement for a diesel s-max but then realised that while the diesel version has 7 seats, the PHEV only has 5. It a PITA that there is no realistic alternative to a 7 seater diesel

creedp wrote: »
    Was looking a this also as a replacement for a diesel s-max but then realised that while the diesel version has 7 seats, the PHEV only has 5. It a PITA that there is no realistic alternative to a 7 seater diesel

I have Galaxy.....

If swapping I would go Outlander and put Multimac into the back. Kids are still small enought and hopefully in 3-4 years an full BEV would be available in Galaxy size....

That was plan...just haven't carried it out yet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭creedp

I have Galaxy.....

If swapping I would go Outlander and put Multimac into the back. Kids are still small enought and hopefully in 3-4 years an full BEV would be available in Galaxy size....

That was plan...just haven't carried it out yet :D

Would consider that option if kids were younger. My eldest is 15 so multimac is out. Im sure in a couple of more years there will be more choice in the PHEV / EV market but by then the 15 yo will not want to travel with us anyway! Until then the decision seems to be run the 08 s-max into the ground (the timing belt and clutch/dmf has been replaced recently) or come up 4 - 5 years and then see what's available in a couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Test drove a nice gx4 2015, loved it till i saw the mileage after.
    120k miles!

What would be the effective lifetime of such a vehicle, would the battery degrade significantly over the mileage, or would it be more time based?

For the commute i have, i drive 32km in a 1.4 petrol. We have those charging points and spaces in work, so could fill up there, and have a free drive home too.
    Did i see mention of tolls being a reduced rate for phev's?

I would assume i would be better off headed north or the uk if i wanted to get a good deal on one?

phill106 wrote: »
    Test drove a nice gx4 2015, loved it till i saw the mileage after.
    120k miles!

What would be the effective lifetime of such a vehicle, would the battery degrade significantly over the mileage, or would it be more time based?

For the commute i have, i drive 32km in a 1.4 petrol. We have those charging points and spaces in work, so could fill up there, and have a free drive home too.
    Did i see mention of tolls being a reduced rate for phev's?

I would assume i would be better off headed north or the uk if i wanted to get a good deal on one?

Check autotrader.co.uk but at that mileage they are selling off cheap in the UK

In terms of warranty you will have nothing left with Mitsubishi so if an issue you are on your own

I dont know if you can run a report on the Outlander to check the degradation on the battery

Why not ask dealer to fully charge it up and then take a handy drive with no air con on and see how far it gets you on battery before the engine kicks in. No flooring it or anything

What sort of budget do you have is the main question?

PHEV do have a reduced toll, not as much as BEV but reduced