Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Metropolis festival 2018

• 18-06-2018 8:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭

Villagers to headline and curate Sat Oct 27th

Early bird priced at 35euro

On sale Friday 22nd June.

Was hoping for more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Early bird priced at 35euro

You sure? That sounds pretty cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

Effects wrote: »
    You sure? That sounds pretty cheap.

Early Bird price for the one day.

I like their new song; aside from that going into the back catalouge i'm not convinced ...yet

but if their new album has similar songs to the single then i'll go see them at AllTogetherNow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

I like their new song; aside from that going into the back catalouge i'm not convinced ...yet

He's pretty good live. He's a new band since I've last seen him but he'd good at picking musicians that work well with him.

Effects wrote: »
    He's pretty good live. He's a new band since I've last seen him but he'd good at picking musicians that work well with him.

Yeah I get you. But just means that the bands prob will be on the same level or lesser than the villagers as he’s curating the day and headlining it.

Just not an exciting prospect. Like when they got Bon iver to curate forbidden fruit that was exciting. This not so much.

I foresee Mac deMarco being announced for the Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

I foresee Mac deMarco being announced for the Sunday.
    it was almost completely dance/electronic on the Sunday last year, so I'd assume it'll be the same this year.

Villagers day will probably only have 2 stages open (main stage and some Irish DJs in the bar/food area, same as Leftfield), and will basically just be a glorified gig.
    If MdM is playing, I'd imagine it'll be on Saturday as support for Villagers.

it was almost completely dance/electronic on the Sunday last year, so I'd assume it'll be the same this year.

Villagers day will only have 2 stages open (main stage and some Irish DJs in the bar/food area, same as Leftfield), and will basically just be a glorified gig.
    If MdM is playing, I'd imagine it'll be on Saturday as support for Villagers.

Mac has an unspecified location for the 28th. Has announced the rest of his tour bar this date. the reason for this could be that Metropolis haven't annouced him yet.

'*almost completley'

Doesn't mean all is electronic/dance. And to look at the history of the Festival lineup styles can change.

Mac has an unspecified location for the 28th. Has announced the rest of his tour bar this date. the reason for this could be that Metropolis haven't annouced him yet.

'*almost completley'

Doesn't mean all is electronic/dance. And to look at the history of the Festival lineup styles can change.

oh yeah, i forgot he was playing here that day. you're right, it probably is Metropolis in that case.
    if there was more of a mix of styles than last year it would be great, the only "guitar-y" act of note last year was Jungle.

oh yeah, i forgot he was playing here that day. you're right, it probably is Metropolis in that case.
    if there was more of a mix of styles than last year it would be great, the only "guitar-y" act of note last year was Jungle.

Think i'll be giving Metropolis a miss this year. Was looking at BIME in bilbao and Pitchfork Paris and thought maybe something good will come out of it as schedules are around same time.

But no.. Villagers and Mac DeMarco

Underworld playing the Warehouse Project in Manchester on the Saturday of Metropolis.
    they're also headlining All Together Now, and POD love to recycle acts, so can see them announced for the Sunday, once ATN is over.

when is the announcement for this? Only giving themselves 2 months to shift tickets ain't the best idea imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,740 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

when is the announcement for this? Only giving themselves 2 months to shift tickets ain't the best idea imo.

Probably after Electric Picnic I'd say.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

They said on Facebook they are announcing line up details this week.

Nice, it’d have to be something great. Wallet gonna feel the pinch of Electoc picnic and loyalty tickets in September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 wes16586

Blood Orange playing in Berlin and London around the same time. Hopefully he'll be on the lineup.

lineup:

Róisín Murphy, Mac DeMarco, Blood Orange, Young Fathers, The Black Madonna, Grandbrothers, Gwenno and many more will join us at Metropolis Festival 2018, this October Bank Holiday Weekend, RDS Dublin.

Tickets go on sale this Friday, 24 August at 9 AM via Ticketmaster & usual outlets. Metropolis Festival now operates an over 21s age policy.

Weekend (Sat & Sun)
    Tier 1 - €99.50
    Tier 2 - €109.50
    Tier 3 - €115.00

Weekend Instalment Plan
    Tier 2 - €54.75 (x2 payments)

Bank Holiday Sunday, 28 Oct
    Tier 1 - €64.50
    Tier 2 - €69.50
    Tier 3 - €74.50

Sunday Instalment Plan
    Tier 2 - €34.75 (x2 payments)

Saturday, 27 Oct
    Tier 1 - €35.00 (SOLD OUT)
    Tier 2 - €49.50

39954955_2183035718619474_3024842941408477184_o.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=65ca5874720cd57d32269397e11c9877&oe=5BFA22A4

lineup:

39954955_2183035718619474_3024842941408477184_o.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=65ca5874720cd57d32269397e11c9877&oe=5BFA22A4

What's the verdict? Roisin Murphy, The Black Madonna & Villagers recycled from All Together Now. If Mac Demarco & Blood Orange are on the same day I would consider a day ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Very underwhelming compared to last year. There were some great DJs there last year, looking to be moving away from that which is a shame.

What's the verdict? Roisin Murphy, The Black Madonna & Villagers recycled from All Together Now. If Mac Demarco & Blood Orange are on the same day I would consider a day ticket.

both on sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

I have been gurning about Blood Orange never playing dublin for a while, this is great.

Bollix, if they are on the Sunday I can't go. Would love to see them and Mac de Marco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

Damn, blood orange and young fathers will be great but I’m heading to BIME in Bilbao that weekend.

Easy Rod wrote: »
    Damn, blood orange and young fathers will be great but I’m heading to BIME in Bilbao that weekend.

Lucky fecker you'll be seeing Aphex Twin then. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭keithkk16

D.Q wrote: »
    Very underwhelming compared to last year. There were some great DJs there last year, looking to be moving away from that which is a shame.

There's only been 8 acts announced so far, give it time because about 50 more acts have be added going by last years lineup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Homesick Alien

Grandbrothers were also at ATN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 jacko493

Whats the story with the tiered tickets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭kg703

Anyone got an idea what day young fathers are on? It will be necessary to be in attendance

kg703 wrote: »
    Anyone got an idea what day young fathers are on? It will be necessary to be in attendance

sunday

Well this is hardly gonna attract me now after seeing a whole bunch of the acts at All Together Now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭mocmo

jacko493 wrote: »
    Whats the story with the tiered tickets?

I too am wondering about this, are they for different areas / proximity to the stage? Anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

mocmo wrote: »
    I too am wondering about this, are they for different areas / proximity to the stage? Anyone know?

Just cheaper for the earlier buyers. That’s all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭spindex

What time does this finish at night time ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭whelzer

Whats the general set up for this like? Had to sell my EP tickets :( last minute due to medical reasons and am hoping this might go someway to filling the void!

Is there a decent seating areas? I see it is over 21s only but what has overall demographic been like in previous years?

whelzer wrote: »
    Whats the general set up for this like? Had to sell my EP tickets :( last minute due to medical reasons and am hoping this might go someway to filling the void!

Is there a decent seating areas? I see it is over 21s only but what has overall demographic been like in previous years?

Don't think there are any seating areas with a view of the music as far as I can remember. Set up is around 4 or 5 stages located in different rooms in the RDS, Main Hall is the main stage where you will presumably have Mac Demarco, Blood Orange etc. Shelbourne Hall/Warehouse stage is the second largest. RBMA is just for dance music and DJs. Then industries hall is predominantly Irish djs and Bulmers Live is mainly Irish live acts. They also have a room for talks from artists, djs etc.

First year I thought the festival was fantastic and it was gotten gradually worse each year. Last year there were ridiculous queues for everything such as toilets, food, getting into stages and some of the rooms were way too packed. There was also a very messy crowd last year although the 2 previous years were fine, hopefully the 21s+ rule will fix that.

I feel as if every year it has been on as well at least one or two acts either didn't turn up or else missed their flights and the stage times moved around on the day. After parties are on around town then afterwards but you have to pay extra for these tickets. It is an expensive day out IMO, worth it the first year, second year was okay but after last year I don't know if I would be bothered going back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 wes16586

Just got tickets for the Sunday. The line up seems pretty decent so far, Blood Orange, The Black Madonna and Rosin Murphy. Anyone know when the full line up will be released. In previous years they've had a legendary act to close the Sunday. Grace Jones 2015 and Chic in 2016. I'm hoping it will be The New Power Generation this year since its being organised by POD and they played ATN.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Black madonna how is she so big?

bigpink wrote: »

Daily calorie intake exceeds daily usage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Daily calorie intake exceeds daily usage.

oh, fat shaming ;)

Joking aside, she's great for proper techno in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭ILIKEFOOD

I've seen her a few times this summer. She is massively overrated. Her sets are fairly run of the mill and her own productions aren't mind blowing either.

I think she's been marketed fairly well and so she's all over the place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

ILIKEFOOD wrote: »
    I've seen her a few times this summer. She is massively overrated. Her sets are fairly run of the mill and her own productions aren't mind blowing either.

I think she's been marketed fairly well and so she's all over the place.

We seem to get dance djs artists that just play off a laptop never live shows

There's only two DJ's on the line up so far plus the Black Madonna doesn't even use a laptop. There's 2 other live electronic dance acts on the lineup as well

oh, fat shaming ;)

Joking aside, she's great for proper techno in fairness.
    really? I've never heard any mix where she played techno. it's always run of the mill house, as per that mix above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

She's very average. Don't get the hype at all.

She has some good tunes herself but I was not impressed by her at ATN, pretty sure I left and went to another DJ instead. Some DJs seem to have a certain hype around them without necessarily having the tunes to back it up. Denis Sulta is another who I have seen twice now and not been too impressed although one or two of his sets on youtube are good. If I was to have a dj wishlist for this festival I would love to see Motor City Drum Ensemble, Hunee or Palms Trax as I have never seen them before. Gerd Janson is probably the best DJ I have seen but he is playing in Wigwam later in the year.

Palms Trax is playing Wigwam too, Sat 10th November, and Hunee playing the Button Factory in December.

Wow didn't know that, thanks! Coincidentally Hunee is actually playing the same night as Gerd Janson which I already have tickets for. I'll catch him another time!

I thought there would be more additions by now for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Blut2

They're really struggling I believe since Web Summit stopped being held in the RDS just before it. Metropolis used to share the stages and a lot of the set-up leftover from that I believe, which really helped reduce costs/difficulties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Blut2 wrote: »
    They're really struggling I believe since Web Summit stopped being held in the RDS just before it. Metropolis used to share the stages and a lot of the set-up leftover from that I believe, which really helped reduce costs/difficulties.

I really doubt that's true. POD have been putting on festivals for years

Would love to see Avalon Emerson at this she's a brilliant DJ/Producer