Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I tell the Gardaí about a habitual drink driver?

• 11-04-2018 7:56pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 143 ✭✭

My auntie's partner is an ex-Garda. They live with my aunties's two sons in a rural place on the Galway / Roscommon border area.

He regularly gets into his car after five of six pints and drives home.

It's been going on for a number of years and I'm sick of it. I'm up in Dublin myself and I was visiting them a while back. I was shocked when he got in the car and went to drive after five pints we had each. I refused to get into the car and walked back. It didn't go down well and he was very offended and thought I was a bit odd when I arrived back later on after him.

Is there any point reporting it to the Gardaí? Will he get caught? Will they even care? I think it's a bit hypocritical that he would have been prosecuting people for doing the same when he was a serving Garda but blatantly disregards the rules himself.

Would you report him if you were in my position? Is it really any of my business or am I just being a busy body? He's about 100 kg, 200 cm tall and won't drive after more than five or six. The roads are empty and isolated.

My auntie knows that he drink drives with her sons (the are 18 and 21 BTW).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Simple answer is yes, but it’s not impossible that he wouldn’t find out who reported him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 sorollo

My auntie's partner is an ex-Garda. They live with my aunties's two sons in a rural place on the Galway / Roscommon border area.

He regularly gets into his car after five of six pints and drives home.

It's been going on for a number of years and I'm sick of it. I'm up in Dublin myself and I was visiting them a while back. I was shocked when he got in the car and went to drive after five pints we had each. I refused to get into the car and walked back. It didn't go down well and he was very offended and thought I was a bit odd when I arrived back later on after him.

Is there any point reporting it to the Gardaí? Will he get caught? Will they even care? I think it's a bit hypocritical that he would have been prosecuting people for doing the same when he was a serving Garda but blatantly disregards the rules himself.

Would you report him if you were in my position? Is it really any of my business or am I just being a busy body? He's about 100 kg, 200 cm tall and won't drive after more than five or six. The roads are empty and isolated.

My auntie knows that he drink drives with her sons (the are 18 and 21 BTW).
    They live in a rural area.
    Leave the poor man in peace.
    He is doing no harm to himself or to anyone else.

If you do report him think if the hardship you will be putting on your poor auld auntie.

In fact you are very unfair in your thinking.
    You live in Dublin where the public transport is second to none and you expect the poor auld man to give up his way of life.

Selfish is what I would call you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

What's going on here, have I been cloned? Hacked by Russians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,864 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

sorollo wrote: »

Until he kills someone while driving over the legal limit.

Report Him, you might not know it, but you could be saving someone’s life 5-10 years down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Could have been stopped before but being a ex guard just told to drive on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 143 ✭✭Ahhhh for forks sake!

What's going on here, have I been cloned? Hacked by Russians?

Jaysus :D:D:D:D:D:D howya pal :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

What's going on here, have I been cloned?

Definately a clone, the genetic specialist said something about making improvements :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

There's no such thing as a retired guard ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

If you do report him think if the hardship you will be putting on your poor auld auntie.

You live in Dublin where the public transport is second to none and you expect the poor auld man to give up his way of life.

Oh dear...

I really hope that's sarcasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Report him to traffic watch. Ask for the pulse number. Going through castlebar the locals can't disappear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

These threads usually end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

5 or 6 pints in what space of time? If 2 hours its bad craic. If 3 its not good. If 4 + then I'd say stop being a busy body. I personally wouldnt drink drive but i live very close to the city. There just isn't a need. But i know I'm not exactly a danger after 5 pints in 3 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dog walker 1234

One or two pints I could turn a blind eye. Five pints, that is really taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 sorollo

One or two pints I could turn a blind eye. Five pints, that is really taking the piss.

What colour is his car so to speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

Absolutely you should. You’ll be saving someone’s life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭corks finest

What a stupid question,of fecking course you should,ask any parent/sibling/friend of anyone ploughed by a drunken bastard

What colour is his car so to speak?

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭selectamatic

A man that size who regularly drinks pints at a steady pace would have a good chance of passing a breathalyser test after 5 pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

5 or 6 pints in what space of time? If 2 hours its bad craic. If 3 its not good. If 4 + then I'd say stop being a busy body. I personally wouldnt drink drive but i live very close to the city. There just isn't a need. But i know I'm not exactly a danger after 5 pints in 3 hours.

It takes an hour to get the effect a half pint out of your system. 5 pints = 10 hours. You are definitely not safe to drive after 3 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

Wft keep out of it. None of your bees wax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Doing no harm, until some one gets killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

6541 wrote: »

There are thousands of graves in this country due to that mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

6541 wrote: »

1950s Ireland called to congratulate you both on your posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

A matter of conscience versus prudence.
    Reporting him might save a life, possibly his.
    It might just cause a world of trouble if he finds out who reported him.
    Most likely nothing would result from it, good or bad.

personal experience of it back in January, car i was driving behind in a very rural area was all over the road, thought first he was sending a text then realised every time we met oncoming cars he would be heavy on the breaks.

Very little i could do and remain safe except to flash oncoming traffic to be alert.
    Rang the gardai and had them drive to meet me on route
    People like that have no regard for themselves or others. Zero tolerance.

CrankyHaus wrote: »

what trouble could it cause if he found out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,573 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

CrankyHaus wrote: »

Causing a world of trouble instead of a lifetime of pain and heartache if he accidentally killed someone while drink drinking , quite possibly even himself and/or his sons , would be the right thing to do .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

what trouble could it cause if he found out?

Mainly family trouble.
    The other kind is less likely but Guards look out for each other and I wouldn't feel totally comfortable telling them about an ex member breaking the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    It takes an hour to get the effect a half pint out of your system. 5 pints = 10 hours. You are definitely not safe to drive after 3 hours

How scientific.... i wouldn't be legal to drive. I would be safe to. I never have done or have had to do. As i live in the city. But i would be safe and sober enough.

Read it again. :rolleyes: How any pints have you processed so far? :D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Schorpio

The most damning part of all this is that OP walked back after refusing to get into the car. So, the distance is walkable but yet he still chooses to drive.

Schorpio wrote: »
    The most damning part of all this is that OP walked back after refusing to get into the car. So, the distance is walkable but yet he still chooses to drive.

It's about 5 km actually. Your point is still valid though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Sober enough isn't safe. You need to be sober to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭xabi

Doing no harm, until some one gets killed.

Or loses an eye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭xabi

A man that size who regularly drinks pints at a steady pace would have a good chance of passing a breathalyser test after 5 pints.

What size?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

No justication for driving home after a few beers. It's selfish, ignorant, dangerous, and illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

xabi wrote: »
    What size?

100kilo and 2 meters tall in the op