If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact [email protected]

NBRU call for Transport Police

• Registered Users Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

NBRU on Newstalk now.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 47,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

listening to the news, it's been announced that security on northside DARTs will be beefed up from this evening - three mobile teams, and one based in an unnamed station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭nowaynever

listening to the news, it's been announced that security on northside DARTs will be beefed up from this evening - three mobile teams, and one based in an unnamed station.

I'm open to correction but as far as I know this would be the normal level of security.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,018 ✭✭✭goingnowhere

Well its basically no security as the security staff always seem more interested in their phones...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭nowaynever

Well its basically no security as the security staff always seem more interested in their phones...

I'm going to need prove of that before I get outraged.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 21,835 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

nowaynever wrote: »
    I'm open to correction but as far as I know this would be the normal level of security.

They say it is a 50% increase in security.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Wait, they're threatening to pull Northside services at weekends ?! Surely that's against their remit.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,553 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

ixoy wrote: »
    Wait, they're threatening to pull Northside services at weekends ?! Surely that's against their remit.

i'd be surprised if it is, after all dublin bus for example will pull services when there is severe issues such as severe anti-social behaviour.
    i don't like services being pulled as it effects ordinary people who have done nothing wrong, but realistically until the authorities begin to deal with the issues then what choice is their?

Protect the rights of the alcohol enjoyers of ireland. Remove all funding from alcohol action ireland now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

I would say that threatening to stop all DART services North of Connolly after 7 is scaremongering if that's the case then what about the Enterprise and Northern Commuters running on that line also.

What would be more likely is that they have a service not stop at a station where there has been an incident. It would probably work in way similar to DB where after the first incident trains would pulled for an hour and after the second incident trains would be pulled for the rest of the night and the station would be closed for the rest the night.

A one hour station closure after an incident may also leave enough time to get security resources in place after an issue at a certain station preventing any further incidents if you put security staff in a car responding to where an incident happened to prevent any more incidents.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,618 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Its a shame there is an alternative agenda at play but I guess if it gets transport police for Dublin I'm all for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    Its a shame there is an alternative agenda at play but I guess if it gets transport police for Dublin I'm all for it.

Which is? Truth now please.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

What "alternative agenda" exactly? Seriously the anti-social/scrote patrols have been getting worse over the years bacause these shítes were never tackled early on. Not only that but theyre getting more agressive and more VIOLENT. There's no agenda when it comes to this as the general powers that be usually wont get off their collective holes unless they're strongarmed into doing something about it.

To be honest the problem isn't the security itself but their management. They're generally only allowed to "Observe and Report", instead of the time honored and more effective approach of "Leave or be Kurbstomped". Need the good ol days back where these scrote's generally stayed clear for fear of the reprecussions.

Realistically though we need proper policing including a dedicated transport unit that can and will arrest these vermin when they kick off.

What "alternative agenda" exactly? Seriously the anti-social/scrote patrols have been getting worse over the years bacause these shítes were never tackled early on. Not only that but theyre getting more agressive and more VIOLENT. There's no agenda when it comes to this as the general powers that be usually wont get off their collective holes unless they're strongarmed into doing something about it.

Some of the claims such as the gun threat, Guards not informed of such a serious incident? Have for example stone throwing increased year on year?

Its all just a little to convenient with what happened last week in Malahide and the sudden media reporting of such incidents and threats to withdraw service coming from unions. The RTE report is legitimate but the rest is questionable. It would have been nice to get Dermot's opinion on the communication from members when it comes to disruption.

I'm all for transport police but the reality is IE staff need to get there own house in order with anti social behavior because turning a blind eye contributes to disturbance on board.

Some of the claims such as the gun threat, Guards not informed of such a serious incident? Have for example stone throwing increased year on year?

Its all just a little to convenient with what happened last week in Malahide and the sudden media reporting of such incidents and threats to withdraw service coming from unions. The RTE report is legitimate but the rest is questionable. It would have been nice to get Dermot's opinion on the communication from members when it comes to disruption.

I'm all for transport police but the reality is IE staff need to get there own house in order with anti social behavior because turning a blind eye contributes to disturbance on board.

What are you on about? Staff are subject to some sort of anti social behaviour and abuse every day but that's ok with you is it as we need to sort ourselves out?
    I know that you are anti rail but there is no need to take the preverbials with it.

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    What are you on about? Staff are subject to some sort of anti social behaviour and abuse every day but that's ok with you is it as we need to sort ourselves out?
    I know that you are anti rail but there is no need to take the preverbials with it.

Far from anti rail but prehaps anti CIE!

I accept staff get trouble but I have also witnessed staff just let complete drunks/junkies onto platforms and do nothing about it. They don't inform the security lads around the station. Staff need to also take a more proactive role and I don't think you can deny this.

IE from a company level are also failing, why have they not set up text service like Luas...

:(

I accept staff get trouble but I have also witnessed staff just let complete drunks/junkies onto platforms and do nothing about it. They don't inform the security lads around the station. Staff need to also take a more proactive role and I don't think you can deny this.

IE from a company level are also failing, why have they not set up text service like Luas...

If you kept getting threatened and abused then you wouldn't be quick to approach them either, it's not worth going home stressed over it.
    In the big stations, staff constantly contact the security staff to deal with various issues, they also call the guards, ambulance etc.
    This may not be popular but the ones that give out the most abuse and hassle are on free travel. It's going to get worse now ow on the dart since they announced that kids go free for a certain period and them handing out free child leap cards. What happend last year was gangs of young fellas and young ones used the cards that was handed out to act the maggot on the trains as they had unlimited travel.
    You know very little of what actually goes on and what they have to put up with everyday including saving the lives of junkies who have OD'd in the toilets etc.
    If you spent one day with me it would change your views regarding the staff and what they have to put up with.

This may not be popular but the ones that give out the most abuse and hassle are on free travel.

One thing I fully agree on.

I do agree staff face difficult tasks but transport police won't solve it fully.

Not fully no but,
    It may reassure the paying customers at least if they saw guards on trains and around stations and make a few bogey heads think twice from acting the maggot at various locations.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 ry7704ng

Personally I think there should be a dedicated police force for trains, luas, dart the lot. a force of 60 lads with arrest powers batons and OC spray would help prevent crime in the first place and keep everyone on the trains safe. the luas after 7 is a warzone and those security lads have no powers, a hi visibility dedicated external police for for the trains is exactly what we need now

• Registered Users Posts: 78,962 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn

ry7704ng wrote: »
    Personally I think there should be a dedicated police force for trains, luas, dart the lot. a force of 60 lads with arrest powers batons and OC spray would help prevent crime in the first place and keep everyone on the trains safe. the luas after 7 is a warzone and those security lads have no powers, a hi visibility dedicated external police for for the trains is exactly what we need now

With body cams to back them up in court when the first few scrotes try to sue them.

It would also help if public order law's were strenghtened as well as giving security and guard's far more protection and power's to be able to remove violent or disruptive scum from the area. Europe doesn't have these issue's because they have strong public order law's and the local vermin are made to stay out of peoples way under the threat of a well deserved beating.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 11,476 Mod ✭✭✭✭devnull

Infini wrote: »
    It would also help if public order law's were strenghtened as well as giving security and guard's far more protection and power's to be able to remove violent or disruptive scum from the area. Europe doesn't have these issue's because they have strong public order law's and the local vermin are made to stay out of peoples way under the threat of a well deserved beating.

Having had friends and relatives be the victim of some public order offences in Dublin, whilst I don't have a lot of time for the Guards in general because they've let me down in the past, on two occasions in the past when there has been people who have showed interest and really want to do something about criminals it has been really apparent that the justice system and the laws in this country allow people to get too lenient punishment to the point they just keep re-offending.

There was one Garda who was insistent that the person they caught stealing a friends phone had done it many times before but the judges don't properly punish them and how frustrated they were. If we had more zero tolerance and a proper crackdown with proper punishments there'd be less incentives to carry out these acts, but the people at them know that there is no serious punishment coming.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,121 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/irish-rail-worker-badly-injured-14946148

Not surprising, considering the numbers of sub-humans with multiple convictions wandering around now.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/irish-rail-worker-badly-injured-14946148

Not surprising, considering the numbers of sub-humans with multiple convictions wandering around now.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/union-seeks-security-measures-after-connolly-station-assault-1.3574248?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fireland%2Firish-news%2Funion-seeks-security-measures-after-connolly-station-assault-1.3574248

Paywall one but apparently the poor lad was glassed with a bottle and suffered a broken wrist. This kind of BS needs to stop once and for all. Hopefully the guy can take a civil case against these vermin and make them suffer financially as well.

As it stands this is the exact kind of BS going on that needs to be clamped down on. If the justice system is not being hard enough on them they should tignten up the law's around this behaviour so they can't squirm out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,018 ✭✭✭goingnowhere

I don't see how a transport police would make a difference here, the station was staffed, covered in CCTV and already has a full time security presence on site.

Certain people will always cause trouble (mainly as they are so high on something they just don't care). The person will very likely be known to the gardai and of course had they been locked up from a previous conviction we wouldn't be having this discussion.

Transport police great idea, but is only useful once a crime has been committed and if the courts are not going to send people down for a good stretch whats the point really.

Now nice big mug shots of these troublemakers on crimecall and in the papers might have an interesting effect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

I know other cities have large stations which are much better policied but the reason for this is usually as a means of counter terrorism especially in places like London, Paris and Brussels where heavily armed police regularly patrol station concourses.

If there was to be god forbid an ISIS attack in Dublin or Ireland I'm sure the government would be a lot quicker to act and provide adequate security in our stations.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,121 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I don't see how a transport police would make a difference here, the station was staffed, covered in CCTV and already has a full time security presence on site.

Certain people will always cause trouble (mainly as they are so high on something they just don't care). The person will very likely be known to the gardai and of course had they been locked up from a previous conviction we wouldn't be having this discussion.

Transport police great idea, but is only useful once a crime has been committed and if the courts are not going to send people down for a good stretch whats the point really.

Now nice big mug shots of these troublemakers on crimecall and in the papers might have an interesting effect

The system is already broken and adding another layer of transport police isn't going to fix it. Until politicians and judges start getting attacked nothing will change.

I'm sure there will be some civil liberties or data protection reason why mug shots won't be published, the perpetrators would hardly care whether they are published or not I reckon. These people are shameless.

This latest incident is what happens when we do what you suggested. I won't be getting involved in future.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    This latest incident is what happens when we do what you suggested. I won't be getting involved in future.

Good old CIE jobsworth attitude there.