Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting a dog - but working full time -advice

• 12-06-2018 11:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭

I would really appreciate any advice on getting a dog that will be suited to being alone during the day, that is good living in doors and that has minimal to no shedding and that would be ok with visiting children?

The internet gives very conflicting advice on this (for example some say beagles are great at being alone others say they are not).

Does anyone in a similar situation have a dog that has worked out for them? Or know about dogs to know what kind would be best suited? I would really appreciate any advice or help you can give.

Note: please please do not lecture me about how I shouldn’t have a dog as I work full time. I have already sourced a dog walker for during the day, I have a big enclosed garden with plenty of trees and bushes for a dog to play around, I am off weekends and have tons of annual leave and take a day off a month. I have family who will mind the dog if I am away. I have wanted a dog for years but always held off as I work however now I am looking for one to actually improve my home life as I have been going through a stressful time the past year or more and think a dog will be a good companion for me and my OH and someone to take care of and interact with, to go on walks with etc. our lifestyle is very suited to a dog - we rarely go out, like spending the evenings walking and in the garden or relaxing in the house. I always had dogs growing up and would love one of my own. I can’t quit my job. There surely must be dogs who would be ok on their own during the day as long as they get walked morning and evening and during the day and spend the evenings with us inside and have weekends and holidays with us too. Money is not an issue re grooming, vets, obedience classes etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭fg1406

I have 2 dogs and I work full time. I am however able to go home a lunch. My two are company for each other. They are indoors in winter (they refuse to go out when it’s wet) and I put on a doggy relaxation channel for them and they lounge around the house. In summer, they have the gardens and a kennel. They get walked before I go to work, again when my husband gets home at 5pm and again after dinner. It’s definitely doable. You may find that rescue centres may be unwilling to allow you to adopt from them if you work full time outside of the home. I had bought a pup from a IKC breeder and my second was a rescue. The rescue centre only allowed me to adopt because my other dog was perfectly content at home alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 LindsayMVP

I have a beagle, and she would definitely not be ok by herself inside all day, especially as a puppy. But maybe adopting two older beagles would be ok, although the post above mentions that rescue bodies might not be ok with that. Beagles are runners though, so if you do get one be prepared to have him/her on a leash whenever they are not in an enclosed space. Aside from that they are lovely dogs :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,602 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Don't get a puppy anyway, recipe for disaster with your circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

Personally i wouldn't recommend a puppy either in your situation... you will have little or now house to come home too.. even with a dog walker.

no breed is "ok" with being alone all day its what the become accustomed to over time... personally id go to your local recuse center - look for an older dog where they will be happy or accepting with being home alone most of the day.

explain to them your situation mention the dog walker etc and see what they say..

but please remember one thing.. its not about you wanting a dog and its about whats best for the dog and quality of life - regardless of breed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭sillysmiles

Myself and my husband work full time and commute (so no popping home at lunch time) Our dog is walked in the morning (non negotiable) and is inside during the day. In the evening he is out in the garden and then goes for a walk after dinner. He is chilled and non destructive. I see no signs of anxiety or stress in him. Not every dog is a nervous/ gets separation anxiety and the reality is you have to work.

For me, if we were/ or when we will be getting a new dog I think it would have to be a minimum of 18month/2 years old so that it is out of the puppy and "teenage" phase. I'm not stuck on breeds - particularly if you are looking at rescues. I would think the best thing to do would be to start talking to your local rescues about the characteristics you'd like/need in a companion and start from there.

Honestly too, is there really such a thing as a non shedding dog? And what cost does that come at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

cocker5 wrote: »
    personally id go to your local recuse center

In my experience, a rescue centre won't give you a dog if you have a job.

I think sometimes it depends on the rescue, and on the dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

I'm no expert but I have heard greyhounds are actually quite lazy dogs which like to lounge around alot so could be good, they do need 2 walks but between that like to relax, there are shelters which would have ex race dogs.

I'll be in a similar situation myself soon, looking to get a dog but both of us working, there is family nearby that would be around during the day though.
    There is good chance we might 2 so they will have each other for company. Only issue is gf has heart set on a puppy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

For type of dog a lurcher might be an option. After a walk / run in the morning our dog basically sleeps for most of the day and is ready for another walk when we get home from work in the evening. Originally we had a walker come in during the day. I think it helped at first but after she got used to us we found that it didn't really seem to matter to the dog. So we didn't bother to look for another walker one after the walker move away.

I've heard other people say the same thing about their lurchers and greyhounds. They are all about bursts of activity and then lazing in between.

As for getting it from a rescue, we found that some rescues will allow it depending on the dog and what your provisions are for watching the dog during the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

In my experience, a rescue centre won't give you a dog if you have a job.

Yea so only unemployed people should have dogs?

Makes sense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Anne1982h

Myself and my husband work full time and commute (so no popping home at lunch time) Our dog is walked in the morning (non negotiable) and is inside during the day. In the evening he is out in the garden and then goes for a walk after dinner. He is chilled and non destructive. I see no signs of anxiety or stress in him. Not every dog is a nervous/ gets separation anxiety and the reality is you have to work.

For me, if we were/ or when we will be getting a new dog I think it would have to be a minimum of 18month/2 years old so that it is out of the puppy and "teenage" phase. I'm not stuck on breeds - particularly if you are looking at rescues. I would think the best thing to do would be to start talking to your local rescues about the characteristics you'd like/need in a companion and start from there.

Honestly too, is there really such a thing as a non shedding dog? And what cost does that come at?

Can I ask what breed of dog you have?

He's a black lab. We have him nearly 4 yrs. We think he is about 8 yrs old now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Lurcher.

The dog here gets a quick trot in the morning before work and a longer walk in the evening after work. Is usually asleep by the time I'm leaving for work after a shower. I've worked here from home some days with the same routine and she barely looked at me during the day, was happy out asleep.

Adopted from a rescue at 4 yrs old at the start of this year, they were fully informed as to the working hours etc. and were fine with it.

Personally i wouldn't recommend a puppy either in your situation... you will have little or now house to come home too.. even with a dog walker.

no breed is "ok" with being alone all day its what the become accustomed to over time... personally id go to your local recuse center - look for an older dog where they will be happy or accepting with being home alone most of the day.

explain to them your situation mention the dog walker etc and see what they say..

but please remember one thing.. its not about you wanting a dog and its about whats best for the dog and quality of life - regardless of breed

I do understand that - but it seems so unfair that the only people who can have the pleasure and joy of owning a dog are the unemployed or those whose partners can support them in not working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

LindsayMVP wrote: »
    I have a beagle, and she would definitely not be ok by herself inside all day, especially as a puppy. But maybe adopting two older beagles would be ok, although the post above mentions that rescue bodies might not be ok with that. Beagles are runners though, so if you do get one be prepared to have him/her on a leash whenever they are not in an enclosed space. Aside from that they are lovely dogs :).

Yes and very wilful stubborn....and love howling at the sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

Anne1982h wrote: »
    I would really appreciate any advice on getting a dog that will be suited to being alone during the day, that is good living in doors and that has minimal to no shedding and that would be ok with visiting children?

Greyhound ticks all those boxes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wardides

Adopted a greyhound last Sep and haven't looked back. Similar situation, both of us work full time. As long as he gets a walk he's fine. At times it can be even tough to get him out for a walk as he's such a lazy creature. Absolute perfect dog for your situation.

You should have a look at <snip> Adoption agency that will come do a home visit and match the right dog to your lifestyle or vice versa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

is your OH available to care for the dog during the day?

lawred2 wrote: »
    is your OH available to care for the dog during the day?

No we both work full time in the city centre. We leave around 8am and get home around 6pm

Will people stop being ridiculous. I until very very recently had two dogs. A 13 year old brown lab and a 5 year old shih tzu. Me and my partner work full time. Our lads are house dogs but during the day are out in the back yard. They have a shed which has two big kennels inside. They also have multiple beds in there and even an old leather jacket each of mine to snuggle into. They are left alone all day while we are at work. They are walked in the evening and are in the house with us when we are home. Fed once in the morning and again in the evening. They have plenty of water at all times.

Unfortunately or lab died yesterday. He had a tumour. We will be looking to get a rescue so our other dog isnt lonely. Not a chance would be turned down for having jobs. The home inspection would likely be a formality because we are set up for two dogs.

All this talk of being rejected because you have a job is nonsense. It is likely because you are not a suitable person or your house is not ideal rather than you work.

I a full time worker am in a much better place to take care of a dog than someone unemployed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

Op, where will the dog sleep? Will it be able to access your bedroom during the night? 10 hours is a very long time for a dog to be left alone every day. Unless the dog is allowed sleep in your room at night it isn't 10 hours either it's 18 hours, if this is the case I think you already know the answer yourself really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Lurcher.

The dog here gets a quick trot in the morning before work and a longer walk in the evening after work. Is usually asleep by the time I'm leaving for work after a shower. I've worked here from home some days with the same routine and she barely looked at me during the day, was happy out asleep.

Adopted from a rescue at 4 yrs old at the start of this year, they were fully informed as to the working hours etc. and were fine with it.

I would second this. We have a lurcher and he's as lazy as sin. Gets a run in the morning then takes all day to recover for his evening run. If you get a rescue dog then tell them about the visiting children as not all dogs will have a compatible history. Our lad is great with children, never even growled at one, but the one we looked at before him was grand with adult but littlies made her skittish and very jumpy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Mr.H wrote: »

More or less what I told them.

They came back saying that I could have told them my elaborate plan for coming home every lunchtime and employing a dog-minder.

Basically saying that i could have lied and gotten a dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

The internet gives very conflicting advice on this (for example some say beagles are great at being alone others say they are not).

Does anyone in a similar situation have a dog that has worked out for them? Or know about dogs to know what kind would be best suited? I would really appreciate any advice or help you can give.

Note: please please do not lecture me about how I shouldn’t have a dog as I work full time. I have already sourced a dog walker for during the day, I have a big enclosed garden with plenty of trees and bushes for a dog to play around, I am off weekends and have tons of annual leave and take a day off a month. I have family who will mind the dog if I am away. I have wanted a dog for years but always held off as I work however now I am looking for one to actually improve my home life as I have been going through a stressful time the past year or more and think a dog will be a good companion for me and my OH and someone to take care of and interact with, to go on walks with etc. our lifestyle is very suited to a dog - we rarely go out, like spending the evenings walking and in the garden or relaxing in the house. I always had dogs growing up and would love one of my own. I can’t quit my job. There surely must be dogs who would be ok on their own during the day as long as they get walked morning and evening and during the day and spend the evenings with us inside and have weekends and holidays with us too. Money is not an issue re grooming, vets, obedience classes etc.
    Think of your neighbours,and don't be like the fcuking Muppets around me,who leave digs all day long to annoy everyone,come back any time of the day and there's at least one bloody dog barking,which then starts the others,at times after 11 at night,no place in an estate for dogs (unless looked after,, btw had a westie until last year for 16 yrs,who I walked up to 10 miles most days,whom I didn't allow make my neighbours life hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

No we both work full time in the city centre. We leave around 8am and get home around 6pm

Then don't get a dog, simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Or get two so they keep each other company :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

Makes sense?

I think you're missing the point. The rescue center will only do what's best for the dog and leaving it on it's own all day is not necessarily best for the dog. There's a few houses around me that leave their dogs in the garden while they're in work and to be quite honest they can be a fuggin' nuisance barking at each other especially when you're trying to work from home.

I actually was talking about it with a guy in work today. It turns out he has a border collie and he said it’s fine on it’s own in their house all day. Himself and his wife work same hours as us. Are people just hyper sensitive about dogs now? He said they have no issues and love having the dog to come home to and take for a walk/snuggle up on the couch which is what we would love.

I always change my mind about us being able to have one when I read up on it but then I hear of people like that who have dogs with no issues! If the dog gets walked in morning, dog walker in afternoon, walked in evening and spends evenings and weekends with us would it not be happy? We have a big garden. I was thinking of getting an insulated kennel and a long run for during summer and then we have a large hallway with a big floor to ceiling window so it could look outside and run around there freely during winter...it’s just the type of dog that would be most likely to be suitable to that kind of routine

emeldc wrote:
    I think you're missing the point. The rescue center will only do what's best for the dog and leaving it on it's own all day is not necessarily best for the dog. There's a few houses around me that leave their dogs in the garden while they're in work and to be quite honest they can be a fuggin' nuisance barking at each other especially when you're trying to work from home.

Yea thats only because those dogs get no attention. Dont get me wrong i believe people saying they where told no. But i think its crazy and fully believe it wont be an issue for me.

I also think an unemployed person has leas resources to take care of a dog than someone who works. So which is "best for the dog"?

I do understand that - but it seems so unfair that the only people who can have the pleasure and joy of owning a dog are the unemployed or those whose partners can support them in not working.

OP i wasn't suggesting you dont get a dog - i was advising not to get a puppy while working full time.

and yes i agree with you.. we both work full time and have a 13 year cocker... who does nothing but snooze all day... i was suggesting you get an older dog thats happy with being home alone thats all.

we did get our guy at 8 weeks ... again we were both working... even though we had a dog walker (and doggie day care one day per week), and we spent every other hour with him .. he was dreadfully unhappy when alone, and WRECKED the entire downstairs.. not his fault one bit it was ours but still.

next time when i get a dog it will be an older / mature dog thats all.

im not saying this happens to all dogs but it happened to mine.

8/9 hours alone per day is like ETERNITY to a puppy ... thats all

I actually was talking about it with a guy in work today. It turns out he has a border collie and he said it’s fine on it’s own in their house all day. Himself and his wife work same hours as us. Are people just hyper sensitive about dogs now? He said they have no issues and love having the dog to come home to and take for a walk/snuggle up on the couch which is what we would love.

I always change my mind about us being able to have one when I read up on it but then I hear of people like that who have dogs with no issues! If the dog gets walked in morning, dog walker in afternoon, walked in evening and spends evenings and weekends with us would it not be happy? We have a big garden. I was thinking of getting an insulated kennel and a long run for during summer and then we have a large hallway with a big floor to ceiling window so it could look outside and run around there freely during winter...it’s just the type of dog that would be most likely to be suitable to that kind of routine

as i already posted there is no "set breed" it will all depend on the dog to be honest... most of the time dogs over 3/4 are happy to be alone its younger where the problem is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭zoe 3619

There's been a few suggestions regarding greyhounds and lurchers,which would be perfect in that they love to sleep.If they got a decent walk (or sprint) in the morning they'd generally be happy dozing all day.
    I would consider them to be indoor dogs though.I don't think even a well insulated kennel would be suitable for a greyhound in winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭denismc

OP, you seem like a thoughtful person and I think any dog you will get will be happy. Having a dog walker come during the day will make a big difference to your dog.
    We too have a lurcher and when we got her first she would tear the house apart due to separation anxiety, but now she is a very happy dog and she will happily spend hours on their own.

While I highly recommend a lurcher, wippet or greyhound, just keep in mind if these dogs came from a rescue they may have been trained to hunt and so your neighbours cats maybe at risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

Makes sense?

Ireland 2018....wouldnt put it past us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭em_cat

Makes sense?

TBH that just sounds as if your spoiling for an argument & not particularly helpful to the OP.

That being said not all rescues or breeders require that someone is always home it is entirely dependent on the dog.

zoe 3619 wrote: »
    There's been a few suggestions regarding greyhounds and lurchers,which would be perfect in that they love to sleep.If they got a decent walk (or sprint) in the morning they'd generally be happy dozing all day.
    I would consider them to be indoor dogs though.I don't think even a well insulated kennel would be suitable for a greyhound in winter.

Definitely not. It actually works both ways in honesty, the weather last few weeks has been a nightmare for our lad as he can't handle the sun too well either. 10 minute walk and he's wrecked, and similar if we're sitting out the back he has to be in the shade (especially being a black dog). If you're considering a greyhound/lurcher you 100% have to be fully comfortable with them being 90% a house dog, as well as taking over every sofa you've got in the house.

OP maybe think of it this way, would you get a child and leave it at home alone while you & OH are at work? Also remember that when you had dog(s) as a child someone else was really the one caring for it during the day.

I know that children are an entirely different species, but in my experience, a puppy or a rescue dog can and often does need the same attention a baby or small child needs.

At the end of the day, when you agree to bring a pet into your home you’ve also agreed to care for it as you would like to be cared for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

Unfair to whom? A dog is a huge responsibility and you should be focusing on what you can do for the dog not just what you get out of it. expecting to be able to order one custom built that doesn't need stimulation during the day and doesn't shed and will love kids despite not being around them or anyone all day is just so unrealistic. You really can't approach getting a dog like 'what dog will suit my requirements?', it should be more like, 'can I accommodate a dog into my life?'

You said you didn't want a lecture but that's what you get when you're not being realistic. What good is it for the dog to be at home all day alone? How will it be socialized to get along with these kids you want it to get on with? How will it learn anything you want it to do being alone all day?

If you are dead set on a dog I would suggest a lurcher/greyhound as well but it's more work than you might think, sure it's easy to get up an hour earlier and walk them in the summer but in winter it's rough.

And now I see you want to leave the dog alone AND outside too. Please for the love of god do not get a dog if you want to do this.

AND, you're friend says his collie is alone all day and happy? I have a collie and I am home all day and can barely keep her entertained! They are the most active, intelligent, sensitive dog you could get. Please I'm begging you do not get a collie.

But it sounds to me like you don't actually want opinions from people who know what they're talking about, when they tell you the truth you react like a child and say they must be oversensitive because they aren't saying you can have this thing you want that you don't know jack about.

I will be surprised if a shelter gives you a dog, you're totally unsuitable (and I used to work for one, it becomes easy to suss out who you should refuse because you know the dog will end up returned or on donedeal)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭phormium

Maybe also try your local dog pound, I don't think they are as stringent about making sure someone is going to be home all day, if you tell them what you are looking for as in maybe an older settled dog they will keep you in mind as dogs come in and no owners found.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Your circumstances sound great for a certain type of dog OP. People are right in that a very active, nervous breed or a puppy would not be okay on their own for so long, but you should be able to find a good companion who will just snooze during the day no bother. Greyhounds or lurchers are definitely worth looking into; they won't have any interest in kennels but they will easily sleep through the day and snuggle up when you're back, with a few decent walks to stretch their legs in between. Have you considered a pair, it sounds like you have space? Sighthounds pair up really well. You'll just need to get them their own sofa :D

I just wanted to put this out there... please do not get a dog of any kind if you think it ok to put it outside while you are not there or let it sit and stare out a window while you are not there, doing these 2 things make a perfect recipe for creating a ‘reactive’ dog and it makes it very difficult for others people who also have dogs like that suffer from things noise phobias to dogs barking every time someone or something sets them off.

I ask this because this is the type of home our rescue who was also, a return to kennel, came from and while it has been a long, frustrating and at times incredibly embarrassing, road I still get very angry at whoever bought him and thought he’d be perfectly fine left at home alone all day while they where at work.

em_cat wrote:
    TBH that just sounds as if your spoiling for an argument & not particularly helpful to the OP.

If you read my other post you would i gave my own perspective which i feel is more than suitable to the op. They have nothing to worry about as far as work is concerned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,878 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Myself and my partner work full time, it is possible to have a very happy dog.

It can be hard work having a dog sometimes, it is helped by the fact my partner works shifts and I do flexitime.
    We give him a big walk in the morning and another big one when home, this can be a pain especially at 7am in the pouring rain lol.
    We have him since he was 8 weeks old and he really is not any bother, we trained him a lot for first week and he was pretty much toilet trained within a few days. Also have a camera in house to keep an eye on him, rarely use any more.
    He just sleeps and occasionally jumps between the sofa and the armchair and sometimes laying in the sun at window.
    I would recommend joining something like borrow my doggy to get used to minding a dog and maybe seeing what breed would suit.

We have a French Bulldog BTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭fg1406

I know it’s an emotive topic but my 2 are perfectly fine at home all day. The two lumps love the couch and enjoy the tv or Alexa sounds I leave on for them. I leave the house at 8:30 and I’m back at 13:10 and I go back to work at 13:50 and my husband is home at 4:30 so they aren’t really alone for prolonged periods of time. They aren’t howlers or barkers out the back and I’ve a webcam home security system at both front and back doors so I can go into the app to see that they are ok.
    Having a dog and working full time is suitable for some dogs and not the awful cruel situation some might have you believe but for other dogs of a certain temperament it would be wholly unfair.

em_cat wrote: »
    OP maybe think of it this way, would you get a child and leave it at home alone while you & OH are at work? Also remember that when you had dog(s) as a child someone else was really the one caring for it during the day.

I know that children are an entirely different species, but in my experience, a puppy or a rescue dog can and often does need the same attention a baby or small child needs.

At the end of the day, when you agree to bring a pet into your home you’ve also agreed to care for it as you would like to be cared for.

This is the bonkers stuff that constantly gets thrown out. Love the bones out of our lad, but he's not a baby. He does not need to be cared as if he is a baby.

If you read my other post you would i gave my own perspective which i feel is more than suitable to the op. They have nothing to worry about as far as work is concerned

I did read your other post but you also think it’s ok to leave the dogs outside unsupervised while not at home. Dogs are social animals and since we humans decided to domesticate them we also have the responsibility to care for them in the same way we ourselves are cared for.

wardides wrote: »
    This is the bonkers stuff that constantly gets thrown out. Love the bones out of our lad, but he's not a baby. He does not need to be cared as if he is a baby.

I have a dog and have done all my life from working dogs to ones that are purely pets. There is nothing bonkers about what I wrote a 5 to 10 week old puppy would not survive on its own just as a new born baby would not. Just like a child you have to tbe teach and socialise a dog same as you do a child or maybe you don’t agree with that either.

And for info our dog is not treated like a baby either but he is cared for like I would like to be cared for i.e with patience, kindness and to be a part of the family, not to be put outside or tossed in a crate anytime I’m unwanted or can’t be trusted not to destroy or cause destruction because my basic needs are not being met.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭derossi

Have a dog last 18 months, to be fair I was around a lot the first while but now he is on occasion left to himself for periods due to work etc. I felt huge guilt initially prior to getting a dog due to the thought of him being on his own but I provide him plenty of opportunities to live a good life. Gets walked daily, visit to another house if I am away for too long with other dogs, eats better than me probably and is very well looked after.

He is a big dog but I will leave him on his own for a working day if need be bar calling up to let him out. Other than that he is a happy dog and in my opinion lives a happy life!

It is workable if you realise they do take a lot of work and thought but the return experience is worth it.

It is totally doable if you put in the work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

em_cat wrote: »
    I have a dog and have done all my life from working dogs to ones that are purely pets. There is nothing bonkers about what I wrote a 5 to 10 week old puppy would not survive on its own just as a new born baby would not. Just like a child you have to tbe teach and socialise a dog same as you do a child or maybe you don’t agree with that either.

And for info our dog is not treated like a baby either but he is cared for like I would like to be cared for i.e with patience, kindness and to be a part of the family, not to be put outside or tossed in a crate anytime I’m unwanted or can’t be trusted not to destroy or cause destruction because my basic needs are not being met.

Of course a 5-10week old puppy is not okay as it needs to be fed more regularly but who is talking about getting a puppy that young.

You've obviously had a bad experience but plenty of people have dogs home all day and they are fine. Whatever happened to your recuse dog may have been to do with lack of stimulation or other neglect. However, working during the week does not automatically equal neglect.

You have to teach and socialise a dog but just like with babies, you aren't doing that 24hours a day.

You are basically accusing people who work and have dogs of being neglectful of their dogs, I'd be interested to know if this really is your experience. Have you never met a content dog whose owners work? Because I have met many. I used to work in a veterinary practice and our veterinary nurse used to leave the house at 6am and return at 7.30pm. She would occasionally bring her fella to work and I can tell you, he was far from neglected. He did agility and could sing, dance and fetch things by name because she spent her free time teaching him all sorts of great tricks, being a collie he was well able for it! How can you realistically think she was being neglectful by going to work? Would you deny somebody that committed to their pet that deep bond just because she worked? It makes no sense.