Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you all think of this?

• 08-06-2018 11:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭

https://volquartsen.com/products/1281-summit-receiver-and-bolt

Seen this on reddit today, a conversion kit to turn a rugar 10/22 into a bolt action gun. I am guessing that the gun would have to be relicensed as a bolt gun? Dude on reddit seem to think that it was the bees knees for suppressed shooting, but at that price it would want to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

Seen this on reddit today, a conversion kit to turn a rugar 10/22 into a bolt action gun. I am guessing that the gun would have to be relicensed as a bolt gun? Dude on reddit seem to think that it was the bees knees for suppressed shooting, but at that price it would want to be.

Don't see the point of it, at that price buy a CZ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Jackdaw89

Had a 10/22 for 2 months absolutely hated it I spent more time crawling around the grass looking for spent brass then shooting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Seen this on reddit today, a conversion kit to turn a Ruger 10/22 into a bolt action gun. I am guessing that the gun would have to be relicensed as a bolt gun? Dude on reddit seem to think that it was the bees knees for suppressed shooting, but at that price, it would want to be.

Nope! to it being re-licensed as a BA, unless you want it permanently as a bolt action rifle, or are building one, and to the idea. If you want that kind of silenced shooting, buy a bolt action or break action straight off. Or simply modify the 10/22 with a bolt lock, which is no biggie for any capable gunsmith. It's another gimmick for adding a twist to the 10/22 modular design. In short, a solution looking for a problem.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Cadpat_cowboy

rsole1 wrote: »
    Don't see the point of it, at that price buy a CZ.

I agree completely man it is more expensive then the rifle was new, just thought it was a cool idea

Jackdaw89 wrote: »
    Had a 10/22 for 2 months absolutely hated it I spent more time crawling around the grass looking for spent brass then shooting it.

I love mine man, it is my first firearm tho some Mabey that is clouding my judgment.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Nope! to it being re-licensed as a BA, unless you want it permanently as a bolt action rifle, or are building one, and to the idea. If you want that kind of silenced shooting, buy a bolt action or break action straight off. Or simply modify the 10/22 with a bolt lock, which is no biggie for any capable gunsmith. It's another gimmick for adding a twist to the 10/22 modular design. In short, a solution looking for a problem.

So I in theory could buy this use as bolt gun and then change back to semi auto as I please? Bolt lock never heard of it till now but a quick YouTube search and my interest is peaked. I agree that its a gimmick man just thought it was a cool idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

I like it, it is obviously a cheap solution to making a rifle for biathlon shooting, Because the other options start at about 5 grand.

juice1304 wrote: »
    I like it, it is obviously a cheap solution to making a rifle for biathlon shooting, Because the other options start at about 5 grand.

Biathlon shooting? Never heard of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

Biathlon shooting? Never heard of it.

You ski or run or cycle and have to shoot at stationary targets at several waypoints.

Stupid question of the weekend do you carry the gun along the way? Is that an active sport in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Jackdaw89

I love mine man, it is my first firearm tho some Mabey that is clouding my judgment.

Oh its a fine rifle lad but I didn’t like scratching around for the spent brass, actually iv the same bother with my shotgun shells with the a400 ha. Semi autos just don’t suit me or the land I shoot ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Stupid question of the weekend do you carry the gun along the way?
    Yes indeed:

Is that an active sport in Ireland?
    Not that I know of, and I suspect that any attempt to emulate it in our non-alpine climate would probably run afoul of Dermot Ahern's 'Movement With Firearms = The End Of Civilisation As We Know It' policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Stupid question of the weekend do you carry the gun along the way? Is that an active sport in Ireland?

You do, the weight of the gun is part of the fun of the sport. Get on the ole Youtube, plenty of Winter Olympics biathlon footage to be found. If my memory serves me right I read somewhere that at the start of it being an Olympic sport it was done with .30 cal center fire rifles and Scandinavian soldiers scooped up the medals.

Melodeon wrote: »
    Yes indeed:

Not that I know of, and I suspect that any attempt to emulate it in our non-alpine climate would probably run afoul of Dermot Ahern's 'Movement With Firearms = The End Of Civilisation As We Know It' policy.

Is it movement with firearms,or movement with LOADED firearms law? Because if it is the former,we would have ways of making it and IPSC legal here.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 314 ✭✭Walter Mittys Brother

.............Because if it is the former,we would have ways of making it and IPSC legal here.

Are you for real?

Practical pistol, or whatever it was called back then, almost got every pistol pulled a few years ago and you're proposing chance another go at it if 'we' can make the current wording suit :eek:

Jackdaw89 wrote: »
    Oh its a fine rifle lad but I didn’t like scratching around for the spent brass, actually iv the same bother with my shotgun shells with the a400 ha. Semi autos just don’t suit me or the land I shoot ha.

I understand that man, I am thinking of getting a shotgun and I'm lean more towards a over and under.

Melodeon wrote: »
    Yes indeed:

Well he was an elected member of the government how dare we question his all knowing foresight 😂 but on a serious note dose that mean I have to carry my gun unloaded and load when I see a rabbit?

You do, the weight of the gun is part of the fun of the sport. Get on the ole Youtube, plenty of Winter Olympics biathlon footage to be found. If my memory serves me right I read somewhere that at the start of it being an Olympic sport it was done with .30 cal center fire rifles and Scandinavian soldiers scooped up the medals.

I suppose they would have plenty of experience in that sort of thing, had a look at a few clips that looks like good crack. But thinking back to how stuck I was during the "beast from the east" I don't think it's for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭gunny123

Are you for real?

Practical pistol, or whatever it was called back then, almost got every pistol pulled a few years ago and you're proposing chance another go at it if 'we' can make the current wording suit :eek:

Nothing wrong with practical shooting sports, they are after all, sports. They are legal everywhere except here and north Korea. Even after the Hungerford and Dunblane shootings in the UK, i do not recall hearing one mp advocating for the banning of practical shooting over there.

The only reason it was banned here was a short angry man td seen a youtube video of a walt strutting around the grounds of his ancestoral 1980's bungalow, advising the gullable how to be a super ninja assassin bodyguards.

https://www.arrse.co.uk/arrse_wiki/index.php?title=List_of_James_Shortt%27s_Dubious_Claims&

gunny123 wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with practical shooting sports, they are after all, sports. They are legal everywhere except here and north Korea. Even after the Hungerford and Dunblane shootings in the UK, i do not recall hearing one mp advocating for the banning of practical shooting over there.

The only reason it was banned here was a short angry man td seen a youtube video of a walt strutting around the grounds of his ancestoral 1980's bungalow, advising the gullable how to be a super ninja assassin bodyguards.

https://www.arrse.co.uk/arrse_wiki/index.php?title=List_of_James_Shortt%27s_Dubious_Claims&

So this one chap puts a video up on YouTube and the whole countrys laws are changed? Any links to the video he posted?

Yes, in short, one video and off go centrefire (and very nearly rimfire) pistols. I am not sure he posted it, it did appear to be promotional video for his bodyguard training business. I don't want to post anymore about him, as he is fond of setting lawyers on people who question him. But wander over to the arrse website and do a search there, all will become clear.

Are you for real?

Yes.I am VERY for real. if people stopped looking at a problem locally and actually looked EU wide once in awhile, they might find a country that
    [1] Knows its arse from its elbow in firearms matters and law
    [2]Outlaws "combat training" and has done for decades,but has a burgeoning IPSC community.
    [
    3] Has the EXACT SAME prohibitions as we do on moving with a loaded firearm[ii] Shooting off ground
    [iii] Shooting partially exposed targets
    [
    iv]Movement must be at walking pace with unloaded firearms

[v] Has one of the best counter-terrorist units in the World and are more than happy to send one of their experts over to testify on the total fallacy of IPSC being anyway suited to "combat training" as much as a Fiat Bambino is to formula 1 racing.

[vi] AGS has accepted their opinion from their Federal technical labs on whether semi-auto sporting rifles are actually such and not war weapons,or easily convertible to select fire. Their weapons or ballistic experts hold titles such as Doctor or Professor, not Seargent or Inspector [of weekend-long course qualifications.:rolleyes:]

A place called Germany.Might have heard of it?

Of course,if no one wants to even make an enquiry on this possibility,of even a review and sit and bemoan the fates,or are just quite happy shooting in "Norn Iron"...Well then we WILL eventually die out here with CF pistols. even get it going with .22 stuff.Or sit and be intimidated by "the law" for another 35 years. [Won't bother me I'll be 96 by then.]

Yes, in short, one video and off go centrefire (and very nearly rimfire) pistols. I am not sure he posted it, it did appear to be a promotional video for his bodyguard training business. I don't want to post anymore about him, as he is fond of setting lawyers on people who question him. But wander over to the arrse website and do a search there, all will become clear.

I wouldn't be too worried about Gym Shorts sending any writs to you.it would be ringing the dinner bell to the shoal of ARRSE[UK] sharks[IE HM army,who does have current ,former genuine bodyguards, paramedics, lawyers, ancient Irish heraldic titled families,and officers] to descend en masse upon the "baron of Castleshort" and really for once finish him off and his already utterly tattered reputation physically in a court of law.:p

BTW here is the video link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cESVAhXyk7Y At 1.56 in the video you have a fine shot of the Castle.[Featured also onRTE Failte Towers, because its a golf club and hotel] And God alone knows how many illegal or breaches of Irish firearms laws in this farsce of a video.

And for those who want to read the tale of the fall of the Uber Walt.Go here and have an afternoons read.https://www.arrse.co.uk/wiki/The_Baron_of_Castleshort

In fairness to Baron ShortaCastle he was a contributing factor in this whole sad mess. Doing naughty stuff in Dermot Ahern's constituency probably didn't help matters either.
    Aherne had it in for shooting sports ever since he became Justice minister and stated so quite clearly at the May 2008 Assoc of Garda Sgts and Inspectors AGM. Being an evil little arthritic creep:mad: he used the murder of Shane Greghoan, which had nothing to do with anything remotely resembling legally held CF pistols, he hung his BS law on that peg of an innocent man's death to punish further Irish shooters.
    Also,we have ourselves to blame too,in the fact that 20 plus years ago we could have set up practical shotgun here and no one would have boo on the matter.We rushed headfirst and too fast into IPSC with the pistols, and scared the bejesus out of AGS with a showoff demo of an IPSC shoot.And not to mind the usual Fuddism of traditional shooting sports didnt help either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Very popular sport in parts of the north inner city ;)

I wouldn't be too worried about Gym Shorts sending any writs to you.it would be ringing the dinner bell to the shoal of ARRSE[UK] sharks[IE HM army,who does have current ,former genuine bodyguards, paramedics, lawyers, ancient Irish heraldic titled families,and officers] to descend en masse upon the "baron of Castleshort" and really for once finish him off and his already utterly tattered reputation physically in a court of law.:p

BTW here is the video link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cESVAhXyk7Y At 1.56 in the video you have a fine shot of the Castle.[Featured also onRTE Failte Towers, because its a golf club and hotel] And God alone knows how many illegal or breaches of Irish firearms laws in this farsce of a video.

And for those who want to read the tale of the fall of the Uber Walt.Go here and have an afternoons read.https://www.arrse.co.uk/wiki/The_Baron_of_Castleshort

In fairness to Baron ShortaCastle he was a contributing factor in this whole sad mess. Doing naughty stuff in Dermot Ahern's constituency probably didn't help matters either.
    Aherne had it in for shooting sports ever since he became Justice minister and stated so quite clearly at the May 2008 Assoc of Garda Sgts and Inspectors AGM. Being an evil little arthritic creep:mad: he used the murder of Shane Greghoan, which had nothing to do with anything remotely resembling legally held CF pistols, he hung his BS law on that peg of an innocent man's death to punish further Irish shooters.
    Also,we have ourselves to blame too,in the fact that 20 plus years ago we could have set up practical shotgun here and no one would have boo on the matter.We rushed headfirst and too fast into IPSC with the pistols, and scared the bejesus out of AGS with a showoff demo of an IPSC shoot.And not to mind the usual Fuddism of traditional shooting sports didnt help either.

How dose he get away with all that stolen valour? The video was some next level mall ninja promo work, did he really have to point the mac at the camra tho?

Only if he used the medals directly to gain money fraudulently. Apparently, his medals, none are UK awarded or are discontinued medals,so he would have to have been fighting in the Boer or WW1 to have been awarded..Have a read of the ARSSE thread,it explains it all or go onto arrse,they have a topic thread on Walts and his is the longest.

Here ya go Shortt skirts and shiny things. https://www.arrse.co.uk/arrse_wiki/index.php?title=James_Shortt%27s_Dodgy_Uniforms_and_Medals&

Only if he used the medals directly to gain money fraudulently. Apparently, his medals, none are UK awarded or are discontinued medals,so he would have to have been fighting in the Boer or WW1 to have been awarded..Have a read of the ARSSE thread,it explains it all or go onto arrse,they have a topic thread on Walts and his is the longest.

I never copped the fact he spent so much time here, from the early 70's in fact. I am also baffled how he was never caught and got his comeuppance, just reading the arrse forums , they aren't the sort i'd like after me.

"Do you want the entire pissed off Brit army officer and NCO class on your "arrse?That's how you get the entire pissed off Brit army officer and NCO class on your arrse!" All you have to do is call them scum in a post on Arrse.:p

I'm not surprised TBH..He certainly had a few Irish traits. Gift of the gab,baffler with bull manure,and plausible stories before the interweb made it easy to do research on peoples stories. Biggest mistake was playing with fire with an organization that if it did look very closely at your story would take it apart very quickly and expose you.

Here ya go Shortt skirts and shiny things. https://www.arrse.co.uk/arrse_wiki/index.php?title=James_Shortt%27s_Dodgy_Uniforms_and_Medals&

Could past "students" not sue as they thought they were being trained by para/sas/navy/monk/rambo and not some steamer who has read to many Tom Clancy books?

Because they believe the hype. They think all the far fetched tales are true, all the knockers have it wrong, and jimbo cannot go public because of "security". I knew one of them, everything was black-op's ultra ninja mode, He'd like to tell you more but "national security" would be endangered.

He was the same wally who caused a major panic in a small wicklow town, when he decided to pop into a shop one sunday morning on the way to the range, in full tacticool gear and a glock strapped to his hip. The shop assistant had a conniption and rang the gardai.

Arv's etc out in force, disaster.

The National security/Black OPS tickle only works so far.FI the Para course Jimbo claimed to have done,one lad researched it and found even the leader of the team on the Iranian embassy balcony and even Andy Mc Nabb's[author] jump card.He found also five Shorts who have got their wings,none of them are Jimbo.

There is no reason to keep all that secret on anyone's service record. It's like their rifle marksmanship scores[Which no doubt some would like theirs locked down as secret.:)] End of all this is simply he overstepped his mark with BS and Waltism in an organisation which will have records, knowledge and experience to tear him apart and promptly did so. Fatal mistake. Never belittle the people you are pretending to belong to and are making money off.

The lad Gunny is referring to is also a bit of a Walt himself too.So it's ironic that a Walt was taken by the Uber Walt. But I will give Jimbo this.He could spin a tale that must have taken in the best of them. I know one US PI with more street smarts and BG time under his belt than I ever had or will have, and he was duped by Jimbo too.

Yes.I am VERY for real. if people stopped looking at a problem locally and actually looked EU wide once in awhile, they might find a country that
    [1] Knows its arse from its elbow in firearms matters and law
    [2]Outlaws "combat training" and has done for decades,but has a burgeoning IPSC community.
    [
    3] Has the EXACT SAME prohibitions as we do on moving with a loaded firearm[ii] Shooting off ground
    [iii] Shooting partially exposed targets
    [
    iv]Movement must be at walking pace with unloaded firearms

[v] Has one of the best counter-terrorist units in the World and are more than happy to send one of their experts over to testify on the total fallacy of IPSC being anyway suited to "combat training" as much as a Fiat Bambino is to formula 1 racing.

[vi] AGS has accepted their opinion from their Federal technical labs on whether semi-auto sporting rifles are actually such and not war weapons,or easily convertible to select fire. Their weapons or ballistic experts hold titles such as Doctor or Professor, not Seargent or Inspector [of weekend-long course qualifications.:rolleyes:]

A place called Germany.Might have heard of it?

Of course,if no one wants to even make an enquiry on this possibility,of even a review and sit and bemoan the fates,or are just quite happy shooting in "Norn Iron"...Well then we WILL eventually die out here with CF pistols. even get it going with .22 stuff.Or sit and be intimidated by "the law" for another 35 years. [Won't bother me I'll be 96 by then.]

OMG ! You ARE serious :eek:

Because they believe the hype. They think all the far fetched tales are true, all the knockers have it wrong, and jimbo cannot go public because of "security". I knew one of them, everything was black-op's ultra ninja mode, He'd like to tell you more but "national security" would be endangered.

He was the same wally who caused a major panic in a small wicklow town, when he decided to pop into a shop one sunday morning on the way to the range, in full tacticool gear and a glock strapped to his hip. The shop assistant had a conniption and rang the gardai.

Arv's etc out in force, disaster.
    In fairness the shop assistant may have not know pistols are legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭solarwinds

Legal or not you dont go brandishing it about like dirty harry.
    I for one would not like the level of attention an act like that would bring.

Is it movement with firearms,or movement with LOADED firearms law? 

Just wondering about this.
    Did they actually bring in a law against the moving about with a loaded firearm and if so is it specific to handguns ?
    If not does that mean every hunter out there is breaking the law ?

solarwinds wrote: »
    Just wondering about this.
    Did they actually bring in a law against the moving about with a loaded firearm and if so is it specific to handguns ?
    If not does that mean every hunter out there is breaking the law ?

Have a look on utube for videos on practical shooting & then relate that to a hunter out hunting.....................

In fairness the shop assistant may have not know pistols are legal.

Using a wee bit of common sense .............. most of us try to hide the fact we've got/are transporting firearms and this is the way some people carry on :rolleyes:

Have a look on utube for videos on practical shooting & then relate that to a hunter out hunting.....................

I know the difference between the two but if there is such a law then does the law distinguish between them or is it the usual catch all we have in this country.
    And as we all know common sense does not prevail here.

**where's my tin foil hat?**

Seriously? Come on :eek:

I don't understand the problem you have with practical Walter. You can do it with airsoft, or you can shoot paint ball. In fact you can shoot other people with paintball, that the whole point. If its so super duper deadly, how come you can do it in practically every other country on earth ?

I do not have a problem with practical shooting. In fact I'd love to do it! The problem I have is that it previously was used to restrict pistol ownership. Any hint of an attempt to return to it would most probably be used to take more from us. There is no point us looking to other jurisdictions & what they do/allow. It's like comparing apples & oranges & the "gun culture" stick will once again be used to beat us :o

We should consolidate what we have & build on it within current limits. I'm trying not to be a defeatist more so a realist :(

The problem I have is that it previously was used to restrict pistol ownership.

But it wasn't. It was the gangland murder of an innocent man Shane Geoghan, and baron shortarse running bodyguard courses that got rid of centrefire pistols. That and a biased minister of justice, who openly said he disliked shooting.

There were a number of contributory factors.

A practical shooting demo for DOJ raised a few eyebrows & was probably the final straw.

This is our big problem. We never are Proactive, here just Reactive. Always kowtowing to the PTB and adapting a thank you Massa dat u be allowing us to be keepin us pistols dere. Maybe,for once we might approach this with an attitude of we are not criminals or planning an overthrow of Govt and if a country that actually does have the same prohibitions and stricter gun ownership laws than we ever have, can allow IPSC, why can't we adopt the same laws and guidelines to it here?CF pistol will die out here anyway, as it is naturally reducing itself, so there is no reason to gun grab, with the consequent embarrassing compensation payouts and court cases. So what is there to lose to make some polite and discreet feelers to the PTB that can satisfy the law as it stands and allow a sport to be legal here again?
    I'm not suggesting table thumping demanding diplomacy here for one second, but some softly, softly behind the scenes talk in the FCP and Dail bar for starters to see how it would be received or considered. [Something that might be beyond our organisation's capability, I realise...:rolleyes:] It's been a decade since 2008,the politics of Ireland has changed a lot in the firearms scene. There have been no massacres or blood in the streets from the Irish shooting community.We have acquitted ourselves well in courts,Dail and Brussels.Is there really THAT much harm in asking nicely??

There were a number of contributory factors.

A practical shooting demo for DOJ raised a few eyebrows & was probably the final straw.

As I mentioned in one of my posts.:P Yes,that definitely didn't help,along with no fallback position to shotgun or .22 rifles.It went too far too fast. That was then, this is now.A week is a long time in politics,a decade is Jurassic era history.

I cannot see ANY Minister for Justice signing off on anything that may come back to haunt him/her no matter how nicely we ask. That's not being a defeatist, that's being a realist.

What have we got to lose to ask?? You never know until you ask. Put a proper diplomatic, logical suggestion and rationale to those in power and see what happens? Word it properly and point out that even the law does not need to be changed,which it doesn't,as genuine "combat training/shooting" can stay banned, as IPSC is NOT that in the first place,and that we agree to no funny shooting off ground, unstable platforms, abseiling down the side of buildings etc, running with loaded firearms,"hostage targets" or the like in any courses of fire. Now the dynamic aspect is gone from the scene,as is anything remotely martial.
    Ergo,it has removed all the scary bits and is no more different in reality than biathlon. Itself an original martial shooting sport developed from Finnish and German ski troops in the 1920s.

After all,it seems that ,multi target and WA1500, which were genuine police target training courses of fire up to the 1960s are accepted now as perfectly ligit forms of shooting, why shouldn't IPSC?

What have we got to lose to ask??

That's a question I'd hope we won't ever have to answer.........again.
    You never know until you ask. Put a proper diplomatic, logical suggestion and rationale to those in power and see what happens? Word it properly and point out that even the law does not need to be changed,which it doesn't,as genuine "combat training/shooting" can stay banned, as IPSC is NOT that in the first place,and that we agree to no funny shooting off ground, unstable platforms, abseiling down the side of buildings etc, running with loaded firearms,"hostage targets" or the like in any courses of fire. Now the dynamic aspect is gone from the scene,as is anything remotely martial.
    Ergo,it has removed all the scary bits and is no more different in reality than biathlon. Itself an original martial shooting sport developed from Finnish and German ski troops in the 1920s.

After all,it seems that ,multi target and WA1500, which were genuine police target training courses of fire up to the 1960s are accepted now as perfectly ligit forms of shooting, why shouldn't IPSC?

Wasn't WA1500 on the DOJ's undesirable list. Probably still is. I'm not disputing you're argument or logic. Unfortunately, I'm not the one you have to convince :(

That's a question I'd hope we won't ever have to answer.........again.

Wasn't WA1500 on the DOJ's undesirable list. Probably still is. I'm not disputing you're argument or logic. Unfortunately, I'm not the one you have to convince :(

It certainly was. Insp Google was trying to push it as being a police course of fire. Maybe with the AGS..No one else has used it since ..I think...The mid-1960s or thereabouts. Needless to say, it went down like a lead balloon, esp when district courts directed Insp Google and the CS to attend a match to see was there...important words here...DYNAMIC ASPECT to the shoot. Seeing that there isn't any in 1500 it is clear.

This is the kernel of the law, if there is movement with loaded guns, or they are fired off the solid earth, it falls foul of the legislation. If you walk with an unloaded gun from one point of the course of fire to another and load up there it is not dynamic, any more than moving position in DTL or Skeet.

This is why I am saying we need to push the German model of IPSC. They already have the rules in place to make it as non-combatative as possible[Eventhough the Watermelons, aKA Green party still weep and wail about its martial aspect:rolleyes:]And in the fact we have this inbuilt "Ah shure it's a German law or product, so it must be good!" mentality We are giving the PTB an excuse that this is already German/EU norm, so its safe enough.

Iknow I don't have to convince you:),or many others. But what we do have to convince is ourselves is to put feelers out and ask can we at least talk about the possibility of talking about this with the PTB?? It's our self-censoring mindset in shooting sports at work again here.:(

I cant do this, but I can get an EU wide organisation to certainly help and assist, even possibly financially to get talks about talks underway, but It needs an Irish group to propose this and put feelers out on this, and preferably one who understands diplomacy of the finer art,not table thump infighting,my
    dick is bigger than yours diplomacy.:(

While online this came to my attention. He's covered a fair bit of practical type shooting in both UK & US. In light of above discussion re looking to get practical back here, while this is in UK, knowing the way things here seen to follow UK, I defo wouldn't be sticking my neck above the parapet seeking to loosen up stuff here :(

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tr3Ze0qt33s