Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best spray to kill docks outright

• 03-05-2018 9:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭

What spray do lads find best to kill docks outright
    ? No clover in my grass either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Forefront T, nothing near as good as it on the market. But it's pricey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Forefront T, nothing near as good as it on the market. But it's pricey

Grazon pro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Reggie. wrote: »
    Grazon pro?

Have tried it and it knocks them down but doesn't kill them off. Forefront T will kill them if its sprayed as per instructions. Skimp on it though and its no better than doxstar etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

forefront t .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Allot of cases where lads think spray on docs hasn’t worked is actually further seed germination.

We’ve some to spray but ground conditions are poor so they may be gone too strong by the time conditions are right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭queueeye

Doxtar pro, spray it in good conditions, at the right stage and give it time to work through to the roots. Will never use anything else again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭leoch

How long before cutting for silage can u spray for docks or can u spray silage ground at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

With docks it's more timing and no matter what you use if they've seeded any year they will prob have to be done again at some stage. Some products can't be used on silage ground check with the supplier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭annubis

i think whatever spray you use on them you nearly need to go back again the next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

annubis wrote: »
    i think whatever spray you use on them you nearly need to go back again the next year

It's an on going battle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,932 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Reggie. wrote: »
    annubis wrote: »

It's an on going battle

Just go with hurler here twice a year, 70 euro for 5 litres which does 6 acres, works out at 11 euro a acre forefront t and eagle and the likes are nearly 50 odd euro a acre it's a expensive business over large acres going with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭visatorro

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Just go with hurler here twice a year, 70 euro for 5 litres which does 6 acres, works out at 11 euro a acre forefront t and eagle and the likes are nearly 50 odd euro a acre it's a expensive business over large acres going with them

Used hurler here last week. Happy with it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭3 the square

Round up
    If there are a bad dose and start again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭ted_182

forefront t at half rate and 120 litres water per acre minimum, spraying at full rate is a waste of time youre only schorching the leaf and it dies before the spray can get into the root, a slower kill will leave a far cleaner field in subseqent years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Hurler just kills the the dock plant above the ground or does it kill the root and all, so no regrowth?

Its a good bit cheaper alright so wondering whats the catch. Spraying for docks monday on silage ground so need to buy some spray tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Forefront T, don't consider anything else. Spray the young dock absolutly no point spraying "woody seedy" weeds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Going with forefront T on Monday 8ac if contractor and weather can get it together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,932 ✭✭✭jaymla627

jimmy G M wrote: »

Hurler just kills the the dock plant above the ground or does it kill the root and all, so no regrowth?

Its a good bit cheaper alright so wondering whats the catch. Spraying for docks monday on silage ground so need to buy some spray tomorrow.

It just kills the dock plant above ground, they do come-back, used to go with hi-load Mircam here till it was banned, personally couldn't justify spending 5 grand on the likes of forefront t when 1200 euro of hurler will get the same results on what I sprayed this year so far.....
    Osilage ground if your going with slurry for second cut your nearly guaranteed to be putting our dock seeds with it so another spray will be needed anyways even if you have cured the original infestation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 connormi

What about clover friendly spray would prospect or eagle be better. Used prospect last year and it set the grass back alot but was very dry at time aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

used to go with hi-load Mircam here till it was banned......

Nooooo...ooooo !! A feck feck and feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭queueeye

connormi wrote: »
    What about clover friendly spray would prospect or eagle be better. Used prospect last year and it set the grass back alot but was very dry at time aswell.
    Used both with poor results. To get the docs you need to sacrifice the clover. Can stitch it in or mix in spreader with fert if you want it back badly enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭I says

Doxstar pro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

any pointers for best prices ?

certainly on line magenta are beating agri direct by a long shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

Have used Eagle in the past. Absolutely useless spray. Anything clover safe just will not kill docks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭dodo mommy

Will hurler set back the grass growth much on silage ground?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Used doxstar pro the last 2 years still plenty of docks in the fields and silage quantity was back 25-30%, won't be using this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Peter90

How soon can you let cattle into a field after spot spraying docks?

Have we any sort of consensus? Like i said previously i've used doxstar pro in the past with poor results so going a different route this time, what's the recommendation for spraying on silage ground? is there any spray that won't set grass back, short on silage ground as it is without stunting quantity.
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭Who2

Have we any sort of consensus? Like i said previously i've used doxstar pro in the past with poor results so going a different route this time, what's the recommendation for spraying on silage ground? is there any spray that won't set grass back, short on silage ground as it is without stunting quantity.
    Thanks.

Forefront t is the only decent spray out there.it keeps fields clean for 4-5 years. It’s dear but by the time you pay for spraying with other sprays a couple of times it will be way cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Who2 wrote: »
    Forefront t is the only decent spray out there.it keeps fields clean for 4-5 years. It’s dear but by the time you pay for spraying with other sprays a couple of times it will be way cheaper.

I think you can't use forefront if you are going to cut for silage this year.
    I sprayed with Doxstar last Monday so hopefully will see a result.

Doxstar will leave the field clean alright but as in my fields the docks were back in the aftergrass, one field in particular was sprayed 2 years in a row without any slurry going back out on it and i'd say docks are as bad as before.

Is there any use in spraying with mortone, i know it won't kill the root but could i spray the silage ground now with it and then come back and spray with forefront t when the aftergrass is up? only taking one cut of silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Vote4Napoleon

The auld lads place used to have alot of docks and as he increased the ewe numbers the docks disappeared. Heard it said that if docks are grazed to the clay it's as gud as spray but who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭Who2

I’ve done it a few times and no hassle, lovely clean fields after it. I know you can’t export slurry for tillage or such as there is an anti germination thing in it as far as I know, but it won’t effect the silage. The majority of farmers won’t be exporting into tillage farms anyway. The main thing I like about forefront is it’s a long term spray so less time messing around with a sprayer or paying some lad 10 or 12 euro an acre to do it.

What sort of price is forefront? i was paying 80 for 1L of doxstar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

Thanks.

I've yet to find a spray not to set back the grass. It's one of the biggest reasons I don't do a lot more dock spraying. I'm always tight enough for grass and there does be some roaring the following grazing. Grass quantity is getting set back enough this year as it is

Silage ground is already scarce enough with me,
    I might just leave it go until after the silage and then go in with forefront t.
    Thanks for the help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

Used hygrass here in 15 and 16 on ground full of docks after bastard ponys, place full of docks, I'd say after year 1 70% of the docks didn't come back and after year 2 they were virtually gone. Now one store I went to buy it in said it was gone off the market, as one of the chemicals in it was now banned in Eire, but was in another store this Saturday and had plenty in stock. Grass was not great either way before or after spray but as far as I can remember it was safe for silage 4 weeks after spraying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Used hygrass here in 15 and 16 on ground full of docks after bastard ponys, place full of docks, I'd say after year 1 70% of the docks didn't come back and after year 2 they were virtually gone. Now one store I went to buy it in said it was gone off the market, as one of the chemicals in it was now banned in Eire, but was in another store this Saturday and had plenty in stock. Grass was not great either way before or after spray but as far as I can remember it was safe for silage 4 weeks after spraying

I dont know is it the same stuff more or less but I'm using hyflux here this year for docks and find its hitting them well enough without checking the grass . Its not mad dear either at EU65 for 5ltr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

Bullocks wrote:
    I dont know is it the same stuff more or less but I'm using hyflux here this year for docks and find its hitting them well enough without checking the grass . Its not mad dear either at EU65 for 5ltr

No different product but I'll have to look into hyflux in future, they have a new product to replace the hygrass called hygrass extra. But does not claim to kill docks just suppress them. It's a pity as it was mighty stuff imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Attie wrote: »
    Going with forefront T on Monday 8ac if contractor and weather can get it together.

Went with forefront T bank holiday weekend some job 2 docks left at headland all gone.
    Don't think it has hit grass growth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

What about mcpa will it kill docks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

what’s best antidote to cure these

What’s the best antidote to cure these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We plan to spray docks on silage ground as they regrow, but thinking about holding off until some rain returns to boost growth.
    Worrying about knocking the grass back too much at the moment.

What’s the best antidote to cure these

Hopefully attached now