Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kendrick Lamar fan booed of stage for singing all the lyrics to his song.

• 22-05-2018 2:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭

It seems Kendrick Lamar might have set a fan up to fail by inviting her on stage to sing one of his songs with him. Trouble starts when she sings the actual lyrics in the song. Problem was the girl was white and there were a few N bombs in the lyrics. Stiring controversy on his part or ignorance on hers?

I think he should have maybe hinted at her bleeping out the word before they stared as he did before they tried an unsucessful restart. Thoughts?

There is not a hope I'm watching that but I'd honestly love to be caught up in one of these witch-hunts as the target when it's clearly something only a total retard could get riled up about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I know people hate this word but that's retarded. Utterly retarded.

EDIT: More or less beaten to it, very well then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

YAWK! YAWK! YAWK! YAWK!

"Man down, where you from, nigga?"
    "**** who you know! Where you from, my nigga?"
    "Where your grandma stay, huh, my nigga?"
    "This m.A.A.d city I run, my nigga"

Turns out grandma stay in Alabama, probably not the best place in the world to try this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Bitch got served

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

There is not a hope I'm watching that ...

/Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Its all alt right

There is not a hope I'm watching that but I'd honestly love to be caught up in one of these witch-hunts as the target when it's clearly something only a total retard could get riled up about.
    You would hope that she could have as thick a skin about it and it won't affect her badly. At this point she does seem to be getting a lot of support from people on social media, including from African Americans, which is encouraging.

I'm not surprised. It makes a mockery of real racism.

"This racist who hates black people can sing a black person's song word for word."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Don't know whats worse.....the crowd in hysterics especially ''**** you bitch, **** you'' or the way yer wan on stage talks!! ''whats wrong bro, I not cool enough for you bro'' seriously **** off the lot of yiz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,805 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

He was good in Shooting Stars, but he wasn’t as good on Never Mind The Buzzcozks as Simon Amstel. Looks different these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Cultural appropriation, innit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

razorblunt wrote: »
    Cultural appropriation, innit.

funny-my-culture-is-not-your-prom-dress-reactions-1-5af2a739a9ee2__700.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,266 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I say when it when I'm mumbling along to one of his songs by myself and I'm sure all the people in the crowd do the same. She should have had more cop on to not say it in front of a crowd but she apologised and doesn't deserve the attempts to ruin her life which will inevitably come from the outrage brigade.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

She should have said "nagger" instead :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

ah ffs, if the word nigga is in the song and she gets up to sing it then
    she gets to sing nigga too.

Can't believe the singer pulled her up on it. Kendrick Lamarr, whoever da fcuk he is, all bad boy badass with his lyrics but oh so very aware of not upsetting snowflakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Stunt. I hope she was at least in on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

So in short, a white girl sings along to a black guys song as his gig, and gets slagged.

Basically, dont use words in your song, that other cultures or races cant say as it causes offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

He sounds like a character from the police academy movies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

He's being called out for the setup now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Kendrick Lemur

8701c4e1f0330e586cd91e82cfbb55a2_400x400.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

razorblunt wrote: »
    He's being called out for the setup now.

For people who set up to have a tough street image, some of these thugs be whiny bitches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

How braindamaged do you have to be to get on stage in the states and say that word?
    Its all double standards when your dealing with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Well now if he invited a white girl up to sing and didn’t want the n word sang, the solution was to say “let’s mumble that word. You know the word” before she sang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I believe the politically correct term is 'member of the negroid race'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

If there's any justice in this world...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

When I heard the name and knew nothing about him, I thought he was a basketball player. Sounds like a bit of a tulip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Depends on the context. It's just idiot sheep who like to get offended because they can. If they thought about it and realised when they're at parties rapping the song to their friends with the N words they would realise that they like the woman in the video weren't doing it out of racism. Instead just doing it because it's a part of a song they like and it's being said like Kendrick would say to one of his homies.

Think Fairytale of New York and the use of the word f***t and when you're swinging out of your mates belting it out at the top of your lungs. I'm sure you're not homophobic. Context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

The crowd should be ashamed of themselves........

for paying money to listen to that shiiiiiiiiiiiiittttttttteeeeeeeee!!