Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To EV or not to EV....

• 05-04-2018 1:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭

To EV or not to EV....

Budget STG 10k cash
    Car size (how many kids) This will be the 2nd car used by me for commute. 4 kids, wife has seven seater
    What is your max daily travel distance Each way to work is 55km (110km/day)
    No option to charge at work

Nearrest charge point is 20min walk form office
    Is it motorway or N/L roads. N & L roads
    What long journeys do you do and how often. With work I would go to airport (Belfast) approx once/month (150km each way)
    Approx once/month go to customer site - could be anywhere in Ireland.

Do you have a driveway where you can plug the car in (on-street parking is usually a deal breaker for moving to EV right now). Have own drive and garage.

I'd really like an EV car but I've concerns if it would be right for me.

I've no option to charge at work (I've asked and there are no plans to install) plus I go to the airport approx once per month and as I leave home early to get there I do not want to be stopping along the way to charge up (I could on these days take the 7 seater but then the rest of the family 4 kids (6, 4, 2 & 0) and wife would all have to be able to fit inside the EV).

Would be really interested in hearing form real life users as everyone i work with thinks I'm mad to consider an EV.

Does anyone ever take the EV to airport? Is there a service where someone will note your flight details and ensure the car is fully charge for when you land or do you have to charge it yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,130 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

One word: Leaf.

Should fit 2 child seats and a booster cushion for your eldest in the back. GBP10k should get you a decent high spec late '15 car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭KCross

unkel wrote: »
    One word: Leaf.

Should fit 2 child seats and a booster cushion for your eldest in the back. GBP10k should get you a decent high spec late '15 car

It would need to be the 30kWh Leaf. The 24kWh will do his 110km daily commute but only just.... cold, wet , windy winter could be very tight indeed and he would be in a constant state of range anxiety.

And the 30kWh Leaf is outside his £10k budget. I think he needs to improve the budget or stick with ICE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭Orebro

I concur with KCross on this.

Non-motorway commute though so slow speeds and the 24kWh battery in a 2015 Leaf is strong and shouldn't have degraded much

On a very cold / wet / windy day, he could always take the ICE and let the wife have the Leaf

I respectfully disagree with you gents. A high spec 24kWh within his budget is a great choice for him

Non-motorway commute though so slow speeds and the 24kWh battery in a 2015 Leaf is strong and shouldn't have degraded much

On a very cold / wet / windy day, he could always take the ICE and let the wife have the Leaf

I respectfully disagree with you gents. A high spec 24kWh within his budget is a great choice for him

I have a 24kwh Leaf with 94% state of health. No way I’d recommend it to anyone that needs 110Km every day without charging - wouldn’t even recommend it during the summer, never mind the winter we’re having - just too close to the wire.

The max max you can get in a 24kWh is 130km(typically 110-120km). Any kind of spirited driving, even on N roads its going to be closer to 110km.... it really is just too tight.

A simple thing like having to do a detour due to roadworks and having to pop out to go somewhere during lunch hour or some unexpected head winds on the way home and he is on a flatbed.... so respectfully disagree if you wish, but its the wrong car for a daily 110km commute on the basis that he has no access to work charging, unless he wants to be in an ever ending cycle of range anxiety.

Well what can I do but defer to the experience of two experienced Leaf 24kWh owners?

I still find it hard to understand though. Yes for someone doing a commute (at low speeds) very near the EPA of their car and needs to rely on this as their only means of transport, then of course, it's not for them. But the EPA is 135km, so 110km is only 80% of EPA. And the driving speeds are perfect for an EV. Can it really not do that 90-95% of all days (so taking the ICE when there's really bad weather?)

I have my own car a year this week. It has an EPA of 200km. If I drove a mix of provincial roads averaging say 70-80km/h it would do the 80% or 160km every single day of the year, I would not have any doubt about that.

So the OP is covered for bad days and his commute in an EV will save him a fortune. Should he not at least give it a try in a test drive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

From what is known.
    Summer. Dry. Daylight. 128k
    Winter. Dark. Wet. 104k.
    Would a 24 leaf suit. Absolutely not.

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

If I were the OP and there was no way I could afford a longer range EV, I'd give it a go. At least test drive. The savings are huge and the rest of the family is fine with the Leaf if he takes the ICE. Even if that meant taking the ICE on most days from November - March.

I'd even throw in the prediction that the wife will want him to take the ICE to work every day :D

The savings would be huge and yes test drive it. Good advice.

But let me ask you this... if I asked you if the IONIQ was suitable on a 180km motorway commute, would you recommend it? That’s how tight you are cutting it with the op. You are down to the last 10km. The Leaf dash will be showing —- everyday when gets home.... scary stuff.

Playing with weather forecasts to decide which car to take each day is asking for trouble too, imo. .

I hear ya. Just a bit confused that you all reckon that even driven in a perfect commute on R and N roads, the Leaf won't get 80% of EPA comfortably unless the weather was good. That effectively means the EPA should be 110km, not 135km?
    KCross wrote: »
    But let me ask you this... if I asked you if the IONIQ was suitable on a 180km motorway commute, would you recommend it?

That's 90% of EPA (not 80%) and that's motorway driving (EV Achilles heel) not the perfect R and N road combo. So not a fair comparison. Yet, my answer would still be yes, if you stick to 100km/h and drive with a light foot, even a very cold day you should be able to get 180km in. And if you had an ICE backup it would be a no risk no brainer. Like I said an 80% EPA commute on a perfect route for EVs can be done in Ioniq every day of the year, I've no doubt.

110 Kms is tight , I've got 140 kms in Summer at slower speeds, under 100 Kph.

100 Kph should still do 100-110 Kms in a healthy 24 Kwh. But a 2011-2014 won't. That's got the older inferior battery tech and I would avoid.

a 5-10 min fast charge can make a big difference if you can but don't depend on it, public charging can be a pain in the hole.

My advice is to get a test drive this time of year where the weather should be a lot finer but is still sh1t and see what you think but don't go above 100 kph.

If you can't get a 2014 at least then wait. Avoid the older gen 2011-late 2013 2014 is a safe bet which is when the newer battery came online in the updated Leaf.

If you're route involves slower driving 60-80 Kph then this will make a big difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

As a 24kWh former owner, I had almost the same round truip as you and for a while no work charging.
    I would usually arrive home with "---" showing.
    It's possible. And it's possible in the depths of winter with preheating etc, but while I was able to do it, I wouldnt reccomend it to anyone!

The 30kWh leaf would manage the daily commute but you'd need at least one possibly two (depending on where they are located relative to your journey) fast charges on the longer trip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

If and I know its a big IF you move up budget you could try getting an eGolf 2015

The daily commute would be no issue. I get 120-140km even in the worst of winter with it no issue. In the summer that will increase. That is with pre-heat, heated seats on and giving a blast of heating from air con if required. I have done it with full air con on as well in snow

The 150km would be workable as well. The other eGolf I know does 150km-170km per day. On N roads. No idea how he does it, probably not driving like lunatic would be a start.

In regards to airport I use Quickpark, you need to buy premium service(few euro extra) but they take car, charge it and have ready when you return.

The longest journey I have done is just over 100km on motorway 90% of the way. I do this no problem....

If I had a 110Km round trip to do, I wouldn’t do it in the Leaf unless there was somewhere to grab a quick 5/10 min rapid charge somewhere on the journey. In all honesty, depending on how busy I was that day I’d probably just hop into the ICE and get it done. So try to do this every day like the OP is asking - not a hope! I don’t care what the EPA figures say, they can’t change real world experience.

Ah you can get 110 Kms alright at slower speeds, new battery and 100 Km/h should be possible but not in a 2011-2014 or up to the newer Gen with heat pump which excluded the XE spec.

Op needs a test drive and this is the ideal weather to do it. he can do one way and see what he gets by the time he gets to work if he feels the need to charge then a 5-10 min charge should get him home.

All I needed in Naas was 10 mins fast charge to get me 130 kms and I still got home with 10-20% depending how fast I drove.

Ah you can get 110 Kms alright at slower speeds, new battery and 100 Km/h should be possible but not in a 2011-2014 or up to the newer Gen with heat pump which excluded the XE spec.

Op needs a test drive and this is the ideal weather to do it. he can do one way and see what he gets by the time he gets to work if he feels the need to charge then a 5-10 min charge should get him home.

All I needed in Naas was 10 mins fast charge to get me 130 kms and I still got home with 10-20% depending how fast I drove.
    110km doable at indicated 90-95-100km/h in my Gen 1.5 on the motorway

This distance is so tight that if the OP got a call on the way home from work to collect a kid somewhere, pickup milk or any other short diversion then they’re screwed.

Ye’r leading the OP into a world of pain lads - not everyone is hard core EV!

Well it can be done, he knows the score but I highly advise he test drive one quickly before the weather gets milder ? haha as if , but anyway this weather is ideal for testing it.

I'm not hard core EV either, there are many trips I never drove the leaf.

Well it can be done, he knows the score but I highly advise he test drive one quickly before the weather gets milder ? haha as if , but anyway this weather is ideal for testing it.

I'm not hard core EV either, there are many trips I never drove the leaf.

Sure we know you're not hard core anymore, driving around with your Dino safety net and all :-)

Orebro wrote: »
    Sure we know you're not hard core anymore, driving around with your Dino safety net and all :-)
    Hybrid is as hybrid does :cool:

Amazing car and a good bit more range than a 24 kwh leaf too and I don't have to worry about charging at 35 kw or less if the battery is cold or waiting for some inconsiderate git that's left their leaf stuck to the charger and buggered off somewhere for an hour ;)

Mock me all ye want lads. ;)

That's 90% of EPA (not 80%) and that's motorway driving (EV Achilles heel) not the perfect R and N road combo. So not a fair comparison. Yet, my answer would still be yes, if you stick to 100km/h and drive with a light foot, even a very cold day you should be able to get 180km in. And if you had an ICE backup it would be a no risk no brainer. Like I said an 80% EPA commute on a perfect route for EVs can be done in Ioniq every day of the year, I've no doubt.

I think you missed the point of my question. What I was asking was, would you recommend the Ioniq for a 180km commute on the motorway (i.e. at 120km/h) knowing that there is at best 10km left in the tank at your destination?

I dont think you would recommend an EV that leaves someone with at best 10km in the tank and probably a lot less in winter. Its just too fine a margin. Its possible but not advisable.

The OP needs more budget (~€16k) or stick with ICE until the 30kWh Leaf comes down to his budget which will be another year or two away.

I hear ya. Just a bit confused that you all reckon that even driven in a perfect commute on R and N roads, the Leaf won't get 80% of EPA comfortably unless the weather was good. That effectively means the EPA should be 110km, not 135km?

Im surprised the EPA is 135km. It would be difficult enough to achieve that so I dont know how it managed it in an EPA cycle which I thought was supposed to be real world.

Anything above 100km in a 24kWh and you need to be taking a hard look at your Plan B charge stops.

If you are a die hard EV guy and willing to eek out the last few Watts then fair enough but the vast majority of people are not going to drive a 24kWh down to the last kWh on a daily basis. You will eventually end up on a flatbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

Amazing car and a good bit more range than a 24 kwh leaf too and I don't have to worry about charging at 35 kw or less if the battery is cold or waiting for some inconsiderate git that's left their leaf stuck to the charger and buggered off somewhere for an hour ;)

Mock me all ye want lads. ;)
    My wife doesnt have to worry about range or someone who buggered off with their car charging. But then,  she does drive a 06 Colt. Its got one more cylinder than yours though.

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

OP, I say if you have to ask you all ready know it not suiting you.

Some say it is possible, but in addition to their support, they will give you an ulcer with the stress of "can I get home?", every day.

What the OP should do is look at the full cost of keeping the ICE (inc fuel) vs upping the budget for a suitable EV.

He has a budget of £10k (~€11k)
    He is doing 30k km's per year commuting and airport runs.

I presume he has a diesel at present so lets assume a mid-price of €1.25/ltr, a typical 6l/100km(47mpg) and 30k km's = €2250

The same in an EV with 15kWh/100km would cost €315

So, you can adjust the efficiency figures up or down to suit but you are looking at roughly a €2k/year saving on fuel.

Add in cheaper tax and cheaper maintenance the savings will be even more.

So, then.... how about increasing the budget to €16k and get a 30kWh Leaf. The increased budget will be paid for in less than 3yrs and there will be a €2k saving per year after that!

He is actually ideally suited to EV because of the long commute.... just not a 24kWh Leaf!

Ok, actually went over your post again. You sound very similar to me. So what I have
    Galaxy diesel(hate it but it is great for space)
    eGolf which will soon have 4 seat Multimac installed.

The eGolf is used as work car and the Galaxy is used as family car. I maybe do a long work trip 1-2 times per month and I would take the Galaxy. Not a huge issue as we only have 3 kids but will probably end up with 4 in long term. So the eGolf would be an issue. I bought the Multimac and now that will resolve that issue.

So you could, go eGolf and use for the commute. I done 15k km this year and cost just under 200 quid in electricity. Then have 7 seater for long trips. Airport run. Buy a Multimac and stick into back of eGolf and 4 kids in no issue....

The other thing, if you have old diesel you could see about brand new eGolf, they will give you up to 5k off it. Then use the 10k as part deposit and put rest in bank. The fuel savings could make monthly repayments. plus the new model will do 220km+ no problem

The Leaf doesnt support Multimac and the battery in the 30kW has a few issues. I wouldn't invest in one unless I would getting very very cheap. The eGolf is also a beautiful car.

its just an idea....

Other option, you could look at Hyundai Ioniq, would do the job but no idea if multimac works in it?
    Hyundai Kona out soon, long range, similar price hopefully to eGolf but small in back....again no idea if Mulitmac works....might not need as range will suffice for long trips
    Kia Niro, larger to the Kona, no idea of release, long range again but will be bigger

Look at battery rental Zoe, they will be cheap as battery rental and has a long range on newer model. No idea of exact range. Might be option but you do have montly bill

What the OP should do is look at the full cost of keeping the ICE (inc fuel) vs upping the budget for a suitable EV.

He has a budget of £10k (~€11k)
    He is doing 30k km's per year commuting and airport runs.

I presume he has a diesel at present so lets assume a mid-price of €1.25/ltr, a typical 6l/100km(47mpg) and 30k km's = €2250

The same in an EV with 15kWh/100km would cost €315

So, you can adjust the efficiency figures up or down to suit but you are looking at roughly a €2k/year saving on fuel.

Add in cheaper tax and cheaper maintenance the savings will be even more.

So, then.... how about increasing the budget to €16k and get a 30kWh Leaf. The increased budget will be paid for in less than 3yrs and there will be a €2k saving per year after that!

He is actually ideally suited to EV because of the long commute.... just not a 24kWh Leaf!

Great post, except for the fact he is not replacing a car. It will be a second car,

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Ok, actually went over your post again. You sound very similar to me. So what I have
    Galaxy diesel(hate it but it is great for space)
    eGolf which will soon have 4 seat Multimac installed.

The eGolf is used as work car and the Galaxy is used as family car. I maybe do a long work trip 1-2 times per month and I would take the Galaxy. Not a huge issue as we only have 3 kids but will probably end up with 4 in long term. So the eGolf would be an issue. I bought the Multimac and now that will resolve that issue.

So you could, go eGolf and use for the commute. I done 15k km this year and cost just under 200 quid in electricity. Then have 7 seater for long trips. Airport run. Buy a Multimac and stick into back of eGolf and 4 kids in no issue....

The other thing, if you have old diesel you could see about brand new eGolf, they will give you up to 5k off it. Then use the 10k as part deposit and put rest in bank. The fuel savings could make monthly repayments. plus the new model will do 220km+ no problem

The Leaf doesnt support Multimac and the battery in the 30kW has a few issues. I wouldn't invest in one unless I would getting very very cheap. The eGolf is also a beautiful car.

its just an idea....

Where will he get EGolf for 10k? It will be a second car for him, and is his budget, not his deposit

No, and as per my post above it is an idea...

I also pointed out in original post to get second hand he would need to stretch budget

I do see a post of 16k for 30kW Leaf, add another 2k and you could get eGolf which would be a far better investment to a Leaf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭thierry14

3k a year savings is very good compared to ICE

But OP will need a 20k car to do his journey without range anxiety

Thats 6 years payback compared to say a 1.8l 3k Civic which will run with little maintenance too

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-civic-2008/18307975

Its not as black and white as it seems imo

Great post, except for the fact he is not replacing a car. It will be a second car,

Where does he say that?

He says it will be the 2nd car for his commute but doesnt say he doesnt already have a car. I presume he has two cars already unless he is leaving his wife with the kids and no car.... possible but I didnt read it that way.

EDIT: Even if he doesnt have two cars already, my post still stands.... he clearly has €11k ready to spend(either cash or trade-in). I'm saying up that to €16k and he will still be "up" money in under 3yrs.

thierry14 wrote: »
    3k a year savings is very good compared to ICE

But OP will need a 20k car to do his journey without range anxiety

Thats 6 years payback compared to say a 1.8l 3k Civic which will run with little maintenance too

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-civic-2008/18307975

Its not as black and white as it seems imo

Why €20k? Can be done for much less than that.
    Would be easy to pay back the difference in 3yrs.

Not sure why you posted a cheap 10yr old Civic.... its got 200k km's on it with €570 yearly tax... thats not going to be cheap fuel or cheap maintenance. The EV would be way better than that.

Why €20k? Can be done for much less than that.
    Would be easy to pay back the difference in 3yrs.

Not sure why you posted a cheap 10yr old Civic.... its got 200k km's on it with €570 yearly tax... thats not going to be cheap fuel or cheap maintenance. The EV would be way better than that.

Will need a 30kWh Leaf minimum and they are heading towards 20k

A 10 year old Civic will go for another 10 years, 200k km is nothing

When you drive 30k km a year depreciation is your biggest expense in newish cars

Civic will do 40mpg and won't need much maintenance, besides regular servicing and tyres/brakes/bushings etc that a Leaf will need too

Its 20k upfront for EV or 3k for reliable ICE

With 3k a year fuel/maintenance savings on EV

Good few years payback

When you drive 30k km a year depreciation is your biggest expense in newish cars

Civic will do 40mpg and won't need much maintenance, besides regular servicing and tyres/brakes/bushings etc that a Leaf will need too

Good few years payback

Not true.

mel.b is asking €18k for her one in another thread and thats a 6.6kW 162. You could get one for less than that if you go for 161 and plain white and 3.3kW charger. €20k is just incorrect... full stop.

And I dont see the point of throwing up a bangernomics car and saying thats a better bet. Everyone has their price point and budget. If he wanted bangernomics he'd be in the bangernomics thread. I dont really get your point at all.

He has said he has €11k to spend and "would love to have an EV". Why then suggest a 10yr old petrol car for a 110km commute!!!!!!!!

I also dont buy your argument that that car wont give him trouble. In 3yrs time that will have 300k km's on it and you think it will be running smoothly... I doubt it.

Sorry, I dont get your argument at all.

In any case, the point I'm making is that if he decides to buy an ICE for €11k (his budget, not yours!) that it would make more sense to add another €5k to it and buy a 30kWh Leaf... he will be quids in in 3yrs time. That is still factually correct as far as I can see.

Good few years payback

This Jeremy Clarkson type stuff about old Hondas and reliability etc is misleading people - no way are these things as trouble free as made out. Plus any car hitting this age is getting next to impossible to insure. I know, I had one!

Not true.

mel.b is asking €18k for her one in another thread and thats a 6.6kW 162. You could get one for less than that if you go for 161 and plain white and 3.3kW charger. €20k is just incorrect... full stop.

And I dont see the point of throwing up a bangernomics car and saying thats a better bet. Everyone has their price point and budget. If he wanted bangernomics he'd be in the bangernomics thread. I dont really get your point at all.

He has said he has €11k to spend and "would love to have an EV". Why then suggest a 10yr old petrol car for a 110km commute!!!!!!!!

I also dont buy your argument that that car wont give him trouble. In 3yrs time that will have 300k km's on it and you think it will be running smoothly... I doubt it.

Sorry, I dont get your argument at all.

In any case, the point I'm making is that if he decides to buy an ICE for €11k (his budget, not yours!) that it would make more sense to add another €5k to it and buy a 30kWh Leaf... he will be quids in in 3yrs time. That is still factually correct as far as I can see.

If OP has 18k of course buy a 30kWh Leaf, your maths versus a 11k ICE are correct, pay back will be 3 years

He will have to spend 18k

Personally I prefer to keep cash for other things and wouldnt spend big money on something basic to eat miles, would buy a reliable cheap yoke

Thats just me

If OP is spending 11k on ICE to eat miles, that makes no sense when an 18k EV will be cheaper long term

This Jeremy Clarkson type stuff about old Hondas and reliability etc is misleading people - no way are these things as trouble free as made out. Plus any car hitting this age is getting next to impossible to insure. I know, I had one!

We have always had old petrol Hondas or Toyotas in our family

No issues so far, 99 Yaris that we have 12 years still going strong and flying through Ncts

Its just those insurance bastards that will take it off the road

I dont even think a Leaf would go 20 years trouble free

Suspension/Brakes/Electronics, all alot more complicated

Will we see 2011 Leafs in 2031 driving fine with little to no maintenance like that 99 Yaris?

No issues so far, 99 Yaris that we have 12 years still going strong and flying through Ncts

Will we see 2011 Leafs in 2031 driving fine with little to no maintenance like that 99 Yaris?
    No but you might see 2008 Roadsters, 2012 Tesla Model S, and 2014-16 24kWh leaf.
    And possibly an Ioniq or two.

Electronics yes.

Suspension and brakes?? Whats more complicated about those in an EV.... the Leaf is standard enough in that regard AFAIK?

Probably not, tbf. But mainly because its Gen 1 battery tech, not because the car, drivetrain or electronics are failing. We have to accept that in the short term, to allow manufacturers invest in battery tech.

What is the average lifespan of an ICE car anyway? Your 99 Yaris is going well, I'm sure, but I dont see too many 99's on the roads. Isnt the average something between 10-15 years?

If OP has 18k of course buy a 30kWh Leaf, your maths versus a 11k ICE are correct, pay back will be 3 years

He will have to spend 18k

Personally I prefer to keep cash for other things and wouldnt spend big money on something basic to eat miles, would buy a reliable cheap yoke

Thats just me

If OP is spending 11k on ICE to eat miles, that makes no sense when an 18k EV will be cheaper long term

You must have multiple personalities...
    Personality 1 will only buy Tesla, everything else is sh*t
    Personality 2 will buy a Leaf 2
    Personality 3 will buy a Kona
    Personality 4 buys once and buys right
    Personality 5, my favorite, only buys "fast cars"
    Personality 6, this is the new one, buy an old heap of sh*t and keeps his money
    Personality 7, my least favorite, hates VW....I think a bit of Personality 7 is in all the other personalities....the issue with this is you drive a VW :D sorry not a VW, the cheap ass version of a VW:p

Wait till next week to see what Personality 8 will bring :p:p:p:p:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭water-man

Thanks to everyone who has replied. It was very interesting reading.

To try and clear a few things up:

1) I currently have a diesel car (08 1.6ltr) it's a great car but getting old now. Not sure what its worth.
    2) As you guys say 110km is tight I've doubled checked on google maps and it tells me 45km one way (pretty sure the clock on the car was closer to 55km but there you go) so overall 90km round trip. I do have to go to shops etc on way home the odd time too.
    3) Yes would prefer an EV instead of an old ICE.
    4) I can wait a few more months and see what the budget is like then. In the mean time I'll check out eGolf & multimac (never heard of this will need to google but assume its some kind of seat)
    5) someone did some sums and these are about right for my annual fuel costs and what I think I'd save. But i do not like loans thus I'm a cash buyer and whatever I'd get for the 08 diesel.

What are peoples experiences with Hybrid?

thanks again

water-man wrote: »
    2) As you guys say 110km is tight I've doubled checked on google maps and it tells me 45km one way (pretty sure the clock on the car was closer to 55km but there you go) so overall 90km round trip. I do have to go to shops etc on way home the odd time too.

Now, that changes things. Thats do-able in a 24kWh Leaf all year round on N roads and also within your £10k budget.
    You would have to swap cars for your airport run though unless you were willing to rapid charge on the way and on the way back.... just do a car swap for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,907 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/100-ELECTRIC-VW-MICROBUS-CLASSIC-RHD-CAMPER-TYPE-2-EV-VOLKSWAGEN/263366992201?hash=item3d51e56149:g:UNAAAOSwzppaJoYS

Nice EV
    Would be cool for going to the beach with some bikini clad girls while wife takes care of kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

OP, try a 24kw Leaf. If it doesn't work, sell it again, you'll get almost all your money back as the older ones have virtually stopped depreciating.

I regularly do an 82km trip in our 24kw Leaf. Going there I use 65% of battery and returning I use 55%. The 10% difference is purely down to gradient.

Owner of a 2004 Civic IMA with 144k miles on the clock. Hasn't missed a beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭peposhi

OP, the 24kwh will do you then...

I have a different option for you though:

Slap that 10g as a deposit and get 6-8k credit. This buys you 161 30KWh Leaf - straight deal. The savings you’d be making over 3 years will pay off your loan. In 3 years time you have a car that’s still well able to cover your daily routine...

How does that sound?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭peposhi

Don’t buy hybrid. You’d delude yourself in making savings. Buy an EV.
    Or an i3 REX (Mad_Laaaaaad.... where are you :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Went to see “ready player one” the other night....it was shoite :Pand they had loads of Twizzys and Gen1 Leafs floating about. Funny to see.

Also why does every yaris have a dinged up rear bumper? Ffs they are tiny and people still manage to reverse into things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

peposhi wrote: »
    Don’t buy hybrid. You’d delude yourself in making savings. Buy an EV.
    Or an i3 REX (Mad_Laaaaaad.... where are you :) )

+1. most TCOs on hybrids are very poor