Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crap dad presents

• 15-05-2018 5:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭

Why once most people become dads do they get stuff like socks for birthdays and mugs for Father’s Day.

I don’t bother getting my dad anything anymore, he doesn’t want socks and all these man toys things just make him despair for 20 something year old men who think being cool is having a Batman pinball machine and now they need a man cave to keep all their novelty crap they get on birthdays from thoughtful sons who feel guilty buying socks and mugs.

Are you a father? Did you ever feel like you are faking wanting a ride on lawnmower for your terrace house garden or a dc comic bath duck?

Did you ever get anything from these genre of presents you actually wanted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I always seemed to get decent presents that I appreciated. I think, generally, men are harder to buy for though. I'd have difficulty buying a present for myself if I had to, as there's really nothing I need or want and I'm not in to clothes or gadgets. I find it frustrating if ever asked what I'd like as a gift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I'm not a sad but I like books so I'd imagine I'd be easy enough to buy for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the greatest present a father can get on his birthday is to be left alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I generally buy my dad some kind of tech that he then spends the rest of the time asking me how to use

See kindle paperwhite
    Fitbit
    Amazon fire stick
    Samsung tablet etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Don't mind the crap cheap present at all because if i moan ill be sh...t scared the wife will spend to much on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Nothing wrong at all with a few extra pairs of socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Sonics2k wrote: »

Seriously. You can't overstate the value of a good pair of socks. Good a load of Happy Socks for Christmas and they're much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Beer.

I give my dad beer for fathers day and I ask for beer from my own kids.

Win win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,063 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I got a night out with the lads and following morning off. Awesome.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

mfceiling wrote: »
    Beer.

Win win.

Similiarly, I bring my dad for pints. We both love his birthday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

I'm not a dad but functional clothing and practical things such as a new mug or glass or kitchen device would be very much appreciated. That and my favourite snack around the house, couldn't go wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

mfceiling wrote: »
    Beer.

Win win.

Yep. Give booze, receive booze. Everyone's a winner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Lads....

Lads.....

Lads....

Laaaads!!!!!

----> https://www.celticwhiskeyshop.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I'm not a dad but nothing wrong with getting socks as a present. In fact, thanks to Christmas I don't think I've ever had to buy my own socks or toiletries until summer.

Did not appreciate the nose hair trimmer one bit though!

Collie D wrote: »
    Did not appreciate the nose hair trimmer one bit though!

Did not appreciate or did not want to have to acknowledge you might have a use for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

wexie wrote: »
    Did not appreciate or did not want to have to acknowledge you might have a use for it?

How do I block a poster?

Works on ear hair as well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

How do I block a poster?

Send them pictures of your hairy nose?

I'm not a dad but have got the old socks and jocks for Christmas the last few years. Suits me fine never having to pick up underwear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I'm not a dad but nothing wrong with getting socks as a present. In fact, thanks to Christmas I don't think I've ever had to buy my own socks or toiletries until summer.

Yup, my husband banks on getting a good stash of socks and toiletries at Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I'm not a dad (not that I know of anyway, haha, amirite, lads? Eh?) but I love getting socks for Christmas. I'm actually wearing purple reindeer ones today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Can't go wrong with good beer for a Father's Day present. But buying Bud or Carlsberg would make me disinherit them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭FingerDeKat

I either get a voucher for amazon or steam....suits me.
    Use my birthday as an excuse to go out for a nice meal with my son

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Male teachers fall into the same bracket. 20 odd presents twice a year. I haven't bought deodorant nor shower gel in YEARS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

That can backfire though. My dad likes whisky, so people buy him whisky. Then he winds up with a dozen bottles for his birthday, which he hasn’t drunk by the time Christmas rolls round and he gets a dozen more. The poor man’s liver is wrecked!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Usually get techie stuff games,consoles etc but this year they went all out and got me a flying lesson in Weston Airport that I can use toward the basic pilots licence!!!
    Cant wait to try it out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭juneg

kylith wrote: »
    That can backfire though. My dad likes whisky, so people buy him whisky. Then he winds up with a dozen bottles for his birthday, which he hasn’t drunk by the time Christmas rolls round and he gets a dozen more. The poor man’s liver is wrecked!

You'll have to start making Christmas cakes with them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I used to buy my father Brut aftershave for every occasion because I had absolutely no idea what he liked. He had no interest in music and the one time I bought him a book he said he'd read it and my sister started whining at me that I'd bought him a book he already had. I eventually discovered he liked Luke Kelly so I bought him that Best Of tape that came out in 1999 and gave it to him for Christmas. He died two weeks later. He listened to the tape once in his sick bed and told my mother it sounded weird. I think he was delirious.

.... You know...as problems go....that wouldn't be the worst one. (Aside from the whole liver issue that is)

Daddy is so very easily pleased so it's a load of socks and boxes of aftershave from Dealz.
    I do sometimes get him strange presents. Last year it was a frog with glow in the dark eyes for the garden :D

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

My dad's certainly not crap. He's a bit dusty though as we scattered his ashes the other day. Don't need to worry about presents for him any more....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

Maybe men just lose their interests and personality when they become dads and get fed socks and mugs and man utd key rings in return for picking up the dog poop so you can play in the garden and fixing the broke stuff in their spare time.

I should probably ask that wan in the independent who hates men if she thinks they get too many socks. Do they actually need a whole pair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

For us poor women who want to buy our men presents.......please could you give us some new ideas? I'm always at a loss. I've bought books that are never read even though its usually a book about, or by, someone he likes. I've bought DVDs and CDs that he actually asked for but now he doesn't want any more thank you. He doesn't smoke. He doesn't drink. He watches some sports but is past the age of taking part now. He doesn't like gardening, cooking or DIY. I've bought the socks and slippers and he's not impressed. I've bought shaving gear but it has to be a special brand and it lasts for ever. I can't buy him clothes as he is very particular. I bought him binoculars once and a few months later he went and bought himself a better pair!!!!!! I need more serious suggestions from you chaps please, for a hard-to-buy-for 60-something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    For us poor women who want to buy our men presents.......please could you give us some new ideas? I'm always at a loss. I've bought books that are never read even though its usually a book about, or by, someone he likes. I've bought DVDs and CDs that he actually asked for but now he doesn't want any more thank you. He doesn't smoke. He doesn't drink. He watches some sports but is past the age of taking part now. He doesn't like gardening, cooking or DIY. I've bought the socks and slippers and he's not impressed. I've bought shaving gear but it has to be a special brand and it lasts for ever. I can't buy him clothes as he is very particular. I bought him binoculars once and a few months later he went and bought himself a better pair!!!!!! I need more serious suggestions from you chaps please, for a hard-to-buy-for 60-something!

The funny thing is if you gave him the cash he’d probably just pay the esb bill with it.

That's quite true, actually! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

I like a decent after-shave like Armani or Klein.

He likes Taylor. I buy it every year for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

I'm a son and a dad.

Me and my siblings all chip in and buy a decent present - last thing we bought him was tickets for Bloom and a large box of Liquorice Allsorts, I swear he appreciated the sweets more, but he will enjoy the shít out of Bloom too.

My son is 4, so he's not really in the present-buying phase yet, although when he is I have a pretty specific set of hobbies that can and do always require either new equipment or a voucher to buy new equipment, so I should be sorted for that kind of thing. I'm into home brewing, and making things like sourdough bread, sauerkraut, kimchi, cheese, and I've turned into a bit of a coffee snob too, so even a bag of decent beans would go down excellently as a thoughtful present.

I like wearing comfortable slippers though, so would be happy enough with slippers for Father's Day this year for example, but I think I'm getting some kind of bank card holder thing, which I do need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

When my dad was alive I bought him books. Books on cars, engineering, local history, how to solve a Rubik's cube that sort of thing. Hardbacked books with lots of pictures. Always kept him busy for at least a week at Christmas.

Bot42, you're a lot easier than my chap. He was given two vouchers last year. He spent one last week only because it was out of date and the value reduces each month now if he doesn't spend it. He still has the second one. He tends to forget them. :(

Cherry Blossom, He already knows how to solve the Rubik's Cube. He has a puzzle book he's working on now but doesn't want another one until he finishes this one. I've actually given up buying him presents now. I will watch this thread with interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

Last birthday (just last month) I got a new guitar (picked by my wife and she made a fantastic choice IMHO), a large box of Ferraro Roche and a hand made book mark from my youngest kids. All great presents. I was only expecting socks!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Do you have a newish television with a HDMI input? If so maybe buy a Roku for him to watch internet television on a regular television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

Sonics2k wrote: »

Yes. I have never bought socks in my life, they have all been presented to me. Not sure If I'm happy or sad about that to be honest. But I have socks.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

My late dad was very interested in history, particularly about World War Two (when he was born) and aviation and books on these subjects from me at Christmas and his birthday were very welcome and read by him.

He was a very dapper and fussy dresser so clothes and socks were a no no unless they were a very expensive or special, hard to get, brand. His partner would have been in a position to get him these things.

When I was about 15 I got him a Lynx set which he never used. l learned fast!!:D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Bot42, you're a lot easier than my chap. He was given two vouchers last year. He spent one last week only because it was out of date and the value reduces each month now if he doesn't spend it. He still has the second one. He tends to forget them. :(

Cherry Blossom, He already knows how to solve the Rubik's Cube. He has a puzzle book he's working on now but doesn't want another one until he finishes this one. I've actually given up buying him presents now. I will watch this thread with interest.

Tickets to things? Matches, driving around Mondello, paragliding... ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

juneg wrote: »

You'll have to start making Christmas cakes with them!
    You can’t make Christmas cakes with Lagavullin!

the greatest present a father can get on his birthday is to be left alone

Lmao - I was only talking to the mrs about my birthday at the end of June the other day.

My present - I'm fecking off to the blasket islands hiking and wild camping solo for a weekend.

Can't wait :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

Anyone that complains they don't know what to buy for their Dad. ... tip.. Put some fnig effort into thinking about it and stop being lazy! I'd bet if you sat down for a good think about that person, or listened to them talk about things they are passionate about you'd come up with some ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Here James, have a bottle of port and a 50 Euro Halfords voucher to buy stuff for your bicycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Aw man I love a new pair of socks.
    And I need a new ride on mower.

I hate most of the €10-€20 gadgets aimed at dads though. Never ever last, even if by the tiny chance it was any good in the first place.