Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Former first lady Barbara Bush has died

• 15-04-2018 7:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭

https://edition.cnn.com/2018/04/15/politics/barbara-bush-health/index.html
    Former first lady Barbara Bush is in failing health, a source close to the Bush family tells CNN.

At 92 years old, Bush has been suffering for some time and has been in and out of the hospital multiple times in the last year while battling with Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, or COPD, and congestive heart failure.

The source said she is being cared for at her home in Houston and has decided she does not want to go back into the hospital.

The office of former President George H. W. Bush released a statement, confirming after a "recent series of hospitalizations," she has decided against seeking additional medical help.

"It will not surprise those who know her that Barbara Bush has been a rock in the face of her failing health, worrying not for herself — thanks to her abiding faith — but for others. She is surrounded by a family she adores, and appreciates the many kind messages and especially the prayers she is receiving," the statement continued.

The Bushes have been married for 73 years.

Bush is the only living wife of one former President and the mother of another former President.

The Bush's have been in and out of hospital for the past few years, you'll recall neither were fit enough to attend Trump's inauguration last year.

I guess at 92 she's had enough, and has opted for 'comfort care' as opposed to prolonging her life.

Being married for 73 years, I wouldn't be surprised if George HW Bush (who's 93) goes quite quickly afterwards too now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

you'll recall neither were fit enough to attend Trump's inauguration last year.

I don't think that was the reason :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

She lived a long life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

I don't think that was the reason :P

Well Bush jnr did.

Bush Snr is really not a fan. But I digress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

She's a woman in her 90s things are going to eventually take their toll it happens to everyone such is life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Thanks for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

She’s had a good innings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

May her last balloon animal be a Swan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

It's hard to die no matter what age you are. In a lot of ways euthanasia would be kinder than watching someone waste away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,561 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Not old enough to remember Bush Snr being president so first memory of her and him would have been the Simpsons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

mad muffin wrote: »
    She’s had a good innings.

I hate that expression.

AllForIt wrote: »
    I hate that expression.

That's just not cricket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

This was leading on rte news earlier. My question is, why is this news? Old lady who has no links to Ireland, never AFAIK held public office, is on her last. Sad for her and her family, and I hope she is comfortably, but FFS, how is this news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Fair play to her, she wants to die a natural death rather than her existence being dragged out just because doctors can these days.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Fair play to her, she wants to die a natural death rather than her existence being dragged out just because doctors can these days.

Wouldn't be much of existence would it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

This was leading on rte news earlier. My question is, why is this news? Old lady who has no links to Ireland, never AFAIK held public office, is on her last. Sad for her and her family, and I hope she is comfortably, but FFS, how is this news?

Eh, she was the 1st Lady of the United States. It's certainly newsworthy, and the reporting of it as the 5th item on the news reflects its gravity. Not everyone watching the news has access to twitter etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭flatty

Most doctors I talk to don't want to, but are afraid of being sued or struck off if they don't. It only takes one complaint they tell me from any irate relative, however spurious.
    There should be a dedicated team in every region who are almost above this, who can assist a persons dying in whatever way the individual wishes. It is the height of arrogance for any legislator in the prime of health (or otherwise) to tell anyone how they can or cannot die.
    We would all be very glad of it some day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Nancy Regan was 94 when she died two years ago both former first ladies living long lives still laugh at Barbara Bush in the bath in the simpsons when they're taking the tour of the white house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

92 is a great age. Hopefully she will be made as comfortable as possible in the time she has left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Well First Lady of the USA. Mother of another US president and mother of a governor of Florida. Yeah can't see why she'd be news worthy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

Eh, she was the 1st Lady of the United States. It's certainly newsworthy, and the reporting of it as the 5th item on the news reflects its gravity. Not everyone watching the news has access to twitter etc.

More important things going on in Ireland to worry about.

Nobody here gives a toss I would imagine

I hate that expression.

Not a fan of cricket? She’s had a rough trot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I hate that expression.

You beat me to this and you are right!

Autochange wrote: »

"No man is an Island, entire of itself; every man is a piece of the Continent, a part of the main; if a clod be washed away by the sea, Europe is the less, as well as if a promontory were, as well as if a manor of thy friends or of thine own were; any man's death diminishes me, because I am involved in Mankind; And therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; It tolls for thee."

God love her and give her peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Varik wrote: »
    Not old enough to remember Bush Snr being president so first memory of her and him would have been the Simpsons.

Did she not read his lips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I don't wish knowing the end is near on anyone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

mad muffin wrote:
    Not a fan of cricket?

I don't like cricket, no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

https://edition.cnn.com/2018/04/15/politics/barbara-bush-health/index.html

The Bush's have been in and out of hospital for the past few years, you'll recall neither were fit enough to attend Trump's inauguration last year.

I guess at 92 she's had enough, and has opted for 'comfort care' as opposed to prolonging her life.

Being married for 73 years, I wouldn't be surprised if George HW Bush (who's 93) goes quite quickly afterwards too now.

Send her to the football stadium in New Orleans. Apparently that was "working quite well" for the sick and dying in 2005.

Regarding her idiot son's genocide of Iraq:

"Why should we hear about body bags and deaths? It's not relevant. So why should I waste my beautiful mind on something like that?"

-- Barbara Bush, 2003.

You won't be missed, Babs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,602 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Autochange wrote: »

And yet there was a thread started which you posted in.

Chrongen wrote: »
    Send her to the football stadium in New Orleans. Apparently that was "working quite well" for the sick and dying in 2005.

I'm sure the thousands of people who seeked refuge in the superdome would rather have been out in the flooded streets instead.

They probably would have preferred to have been helped, rescued, treated, rather that left to rot in a festering football stadium with no water or sanitation for days on end.

But your attitude to them is much like Barbara's. What was her quote again...."these people come from bad areas/circumstances so this is working quite well for them" as they wallow in filth and not allowed to leave because of mercenary thugs outside.

Yeah, man, they were thrilled to live in that cesspit with not a cot or blanket in sight and the toilets overflowing with urine and faeces. It was paradise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,829 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

screamer wrote: »
    It's hard to die no matter what age you are. In a lot of ways euthanasia would be kinder than watching someone waste away.

Obligatory Ali-G clips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,829 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I don't like cricket, no

Have this stuck in me head now ya bollix :-)

They probably would have preferred to have been helped, rescued, treated, rather that left to rot in a festering football stadium with no water or sanitation for days on end.

But your attitude to them is much like Barbara's. What was her quote again...."these people come from bad areas/circumstances so this is working quite well for them" as they wallow in filth and not allowed to leave because of mercenary thugs outside.

Yeah, man, they were thrilled to live in that cesspit with not a cot or blanket in sight and the toilets overflowing with urine and faeces. It was paradise.

So you agree, they were better off indoors instead of drowning on the streets.

Don't play non-sequiturs with me mate. If a doctor bangs holes in your kid's head until he's slowly losing bodily powers, vision, etc are you going to accept the argument that "Do you agree that the kid is better off than having the measles?"

Don't give me that crap. You might do mutually exclusive binary arguments just for fun but I don't.

Don't play non-sequiturs with me mate. If a doctor bangs holes in your kid's head until he's slowly losing bodily powers, vision, etc are you going to accept the argument that "Do you agree that the kid is better off than having the measles?"

Don't give me that crap. You might do mutually exclusive binary arguments just for fun but I don't.

Drown on the streets or live. I know which id prefer.

I don't like cricket, no

Oh no, YOU LOVE IT!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

May her last words be "mission accomplished"

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 300 ✭✭garbo speaks

Some truly disgusting comments here mocking an elderly lady in her final days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The type of degeneracy witnessed in their apparently beggared belief, things very quickly descended in savagery.

All that was being purchased on the emergency debit cards was alcohol tobacco and condoms.

Poor fckers in NY in 2012 are the ones who really got screwed.

The type of degeneracy witnessed in their apparently beggared belief, things very quickly descended in savagery.

All that was being purchased on the emergency debit cards was alcohol tobacco and condoms.

Poor fckers in NY in 2012 are the ones who really got screwed.

That was hardly the fault of George W though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

That was hardly the fault of George W though.

True.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

didn't last long

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

a bit from an article about Nancy Reagans death, two years ago
    When first ladies pass away, they typically don't get the pomp, ceremony and spectacle that their spouses receive.

There is no set protocol to mourn them. Instead, federal and local governments — including the sitting president — decide what's appropriate. And first ladies' funerals are generally private affairs,
    [...]
    flags on government and military property flown at half mast .. isn't always provided. It apparently wasn't done for Betty Ford, who died in 2011. It was done for Lady Bird Johnson in 2007, but not for Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis in 1994 or Pat Nixon in 1993. (Onassis and Nixon did get 30-day mourning periods at the White house, though.)
    https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/nancy-reagan-dead-94-there-s-little-protocol-honoring-first-n533346

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

RIP Bar

QWVf7RtkfQsXQxIM8HD7Cvg0wXpdDUwX-jvy12X6aKBdjhdPEMrVdgrGX-JboEpcZfDpaU9pu59kEUbHQHNEIyYhZSGk2emK94nNZkZq0WvhDw=w1200-h630-p-k-no-nu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

May she rest in peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭SnazzyPig

Varik wrote: »
    At first glance I thought this was a comment on her having dementia.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 300 ✭✭garbo speaks

RIP Mrs. Bush.