Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being influenced by Social Media Influencers must be the lowest you can sink

• 18-04-2018 9:15am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 233 ✭✭

I have only recently become aware of the term Social Media Influencer after someone asked me to watch some Youtube blogger (vlogger???) to support an argument they were making.

I'm also aware that celebrities like the Kardashians make shedloads for pimping products on FB, Instagram, Twitter etc.

On the Irish scene I am aware of only 2 such Social Media Celebrities, namely Vogue Williams & Pippa O'Connor.

When the apex of your existence is emulating an already fake & manufacture lifestyle you're truly failed at life.
    Well done the girls for sucking you in but you were hardly a net contributor to society to begin with.

Just makes me sad, that's all . . .

Do you agree with the OP . . . are sheep who ape these social media celebs the lowest 25 votes

Yes, the OP is bang on
    0% 0 votes
    No, I need Pippa in my life to tell me how to hang toilet paper
    100% 25 votes
    Sometimes I touch myself
    0% 0 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

mrs stuck to Pippa O'connor every evening. I said "Do you send her videos of you"

Only thing that would have me watch these would be if they were in the nip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I have only recently become aware of the term Social Media Influencer after someone asked me to watch some Youtube blogger (vlogger???) to support an argument they were making.

I'm also aware that celebrities like the Kardashians make shedloads for pimping products on FB, Instagram, Twitter etc.

On the Irish scene I am aware of only 2 such Social Media Celebrities, namely Vogue Williams & Pippa O'Connor.

When the apex of your existence is emulating an already fake & manufacture lifestyle you're truly failed at life.
    Well done the girls for sucking you in but you were hardly a net contributor to society to begin with.

Nothing new other than the media. Tabloids, x-factor's got talent et al have been doing this for decades.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Candlemass

Never heard of Pippa O'connor, So I googled her, still no idea. Im guessing thats a good thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

My niece watches some of these on YouTube. I don’t get it myself but then again there’s a lot of stuff I don’t get from the next generation.
    She’s also a brilliant boxer, does exceptionally well in school and is an all round great kid. You’re probably just getting old.
    Seems weird to label someone likes that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Candlemass wrote: »
    Never heard of Pippa O'connor, So I googled her, still no idea. Im guessing thats a good thing!

She was in home and away years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Well done the girls for sucking you in.

Looked them up there. They can both suck me in any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,416 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

To be fair to Vogue Williams, she has made good career from DJ'ing for a number of years going back over 10 years.

But yes, I also despise the whole 'Social Media Influencer' thing. Like what do they actually do? Advertise make up products and steal a living from getting free goods and pay little to no tax. Get paid to go on holidays, drive cars, drink using certain water bottles etc. A joke how so many live on their every word. My gf spends every evening watching all their videos.

Apparently there is now a 'caller-out' account where these social media types are being exposed for rigging competitions where their friends and families win the prizes or just shown to be fake is so many ways.

If only some of those knew some of the stories going around about some of them and their extra-curricular activities.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 233 ✭✭Hooks Golf Handicap

FitzShane wrote: »
    If only some of those knew some of the stories going around about some of them and their extra-curricular activities.

From Google, innuendo, rumour & hearsay I've devised the following.

Any single female celeb who is "holidaying" in Dubai is probably getting 10 grand a night to be rodded by some Sheik.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

hmmm....what bothers me about this whole social media 'influencer' business is that apparently it's now considered a job/career....like 'glamour model'

I wouldn't have a problem with people who have actually done things with their lives (I dunno, Elon Musk or Ahnold Schwarzenegger) and therefor might actually have a valid opinion (based on knowledge and experience) to weigh in with.
    It's the people who see this as a career and have actually done nothing besides gathering instagram and twitter followers and consider themselves 'influencers' that really really bother me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

FitzShane wrote: »

From Google, innuendo, rumour & hearsay I've devised the following.

Any single female celeb who is "holidaying" in Dubai is probably getting 10 grand a night to be rodded by some Sheik.
    The world's most backwards culture meets its oldest profession tbs tbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I'm definitely getting old because the more I look at social media as a whole the more I just see it as one big advertising platform aimed straight at my face.

I used to follow loads of peoples on Instagram, for example, like The Rock, Christiano Ronaldo, and other sports stars - but all they ever post is advertising of themselves or products. Like I couldn't a fiddler's if The Rock is on a private plane or if Ronaldo has a new fragrance out or a favourite drink. In no way was my life impacted by any of it so off they went.

Now I try to only 'follow' people who post interesting things or videos that are of benefit to me (like world champions posting a video of a specific technique or something)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

As long as there has been famous people they have been paid to use their fame to hawk various products.
    What exactly is the difference here?

The only one I can see is the route to that illusive and lucrative fame. It used to be movies or showbiz of some sort - now it's you tube videos and sex tapes
    (Vogue if you're reading this, release one and I will watch - Pippa, you can leave yours in your bedside locker where it belongs!):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Influencers who will give a good word but only for free stuff. Only a moron would take anything they are hawking on board. Just look at that gob****e who tried to blag a free hotel stay in Dublin for a good review.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

wexie wrote: »

I wouldn't have a problem with people who have actually done things with their lives (I dunno, Elon Musk or Ahnold Schwarzenegger)

I feckin love that that's your mental category for "people who have done things with their lives" :D

Don't really feel the appeal of the influencers but the drama can be highly entertaining. I have a friend who follows loads of them but it's because she subtly cyberbullies them to relieve stress.

I'd wonder all right about how healthy it is for much younger girls who seem to worship the influencers though. They get fleeced for one thing, think Pippa I Connor was charging 50 quid for a scented candle there a while ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Panjandrums

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

I feckin love that that's your mental category for "people who have done things with their lives" :D

Ha, yeah they were the only ones I could think of quickly. ( I 'follow' a grand total of 0 'influencers')
    What I meant was there now seem to be 'social' media influencers who become social media influencers right out of college, or even before college.

Like yer one who caused a bit of a hooha recently with that hotel in Dublin?

EDIT : I actually feel much the same about politicians who've never had a job other than politician. And I dread the day we'll see social media influencers running in politics :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

wexie wrote: »
    Ha, yeah they were the only ones I could think of quickly. ( I 'follow' a grand total of 0 'influencers')
    What I meant was there now seem to be 'social' media influencers who become social media influencers right out of college, or even before college.

Like yer one who caused a bit of a hooha recently with that hotel in Dublin?

It beats working for a living.

If I for one second thought I could pull off a gig like that, my working days would be behind me.

If you can get away with it, fair fúcks to you I say.