Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you seen a boardsie in real life

• 20-06-2018 6:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭

I was sitting on the bus today on boards and it dawned on me.

What if somebody sitting behind me sees that I’m conservatory the person who thinks ghosting is funny or that his BMI is impeccable and whose immune system is robust and slapped me in the back of the head for something I said that I don’t even remember that offended them.

So I hid my phone a bit with my hand like a secret agent. You will never get me.

Have you ever came close to being found out. Would they beat you?

What have you done that you think might get you a slap in real life?

Would you judge somebody in real life from their boards account or give them a chance if they were in a job interview and you noticed from their printing cv font that they were that ahole who didn’t like the dress you put up in the fashion and appearance section.

What are your thoughts on all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,864 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

To be honest I wouldn't know who Conservatory was.

I would only be surprised if I saw a username I recognised. And they have to post a lot for me to remember them: which probably means they never leave the house.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I don't care?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

Arghus wrote: »
    To be honest I wouldn't know who Conservatory was.

I would only be surprised if I saw a username I recognised. And they have to post a lot for me to remember them: which probably means they never leave the house.

We have portable personal computers now that can also take phone calls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

I saw you Conservatory, and from that sniffle I could tell that your immune system is nowhere near as robust as you have been leading us to believe. You big liar. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,044 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Ill be meeting a few for pints soon. Will be putting a face to the people I've helped murder and backstab

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Morby

I've seen a Boardsie on a dating app, does that count?

I think he's foxy AF, he's totally my type, but I don't think he uses the app anymore.

Tempted to tell him on here that I saw him on it, but well, that's getting into stalker territory an I don't want him thinking I'm a creep, even though I am.

He'd so get it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,962 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I understand at that point the only options are hari-kari or a fight to the death right?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Wait.
    You see where this whole thread falls down is the premise that life on boards.ie isn’t real life.

I’m very real, I mean I clicked the box that says “I’m not a robot” and I selected all the photos with road signs. What do you guys want !

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

_Brian wrote: »
    Wait.
    You see where this whole thread falls down is the premise that life on boards.ie isn’t real life.

I’m very real, I mean I clicked the box that says “I’m not a robot” and I selected all the photos with road signs. What do you guys want !

Your bank account details ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Morby wrote: »
    I've seen a Boardsie on a dating app, does that count?

I think he's foxy AF, he's totally my type, but I don't think he uses the app anymore.

Tempted to tell him on here that I saw him on it, but well, that's getting into stalker territory an I don't want him thinking I'm a creep, even though I am.

He'd so get it though.

Doesn't count unless you bang him :P

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Ill be meeting a few for pints soon. Will be putting a face to the people I've helped murder and backstab

Looking forward to it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I was sitting on the bus today on boards and it dawned on me.

What if somebody sitting behind me sees that I’m conservatory the person who thinks ghosting is funny or that his BMI is impeccable and whose immune system is robust and slapped me in the back of the head for something I said that I don’t even remember that offended them.

So I hid my phone a bit with my hand like a secret agent. You will never get me.

Have you ever came close to being found out. Would they beat you?

What have you done that you think might get you a slap in real life?

Would you judge somebody in real life from their boards account or give them a chance if they were in a job interview and you noticed from their printing cv font that they were that ahole who didn’t like the dress you put up in the fashion and appearance section.

What are your thoughts on all this.

I’ve met loads of boardsies and my car has the boardsies driving sticker so they can recognise me
    People are nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Kimbot wrote: »
    Your bank account details ;)

I’m
    Not buying that any more, I’ve already sent them to four Nigerian princes and it’s done nothing but cost me money, aparantly transferring the $10million into my account is going to cost me quite a bit, but I’m hoping it will work out in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Necrominus wrote: »
    Looking forward to it :)

Eh..select few only?

To thine own self be true

Tigger wrote: »
    I’ve met loads of boardsies and my car has the boardsies driving sticker so they can recognise me
    People are nice

Would you prejudge them a bit

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Eh..select few only?

Forum Games meet up. Went to the last one. Was lots of fun. Would go again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

So I hid my phone a bit with my hand like a secret agent.

Your gigantic, flabby hand.

My BMI stands up to the most vigorous of testing methods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

What if somebody sitting behind me sees that I’m conservatory the person who thinks ghosting is funny or that his BMI is impeccable and whose immune system is robust

They probably think you are one these

tenor.gif?itemid=4474547

Make America Get Out of Here

buried wrote: »
    They probably think you are one these

tenor.gif?itemid=4474547

A famous sitcom actor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Arrival

Why would anyone be looking at whatever **** you're on when they're too busy looking at their own phone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Don't give a rats ass.

I don't taste very nice really.

Arrival wrote: »
    Why would anyone be looking at whatever **** you're on when they're too busy looking at their own phone

The grass is always greener as they say. You are board sitting in your sitting room watching the match. You go outside. You see the fella across the road from you is watching the match on his Telly. Suddenly the match looks like something you want to watch.

It’s human nature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I saw Hector_Bellend having a ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Some live under bridges apparently and are hairy bestial creatures. It is rumoured they only venture out in search of wifi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

This thread has reminded me that people I engage with on here are real.....

I don’t feel super about myself after this moment of clarity..... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Tigger wrote: »
    People are nice

Do we actually have our own driving sticker? I’ll be looking out for that now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭James 007

The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the inequities of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men. Blessed is he who, in the name of charity and good will, shepherds the weak through the valley of darkness, for he is truly his brother’s keeper and the finder of lost children. And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who would attempt to poison and destroy My brothers. And you will know My name is the Lord when I lay My vengeance upon thee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

James 007 wrote: »
    The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the inequities of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men. Blessed is he who, in the name of charity and good will, shepherds the weak through the valley of darkness, for he is truly his brother’s keeper and the finder of lost children. And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who would attempt to poison and destroy My brothers. And you will know My name is the Lord when I lay My vengeance upon thee.

:(

buzz_killer_logotypes_by_kemplu.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

I saw ya op when you were out shopping.

Did you not see me over by the vegetables?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I walked into my best friends house and her dad addressed me by my boards name. I didn’t mind, her dads lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

I recognise a boardsie when I see one. They're 30ish, some are balding, with dark unkempt hair and a hipstery beard. They wear slogan or superhero t-shirts (yet have no 6 pack underneath) and they work in IT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

I recognise a boardsie when I see one. They're 30ish, some are balding, with dark unkempt hair and a hipstery beard. They wear slogan or superhero t-shirts (yet have no 6 pack underneath) and they work in IT.

Fair enough the archtypical MALE boardsie.

Now all we need is the other "Bigbagof...." to state HER description for the archetypical FEMALE boardsie.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I seen a boardsie at a bus stop the weekend before last.

I've also met a few and been stalked by a few (the nice type of stalking).
    I've worked with some and played football with some.

Grand bunch so yiz are.

I was also at a party one time when someone brought up the subject of boards and my missus loudly states that I'm an Admin on boards...the bleedin looks I got. I then corrected and said I was a mod.....the bleedin looks got more daggerish.

I then had to explain to the missus about the social faux pas that she landed me in and to never mention it ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

5rtytry56 wrote: »
    Fair enough the archtypical MALE boardsie.

Now all we need is the other "Bigbagof...." to state HER description for the archetypical FEMALE boardsie.

There's surely more male boardsies than female boardsies? Maybe 60:40.

Ok stereotypical female boardsie. She dresses alternatively and is overweight but describes herself as curvy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

I've never met a Boardsie in "the wild". I don't believe they exist - this site is really a multi-faceted Turing test.

Two of my best friends are boardsies :)

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

There are probably getting on for fifty Boardsies who often refer to my by my username in real life! Hundreds more use my real name

I think you will find some of us have a perfect BMI score

Necrominus wrote: »
    Forum Games meet up. Went to the last one. Was lots of fun. Would go again.

Haha. That rules me out so.
    My last gaming experience was my Commodore 64!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Blaas4life

2 good mates are ex boardsies.....know one or 2 my own age that still post at times(but never in AH)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

Never met a Boardsie in 'real life', but the idea of it wouldn't bother me. Any Boardsie meetings in Cork coming up?

storker wrote: »
    I've never met a Boardsie in "the wild". I don't believe they exist - this site is really a multi-faceted Turing test.

Bots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I have only praise for the Donegal boardsies who gave much needed practical help in the winter of snow when I was stranded in the mountains with no fuel.

Ireland and the world needs more like them...

At these times, boards.ie can be a lifeline

Graces7 wrote: »
    I have only praise for the Donegal boardsies who gave much needed practical help in the winter of snow when I was stranded in the mountains with no fuel.

Ireland and the world needs more like them...

At these times, boards.ie can be a lifeline
    That is so lovely to hear.
    Was Backwards Man one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I've met a few Boardsies when I was in college. Most of them were organised meet ups. A few were random moments of "hey, aren't you sup dude?" (as I was known back then). To which my usual reply was to act like a deer caught in headlights, stammer something that may either confirm or deny the fact, before slinking into the shadows, ne'er to be seen again...

Would you prejudge them a bit

Its not prejudging it already knowing how they portray themselves and act online

Do we actually have our own driving sticker? I’ll be looking out for that now:D

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=87196678&postcount=31