Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,247 ✭✭✭RoTelly

I got this from the Department (no name was attached to the email just the Media and Broadcast Team)

I refer to your recent correspondence regarding RTÉ digital radio stations. Thank you for your correspondence.

As set out in their statement of strategy, published June of this year, RTÉ have proposed the closure of a number of their digital radio stations.

This matter will be progressed in accordance with Section 103 of the Broadcasting Act 2009, whereby Coimisiún na Meán will undertake the relevant assessments regarding the proposal in order to inform the Minister’s decision.

I am not sure if the proposal has been issued to the department which is what I asked, perhaps I am reading this incorrectly.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth 8-bit

And that is the sorry sad pathetic state of Irish Radio at the moment.

And yes at some point in the last few months RTÉ have put the proposal to the Department and it is now with the CnaM. It will be interesting to see when the CnaM provide feedback to the Department.

______

Yesterday

As I finish some cooking for Christmas (Turkey carved and ready to eat, currently working on soup and val-au-vent) I think how's Dee? we know at this point both Dee and Jimbo are possibly getting ready for Christmas Dinner as normal and they will be happy out.

Meantime next Month Kevin BeFrobes will be given €18.75 million as part of the first monthly tranche of money heading to RTÉ, is is along with est €12.5m in commercial income. (€31.25m)

So other than the normal service are we going to see anything different in the New Year? or just more Dancing with the Canteen.

Also Happy Christmas everyone hope you all have a good time. Talk to you in the New Year.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,839 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Didn't see this mentioned, but what is it with Tubridy and the public's money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Was Tubridy actually paid for this?

From Irish money , whether RTE or GOV?

Why is Eoghan even getting free marketing, and where is the money from book sales going, must be a charity I guess.

All of this is disgraceful again if the public and footing any costs....

Any Tubridy still owes the tax payer 100s of thousands that he said himself he would pay back!!

Tubridy actually needs to be banned from receiving public money, at the very least, until he has repaid his ill-gotten gains, for zero work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,839 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

More frustrating, the 'how's' of how Tubridy was paid is all shrouded in mystery, just like the RTE debacle. .🙄🙄🙄

The embassy say they didn't pay him, and there are claims he 'didn't get a fee'… but knowing that Tubridy collects a €3,000 appearance fee from certain events (and possibly double that if he has to give a speech)… I doubt he worked for free.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-41535476.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,518 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Tubs rarely does anything for free I'd guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭badabing106

What's the deal with Dee forbes years later?

Is pulling a sickie for years a strategy that absolves you from fraud and other crimes...

She signed off on the nearly 1/2 million " redundancy deal package " for breda o keefe even though the role wasn't made redundant . That has to be a crime

Why isn't she facing a some sort of jail sentence ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭The wonderfish

Fully agree. It’s simply astonishing that this woman can just avoid any form of questioning on this whole debacle, something that she was so central/complicit in. This is something that has to be pushed in 2025. There needs to be answers and some accountability here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

any where else and she would have been question by at least the fraud squad… but here? what we'll get is "on legal advice" "contractual obligations pre-cludes" "commercial sensitivity" "lessons have been learned" "noel kelly said we were grand" "the bbc will poach our talent" "ive a sick note,my arse is infested with camels fleas"

wishful thinking on my part that dee and her mates would be questioned or even charges brought at some stage but i cant see it happening,as ive no doubt theyre saying in rte "sure tis only taxpayers money and we're worth it"

yo! donnie vonredactedpants,vlad putin,benji netanyahu,vic orban..you sirs are the skidmarks on the jocks of humanity!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,625 ✭✭✭fliball123

I agree but I think you will find Ms Forbes knows where all the skeletons are and a lot of politicians would be dragged through the mud here so I cant see anyone going after her. Remember one rule for us and our betters as they can do what they want - classic Charlie Haughty/Bertie Ahern Ireland which is still alive and breeding in 2025

Next time RTÉ is at the committee meeting the politican's should ask if she will attend and how she is doing. Along with Jim Jennings. Any recent photos of Ms Forbes.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

surely dee has been spotted out and about over Christmas?she doesnt strike me as someone that would be shy away from free champagne and canape festive soiree…

yo! donnie vonredactedpants,vlad putin,benji netanyahu,vic orban..you sirs are the skidmarks on the jocks of humanity!!!

Would not be surprise to see her in a picture eating a vol-au-vent at an RTÉ Christmas party while a grinning Tubs points at her.

______

Yesterday

So I have no issue with RTÉ making TV or Radio. I think that is where they should invest their money. Afterall its in their name. And obviously I mean online content as well, though I think they should be platform neutral.

Why a former winner of You're A Star wants to defend RTÉ is strange

https://www.irishmirror.ie/showbiz/mickey-joe-harte-defends-rte-34415113

Mickey said Dancing With The Stars deserves a place on the TV schedule every year as the show gives employment to so many people.

I do think it is, and by all accounts, I think it's something that they recoup (the money) through sponsorship and advertising so I think it's something that probably evens itself out.

If so RTÉ should show it breakeven, I imagine it may well do, but like Fair City if its breaking even why not have a similar series on each week of the year not just for 10 or so weeks? And perhaps a second soap, after all your argument set out below is well made, but RTÉ don't make any more than one of these types of shows each year and you end up sounding like Dee Forbes defending Toy Show the Musical.

We need these kinds of shows. I know there's not that many of these shows. Actually, there's probably only one show. There's probably only maybe one company, or, you know, a few companies in this country that could do that, and they bring in expertise, and it creates a huge amount… there's 150 people employed on this show.

That filters down into, you know, I know what it is like as a musician with gigs and stuff.

“These things are important to keep going in between the big films and all the things that happen in Ireland, you know, if you don't have companies like, you know, RTE and so forth, you know, to nurture that thing.

“And if you don’t do a show like this how do you get Irish people the experience, you know, besides them having to leave the country. So I'm very positive about it.

“When you see it in action, and when you see the amount of employment that it creates and the amount of skills that it gives to people coming up.

“I work with some of the people in euros, and now they were maybe production runners, 21 years ago, and now they are executive producers.

“So that process of people coming through would not have happened if it was not for the funding of RTE and those programs and all these things so on the TV license and all that.

“So it is hugely important to give people experience, besides that, if we keep chipping away at the industry and sort of just do stuff that we think is cooler and not funding it properly, or giving these big productions where you learn, these guys learn very high tech, very high skilled things on the show that they wouldn't learn on other shows.

“And it's as simple as that. They can bring that anywhere in the world. And it also attracts people in. Film people who come out here and make films, or whatever it is, they ‘We've got a good industry. There's a great source, there's a great ball pool of expertise there in Ireland.”

What the former You're A Star winner seems to forget is that RTÉ waste money and their is the issue of nepotism which has even taken over in the Irish TV and Film Independent sector (Just read the end credits to DWTS, the name Bass appears a number of times).

Or look at the RTÉ annual report,

image.png

Just imagine the great man o' change spend 34k on cars and expenses, that's a wage that's €5.6k per month.

But I suppose each year RTÉ make one TV show that employees a few people in the same company for the last 20 years.

As they say Sin a Bhfuil.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Jim Herring

Just think about it the amount of time you'd have to put into claiming €5k in expenses each month. If I were Kevin BeForbe's PA I might just say "**** Off, I put up with 7 **** years of that bitch not going through that again, do your own **** expences"

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,865 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I disagree from a quality angle, 20 years of substandard crap definitely has a negative effect on a company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,865 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Nah like most criminals she'd be wearing a medical mask. Whole new market for medical masks after covid.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

On RTE radio and TV, the licence fee warning adverts are on heavy rotation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,780 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Imagine being on €120k a year and you still get €25k for a car every year too… On the public purse no less… Scum, the lot of them.

Kevin is not on 120k per year, those figures are for 5/6 months.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/rte-director-general-kevin-bakhurst-made-an-error-on-air-when-he-under-reported-pay-package-by-31500/a102893713.html

Mr Bakhurst receives a basic salary of €250,000, a car allowance of €25,000 and a pension contribution that is 25pc of his salary. This pension contribution amounts to €62,500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭ForestFire

So the total inc. benefits is almost 340K!!!

Taoiseach is on a basic salary of €243,895, so even this is lower than the basic salary of KB…

So KB is getting more to run a bunch of primadonna babies in Montrose, than the person running the whole country, including RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,606 ✭✭✭Francis McM

It is crazy that he is getting that off the public purse, guaranteed by the taxpayer.

The Prime Minister of Spain - the head of the government there - only gets €90,000 per year.

Prime Minister of Spain - Wikipedia

All of the executive board were on similar pay packets. 2023 AR was the first time to report on the "Leaderships" teams payments.

image.png

You will not that Mr Jim Jennings who only left on the 31st of August 2024 is not included in this list.

They agreed to a 10% pay cut in their "Strategy 2024" which they subsequently reversed the following year.

Adrian Lynch got a promotion and RTÉ were categorical in saying that he did not get a pay increase and that the role had expanded, what they failed to mention is that Mr. Lynch is over paid in anycase.

While in his previous Job in OfCom Kevin Beforbes stated he'd taken a pay cut to return to RTÉ

image.png

Total of £303,272 (€365,270.08 as of 04.01.24), €20k drop, made up by expenses. If the euro to pound reverses in price, he might be on more.

______

Yesterday

In late 2023, Kevin Beforbes, launched an PR campaign where he did numerous interviews with different publications. Indeed the same publications (along with Mat Cooper and Gavin Reilly) complained prior to those interviews that Kevin had closed the door to any interviews with them. In the end they were mainly puff pieces, which was exactly what he wanted, in 2024 he did few interviews (save for Cardiff and something Killarney in November) again much of the same type of slíbhín (sleveen) type chat. Little of substance.

As we begin 2025 it now seems to be the case that RTÉ are either asking their "stars" to defend them or they have done out of their own accord.

We now have Cormac Ó hEadhra saying ‘Everybody in RTÉ found it extremely difficult. There was controversy every day, and it rolled on like that for 10 months – but if there is a silver lining, RTÉ is much more lean"

Much more lean, I suggest Cormac take a look at my previous posts to see how much more lean Kevin Beforbes is as DG, lean is not a word I would use.

https://www.independent.ie/life/cormac-o-headhra-everybody-in-rte-found-it-extremely-difficult-there-was-controversy-every-day-and-it-rolled-on-like-that-for-10-months-but-if-there-is-a-silver-lining-rte-is-much-more-lean/a1119245473.html

IMO if you are promoting a show, refuse to answer questions about RTÉ's scandal, your better off in the long run.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is Dee still not talking, sick noted?

She's like one of those girls that would never do PE and always had a sick note. Womin's problems perhaps, we really need to talk more about the menopause, it can cause you to underwrite payments to presenters unilaterally.

Meanwhile Jimbo has had his prostate removed, or was that his balls!

______

Yesterday