Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scientology - laying their roots in Ireland

• 30-04-2018 8:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭

Scientology are laying their roots in Ireland. Preying on the vulnerable so they can con them and extract a nice chunk of their ongoing income.

This organization has been exposed in full for what it is, yet it seems our government are oblivious to it all. Isn't it the duty of the Minister for Social protection to inform himself and take appropriate action?

If you have any doubts or want to get informed yourself "Leah Remini Scientology and the aftermath" is a documentary series which exposes exactly what Scientology is....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Scientology is apparently a shell of what it was 10/15 years ago.

They actually have to keep buying property around the world to retain their charitable status in the US.

Dave Miscavidge's father, Ron, did a fantastic interview with Joe Rogan recently on the inner workings of the organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Laying their roots? They've been here for years already.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Scientology are laying their roots in Ireland. Preying on the vulnerable so they can con them and extract a nice chunk of their ongoing income.
    So like Catholicism and all other cults religions then?
    This organization has been exposed in full for what it is, yet it seems our government are oblivious to it all. Isn't it the duty of the Minister for Social protection to inform himself and take appropriate action?
    Why? People can waste their money as they see fit. Should the minister draw up a list of the ways people are allowed to spend their money?
    If you have any doubts or want to get informed yourself "Leah Remini Scientology and the aftermath" is a documentary series which exposes exactly what Scientology is....
    How is it different to any other cult?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

They’ve been here on and off since the 50s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Curry Addict

Effects wrote: »
    Laying their roots? They've been here for years already.

yes on a small scale but now they are ramping up and if action is not taken now....
    They are operating in a sneaky calculated way within the law but it needs to be dealt with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭D3V!L

They’ve been here on and off since the 50s.

Strangely coincides with the Roswell incident !! :eek:

I for one welcome our new old alien overlords.

So like Catholicism and all other cults religions then?

Why? People can waste their money as they see fit. Should the minister draw up a list of the ways people are allowed to spend their money?

How is it different to any other cult?

my point is vulnerable people in our society should be protected. its not about telling people what they can and can not do. Scientology is an organized extortion racket.

please watch one episode of "Leah Remini Scientology and the aftermath"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I dunno, I just really see them struggle to attract anyone other than fringe sick people in Ireland. There's too much cynicism about religion here, they're whole 'Xenu's ghosts are living in you' shtick is too well known and people are hugely wary of anything to do with them.

why should we stand by and let them take advantage of our vulnerable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

https://www.scientology.ie/l-ron-hubbard/ireland.html

1956 the bould L Ron arrived in the Emerald Isle it seems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭EdEd

Can the same not be asked of any religion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I don't think anyone is. What action would you like to see taken? I mean the Taoiseach himself has come out and said it's a cult. Unless they're caught breaking laws, there's not much more that can be done.

EdEd wrote: »
    Can the same not be asked of any religion?

i have not once mentioned the word religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

They're an interesting documentary subject, but in most ways irrelevant now. I think the internet has killed them - everyone knows they're a load of nonsense, you can easily google what the later levels of knowledge are and it wouldn't entice you to continue paying to go up the levels. I don't think they'll ever attract a lot of new members again.

Their influence is also severely waning. I'd say they still have a load of dirt on a lot of very influential people. But this will be fading too year by year. I'd say if Tom Cruise wanted to leave it could be incredibly difficult with the hold they have on him. But the number of people they have like that is a fraction of what it was.

The one thing they still have though is an incredible amount of wealth. And with so few members and so much money, you'd really wonder what's going to happen with it.

my point is vulnerable people in our society should be protected.
    They are protected as much as they need to be. Do you really want our government dictating how people should spend their money?
    its not about telling people what they can and can not do. Scientology is an organized extortion racket.
    Firstly it is about telling people what they can and cannot do as otherwise you wouldn't be posting your rant.
    Secondly, Scientology is IMO an organised extortion racket.
    So is Catholicism. Do you want that shut down also?
    please watch one episode of "Leah Remini Scientology and the aftermath"
    I don't want to. I've better things to do!

I don't think anyone is. What action would you like to see taken? I mean the Taoiseach himself has come out and said it's a cult. Unless they're caught breaking laws, there's not much more that can be done.

yes they are they are building a drug rehab clinic in Balivor.

They are an organization built on deception. They work within the current laws and exploit loop holes to expand. There is a lot that can be done of course...but it needs to be recognized and action needs to be taken.

i have not once mentioned the word religion.

Obviously it was I who mentioned it. And my question stands. Can the same not be said for all religions?

yes they are they are building a drug rehab clinic in Balivor.

They are an organization built on deception. They work within the current laws and exploit loop holes to expand. There is a lot that can be done of course...but it needs to be recognized and action needs to be taken.
    So the organisation is operating within the law. But because you don't like it, it should be forced to close?
    Provide one verifiable piece of evidence that they have done something wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭henryforde80

So the organisation is operating within the law. But because you don't like it, it should be forced to close?

Your one from the king of queens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

It was never a religion until they discovered they could make more money by claiming to be one as well as being able to get away with more abuse of power because of religious freedom.

It's the only 'religion' I can think of where you have to pay ever increasing amounts of money just to find out what the fuck you're supposed to believe in. I saw a documentary a while ago where an ex-member was saying it starts off like a self help course and makes some kind of sense, but they keep demanding more money to get to the next level and it's not until you've spent thousands of dollars that they tell you about bullshit like aliens attaching themselves to your body.

People here like to act all smart and edgy and say "it's no worse than believing in zombie Jesus". The point isn't that their beliefs are weird. The point is you have to spend your life savings to find this out unlike Christianity where there's a Bible you can just read. And while you can read about that on the internet Scientologists would rather you didn't. They don't tell you any of this on their website or in any of their literature.

At least they're not recognised as a religion in Ireland as of yet.

Their expansion plan in Ireland is within the law. The organisation itself has been proven not to operate within US law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Obviously it was I who mentioned it. And my question stands. Can the same not be said for all religions?

No charge for other religions.
    You can put a few Bob in the poor box, but not obligatory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

As good as they are at extorting money from their followers, they are pretty slow to cough up themselves.

Church of Scientology owes over $100,000 in property tax in Toronto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I don't want to. I've better things to do!
    You really should, and a few other well known documentaries on Scientology, otherwise you have no basis for making the comments you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Given that people still invest very significant amounts of money in ponzi schemes such as Banners Broker and the new one doing the rounds; DasCoin, then Scientology (and their slick bull****) has a fair shot at ripping gullible people off.

valoren wrote: »
    Given that people still invest very significant amounts of money in ponzi schemes such as Banners Broker and the new one doing the rounds; DasCoin, then Scientology (and their slick bull****) has a fair shot at ripping gullible people off.

The Juice Plus doing the rounds on facebook is my favorite one.
    How do people fall for that crap.

Its usually attention seeking ones who post stuff like not feeling okay looking for attention and the comments under are usually u okay hun?

kneemos wrote: »
    No charge for other religions.

One religion running most of the schools is a pretty big price to pay I would have thought.

your question is not valid. Scientology is not recognized as a religion in Ireland. the religious aspect is a red herring and we should not get hung up on it. The extortion and preying on the vulnerable is the issue.

but they are working on it!

- The Merrion Square premises was bought in June 2015 for a price believed to be close to €2 million. It will serve as “a PR base to host VIPs and government officials”, as Gerard Collins, an Irish Scientologist, announced on social media.

- The controversial church is giving out teaching materials that hide its involvement. When the neat white package arrived at Rosmini Community School, in Drumcondra, three months ago, Chris Gueret was impressed. Inside it the religious-studies teacher found a complete curriculum on how to teach human rights to students, alongside posters, leaflets and a well-produced DVD entitled The Story of Human Rights.

- one of several Scientology front groups, the Truth About Drugs campaign, did approach an Irish politician. John Hearne, Sinn Féin councillor and mayor of Waterford city, received a phone call in August asking if he could stand in for the lord mayor for a photo opportunity with the group. “I hurried to the town centre, because you don’t want to let people down. We do it all day, every day, standing in for pictures,” Hearne says.

your question is not valid. Scientology is not recognized as a religion in Ireland.

but they are working on it!

It's as bat**** crazy as the rest of them so why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

yes on a small scale but now they are ramping up and if action is not taken now....
    They are operating in a sneaky calculated way within the law but it needs to be dealt with.

Meh, Catholic Church just thumb their nose at the law so what difference does it make. It's all make believe to trick people.