Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People cutting a roundabout

• 30-06-2018 09:39PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭

folks,

there is a small roundabout outside my house. Its only got 1 road in and one out so really a 90 degree corner would do it but house entrances are built right round the round about.

Problem is the amount of people coming to the roundabout and cutting across it is shocking and its only a matter of time before there is a crash - it wont be too be as the speeds would be low, but thats not to say someone couldnt be seriously hurt.

What should I do to have the council come look at it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

By cutting across it, do you mean driving on the wrong side of the road, or is it one of those painted on roundabouts that people drive over?

There’s a 90° bend in my estate that most people cut so badly they’re nearly skimming the kerb on the opposite side. I’ve had a few close calls with muppets on that. They seem to think they because there isn’t a white line, they can go where they like.

As for reporting it, get onto the roads department of your council. I’m not sure what they’ll be able or willing to do, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

What I mean is lads entering the roundabout at 3 o'clock are going to 12o'clock via 2 and 1 rather than going round 4,5,6 etc ( I am not talking about time of day )

Its a full scale no messin roundabout with trees in the middle and everything. Those cutting it are clearly doing so fully aware of what they are at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,783 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

RobAMerc wrote: »
    What I mean is lads entering the roundabout at 3 o'clock are going to 12o'clock via 2 and 1 rather than going round 4,5,6 etc ( I am not talking about time of day )

Its a full scale no messin roundabout with trees in the middle and everything. Those cutting it are clearly doing so fully aware of what they are at.

I'd notify the council and request they assess the roundabout sineage and road markings to ensure they are clear.

I'd also notify the local gardaí. The best way to address this, in my opinion, would be for a temporary camera or a member in an unmarked vehicle to catch the culprits driving the wrong way around the roundabout and either get penalty points and a fixed charge penalty notice or be prosecuted for careless driving.

People who don't have the basic skills or wit to drive safely shouldn't be on the road.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,351 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I've seen an increase in this sort of stupidity recently too. At least three instances in the last week. They are completely blind as to anything coming against them when they start off.

Not on small roundabouts like the OP described but proper, albeit not hugely busy roundabouts. It will only take one person legitimately taking the roundabout for these fools to plough into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,213 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

spurious wrote: »
    I've seen an increase in this sort of stupidity recently too. At least three instances in the last week. They are completely blind as to anything coming against them when they start off.

Not on small roundabouts like the OP described but proper, albeit not hugely busy roundabouts. It will only take one person legitimately taking the roundabout for these fools to plough into.

Yea was coming into my estate a few weeks back where there's a roundabout and this dopey young wan on my left drives across in front of me rather than the correct side (she was even going straight through, not right).

I blasted her out of it with the horn and she stops in the middle with a confused look. Then drives on anyway! Either a dope who doesn't realise that we drive on the left in this country, or an idiot who doesn't know how to use a roundabout

In either case, she shouldn't be on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭Miscreant

So by this you mean they are driving the wrong way around the roundabout.... as in anti-clockwise? Then they are clearly breaking the law here by driving on the wrong side of the road.

The same has been happening for the last few months in my mother's estate. She lives in a cul-de-sac with a large roundabout in it and some people have taken to driving the wrong way around because it is "closer" to their driveway that way! I have had cars come at me while going around that roundabout and have had them reverse back the whole way so that I can get around the correct way. A neighbour of my mother reported it to the local council and they installed a sign on the roundabout indicating the direction of travel but it does nothing. I grew up in this place and never saw this happening as a kid, and we used to play football and so on on this roundabout constantly. It is a new thing all of a sudden.

I think this is happening because of the general apathy of drivers to the rules of the road these days. Running red lights, ignoring no turn signs and lack of awareness of the meaning of road markings just seems to be the norm now. Lack of enforcement doesn't help either really.

Not much can be done to stop it. Confronting the "offender" will only cause you more agro and you have to live there so might make life difficult for you in the long run. If these people are willing to drive the wrong way around a roundabout, what else will they do? I think the best thing you can do is report it to the Gardaí and they may be able to catch someone in the act at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Stick up a gopro for half an hour, send footage to traffic desk in local station, when the fourth or fifth person gets a FCPN for careless driving the word will spread around the estate to cop the feck on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Mikenesson

ED E wrote: »
    Stick up a gopro for half an hour, send footage to traffic desk in local station, when the fourth or fifth person gets a FCPN for careless driving the word will spread around the estate to cop the feck on.

You clearly dont know anything about how the gardai operate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,652 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Do you mean it is like this (with various driveways not shown)?

Are the small triangular traffic islands present? Are there 'keep left' signs? are there road markings? If tehy aren't, you might encourage the council to add them.

When I was about 8, one of the neighbours crashed into us as he left the estate on the wrong side of the road.

454700.png

yes, although I explained it from a different angle. ( this is basically upside down compared to what I described ) - but in this case, cars coming from the left ( 9 o'clock ) and not going clockwise round 10/11/12 etc, but cutting across 8/7 to 6 o'clock.

There are no Islands, but there is a big arrow clearly indicating cars should go left and around it - lots of people just done seem to care !

It's only a matter of time before a car coming from 6 gets hit !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Asmooh

folks,

there is a small roundabout outside my house. Its only got 1 road in and one out so really a 90 degree corner would do it but house entrances are built right round the round about.

Problem is the amount of people coming to the roundabout and cutting across it is shocking and its only a matter of time before there is a crash - it wont be too be as the speeds would be low, but thats not to say someone couldnt be seriously hurt.

What should I do to have the council come look at it ?
    means you drive waaaay to slow.

Asmooh wrote: »
    means you drive waaaay to slow.

eh ? I'm sitting on my couch looking out the window ?