Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Laura Whitmore: 'A man put his hand up my skirt in a nightclub and laughed'

Is there a way to hide threads on boards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

PM me if you find out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

I'd rather hide it from the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Where was it front page news? That story was published yesterday, and the front pages were about the evidence in the Jackson/Oldham trial that had been withheld, Trump's threat to attack Syrian forces, and the prospect of pay rises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

ectoraige wrote: »
    Where was it front page news? That story was published yesterday, and the front pages were about the evidence in the Jackson/Oldham trial that had been withheld, Trump's threat to attack Syrian forces, and the prospect of pay rises.

On the front page of the independent website. Who actually buys newspapers anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

She shouldn't have been wearing a short skirt! Or out having a few drinks! She probably consented at the time and then regretted it when the lad showed no interest in her, she did say he left very quickly...or she just wanted to jump on the metoo bandwagon...

Am I getting this right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,604 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

She shouldn't have been wearing a short skirt! Or out having a few drinks! She probably consented at the time and then regretted it when the lad showed no interest in her, she did say he left very quickly...or she just wanted to jump on the metoo bandwagon...

Am I getting this right?

Considering your agenda yep.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Considering your agenda yep.

I have no agenda pal...just a personal code of conduct...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Thank you Laura and now for the sport....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

Am I getting this right?

Dunno, couldn't give a fuck tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭munster87

Am I getting this right?

Was it in a silent corner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Am I getting this right?

Depends on what you're trying to passive aggressively get at

JMNolan wrote: »
    Dunno, couldn't give a fuck tbh

Well you did read, and reply to the post...that is about as much as you can give a f##k on an online forum.

• Site Banned Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyyesno

professore wrote: »
    More front page news on the Indo today.

Really ... an Irish woman is gang raped in the Czech republic by 6 men. Radio silence.

A Z list celeb once had some creep put his hand up her skirt - front page news. It's not pleasant but hardly worthy of front page coverage.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/laura-whitmore-a-man-put-his-hand-up-my-skirt-in-a-nightclub-and-laughed-36799492.html

It's the Indo. If Vogue Williams farts it's major news for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

and laughed'

At the size of her cock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,971 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

And then I laughed... and reader, I married him.

(1950s version of the story)

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Doesnt everybody get drunkenly groped in nightclubs at some point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I was out for a few beers last Saturday for a birthday party. One of the lads was walking towards the bar, and happened to walk in the middle of a hen party.

I turned to tell him to get me a pint as well, when I did, he was naked to the waist, with not a button left on his shirt, and about 6 women pawing at him, in throngs of laughter. He was absolutely morto, and left for home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Allll Aboard the #metoo bandwagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

and in other news, World War 3 has just started

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

I was out for a few beers last Saturday for a birthday party. One of the lads was walking towards the bar, and happened to walk in the middle of a hen party.

I turned to tell him to get me a pint as well, when I did, he was naked to the waist, with not a button left on his shirt, and about 6 women pawing at him, in throngs of laughter. He was absolutely morto, and left for home.

Oh right and he didn't defend himself? Fake news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Iiar, doesnt happen and you hate women....all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Lara Thousands Witch

Has she reported it to the authorities or is it just the twitter and blue haired police she went to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

If that's sexual assault then lock me up.

She wouldn't have lasted five minutes in Sach's hotel back in the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭DredFX

I actually enjoy reading threads about sexual assault in After Hours. Makes identifying the tone-deaf arseholes of the board much easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

padd b1975 wrote: »
    If that's sexual assault then lock me up.

She wouldn't have lasted five minutes in Sach's hotel back in the day.

Eh if you’re going around grabbing random women’s undercarriages in nightclubs you need to have a word with yourself there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

I've had my arse grabbed in nightclubs by groups of girls in the past. Hard to tell which one did it when you turn around and they're all giggling.
    I didn't care which one it was only I wanted to know which one was a bit gamey and up for a bit of action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I fall somewhere in the middle on this.
    Was it an unpleasant experience for her? I’m sure it was.
    Should she have spoken up about it? Yes she should.
    Is it worthy of being front page exclusive news: probably not.
    Have I just done that annoying thing where you answer your own questions? Yes I have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

I've had my arse grabbed in nightclubs by groups of girls in the past. Hard to tell which one did it when you turn around and they're all giggling.
    I didn't care which one it was only I wanted to know which one was a bit gamey and up for a bit of action.

Unfortunately this.
    For all most some men ok , just johnny and i

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

Really ... an Irish woman is gang raped in the Czech republic by 6 men. Radio silence.

A Z list celeb once had some creep put his hand up her skirt - front page news. It's not pleasant but hardly worthy of front page coverage.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/laura-whitmore-a-man-put-his-hand-up-my-skirt-in-a-nightclub-and-laughed-36799492.html

This is simply false. It was reported across a number of media outlets. And you're fully aware of that, as you replied on that thread to someone who listed some of the media articles that reported it.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=106696141

Why do you have a problem with an online article being published on this topic, among the thousands of other articles that news outlet publishes every week? Don't you think that sexual assault is an important enough topic to warrant that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Shadowstrife

“Men are afraid that women will laugh at them. Women are afraid that men will kill them.”

― Margaret Atwood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Ak84

Not a nice thing to happen to a woman.
    As a man it would not bother me if a woman Grabbed me. But thinking if a man grabbed me it would be very uncomfortable. Hmm. Am I allowed to say that or is it sexist
    ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,280 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

No, but it's fairly easy not to click into the thread and read it if you're not interested in the topic of well described thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Strait Up wrote: »
    Is this a nightclub thing? I have spent a good deal of my life in pubs and have never seen a woman molested.

Yep cos sleezbags like to do it in the dark where they won't get a thump off the nearest actual lad that sees it and stands up for the girl.

I've had mates do it to girls, one regret i have is not calling them out on it. Some girls like it, would have to say majority probably don't.

I wouldn't mind if a class looking bird grabbed my arse, but if if she had a face like a bulldogs arse I probably wouldn't be too impressed. Better off everyone be sound and start leaving each others arses alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

“Men are afraid that women will laugh at them. Women are afraid that men will kill them.”

― Margaret Atwood

Also must be noted:

"Star Wars inspired 9/11"

-- Margaret Atwood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Celeb? I've never even heard of the woman.

I fall somewhere in the middle on this.
    Was it an unpleasant experience for her? I’m sure it was.
    Should she have spoken up about it? Yes she should.
    Is it worthy of being front page exclusive news: probably not.
    Have I just done that annoying thing where you answer your own questions? Yes I have.

Why do you answer your own questions? I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

Dakota Dan wrote: »

Celeb? I've never even heard of the woman.

You're missing out she's a great looking lass.

She's average.

I wonder if a man put his hand up her skirt and not laugh, would that make the front page?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

She's average.

1983717_1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭RubyGlee

Fair play to her for speaking out about it.
    No one male or female has the right to touch someone like that without....the buzz word....consent.
    Assault plain and simple. If more keep speaking out then maybe just maybe it might start to sink in

RubyGlee wrote: »
    Fair play to her for speaking out about it.
    No one male or female has the right to touch someone like that without....the buzz word....consent.
    Assault plain and simple. If more keep speaking out then maybe just maybe it might start to sink in

You wouldn't want to have been around in the 70's or 80's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭RubyGlee

Nope or the 50’s or the 1800’s etc thankfully society learns and grows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

There was a lot worse than that in the 80s.
    Those perms...
    Those shoulder pads...
    Those ankle warmers...
    ...on the men.

RubyGlee wrote: »
    Nope or the 50’s or the 1800’s etc thankfully society learns and grows

In some ways society is going more backwards than forwards, e.g. It's gone from one extreme to the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Look, this is great and all that women are starting to realise that they don't have to be silent about these things. But for the love of God report it to the actual police, and not the social media police. What good is telling everyone you were touched up in a nightclub, and giving out about it, if you never did anything about it? There's no need to tell us this happens, as we all more or less know getting groped in a nightclub is a good possibility (and yes, it shouldn't happen, but it does). Hey, even some people enjoy it.

And i'm all for equal rights, as long as they are equal. And one can't even give a hypothetical situation without being called out as being misogynistic or victim blaming. I like to play devils advocate, simply because a lot of people are stuck in their ways and refuse to take part in a debate, not wanting to hear the other side. I take little to no interest in the majority of these debates, but I have great interest in over reactions of people on either side. Victim blaming is wrong, but there has to be some semblance of accountability in a lot of these cases. It may be the smallest of amounts, but it has to be there (in a lot of cases, not all, but people don't want to hear that).

Agricola wrote: »

1983717_1.jpg

I agree but the question is why haven't you availed of it? The free eye test that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Personally I think she's gorgeous and that chap who assaulted her should be charged if it was as bad as she suggested, which i have no reason to doubt. Met her once when her bf was swarmed by young girls at a gig. She walked over to me and started chatting until they all cleared off. She was lovely and came across as very genuine. However, I do disagree with the following:
    She also slammed male paparazzi for taking "pants shots" of female celebrities, saying those in the public eye are not "playthings."

I mean this is fair enough if you're not the kind of celeb who is courting that kind of shot but Laura has attended premieres where she has worn outfits that show off her panties and the like and you're playing with fire when you do that as naturally paps are just going to go for the most explicit shot they can. Here's an example.

I do think up skirt shots are going too far but then, tbf, some female celebs have deliberately exposed their underwear and worse / better (depending on your perspective) in a brazen attempt at getting in the papers and that's bound to have a knock on effect on celebs who don't want such attention. So I think while I get where she's coming from, you really can't blame the paparazzi 100% on (at least all) the kind of photos that's she's referring to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I was sexually assaulted in Tipp Town in 2009.

Tough looking common bint took a shine and started feeling up me arse at the bar .

Later on in the night our groups were sitting together and she started fiddling up my leg trying to get at my equipment.

All my friends burst their holes laughing at it.

In reality it upset me but I didn't say anything.

It had no lasting impact me , I got over it , just a creepy 40 plus rough wan
    This kinda sh1t will happen to every one in their lifetimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Careful Pete, you don't want to be victim blaming here. Women should be allowed to wear what they want, and not have the paparazzi taking photos of their privates.

However, on the flip side, people know that's what the paparazzi do, so why put yourself in that situation to begin with, just because 'I should be able to'. Plenty of celebs out there have little to no 'revealing' photos, because they know if they put themselves in that situation, it will happen. But no, can't victim blame...