Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bike on a plane...

• 24-04-2018 8:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭

Grateful if anyone can share any knowledge or experience on this.

Need to take a flight with bicycle. Somewhat nervous about it.

Main question is does a specific bike check in result in some different handling of the luggage? Ryanair fee is €60. However I'm pretty sure I can get the bag under 20kg and just check it in as normal luggage. Will ryanair or others accept this as normal luggage? More importantly, will paying the extra fee result in the bike being handled any differently to a regular suitcase (happy to pay for for that!).

Thanks very much for any wisdom anyone can share.

Ps, gonna go for the SCICON AEROCOMFORT 2.0 bike bag.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,601 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

It will cost more as it is a bulky item, no matter the weight and it will not receive any special treatment. It will be handled the same as any other suitcase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

If you can rent a hard case that would be ideal, I travelled to the IOM with the bike and it didn't get on the same flight as me so had to wait a day till it arrived and it was beat up when I got it but a friend of mine had a luggage car drive over the middle of his colnago master frame and flattened it. both in soft bags with pipe insulation on the main tubes.

Luggage is luggage and its treated the same as anything else so prepare accordingly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭wersal gummage

Thanks. I will look into the price a courier company charges so, might be safer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

I wrapped my bike in clear plastic* (remove pedals and twist handlebars 90 degrees first) and presented it like that. Got looked after well (I was able to see the handlers load and unload the plane) and didn't get thrown around, squashed or anything.

*Clear plastic courtesy of my local bed shop...

^
    You are a brave man!

I spoke with aerlingus who told me that the bikes are stored in a special area on the plane...... Even if true, I guess they could be damaged getting on and off the plane...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

^
    You are a brave man!

It's based on psychology. Baggage handlers are not out to smash up your luggage but it gets caught in the crossfire of tight deadlines and inadequate staffing. A bike in a bag/case is just another bit of (heavy) luggage to load and could end up on the bottom.

OTOH, a thing that is clearly a bicycle is obviously different, won't go in at the bottom of a pile easily and won't be gratuitously trampled/hacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,601 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

I spoke with aerlingus who told me that the bikes are stored in a special area on the plane...... Even if true, I guess they could be damaged getting on and off the plane...

Depending on the aircraft type it will either go into the bulk hold or in the forward hold with buggies etc.

On a Ryanair it is in the same hold as all the other bags, usually on the floor with bags stacked on top of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭brownian

cdaly_ wrote: »
    It's based on psychology. Baggage handlers are not out to smash up your luggage but it gets caught in the crossfire of tight deadlines and inadequate staffing. A bike in a bag/case is just another bit of (heavy) luggage to load and could end up on the bottom.

OTOH, a thing that is clearly a bicycle is obviously different, won't go in at the bottom of a pile easily and won't be gratuitously trampled/hacked.

Sadly, not to be relied upon. Four of us took this approach last year flying home from Treviso with Ryanair. The butcher's bill: one bike destroyed (frame irreperable), one bike damaged (one wheel dead), one bike oddly abraded (shaved away 4mm from the head tube- must have dragged the bike upside down, or left it sitting against some sort of rotating abrasive surface.

It's an attractive idea (and cheap, and easy to carry with you)...but I won't be trying this again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Aer Lingus are a disaster with bikes! you can't book a bike onto a flight via their website. you have to call them and book over the phone. They also have a limit of 10 bikes per flight!

[quote=07Lapierre;Aer Lingus are a disaster with bikes! you can't book a bike onto a flight via their website. you have to call them and book over the phone. They also have a limit of 10 bikes per flight![/quote]

Yeah, thanks. I have spoken with them and booked one of the 10 spaces! Seems limiting to 10 is better than Ryanair if those 10 are cared for/stored in a specific area of the plane away from rest of the luggage? As per comments above, the bike on Ryanair will just be lobbed in with everything else....

Ps, I was on hold for about 2 minutes with Aerlingus before getting through and quickly booking the bike on... Agree that online would be easier but it wasn't exactly a disaster in the grand scheme of things!

Yeah, thanks. I have spoken with them and booked one of the 10 spaces! Seems limiting to 10 is better than Ryanair if those 10 are cared for/stored in a specific area of the plane away from rest of the luggage? As per comments above, the bike on Ryanair will just be lobbed in with everything else....

Ps, I was on hold for about 2 minutes with Aerlingus before getting through and quickly booking the bike on... Agree that online would be easier but it wasn't exactly a disaster in the grand scheme of things!

Your obviously not flying to Lyon in July! ;)

p.s. you flight booking is no longer an online booking, so you can't check in in advance.
    p.p.s. I don't believe for a second that they are stored in a "Special" place on the plane or that AL baggage handlers are any different to any other airline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Euro Fred

Snakes are cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭mamax

Let's hope you don't get these guys ;)

https://youtu.be/wpOMXWkmiX4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

If the airline is using an independent contractor, it will be them who will be handling your bike - not Aer Lingus, Ryanair etc.

(For the record, I've travelled many times with the bike and have never had any damage. Much more damaging is the shite you have to listen to from some check in staff especially on internal US flights where they try to charge you for the bike and an additional charge for 'sporting goods'.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

The airline has no input on how the luggage is treated so get that out of your head quickly. There is zero difference between Ryanair and AL for transport of bikes - both use ground-based baggage handlers for loading/unloading and this is where the problems occur. Baggage handlers couldn't give a fcuk one way or the other but you can be lucky and escape with no damage, it's only a matter of time though.

The higher Ryanair fee allows you to transport up to 30kg in the bike bag, versus 23kg for AL (€50), and this can be handy if heading away for more than a few days to an event etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

If your bike is low value, rent over there.

If your bike is expensive, buy a bike box. Bags aren't enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭1bryan

Grateful if anyone can share any knowledge or experience on this.

Need to take a flight with bicycle. Somewhat nervous about it.

Main question is does a specific bike check in result in some different handling of the luggage? Ryanair fee is €60. However I'm pretty sure I can get the bag under 20kg and just check it in as normal luggage. Will ryanair or others accept this as normal luggage? More importantly, will paying the extra fee result in the bike being handled any differently to a regular suitcase (happy to pay for for that!).

Thanks very much for any wisdom anyone can share.

Ryanair charge 60 each way but allow 30kg. The last time I flew with Aer lingus they charged 50 each way but only allowed 25kg. I'd struggle to get my bike box under that (but aer lingus are generally fairly decent about excess kgs - particularly if your clothes luggage comes in under weight).

I use a hard shell case but it's hard to transport due to the lack of a proper handle on it. I've been investigating reasonably priced alternatives but have yet to come up with something in the 300-400 euro price range that hasn't had at least something negative said about it.

For the time being I'll stick with what I have. Paid 350 for it around 10 years back and it's come on around 20 flights with me without ever having had my bike sustain any damage.

The last time I flew was 2 weeks ago and I saw the luggage being transported to the plane. The bikes were stood up vertically at one end, with suitcases packing the rest of the space. Looked very secure.

The only problem I've found is when they put the bike out on the luggage belt when you arrive. As often as not, they put it wheel-side down. Still haven't suffered damage but I get nervous every time that happens.

ED E wrote: »
    If your bike is low value, rent over there.

If your bike is expensive, buy a bike box. Bags aren't enough.

The Ventoux Box is your only man! :)

http://www.buxumbox.com/ventoux-box/

mamax wrote: »
    Let's hope you don't get these guys ;)

https://youtu.be/wpOMXWkmiX4

Better still.....Assume you will get those guys and pack your bike accordingly! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,152 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Looks like a very nice bag... You've nothing to be nervous about, would be very very unlucky if something happened to your bike from the Dublin airport side anyways!

MojoMaker wrote: »
    The higher Ryanair fee allows you to transport up to 30kg in the bike bag, versus 23kg for AL (€50), and this can be handy if heading away for more than a few days to an event etc.

The higher RA fee is due to them being more greedy! :D Not to the actual weight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭spyderski

A few points on this.

1. Other posters are correct - Ryanair or Aer Lingus doesn’t matter - the same ground crew will be loading the plane.

2. I have never seen the weight limit for either airline being enforced. That covers Dublin, Bologna, Lyon, Paris and Las Palmas Airports. You hand the bike to Oversized Baggage after you have been given your boarding pass etc. So they don’t get the chance to charge you for excess weight.

3. Do not use a soft bag (such as the Scicon). Only a hard case will do. And if your bike gets damaged under “normal” handling, the Airline will not cover damage due to insufficient packing. Even if they do it will be covered by the Warsaw/Montreal Convention, which will only pay a set amount per KG. Maximum across all your luggage will be about €1500, so you might get say €1k at the very most for total destruction of your bike, if you could prove the damage occurred due to negligent handling.

spyderski wrote: »
    ....2. I have never seen the weight limit for either airline being enforced. That covers Dublin, Bologna, Lyon, Paris and Las Palmas Airports. You hand the bike to Oversized Baggage after you have been given your boarding pass etc. So they don’t get the chance to charge you for excess weight....
    Nor have I but one of our club members was charged excess on an AL flights a few weeks ago. Think it was €10 per kg over.

Interesting. Any idea what Airport?

A few points on this.

1. Other posters are correct - Ryanair or Aer Lingus doesn’t matter - the same ground crew will be loading the plane.

2. I have never seen the weight limit for either airline being enforced. That covers Dublin, Bologna, Lyon, Paris and Las Palmas Airports. You hand the bike to Oversized Baggage after you have been given your boarding pass etc. So they don’t get the chance to charge you for excess weight.

3. Do not use a soft bag (such as the Scicon). Only a hard case will do. And if your bike gets damaged under “normal” handling, the Airline will not cover damage due to insufficient packing. Even if they do it will be covered by the Warsaw/Montreal Convention, which will only pay a set amount per KG. Maximum across all your luggage will be about €1500, so you might get say €1k at the very most for total destruction of your bike, if you could prove the damage occurred due to negligent handling.

I've had my bike box weighed a few times, but thankfully I've never been over the stated weight limit. The fact that WA says someone was charged for excess baggage charge by Aer Lingus does not surprise me one bit!

07Lapierre wrote: »
    I've had my bike box weighed a few times, but thankfully I've never been over the stated weight limit. The fact that WA says someone was charged for excess baggage charge by Aer Lingus does not surprise me one bit!

Yeah, they weigh them every time, it’s just always after they’ve processed your boarding card and other baggage. The O/S baggage belt has a scales built in. Last time I flew mine was 42kg! Bike box alone weighs 13kg so easy to go over the weight limit. I’ve said for ages the airlines will catch on some day. Maybe that day has arrived...

Thanks for all the comments.

For cost and subsequent storage reasons I'm not willing to go with the hard case.... Realise that I could well regret that decision. Will do some research on anything I can do to make the packing as secure as possible, although of course I know it can't be the same as a hard case. The bike bag is 9kg and I guess the bike with pedals is a little under 8kg, so I have a few kg of bubble wrap or whatever to play with!

Interesting. Any idea what Airport?
    Not sure what airport - think he was returning from Tour of Flanders Sportive or one of the classics sportives.

Last time I flew mine was 42kg! Bike box alone weighs 13kg so easy to go over the weight limit. I’ve said for ages the airlines will catch on some day. Maybe that day has arrived...

You're lucky! Anything 32KG is pushing it, means that they have to get 3 baggage handlers to load/unload the bag, which slows up the process of unloading the aircraft...

Thanks for all the comments.

For cost and subsequent storage reasons I'm not willing to go with the hard case.... Realise that I could well regret that decision. Will do some research on anything I can do to make the packing as secure as possible, although of course I know it can't be the same as a hard case. The bike bag is 9kg and I guess the bike with pedals is a little under 8kg, so I have a few kg of bubble wrap or whatever to play with!

Would you not rent a hard case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭brianomc

What is the max weight on Aer Lingus out of curiosity? I brought mine over to Isle of Man at the weekend so it might be different on the small regional flights. The person at the desk just asked me did I know the weight of it, I guessed 20kg, turned out to be 22.

Evoc bike bag, a few scuff marks on the case but otherwise the bag did it's job.

When you land back in dublin the bike could be at either of 2 oversize areas going by my experiences. One by luggage carousel 1 and another by 6. Mine and 2 others were at 6 this time around. Worth a shot if you are waiting more than 5 or 10 mins after your luggage comes out.

brianomc wrote: »
    What is the max weight on Aer Lingus out of curiosity? ...
    23kgs

brianomc wrote: »
    What is the max weight on Aer Lingus out of curiosity?

32kg last time I flew with them in the summer.EDIT Maybe it was 23... jaysus I was really pushing it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Spaniard14

I was not allowed to go over 32. Aer Lingus informed us that it is a regulation. Before that happened I called Aer Lingus Customer Service, and they mentioned: Bikes have no weight limit. It is a joke... I had to open the bike boxes and take out stuff like tools, and go through the security control with them, those guys were pretty reasonable that time.

32kg last time I flew with them in the summer.EDIT Maybe it was 23... jaysus I was really pushing it !
    23 ;)
    Sports Equipment General Guidelines:

Aer Lingus will carry your sports equipment as checked baggage.
    The maximum weight allowable for sports equipment is 23kg/50lb. Normal excess baggage rates apply if you carry in excess to this maximum allowance.
    Each passenger can carry a maximum of one piece of sports equipment.
    For our flights operating to/from North America, sports equipment is carried as part of the standard baggage allowance. Excess baggage rates of €75/$100 apply if you carry in excess of the standard allowance. This fee is charged per passenger, each way.
    For all other Aer Lingus flights, Sports Equipment is subject to a fee of €40 or equivalent payable online prior to departure; or a fee of €50 or equivalent payable through our reservations centre or at the airport on the day of departure. This fee is charged per passenger, per direction.
    If you’re travelling on Aer Lingus Regional flights, the carriage of applicable sports equipment is subject to available space on the day.
    For business class passengers, sports equipment is carried free of charge.
    Groups travelling with sports equipment should contact us directly to ensure there’s sufficient space in the aircraft.
    Important: Pack your sports equipment carefully to prevent any damage to it or other items. We’ll only accept sports equipment if it’s packed ap
    propriately to prevent damage and that meets the size and weight restrictions.

spyderski wrote:

Would you not rent a hard case?

Won't be returning for 3 months and won't really have storage for a hard case, so no.

Ha! Well 42KG is quite a weight to be hauling around the airport..

Spaniard14 wrote: »
    I was not allowed to go over 32. Aer Lingus informed us that it is a regulation.

It's true, H&S regs, 2 baggage handlers not allowed to lift anymore than 32kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Spaniard14

I was unable to find that policy, and that is why I reached them on the phone (same phone that I used to book the sports equipment, couldn't be done during the reservation). Now it is quite easy to find that information...
    23 kg is not much, most of bike boxes are over 10 kg. :( I learnt the lesson though. They allowed us to fly without paying excess both ways, but definitively they provided us with the wrong information).

Won't be returning for 3 months and won't really have storage for a hard case, so no.

Fair enough. Make sure there’s plenty of padding/reinforcement on the seatstays. That’s what always breaks with the soft cases.

Yeah, they weigh them every time, it’s just always after they’ve processed your boarding card and other baggage. The O/S baggage belt has a scales built in. Last time I flew mine was 42kg! Bike box alone weighs 13kg so easy to go over the weight limit. I’ve said for ages the airlines will catch on some day. Maybe that day has arrived...

they have to weigh all the luggage so they can calculate the amount of fuel to transport the weight on board. I'm sure we'll eventually arrive at a day where they weight the people on board too, for the same reason!

The last time I flew with aer lingus they didn't actually weigh the bag but the guy at check-in asked me how much I thought it weighed. I said around 25kg, and was that a problem. He said it wasn't, just that he wanted to know whether to put a 'Heavy' sticker on it for the baggage handlers.

1bryan wrote: »
    The last time I flew with aer lingus they didn't actually weigh the bag but the guy at check-in asked me how much I thought it weighed. I said around 25kg, and was that a problem. He said it wasn't, just that he wanted to know whether to put a 'Heavy' sticker on it for the baggage handlers.

There's two area's at T2 Dublin airport, over by the Aer Lingus check in desks which is for heavy baggage, and then the oversize baggage area back near the Eithad check in desks.. that's probably why they put the sticker on..

Can anyone recommend a travel insurance policy that covers any damage here? I just checked my vhi multi trip and it excludes any damage incurred to checked items.....

[quote=spyderski;Fair enough. Make sure there’s plenty of padding/reinforcement on the seatstays. That’s what always breaks with the soft cases.[/quote]

Thanks. Would it be worth trying to put a very, very soft, small wooden block between the stays?

Yes, or a small length of pipe secured with the skewers.

I use these:

(You can get one for the front axle too)

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/bbb-chaingrip-tool-btl50/rp-prod29802

I was looking at that bag too, since Chain have a large discount on it. One thing that kept popping up in reviews was that the shifters/hoods were turned inwards when people retrieved their bikes after landing. Some reckoned it was because of the wheels under the case - that it wouldn't stay still when being transported to the plane, so the baggage handlers flipped it over. And, because you typically don't remove your bars or saddle with this case, they end up taking all the weight on them. Other complaints were cracks in the seat stay, all consistent with the theory above.

I don't see why scicon couldn't come up with some kind of contraption (plastic or otherwise), to put around the bike after you pack it, that would protect the bars and saddle.

Edit: there's always a good reason bike retailers heavily discount stuff. I wonder if the above is why.

Thanks, that is all very helpful and I will pack accordingly!

Bryan, maybe the version 3 of the bag addresses those faults? I'm happy to remove saddle, handlebar etc if it helps anyway, don't need the "convenience" of leaving the bike fully assembled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Regardless of who you fly with, you need to make your packing secure. All baggage handlers won’t treat your bike half as well as you do, any many are seasonal so will be new to the job.
    There is definitely no separate area in a planes hold for bikes, they just go where they fit, so the more regular you can make the shape the better. I’m taking a bike away this summer, but it won’t be my good bike.
    All airlines will do their best to get out of paying for any damage they do to luggage and their limit is pretty low (around 1200 I believe) so make sure you have adequate insurance to cover you.