Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kate Middleton at 6pm

• 23-04-2018 11:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭

Today she gave birth at approximately 11am.
    She appeared in public at approximately 6pm in a designer dress, heels, blow dry and flawless makeup.
    She them takes her newborn baby home at 6.30pm.
    I know it is not Kate that dictates her schedule and there's all that protocol cr#p to follow so maybe she's caught in the middle but what kind of a role model is she or what message is she sending to women/girls that you can have a baby that morning and by tea time look immaculate and be well enough to be discharged from hospital? (Obviously she was deemed well enough to leave but for a lot of women there's a 24hour overnight involved).
    She had a personal stylist upstairs getting her ready for her exit. I've no doubt that there are nannies on hand at home to help her attend to her three children.
    The reality of giving birth is so far removed from that facade it's not even comparative.

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

My friends wife gave birth to their 5th child just over a year ago. Max was born about 6am and she was home that day by 4pm. Nowadays they boot you out the same day if baby is born before midday. They only keep you if your a first timer or there is something wrong with you or the baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

^ That's fair enough but I think it's a mockery to ordinary women for her to be asked to appear 7 hours later groomed and styled and looking regal.
    The day your baby is born you shouldn't be made to be paraded to the world. It's a private day for the family and not for every Tom to be trying to analyse what you're wearing, is your bump still obvious and what does your new baby look like?
    It would be lovely to see them be allowed to take the new baby home without the media glare and then have a public photo opportunity a few days later.
    Let mum have a few days of unwashed hair in her dressing gown being a mum first and someone for the voyeurs to ogle second.

To thine own self be true

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

^ That's fair enough but I think it's a mockery to ordinary women for her to be asked to appear 7 hours later groomed and styled and looking regal.
    The day your baby is born you shouldn't be made to be paraded to the world. It's a private day for the family and not for every Tom to be trying to analyse what you're wearing, is your bump still obvious and what does your new baby look like?
    It would be lovely to see them be allowed to take the new baby home without the media glare and then have a public photo opportunity a few days later.
    Let mum have a few days of unwashed hair in her dressing gown being a mum first and someone for the voyeurs to ogle second.

She didn't even seem to be walking like she was sore or anything...and in heels! How did she manage it? I know it was her 3rd child, but still! I can't compare to myself really as I had a c-section, but I definitely found it hard to walk properly for weeks! Fair play to her, but I felt sorry for her. Why couldn't they leave her be for a day or two. The frenzy is nuts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

Maybe they used a stunt double?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

31172238_892992500882441_250719982919352320_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=00276d7ee57231ad45de782c658651c1&oe=5B63897E

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Not really ranty enough for R&R, moved to After Hours. Local rules apply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

That child was about 3 days old when they walked out of the hospital.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

It seemed a bit sick to me, like forcing her out and done up in record time to show off to the plebs. I'm not a fan of royalty as an institution or the older ones, but I hope for his sake Harry manages to get the hell away from it all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

She should have walked home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Ciarrai76 wrote: »
    She didn't even seem to be walking like she was sore or anything...and in heels! How did she manage it? I know it was her 3rd child, but still! I can't compare to myself really as I had a c-section, but I definitely found it hard to walk properly for weeks! Fair play to her, but I felt sorry for her. Why couldn't they leave her be for a day or two. The frenzy is nuts!

After my first I was on my legs an hour later because I was sick of lying around. Not in pain, just a bit of discomfort.
    The second was a C-section and I was doing pretty well with walking the day I went home from hospital.
    When you know the game of it already most women prefer taking care of their baby at home because it's a lot more relaxed and you don't have to put up with other women's babies and snoring (granted, she has a wing for herself but maybe she just wants to be home?).

I see it like that, she's one of the most famous women in the world. The whole world is looking in your direction when you're about to do anything cool. That's unfortunately that comes with the job. If she's walking out of the hospital 6 hours after giving birth it's not okay, if she shuts herself off for weeks it's not okay either. As a person of public interest you will never do it right and you'll have moaners complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

i didnt realise they had made this compulsory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I give most women credit that they well know that Kate had stylists and make up artists . Most women know full well that they cannot be compared to Kate Middleton and her money and what it buys .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Oh the British royal family that many from this country have a strange obsession with quite frankly i have far more important things to be worrying about.

i didnt realise they had made this compulsory.

Public wards are so busy, it's a constant coming and going. When I recovered from my C-section there were many women that just went home a few hours after they came on the ward. The hospital didn't see the need to keep you in when you and baby are doing well.
    Don't know how it is though when you're opting for semi-private or private care.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

She can't win no matter what she does:

Up and out of the hospital in 7 hrs? Show off and giving women an unrealistic impression of motherhood.
    Stay a day or so in the hospital? Fcuking sponger leeching off the taxpayer and taking up an NHS bed that could be better needed elsewhere.
    Gets dolled up for the three steps to the car? Show off and cause of PND in other new mothers.
    Slob it to the car in a trackie, slippers and hunbun? No respect for the hordes waiting to meet her for weeks - they pay her wages after all.
    Sneaks out the back? Deprives the pubic of the first view of the new prince.
    Goes out the front? Show off.

LirW wrote: »
    Public wards are so busy, it's a constant coming and going. When I recovered from my C-section there were many women that just went home a few hours after they came on the ward. The hospital didn't see the need to keep you in when you and baby are doing well.
    Don't know how it is though when you're opting for semi-private or private care.

it was more the groomed and styled and looking glamorous bit i was referring to.

Funnily enough there is a good number of women that walk out the hospital in nice clothes and some sort of heels, was impressed because I couldn't be bothered myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

I think it was a good example for other women to show them what they can do if they put a bit of effort in :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

doylefe wrote: »
    I think it was a good example for other women to show them what they can do if they put a bit of effort in :pac:
    Run for your life. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Fair play to her.

She's made a mockery of all the talk about childbirth being difficult.

I brought in make up to hospital and my straighteners - damn right I wanted to look halfway decent in the "first photo" with my baby. I don't even wear makeup to work.

As it turns out, the baby was an emergency section so all the make up in the world could not have made up for my puffy post-op moonface which my sister immortalised on facebook for all to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

She must have an amazing fanny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I don't want to think of the state of her undercarriage whilst she as posing for photos and walking down those steps in high heels. :eek:

But if she was fine with leaving that hospital to a phalanx of photographers that quickly, that's grand. I hope she wasn't pressured though. But don't many women only have a one-night stay in hospital (inc. labour) when giving birth? Not many have to be hair and make-up soon after giving birth though!

Neyite wrote: »
    I brought in make up to hospital and my straighteners - damn right I wanted to look halfway decent in the "first photo" with my baby. I don't even wear makeup to work.

As it turns out, the baby was an emergency section so all the make up in the world could not have made up for my puffy post-op moonface which my sister immortalised on facebook for all to see.

ah i'm sure you were only gorgeous :)

It seemed a bit sick to me, like forcing her out and done up in record time to show off to the plebs. I'm not a fan of royalty as an institution or the older ones, but I hope for his sake Harry manages to get the hell away from it all

Ms. Markle has already had to give up a lot of her old life and has had to start to following protocol so I doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

what message is she sending to women/girls that you can have a baby that morning and by tea time look immaculate and be well enough to be discharged from hospital?

I'm sure sure even the most fervent feminist/outrage merchant understands that Kate has a whole team behind her at all time and is in no way indicative of anyone else's birthing day.

Lady A: "She looked well"
    Lady B "Yes, but who else would have a full medical team on standby"
    Lady A "Indeed, let's talk about the weather"

Stay a day or so in the hospital? Fcuking sponger leeching off the taxpayer and taking up an NHS bed that could be better needed elsewhere.

On this: where she delivered isn't free, that particular wing.

Another couple arrived on the steps with their new baby a few hours before Kate. They were photographed. The woman looked lovely, just as well as Kate did.
    I've never given birth but I'm sure if you're up to it that it's possible to look nice even without the help of stylists. This is the life that Kate Middleton signed up for, she is the Duchess of Cambridge now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

LirW wrote: »

I went semi private. Ended up on a trolley in the hall for most of the evening and then to a public ward for sleep. First thing next morning I was sent home. They dont have the resources to be keeping people in who are able to go home.

Regards being glamorous and whatnot, I mean if I had nannies and makeup artists and hairdressers I'm sure I'd have looked just as lovely :pac: I don't think she's setting unrealistic standards for "real" mothers, I'm sure we all realise and understand that she had extra help that we just don't get.
    Although tbf I was out and about in my normal clothes the week after having my first, people would comment about my figure/recovery etc. as if it was something I should be applauded for when in reality I was just happy to be out and was lucky to be young and recovering well,nothing to do with diet or whatever, everyone is different.

Jesus ****ing Christ does everything anyone does have to be wrong according to some people? It's funny seeing who it is criticising and agreeing with the criticism as well, real sisterhood stuff.:rolleyes:
    She's had her make-up done, she can go home and sleep for a few weeks if she wants, she has people to wipe her arse and fanny if she wants. Christ above like how dare she do anything whatsoever that not everyone has the opportunity/capability of doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Kate looked fabulous and I was very impressed that she was able to walk so elegantly and in heels after such a very big baby. However Mrs Joan Bloggs out there need not feel one bit inferior, it's really your everyday woman that is beyond fantastic to do all she does after leaving hospital without a fraction of the help Kate has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's the life she chose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Mrsmum wrote: »
    Kate looked fabulous and I was very impressed that she was able to walk so elegantly and in heels after such a very big baby. However Mrs Joan Bloggs out there need not feel one bit inferior, it's really your everyday woman that is beyond fantastic to do all she does after leaving hospital without a fraction of the help Kate has.
    And most woman know that full well !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 194 ✭✭Mackerel and Avocado Sandwich

Kate comes out of hospital looking healthy and great and it's an affront to women. Jesus Christ women, is there anything that doesn't outrage you nowadays?

Jesus ****ing Christ does everything anyone does have to be wrong according to some people? It's funny seeing who it is criticising and agreeing with the criticism as well, real sisterhood stuff.:rolleyes:

Who is criticising and who is agreeing with the criticising? Have they talked about the sisterhood? I don't know, I'm genuinely curious.

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    And most woman know that full well !

Indeed.

_Dara_ wrote: »
    On this: where she delivered isn't free, that particular wing.

Oh I know that but lets not let pesky facts get in the way of a good old bashing thread!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Well of course it's never easy, but some women just have it "easier" with childbirth. A mate of mine's wife with their three kids went into labour in the early morning, had the kids a few hours later and was back home that evening and looking amazingly well with it. My mate on the other hand looked like he was the one who had given birth. The wuss. :D An aunt of mine was the same and she had six kids, another aunt was in bits and was in bad health more than once afterwards. My own mother had a terrible labour with me and was offered the last rites at one point. I suppose giving birth to the antichrist will have that effect... Me, I need pampering, hair and makeup and a stiff drink after a blood test. If I had to give birth I'd go full saddo for weeks.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Mackmatic

She may have looked the business outside hours afterwards.

<snip>

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Mackmatic wrote: »
    But we all know her fanny probably looked like a punched lasagne.
    I hope you're twelve, or thirteen at a push.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Oh I know that but lets not let pesky facts get in the way of a good old bashing thread!

I honestly don't think it's true to say that she would have been damned in every scenario you outlined. I think her staying an extra night in the hospital would have been met with understanding. As far as I know, this was her quickest exit to date.

I don't think it's bashing really. I have no interest in bashing her but my eyebrows did rise at how quickly she left the hospital post-birth because it would have meant she was in hair and make-up very, very soon after birth. It's not the same as someone doing their own make-up and hair. She would have people swarming around her in addition to the medical staff. It doesn't seem like she would have got much time to rest.

I'm not keen on people being called bashers just for thinking of these things and saying them. Honestly, I felt a bit concerned for her.

They are pretty amazing yokes all right.

They can stretch to a baby's head circumference and ping back afterwards to still feel even the tiniest of cocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Ask yourself if you'd like to be the medical professional that sent Kate Middleton home to pain and complications because the public needed their pictures and only that exact time would do...

I'm sure she was more than capable of being there. If she wasn't, she'd need an Oscar. They all looked great from the pictures I've seen.

I honestly don't think it's true to say that she would have been damned in every scenario you outlined. I think her staying an extra night in the hospital would have been met with understanding. As far as I know, this was her quickest exit to date.

I don't think it's bashing really. I have no interest in bashing her but my eyebrows did rise at how quickly she left the hospital post-birth because it would have meant she was in hair and make-up very, very soon after birth. It's not the same as someone doing their own make-up and hair. She would have people swarming around her in addition to the medical staff. It doesn't seem like she would have got much time to rest.

I'm not keen on people being called bashers just for thinking of these things and saying them. Honestly, I felt a bit concerned for her.

I don't know though,sometimes women feel a lot worse the next day when the hormones come crashing down. That's when you really have to force a smile on your face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Thank fudge you just post four times a year.

I wanted to go home right away, to my own bed, shower, toilet. I had to stay five days and it drove me cracked.

Now, I know she will have had a private room and bathroom which helped, but I suspect that them not spending time at the hospital was partly because she would be more comfortable at home, but it could even have been due to heightened security measures in London, or possibly they didn't want the hospital besieged by callers the way that poor nurse was duped by an Aussie radio station and subsequently killed herself.

She'll probably have the best of midwifery & obstetric care at home anyway.

Wibbs wrote: »
    I hope you're twelve, or thirteen at a push.
    cantdecide wrote: »
    Thank fudge you only leave four posts a year.

34 year old female here and I laughed at his post. When Robbie Williams said that seeing his wife's vagina during labour and after birth was like watching his favourite pub burning down, people laughed and laughed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

I’m sure she just wanted to get out of there, let the paps get their snaps and get home and collapse in a pile of neurofen and sanitary towels and tears like everyone else.

They are pretty amazing yokes all right.

They can stretch to a baby's head circumference and ping back afterwards to still feel even the tiniest of cocks.
    image.png