Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Uber driver rapes passenger in UK

• 12-05-2018 9:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

Fair play to the judge giving him 12 years
    The man preyed upon a woman who was vunerable

An Uber driver who raped a drunken passenger in the back of his car before taking a selfie with her has been jailed for 12 years.

Muhammad Durrani, 38, attacked the 27-year-old after driving her home alone from a night out with friends in London.

Judge David Tomlinson described the damage Durrani had inflicted on his victim as he sentenced the married man at Southwark Crown Court on Thursday

"It comes as no surprise to learn, and it's no exaggeration to say, you have ruined her life," the judge said.

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/europe/britain/uber-driver-who-raped-drunken-passenger-then-took-selfie-with-her-jailed-for-12-years-36894786.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

How did I know hat it was gonna be a Muslim driver before opening this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

MarkY91 wrote: »

Cause you racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Way to jump the gun there M.

Just because the drivers name is Muhammad, doesn't mean you can jump to conclusions about his religion.

Plenty of Christians and Buddhists are called Muhammid too ya know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

You read it somewhere else earlier?

Because no one would bother their bollix posting it if your man’s name wasn’t Muhammad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Because the religion of the perpetrator is more important than the crime itself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,168 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

10 to 12 years should be minimum sentence for rape imo, the fact so many get out after 3 or 4 years is sickening.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Ninjini

Jaysis can the religious/ racial politics be left out of it please?

The story is about a scumbag who raped a woman and took selfies with her after the act.
    It doesn’t matter if his name is Mohammed or Frank, he’s a vile rapist.
    Plenty of Christian and even atheist rapists out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Ninjini

10 to 12 years should be minimum sentence for rape imo, the fact so many get out after 3 or 4 years is sickening.

“He was sentenced to 12 years imprisonment for the rape and eight years for the assault, to run concurrently.”

Concurrent sentences should be abolished imo. Commit two crimes, serve two sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭pah

12 years is a decent spell compared to what the same offence might attract here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

He’s probably a white guy with blond hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

There's a website cataloging events that happen with apps like uber. Interestingly enough tis funded by a taxi association.

http://www.whosdrivingyou.org/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,496 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

There's a website cataloging events that happen with apps like uber. Interestingly enough tis funded by a taxi association.

They're probably looking to discredit the competition. That said, if it helps hold the likes of Uber to account then I am all for it.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

MarkY91 wrote:

At least the fact that he was a Muslim was kept out of the thread title.

The colour of his skin or religion is irrelevant. A man raped a woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

If Liverpool win the European cup there will be a lot of white Christian Muhammad’s in the future. Nicknamed “Mo”.

But I digress.

This is the flaw in Uber’s policy. No real vetting. I can see the model as collapsing in the future.

amcalester wrote: »
    Cause you racist?

I never mentioned the colour of his skin. He could be as white as me. I don't even care about his skin colour. I was right, right?

How do we know you were right? How can you prove that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭kyogger

Phoebas wrote: »
    Because the religion of the perpetrator is more important than the crime itself?

Hi, if (and I’m not saying it is) the incidenece of commiting the crime of rape is higher in one demographic than another then that is also an important issue that society should tackle and ask the question why? And can anything be done to reduce it.

How do we know you were right? How can you prove that?

His name is Muhammad Durani. You know I'm right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Probably related to Mo Salah, he should be deported too. Muslims.

RasTa wrote: »

Mo Salah’s in Ireland?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Johngoose wrote: »
    He’s probably a white guy with blond hair

That would have been OK? White guys raping women?
    Grand so. I'll go and find a rape victim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Defence lawyer Marie Spenwyn told the judge it was a "one off" and that his relatives in the UK and his native Pakistan had written letters supporting his character.

The poor man wasn't aware that the law allowing every citizen to one rape during their lifetime had been changed. You'd think the judge would just say "get out of here you little scamp and don't do it again" and send him home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

No I don't know you are right, can you show us how you "know" his religion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Don't forget drugs cheat Mo Farrah!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Ninjini wrote: »
    “He was sentenced to 12 years imprisonment for the rape and eight years for the assault, to run concurrently.”

Concurrent sentences should be abolished imo. Commit two crimes, serve two sentences.

Consideration needs to be given to them but I wouldn't abolish them outright, some things just happen incidently together.

Someone could often commit what seems like 1 offence, but they break 6 or 7 minor laws in the process. I don't think it would be appropriate to stack all of these.

Let's say someone illegally downloads some movies for a friend. There's a crime of illegally downloading, a crime of duplicating these movies on different mediums, a crime of distributing these movies etc.

In some cases concurrent isn't appropriate though, I'd agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

pah wrote: »
    12 years is a decent spell compared to what the same offence might attract here.

For a similar crime where there are absolutely no mitigating circumstances or any question of absolute guilt of rape, then sentence here would be very similar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

CeilingFly wrote: »
    For a similar crime where there are absolutely no mitigating circumstances or any question of absolute guilt of rape, then sentence here would be very similar

Unless you appeared before a certain judge

Nobody is saying all Muslims are bad. Only you are insinuating that.

But it is a fact that a big number of Muslim men commit sexual assaults. More so than non Muslims.

Mo Salah has nothing to do with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

kyogger wrote: »
    Hi, if (and I’m not saying it is) the incidenece of commiting the crime of rape is higher in one demographic than another then that is also an important issue that society should tackle and ask the question why? And can anything be done to reduce it.
    The incidence of committing rape is much higher amongst one demographic - Men.
    Another demographic is that rapists tend to be serial criminals. Another is a tendency towards drug or alcohol problems.

So, yeah, we should definitely be looking at the demographics to see if we can reduce rape, rather than just jumping on the bandwagon de jour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Nobody is saying all Muslims are bad. Only you are insinuating that.

But it is a fact that a big number of Muslim men commit sexual assaults. More so than non Muslims.

Mo Salah has nothing to do with this.

He is a muslim, that's all I need to know. It's all you need to know too and you have already said it on the thread

Yes you are. Congratulations, you managed to correctly copy and paste the guy's name.
    One golden internet star on your report card.

There are parts of this world - did I say India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Saudi Arabia, and After Hours? - where the entire cultural attitude to women is in the dark ages, where women are dehumanised as naturally as air is inhaled.

There is a massive cultural problem - and it's pointless to stick our heads in the sand about this. Hopefully like the West these societies will change this culture to be more respectful and inclusive when their economies develop to a stage where there's more money and power for men in power in respecting women than in keeping them faoi chois (not so good for the marginalised, undereducated males, but there you have it).

If we didn't depend on those countries for cheap, exploited child-labour produced clothing and so much else, we could probably put sanctions on them until they tackled the whole institutional misogyny and dehumanisation of women which prop up those states. These troglodytes really are a blot on humanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Ninjini wrote: »
    Jaysis can the religious/ racial politics be left out of it please?

The story is about a scumbag who raped a woman and took selfies with her after the act.
    It doesn’t matter if his name is Mohammed or Frank, he’s a vile rapist.
    Plenty of Christian and even atheist rapists out there.
    Jesus who agrees to a selfie after being raped??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Cause you racist?

Are Muslims a race? Catholics too?

Don't forget drugs cheat Mo Farrah!!!

Your baggies a little light lately? Then don't buy them from Mo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

I had a look at an Uber (based in Ireland ) call center application form

One of the question was what do you do if one of our drivers rapes their passenger

Someone replied report it to the guards or relevant authority

That wasn't the answer Uber were hoping for

The fact that this is even a question was worrying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Dude89

Cause you racist?

Muslim isn't a race.

Sin City wrote: »
    I had a look at an Uber (based in Ireland ) call center application form

One of the question was what do you do if one of our drivers rapes their passenger

Someone replied report it to the guards or relevant authority

That wasn't the answer Uber were hoping for

The fact that this is even a question was worrying

? What answer were they loooking for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

? What answer were they loooking for?

Im guessing not to claim liability

at least that the impression a recruitment agent gave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Dude89 wrote: »
    Cause you racist?

Muslim isn't a race.

Correct. A Muslim is a person, not a race.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

not surprising.

what about the black cab taxi driver that drugged and raped over 100 women (possibly up to 200) though. they probably don't have that on their website.

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/5272347/john-worboys-black-cab-rapist-sex-attack-prison-parole-board-taxi/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭corks finest

Sin City wrote: »

Delighted for the disgusting creature

Dude89 wrote: »
    Muslim isn't a race.

And bigots aren't big..

Are Muslims a race? Catholics too?

Well, we can put this sh*te argument to bed easily.
    There is only one race, Homo Sapiens.
    So now arseholes can say "I'm not a racist because Muslim, Arab, North African, etc... is not a race."
    So one could say this and technically not be a racist.
    I could say " all paddies are thick" and not be a racist.
    So one could not be racist and still be a cnut.

Well, we can put this sh*te argument to bed easily.
    There is only one race, Homo Sapiens.
    So now arseholes can say "I'm not a racist because Muslim, Arab, North African, etc... is not a race."
    So one could say this and technically not be a racist.
    I could say " all paddies are thick" and not be a racist.
    So one could not be racist and still be a cnut.

hehe. Yeah, "I'm not racist because they have the same skin pigmentation" line is always a fallback argument from, well, racists - as if the nebulous concept of 'race' is only defined by skin colour. There's an interesting etymology of 'race' on the superb etymology Online website - the definition of 'race' which they possess seems to date no earlier than 1774:
    race (n.2)

"people of common descent," a word from the 16th century, from Middle French race, earlier razza "race, breed, lineage, family" (16c.), possibly from Italian razza, of unknown origin (cognate with Spanish and Portuguese raza). Etymologists say no connection with Latin radix "root," though they admit this might have influenced the "tribe, nation" sense.

Original senses in English included "wines with characteristic flavor" (1520), "group of people with common occupation" (c. 1500), and "generation" (1540s). Meaning "tribe, nation, or people regarded as of common stock" is by 1560s. Modern meaning of "one of the great divisions of mankind based on physical peculiarities" is from 1774 (though as OED points out, even among anthropologists there never has been an accepted classification of these).

Just being a Negro doesn't qualify you to understand the race situation any more than being sick makes you an expert on medicine. [Dick Gregory, 1964]
    In mid-20c. U.S. music catalogues, "Negro." Klein suggests these derive from Arabic ra's "head, beginning, origin" (compare Hebrew rosh). Old English þeode meant both "race, folk, nation" and "language;" as a verb, geþeodan, it meant "to unite, to join."

And I'm not sure what anybody could call these depictions of the Irish but racist, even though they were done by another "white" group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

was this a fake taxi ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Welcome to the deregulated future of the califorian ideology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,217 ✭✭✭Odhinn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Jasiah Young Signpost

Has Louise O Neill or Una Mullaly said anything on this matter