Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

R.I.P.Rap music

• 27-03-2018 5:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭

Is hip hop dead? Mainstream rap seems to have sold out with the likes of Jay-z and Dr. Dre shilling their overpriced gaudy wares to idiots whove never been in the game, while the in charts we have total wusses claiming to be rappers :rolleyes:, they probably don't know what a hoe is for never mind putting a few 'caps in an ass.

"If hip hop should die before I wake
    I'll put an extended clip inside of my AK
    Roll to every station, murder the DJ
    Roll to every station, murder the DJ"
    -Nas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

We need more homophobic scum bags to make it real again. There hasn't been a proper street artist since Vanilla ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭tastyt

It is.

And if you don't know, now you know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It was good for five minutes before it became about hoe,s and bling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Eazy-E died 23 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,615 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Imagine the hashtags that would exist nowadays :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,301 ✭✭✭✭banie01

West coast 4 life!
    Aiii ight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Don't know if it's dead but I've often wondered if this is where it was born!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

R.I.P. Rap

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

1. Look for the good stuff.
    2. Wait until Trap blows over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I love that man dressed up as a chicken who raps.

R.I.P. DJ GoodFriday and MC Moan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

It's been dead since the Sugarhill Gang split.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Hip Hop died a very long time ago. This, THIS, is actually considered music today.

This is honestly one of the worst things I've ever heard.

Tune.

Hell Yeah, turn it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Danny Donut

One can only hope.

#Letsgobacktopropermusic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

It died at the end of the nineties,as a teenager at that time I couldn't believe the Hip-hop that was coming out of the US,every Saturday I'd sit in recording tunes on tape cassettes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Still one of my favs from back in the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,818 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Post Malone is where it's at.

Not letters or packages or anything post related, that's just his first name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Relikk

Rap was dead to me the moment people started declaring that 2Pac and Biggie Smalls were the greatest ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Is hip hop dead? Mainstream rap seems to have sold out with the likes of Jay-z and Dr. Dre shilling their overpriced gaudy wares to idiots whove never been in the game, while the in charts we have total wusses claiming to be rappers :rolleyes:, they probably don't know what a hoe is for never mind putting a few 'caps in an ass.

"If hip hop should die before I wake
    I'll put an extended clip inside of my AK
    Roll to every station, murder the DJ
    Roll to every station, murder the DJ"
    -Nas

How long you been in the game fam/blood!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

I miss when people rapped about something other than how great they are. There's room for that but its constant now and not even done well.

Blah blah I have lots of money ( even though you've never heard of me before) I am hard as nails ( which is why I need bodyguards) and all the women want me ( so I pay for models to appear in my videos)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

I'm a strong believer in the whole practice of practice what you preach idea. I'm surprised nobody mentioned the late and great Wu Tang clan anchorman Old Dirty Bastard yet. Millions in the bank, nice gaf, the whole shebang. Bored one afternoon, he decided to entertain himself by smoking a big rock of betty black. While under the influence, he decided to go stroking despite the fact he was a multi millionaire with easy cash on tap. He got caught though, stroking a pair of runners out of some shop, and died not too long afterwards of 'natural causes' at the ripe old age of 36. Mad c*nt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,647 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

Tupac was the greatest ever.... no other rapper had the emotional resonance as him.... he elevated the genre

somefeen wrote: »
    I miss when people rapped about something other than how great they are.

I'm a broke motherfka
    never shot nobody
    Police aint all bad
    weed gimme migraine

Grayditch wrote: »
    I'm a broke motherfka
    never shot nobody
    Police aint all bad
    weed gimme migraine

You have a future in the chap-hop genre.

hikuvvlz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Hip Hop died a very long time ago. This, THIS, is actually considered music today.

This is honestly one of the worst things I've ever heard.

Lying on a bed of money surrounded by half naked women.

Seriously, how has he not been murdered by lefty feminists yet?

Oh wait...

somefeen wrote: »
    I miss when people rapped about something other than how great they are. There's room for that but its constant now and not even done well.

Blah blah I have lots of money ( even though you've never heard of me before) I am hard as nails ( which is why I need bodyguards) and all the women want me ( so I pay for models to appear in my videos)

Yeah I be on the same wave as yourself there. Ever listen to 'Quasimoto' - 'The Unseen' LP done by Madlib? I'd say you'd like it if you haven't heard it already. great beats and tracks and lyrics do not take themselves serious at all. Great album

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

frag420 wrote: »
    How long you been in the game fam/blood!?

All in the game, yo!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

All in the game, yo!:rolleyes:

Bitch please....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,284 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

I ain't eva gonna stop rhyming
    Till my bank accounts climbing
    when I own all the streets
    Then I be resting my feet
    You ain't get nothing for free
    But that's too hard for these suckas to see
    They all think I'm down but they ain't gonna stop me
    I'll kill all these hoods
    Bury them under six feet of mud
    I'm sick of all their lying
    It's time these fools be dying.

buried wrote: »
    Yeah I be on the same wave as yourself there. Ever listen to 'Quasimoto' - 'The Unseen' LP done by Madlib? I'd say you'd like it if you haven't heard it already. great beats and tracks and lyrics do not take themselves serious at all. Great album

Sounds right up my street. I'll check it out, thanks for recommendation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

hikuvvlz

To be fair, you make an excellent point :p

hikuvvlz

278vwa.jpg

Danny Brown is another good modern Rap artist to check out. Will pull the p!ss out of the violent, money mad, drug addled scene and also himself. Really good stuff. Seen him last year twice in Dublin, was brilliant shows, will def go see this guy again. Great party albums.

frag420 wrote: »
    Bitch please....:rolleyes:

"...You must have a mental disease,"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭beefburrito

I go way back to the 80's with my hip-hop and rap music.

Back to the time of the Roxy in Newyork, the Club's in Venice LA.

Then I progressed into deep house music.

To get a taste of old school rap check out the movie Beat Street

I heard something there the other day, I dunno is it that trap craic..not really sure what trap is..but it sounded like some black emo kid trying to emotionally blackmail some bird..made me nostalgic for a time when they rapped about guns and cars..

Ahh man 'Runnin', such a great f**king track. Do you listen to any 'J Dilla' ForForksSake? The 'Donuts' LP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Rap died with Snow's Informer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

Lorelli! wrote: »
    Don't know if it's dead but I've often wondered if this is where it was born!

"It's Alright, Ma (I'm Only Bleeding)" is another good example of early rap:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

Still some good hip hop talent emerging but then you hear stuff from Tekashi 69 and I'm like I know I'm getting older but what's with the kids today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

About 6 years ago, after Kendrick's first two albums and ASAP emerged, I thought hip-hop was about to get seriously good again.That kind of fizzled out.

As Buried mentioned Madlib it would be remiss to leave this out, such a classic album:

The documentary about the label behind it, Stone's Throw Records, is also well worth a watch: