Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alison spittle culchie club

• 09-04-2018 8:41pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Whereisgalway

I’ve never see a show as awful, this is worse than republic of telly and naked camera combined, she’s very little talent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

I’ve never see a show as awful, this is worse than republic of telly and naked camera combined, she’s very little talent

The feckin size of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Well I got a great laugh out of it, when I hit info and seen her described as a comedian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Did she not have another show there recently or is this the same one?

Someone in RTE must like her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Did she not have another show there recently or is this the same one?

Someone in RTE must like her.

Yes she had her own sitcom on RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

A woman, overweight, speech impediment...
    Ticks a few boxes for a certain demographic. Anyone that doesn’t like her is probably a bigot or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Vivienne23

jesus tis bad now , im waiting for the handmaids tale no delay back to Claire Byrne !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,692 ✭✭✭✭siblers

I said it before but she must have the Ireland's greatest agent or knows someone high up in RTE because I have absolutley no idea how she gets any air time.

Must be filling some ****ty quota

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Even my Mrs commented that she is the ugliest yoke on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

No need for the personal insults lads.

She is not one bit funny though. Obviously knows some deep dark secrets about RTE bosses or something though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

meh its not the worst to be fair.... nice to see Irish people actually speaking in their own accents on TV then fecking 'blogger' 'twitter' speak..i think bogger speak is better lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Lord Glentoran

“Hello, this is Oisin”
    “And my name is Orla”
    “And we’re presenting a new programme for Or Tee EE”
    “Yes, we’re presenting Pickup in the Morket Bor!”

You’d enjoy that, you lot of gobsheens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

Seriously she must have some serious scandal on someone high up that gives her a feckin show. I have no desire to be on tv but my god I'd be ragin if I was a struggling comedian /writer and this ****e got commissioning ahead of me. I just don't get it. She's not even witty never mind funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,946 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Seriously she must have some serious scandal on someone high up that gives her a feckin show. I have no desire to be on tv but my god I'd be ragin if I was a struggling comedian /writer and this ****e got commissioning ahead of me. I just don't get it. She's not even witty never mind funny.

It’s a mystery. I suspect it’s because she is someone who hits various quotas. Female, from rural Ireland, not a d4 gym bunny. I imagine RTÉ have to be able to prove they support diversity etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

A woman, overweight, speech impediment...
    Ticks a few boxes for a certain demographic. Anyone that doesn’t like her is probably a bigot or something.

I'm a bigot or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It's repeated tomorrow night at 11.35 for anyone who missed the hour long show tonight. Afterwards "How To Get Away With Murder" is being shown on Irish tv for the first time, you can't beat a birra RTE scheduling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,872 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

That was painful... Also Kevin Mc Gahern is the most painfully unfunny comedian I have ever seen live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I saw her on Big Week On The Farm on RTÉ One earlier. That was more than enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Culchie Club was very poor, it's like they gave her a camera crew for a fortnight and told her to head outside the M50 and smack something together.

Sadly I foresee her being a common fixture on RTE, they've a habit of keeping on the same uninspiring faces out of laziness. She ticks the "quirky" box, I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I turned on RTE 2 around 10.15 to rewatch The Handmaid's Tale (a proper TV show) and came across the last 10 minutes or so of this Culchie Club thing. Was this meant to be a comedy or a documentary or a mockumentary/mock documentary? Whatever it was, it was poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

I don't get it either....awful. really awful as was her last venture into telly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I thought it was funny, but could have benefited from being maybe 30 or 40 minutes instead of a whole hour. I'm a fan of Alison Spittle's stand-up - but she's much better on stage than fronting a documentary. The comedian from Tralee (Shane Clifford) was very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

I remember her on the right hook. Less funny than your man, what's his face? The Meath chap with the Roy Keane beard. Terrible chap, not one bit funny.

Glad I don't watch rte

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I'm a fan of Alison Spittle's stand-up - but she's much better on stage than fronting a documentary.

Jaysus, the documentary but have been truly appalling then, because on-stage she's about as funny as a kick in the nuts. In fact I would have gladly taken the kick in the nuts if it meant she didn't get to finish her set. However I fear that the powers that be in Montrose will continue to give her shows due to her ticking quite a lot of boxes for them and there being a complete lack of anyone else around who ticks the same boxes but also manages to be funny as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Zaph wrote: »
    Jaysus, the documentary but have been truly appalling then, because on-stage she's about as funny as a kick in the nuts. In fact I would have gladly taken the kick in the nuts if it meant she didn't get to finish her set. However I fear that the powers that be in Montrose will continue to give her shows due to her ticking quite a lot of boxes for them and there being a complete lack of anyone else around who ticks the same boxes but also manages to be funny as well.

She's not for everyone, but I've seen her on stage a good few times and always found her very funny. Seems to attract a large crowd too, so I'm not the only one. RTE loves giving documentaries to the wrong people though, which usually results in a self-indulgent end-product, which this undoubtedly was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

She was shockingly bad on Newstalk with George Hook, and he was worse than her. Giggling like an adolescent at her "witticisms".
    I have a suspicion that since Dill Victim-singing is off the public airwaves, Spittle ticks about 4 diversity boxes.
    Brutal stuff altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

A black female refugee in a wheelchair with a speech impediment and glasses would be pure RTE gold. She could have Darcys jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,946 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

A black female refugee in a wheelchair with a speech impediment and glasses would be pure RTE gold. She could have Darcys jobs.

Only if she is gender fluid tho ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

As my mother said "Jaysus, it would be more on her line to go away and run around a field for a while" :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Ah, now I get it...
    She was a regular contributor to The Right Hook with George Hook on Newstalk

• Site Banned Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyyesno

She's not for everyone, but I've seen her on stage a good few times and always found her very funny. Seems to attract a large crowd too, so I'm not the only one. RTE loves giving documentaries to the wrong people though, which usually results in a self-indulgent end-product, which this undoubtedly was.

There have been funnier suicide bombings than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,491 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

I haven’t seen this culchie show pgm on RTÉ 2, but has anyone seen Majella O’Donnell presenting on tv3 at 6pm?? She is truly terrible on tv, why is she even on the tv?? Can tv3 not get somebody with either tv or radio presenting experience to do this job?? Or at least just get someone who is nice to look at instead of this old hag of a bog woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

No need for personal insults, but she's simply not cut out for comedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

She's just one of a long line of chronically unfunny members of her "generation" of Irish "comedians".

Herself and basically everyone else who ever featured on a facts YouTube channel are woefully untalented.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

It was neither funny nor inventitive nor informative, just another run of the “ah the Irish are gas, no understanding them” record which hoped to drum up a few cheap laughs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,872 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Noveight wrote: »
    It was neither funny nor inventitive nor informative, just another run of the “ah the Irish are gas, no understanding them” record which hoped to drum up a few cheap laughs.
    Dont forget she is a blow in....she didnt hence mentioning it every couple of minutes....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

gmisk wrote: »
    Dont forget she is a blow in....she didnt hence mentioning it every couple of minutes....

These Norf Londoners , coming here and clogging up our airwaves......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭neirbloom

I found it really condescending when she started interviewing that guy from Tralee methinks and it cuts to this idyllic scenery from the countryside outside and she asked the guy "so what do you really get from living out here".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Good grief. That was shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

lertsnim wrote: »
    Good grief. That was shocking.

I did well to get to 2 minutes. I actually felt a bit sorry for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Skullface McGubbin

siblers wrote: »
    I said it before but she must have the Ireland's greatest agent or knows someone high up in RTE because I have absolutley no idea how she gets any air time.

Must be filling some ****ty quota

Could be that, or the folks at RTE may just have abysmal tastes & low standards when it comes to comedy & entertainment in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I saw Pat Stacey in the Herald reviewed this. Not pretty reading for Alison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Well she's close runner up to Jason Byrne on the Unfunniest Irish Comedian ever thread. She could out pass him?.

2 horse race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I saw Pat Stacey in the Herald reviewed this. Not pretty reading for Alison.

Yes he gave her 1 star.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

Well she's close runner up to Jason Byrne on the Unfunniest Irish Comedian ever thread. She could out pass him?.

2 horse race.

If I wsn't banned from After Hours I'd vote Spittle, but Byrne is dreadful. Who are the audience for someone like her? Ar there people out there ho genuinely find her funny? I would say it's very close to an objective, observable fact that she is awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,872 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

I did well to get to 2 minutes. I actually felt a bit sorry for her.

I made it to 1 min 8 seconds, and had to stop when she started singing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I got about 2/3 mins in. It’s honestly like watching someone with an intellectual disability doing a show and tell about a singer they like. What the actual fcuk?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

It's not often I feel moved enough to state on social media how much I dislike someone but God they are both awful.
    I'm torn between feeling sorry for her and feeling disgusted that she is getting opportunities that people with real talent won't get.
    And this being RTE we will be stuck looking at her for a very long time:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I hear it all the time about many Irish comedians: there are many who say they are funny in other formats but their RTE shows are the worst and most unfunny ever. Someone said the PJ Gallagher is funny in formats outside RTE on the unfunniest ever comedians thread but his RTE shows are very poor. Same with the bit I saw of Alison Spittle's Culchie Club on Monday. It seems these RTE shows are ten a penny, the same format often just new faces. I think the makers of the programmes moreso than the comedian him or herself is the culprit for all this poor fare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Didn't find the title particularly appealing but decided to watch it on RTE Player, so I could skip through sections if they were too unwatchable - needless to say, did quite a lot of skipping!

It was truly awful. There was nothing clever or original about the show, there were no profound insights about rural life nor witty dialogue, just hackneyed stereotypes. Fair dues to her for getting a show and getting paid for that rubbish but I really hope she and RTE realise how awful it was and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Rayden Wide Self-confidence

Vita nova wrote: »
    Didn't find the title particularly appealing but decided to watch it on RTE Player, so I could skip through sections if they were too unwatchable - needless to say, did quite a lot of skipping!

It was truly awful. There was nothing clever or original about the show, there were no profound insights about rural life nor witty dialogue, just hackneyed stereotypes. Fair dues to her for getting a show and getting paid for that rubbish but I really hope she and RTE realise how awful it was and move on.

She’ll get something else as she’s with the in crowd in rte whether it’s shes related to someone in there or has evidence on someone high up doing something