Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slow Down!

• 04-07-2018 2:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭

I know ye are all really busy this time of year and the weather is crippling but please please slow down. The amount of close calls I have with tractors is frightening. Got a very bad scare on the way back to work after lunch, tractor and slurry tank came belting around the bend I was a bit back from the bend and only going 35 m/ph I pulled in as far as I could and came to a complete stop. He barely stopped before getting to me, tractor mostly off the road in the grass and the tank coming at an angle across the road! I was worried he might roll too.

It was very scary, I do respect tractors/ trucks we have very narrow roads around here I will always pull in to let them pass as in a fair few spot you just wouldn't fit past them. Himself is a farmer and I have driven farm machinery, just can't get over the speed some lads go around corners or where they are pretty blind to what is coming.

Rant over, please slow down. Or if you know lads that speed ask them to slow down. I can't imagine getting to where he was going in such a rush would have been worth my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

All I can do is apologize on behalf of tractor drivers. There are some terribly dangerous and ignorant A-holes driving tractors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

I know ye are all really busy this time of year and the weather is crippling but please please slow down. The amount of close calls I have with tractors is frightening. Got a very bad scare on the way back to work after lunch, tractor and slurry tank came belting around the bend I was a bit back from the bend and only going 35 m/ph I pulled in as far as I could and came to a complete stop. He barely stopped before getting to me, tractor mostly off the road in the grass and the tank coming at an angle across the road! I was worried he might roll too.

It was very scary, I do respect tractors/ trucks we have very narrow roads around here I will always pull in to let them pass as in a fair few spot you just wouldn't fit past them. Himself is a farmer and I have driven farm machinery, just can't get over the speed some lads go around corners or where they are pretty blind to what is coming.

Rant over, please slow down. Or if you know lads that speed ask them to slow down. I can't imagine getting to where he was going in such a rush would have been worth my life.
    Cattlepen wrote: »
    All I can do is apologize on behalf of tractor drivers. There are some terribly dangerous and ignorant A-holes driving tractors

No apology needed from you for one these “hit the diff” type young clowns. And I suspect the type that need to hear this message are more likely Snapchat fans than readers of this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,201 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Is there not a hands free kit you can get for a tractor. Young lads with their phone to their ears flying up the road. Oh met a lad on a narrow road a while ago while he was in the lorry. Young lad drawing silage on phone, flying. Oh said he reckons the lad #hit himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭Silent Running

I live on a very small road with a farm at the end of it. There are a few days during the season where the only safe way to get out and back is to wait for one of the silage tractors and trailers and follow them in/out. Again, it's all young lads flying around the tight bends. The road is only wide enough for one vehicle and passing spots are regular. These cowboy contractors just barrel at full speed towards you. The amount of black lines on the road after the few days tells it's own story.

I wonder if the young drivers are properly licenced or insured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

whelan2 wrote: »
    Is there not a hands free kit you can get for a tractor. Young lads with their phone to their ears flying up the road. Oh met a lad on a narrow road a while ago while he was in the lorry. Young lad drawing silage on phone, flying. Oh said he reckons the lad #hit himself

yes i got a blue tooth radio for my yoke 160 yoyos works fantastic .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

leg wax wrote: »
    yes i got a blue tooth radio for my yoke 160 yoyos works fantastic .

great having a usb point for charging the phone also :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Sympathise with the op as have seen plenty lads lifting. Also tho I think in general dunno if it's the weather or what but people are paying less attention in the road. 3 mile trip the other day 4 times i had to stop for idiots not paying attention, one of which was a fcuking artic, I was fit to get out and give that bollix a clatter. Eating 99s or looking over the ditch and ending up on the other side of the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Its hard to disagree with this thread. I can't understand contractors sending out a tractor worth €100k with a young lad not fit to drive it.

The other side is that in my experience of driving machinery, the driver to be most avoided on the road is the yummy mummy in an SUV or SUV lite. The sense of entitlement to most of the road and a refusal to pull in any bit or reverse any bit is unreal. I am not saying that the op or any other contributor on this thread is like this, just stating my experience.

Grueller wrote: »
    Its hard to disagree with this thread. I can't understand contractors sending out a tractor worth €100k with a young lad not fit to drive it.

The other side is that in my experience of driving machinery, the driver to be most avoided on the road is the yummy mummy in an SUV or SUV lite. The sense of entitlement to most of the road and a refusal to pull in any bit or reverse any bit is unreal. I am not saying that the op or any other contributor on this thread is like this, just stating my experience.

Alot of the yummy mummy's or male equivalent can't reverse anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,764 ✭✭✭White Clover

Like the saying goes " he/she wouldn't drive a nail through soap"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭heretothere

I was thinking of getting a small SVU when this car goes :pac: Just handy in case a small trailer needs to be pulled. I do always pull in though to let tractors/ trucks though.

Don't get me started on the texting, it is chronic, amongst all road users - even seen a lad crash his bike whilst texting! But a 16 yr old driving down a busy main road pulling silage and texting, has the potential to kill several people, and I don't think they realise.

I do know most farmers are very considerate on the roads, even if people that have never driving such a large machine don't realise it. It just really isn't fun to see an I don't know how many tonne slurry tank coming at an angle across the road towards your little focus!! I know which would have won. I brought in lunch today :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,216 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Like the saying goes " he/she wouldn't drive a nail through soap"

The fathers version "they wouldn't drive a wheelbarrow"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Ah if you can squeeze the front mudguards through your probably alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,576 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I am no saint myself but have had a right few scares over the last month. One day coming around a turn 2 weeks ago, 2 tractors one after the other with trailers of bales. I pulled in as close to the ditch as I could and stopped, first tractor missed the mirror by inches, second flew past after him. If the first hit me the second would have ploughed into the back of him. Met a tractor with a trailed mower another day on a turn he presumed that he owned the road. He was lucky I was after turning at an entrance and was able to stop and pull well in

Car are a disaster at the moment on narrow roads if I have pulled in or stopped once this week I have done it 10 times. I do a lot of milage 1k/Km per week at least half on back roads. This morning at a junction a went to pull out as traffic was 150 metres back and inside a 50Km limit an idiot went to overtake the first car on a solid white line. I reversed back and was lucky there was nothing behind me. This evening on one of those narrow stretches wjere there is no house build was 1/3 along another car enters without slowing down, I had to slow down to let her pass. It was after I braked she began to.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

2 tractors one after the other with trailers of bales.

This really annoys me. Travelling in convoy each of them flying along. They must have serious insurance costs, no doubt damage occurs to something everyother day. If I had a machine worth 75-100k, no way would any Joe soap be on it.

Aravo wrote: »
    This really annoys me. Travelling in convoy each of them flying along. They must have serious insurance costs, no doubt damage occurs to something everyother day. If I had a machine worth 75-100k, no way would any Joe soap be on it.

I say these were owner driven two lads in there thirties not youngsters.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

The fathers version "they wouldn't drive a wheelbarrow"

They couldn't drive a bull to a cow even if she were on heat.

I wonder if the young drivers are properly licenced or insured.

I believe that once you’re over 16 you can drive with a (W) license. I know a lad driving a tractor towing a silage trailer who has failed his test twice! It beggars belief.

I am no saint myself but have had a right few scares over the last month. One day coming around a turn 2 weeks ago, 2 tractors one after the other with trailers of bales. I pulled in as close to the ditch as I could and stopped, first tractor missed the mirror by inches, second flew past after him. If the first hit me the second would have ploughed into the back of him. Met a tractor with a trailed mower another day on a turn he presumed that he owned the road. He was lucky I was after turning at an entrance and was able to stop and pull well in

Car are a disaster at the moment on narrow roads if I have pulled in or stopped once this week I have done it 10 times. I do a lot of milage 1k/Km per week at least half on back roads. This morning at a junction a went to pull out as traffic was 150 metres back and inside a 50Km limit an idiot went to overtake the first car on a solid white line. I reversed back and was lucky there was nothing behind me. This evening on one of those narrow stretches wjere there is no house build was 1/3 along another car enters without slowing down, I had to slow down to let her pass. It was after I braked she began to.
    She began to put on her makeup 💄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

There are some desperate ignorant tractor drivers out there, but I'm not sure if the % is any greater than of people in general.

Last week I was stuck behind a tractor doing less than 10 mph through a series of blind bends for aboyt 7/8 mins. When the road opened up the tractor overtook what was causing the delay... A runner holding his own in the middle of the road!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

I’d be a careful enough driver but I can remember having one bad scare. I was tipping along with a silage trailer out of a village, kids playing on bikes on the side of the road so I was keeping an eye on them and didn’t notice the mini on front slow down to turn right, don’t think she had indicated. All eight wheels locked up and I was sure the front weight was going to go through the back of the car. I pulled in ahead I could hardly stand I got such a fright. Poor woman turned around to check if I was ok I turned so pale.
    Plenty of other close calls caused by drivers passing out mainly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

I got stuck behind a tractor and silage trailer the other day.
    Turns out he was stuck behind a yaris.

Id be at silage and slurry myself and id find there can be a lot of pig ignorant car drivers out there as well as bad tractor drivers.
    Cars that hold the middle of the road until just before they meet the tractor forcing him to stop. Heading up hill it can be difficult to get momentum going again.
    Cars that overtake when you are turning right with the right indicator on.
    I have acted as a flagman when cutting hedges and at silage and slurry. It can be impossible to get cars to slow down and stop.

maidhc wrote: »
    There are some desperate ignorant tractor drivers out there, but I'm not sure if the % is any greater than of people in general.

Last week I was stuck behind a tractor doing less than 10 mph through a series of blind bends for aboyt 7/8 mins. When the road opened up the tractor overtook what was causing the delay... A runner holding his own in the middle of the road!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭I says

Mod edit.... on behalf of our younger readers who may not be accustomed to profanities. Thanks GC .

I do a lot of driving and the standard of carrot who can’t drive is unbelievable 99% of bananas can’t broccoli use an indicator or know who to drive through a round about.
    I had a potato here one day try to overtake me on a double continuous white line as I was preparing to pull into the yard had indicator on.
    After he cleaned the courgette from his trousers he got out to blame me blaming me for it the sweetcorn was going to fast so pea the loss of telling tractor drivers to slow down everyone using the road should. The sense of entitlement when people get behind the wheel is crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,121 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I had an incident of road rage a while back. I drive a commercial jeep, so when I was coming onto a slip road near me, I have to swing it left a bit to see out the left window. This guy pulls up behind me. He can see that there is nothing coming, so starts blowing the horn at me and flashing the lights.
    As I'm going down the slip road onto the motorway, he's still at it. I swing my arm up in the air more or less telling him to fook off. On the motorway and he stays behind me, even though I go slower than normal. For a full mile he's flasing the lights, gesturing at me to come back and we'll sort it out. I pull in eventually. What does he do? :D ................ Keeps going and waving back at me to follow him. Not joking but it took me 1/2 the day to cool down afterwards. I was ready to go pucking the head off him. A new D reg car and he looked like a salesman. What a tosser.

Used to be nuns that were the worst drivers. Don't see many of them driving around now. Not as many motorbikes around either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

Driving the Jeep the other day, a clown tore up behind me and was almost touching my rear lights for a bit waiting for his chance to pass, or looking for me to move to hard shoulder. I hit the breaks gently first, then harder the second time. He got the message....

Snowfire wrote: »
    Driving the Jeep the other day, a clown tore up behind me and was almost touching my rear lights for a bit waiting for his chance to pass, or looking for me to move to hard shoulder. I hit the breaks gently first, then harder the second time. He got the message....

A real good one in that situation is leave you foot on the accelerator and tap the brake pedal with your left foot to bring on the brake light. No fear of himhitting the back of your car.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,546 ✭✭✭visatorro

A real good one in that situation is leave you foot on the accelerator and tap the brake pedal with your left foot to bring on the brake light. No fear of himhitting the back of your car.

Michael Schumacher used to drive like that, left foot braking isn't as easy as it sounds. I know your probably messing but I wouldn't recommend it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,121 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

visatorro wrote: »
    Michael Schumacher used to drive like that, left foot braking isn't as easy as it sounds. I know your probably messing but I wouldn't recommend it!!

You don't actually brake. Just tip it enough to bring on the brake lights. I do it always too when someone is too close behind. It scares the sh*t outta them.

9935452 wrote: »
    I got stuck behind a tractor and silage trailer the other day.
    Turns out he was stuck behind a yaris.

Id be at silage and slurry myself and id find there can be a lot of pig ignorant car drivers out there as well as bad tractor drivers.
    Cars that hold the middle of the road until just before they meet the tractor forcing him to stop. Heading up hill it can be difficult to get momentum going again.
    Cars that overtake when you are turning right with the right indicator on.
    I have acted as a flagman when cutting hedges and at silage and slurry. It can be impossible to get cars to slow down and stop.
    Stuck behind a Yaris? What does the make of car have to do with it?

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Stuck behind a Yaris? What does the make of car have to do with it?

It has everything to do with it, the person driving the Yaris obviously couldn’t see due to the fact they had a brown paper bag over their head due to the shame of driving such a pile of sh1te. If there is any sort of tail back it’s either a Yaris,micra or starlet causing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Im getting a good laugh off this thread. Thats not taking away from the seriousness of the topic. Road safety is important.

I have to agree with another poster though, a bad driver is a bad driver (and vice versa) and that doesnt change regardless of the vehicle they hop into.

With the exception of young lads with just the W licence, in reality most of us drive multable vehicles.

I do find it unbelievable though at the moment that a 16year old can hop into a 60kph valtra or the like and hook up to a 20' silage trailer with airbrakes and comm running gear and drive down the road legally!!!! While his trucker relation who may very well be an experienced 60yr old with years of driving experience and in reality may not be travelling much faster while loaded on country roads, has to do yearly CPC training! Farcical!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,328 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

You don't actually brake. Just tip it enough to bring on the brake lights. I do it always too when someone is too close behind. It scares the sh*t outta them.

I did it once and frightened the s..t outa myself.
    I didn't seem to be able to control the left foot as good as the proper foot, I braked much harder than I intended to

I says wrote: »
    It has everything to do with it, the person driving the Yaris obviously couldn’t see due to the fact they had a brown paper bag over their head due to the shame of driving such a pile of sh1te. If there is any sort of tail back it’s either a Yaris,micra or starlet causing it.

Usually to pi** off the a**h**e who is driving on their tail, so close that they cannot see the line of traffic building up behind.

I told ya it’s the paper bag over their head that’s causing the tragic build up cause they can’t see a thing.
    Slow moving vehicle causing a tailback it usually one of the three cars i mentioned that’s welded up it’s hole not allowing any space for anyone to pass and then think they are safe drivers they are in their ****e.
    What about the gob ****es who will tail gate a car at whatever speed the car in front is doing.
    Plenty of useless drivers on the roads.Lorry drivers now that standard of driver has gotten a lot worse, worryingly for every road user.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Used to be nuns that were the worst drivers. Don't see many of them driving around now. Not as many motorbikes around either

I was in a Tesco car park one time driving out and the car park was almost empty when an aggressive nun drove through parking spaces thinking she had the right of way almost crashing into my car. Jaysus she was fuming in her car, if she hit my car she wouldn't be long seeing the error of her ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,764 ✭✭✭White Clover

There is also the hesitant driver who will not overtake even though there is a clear stretch of road ahead and they have been beckoned to do so. Next thing is another car comes along and just sits there thinking the tractor driver must be taking over the road, then another car and so on...

This silly mentality I still can't figure out. I wonder was the tractor a John Deere? Would that mean the driver is an asshole?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Muckit wrote: »
    I have to agree with another poster though, a bad driver is a bad driver (and vice versa) and that doesnt change regardless of the vehicle they hop into.

This is very true, the difference is though that the consequences for bad driving in let's say a Yaris are a lot less than the consequences of bad driving in a 20t+ combination.

FWIW most farmers round here seem to be pretty aware of what and how they are driving. If anything it's the bloody quarry trucks that are likely to end up killing someone :mad:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Mod edit.... on behalf of our younger readers who may not be accustomed to profanities. Thanks GC .

I do a lot of driving and the standard of carrot who can’t drive is unbelievable 99% of bananas can’t broccoli use an indicator or know who to drive through a round about.
    I had a potato here one day try to overtake me on a double continuous white line as I was preparing to pull into the yard had indicator on.
    After he cleaned the courgette from his trousers he got out to blame me blaming me for it the sweetcorn was going to fast so pea the loss of telling tractor drivers to slow down everyone using the road should. The sense of entitlement when people get behind the wheel is crazy.

Mod note: Despite the Cleaners being in, the standard of language use has not improved. Let's take a note out of GC's playbook and assume all vegetable names are insults as it's getting quite tyresome to red this tread. Tanks. :)

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I had an incident of road rage a while back. I drive a commercial jeep, so when I was coming onto a slip road near me, I have to swing it left a bit to see out the left window. This guy pulls up behind me. He can see that there is nothing coming, so starts blowing the horn at me and flashing the lights.
    As I'm going down the slip road onto the motorway, he's still at it. I swing my arm up in the air more or less telling him to fook off. On the motorway and he stays behind me, even though I go slower than normal. For a full mile he's flasing the lights, gesturing at me to come back and we'll sort it out. I pull in eventually. What does he do? :D ................ Keeps going and waving back at me to follow him. Not joking but it took me 1/2 the day to cool down afterwards. I was ready to go pucking the head off him. A new D reg car and he looked like a salesman. What a tosser.

Had a bit of road rage myself a few weeks ago. Was doing a bit of raking for a friend and going down a really narrow backroad in a boggy area, both wheels of the rake in the ditch and a 4ft drop either side of the road. Was travelling pretty slow in fairness but didn't have much choice and it was the only road to where I was going. A woman came flying up behind me and layed on the horn solid until I got a chance to pull in aswell as flashing the lights at me. At most I held her up for two minutes but I don't know what she thought she was at, I was tempted to get out and have a chat with her but thought wiser of it. Not that she knew but I would always pull in to let off traffic if there was enough space to. I was hopping for the day after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

Was drawing bales home yesterday and was nearly back at the yard with a load. The road is straight outside the gate into the yard but too narrow for a car to pass by the trailer but some genius decided to keep coming towards me instead of pulling in outside the gate into the yard. Drove right up to me and stopped looking at me as if I had to sort out their fcuk up. Took the useless Kant 5 mins to back the car up 100 feet....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

90 year old neighbour of mine drives a Yaris about 20kph. We were going to a kids away football match a few years back and half the convoy got stuck behind this lad. Had to postpone throw in for about 10 minutes until the rest of the team arrived!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Had a bit of road rage myself a few weeks ago. Was doing a bit of raking for a friend and going down a really narrow backroad in a boggy area, both wheels of the rake in the ditch and a 4ft drop either side of the road. Was travelling pretty slow in fairness but didn't have much choice and it was the only road to where I was going. A woman came flying up behind me and layed on the horn solid until I got a chance to pull in aswell as flashing the lights at me. At most I held her up for two minutes but I don't know what she thought she was at, I was tempted to get out and have a chat with her but thought wiser of it. Not that she knew but I would always pull in to let off traffic if there was enough space to. I was hopping for the day after it.

Ya should of got out and asked for directions :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

arctictree wrote: »
    90 year old neighbour of mine drives a Yaris about 20kph. We were going to a kids away football match a few years back and half the convoy got stuck behind this lad. Had to postpone throw in for about 10 minutes until the rest of the team arrived!

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

I had stop really quick one evening while a ****ing numpty pulled out from field in a big john deere tractor. I wouldn't have minded as much only I had 2 boxs in the back after buying laying hens at a carboot. The whole lot ended up on my lap and Everywhere else the Sawdust and Chickens.

I sat in my van contemplating why me for 2 minutes at least before had the energy to clean up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭Who2

it works the other way too. i met some idiot coming at me on a bye road at full speed in a car; from a distance i could see she wasnt going to slow down so i braked hard. I was stopped and she decided she would brake hard as she started to try and squeeze by the bale trailer. On the way back loaded i met another lad in the same spot going the other way. I had a row of cars behind me and couldnt back up. I had pulled in as tight as i could to the ditch so that he might have a chance of getting by, but it left the tail of the trailer sitting out slightly. It took him a while to realise i couldnt move or the side of his car was getting ripped out of it. All i could do was sit there while he tried squeeze past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

This is an amusing story for ye. Live on a windy rural road and is used as a short cut for people working in a large pharmaceutical factory near by. 5 days a week for a half hour morning and evening it’s like the M50. So usually I either leave the yard before or after this rush half hour. The biggest killer is the majority of these cars/Jeeps are new and shiney BMWs,Audi’s or Mercs and other brands. These people don’t like to pull in and if their late they think they have a rally car. The bends are severe and plentiful on the road with high ditches, stones and stone walls. Now I’m not saying I’m an angel, but in the last few years I’ve learned a lot. So far I’ve broken 2 mirrors, bent a rim on a bale trailer and blew 2 tyres off our Ifor Williams over these drivers.

Most recent altercation was with a man in a Hilux we met on a bad bend, he was speeding and another car was up his arse when we met the car went into the back of him. I skidded the trailer around him but never touched his Jeep and “kept” to my side of the narrow road. Anyway i kept going and a few minutes later he came behind me flashing and blowing the horn and instead of staying going back to the yard i pulled in. He was i such a panic to pass me he hit his mirror off the trailer. Anyway he and his mate jumped out and jumped up beside me and started roaring and shouting. Now I’m a tall chap but I was rattled I won’t lie. Anyway he ranted about think ye own the road, you have to pay and I’m going to get you. So the shock faded and anger followed to which I responded, yes we do in fact own the toad as we have the longest stretch of land along the road and I never touched you so not my problem. I then proceeded to take out my phone to take a photo of his reg and him. He took the phone out of my hand and threw it on the ground and said you’ll hear from me. So I picked up the phone and I reported it to the guards but left it at that. Didn’t hear anything since. I just wanted to vent is all really. Any advice on how I should have handled the incident better ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

davidk1394 wrote: »
    This is an amusing story for ye. Live on a windy rural road and is used as a short cut for people working in a large pharmaceutical factory near by. 5 days a week for a half hour morning and evening it’s like the M50. So usually I either leave the yard before or after this rush half hour. The biggest killer is the majority of these cars/Jeeps are new and shiney BMWs,Audi’s or Mercs and other brands. These people don’t like to pull in and if their late they think they have a rally car. The bends are severe and plentiful on the road with high ditches, stones and stone walls. Now I’m not saying I’m an angel, but in the last few years I’ve learned a lot. So far I’ve broken 2 mirrors, bent a rim on a bale trailer and blew 2 tyres off our Ifor Williams over these drivers.

Most recent altercation was with a man in a Hilux we met on a bad bend, he was speeding and another car was up his arse when we met the car went into the back of him. I skidded the trailer around him but never touched his Jeep and “kept” to my side of the narrow road. Anyway i kept going and a few minutes later he came behind me flashing and blowing the horn and instead of staying going back to the yard i pulled in. He was i such a panic to pass me he hit his mirror off the trailer. Anyway he and his mate jumped out and jumped up beside me and started roaring and shouting. Now I’m a tall chap but I was rattled I won’t lie. Anyway he ranted about think ye own the road, you have to pay and I’m going to get you. So the shock faded and anger followed to which I responded, yes we do in fact own the toad as we have the longest stretch of land along the road and I never touched you so not my problem. I then proceeded to take out my phone to take a photo of his reg and him. He took the phone out of my hand and threw it on the ground and said you’ll hear from me. So I picked up the phone and I reported it to the guards but left it at that. Didn’t hear anything since. I just wanted to vent is all really. Any advice on how I should have handled the incident better ?
    Ye go to the cops for your 'now' smashed phone and criminal damage.