Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

R.I.P. Good Friday threads

• 27-03-2018 5:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭

It's that time of year again when the annual complaining of not being able to purchase alcohol on Good Friday usually took place..... alas no more.

Another tradition lost forever.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Apparently not.

I welcome Paddys Day Volume 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

When I first saw the thread title I thought it was an RIP thread for, you know Jesus.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Now some people will just whine about the fact that their local is closing on GF even though it doesn't have to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

And you have facebook posts about people drinking on good Friday to look forward to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Road-Hog

Pathetic reflection on a large section of society that there was such a focus on this.....could never understand the obsession. Only positive will be the lack of over weight people in queues with their trolleys loads of cans/wine etc in the supermarket around 9pm on Thursday evening

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 300 ✭✭garbo speaks

At my local, it's not gonna be a Good Friday...it's gonna be a Great Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Road-Hog

It’s st Patrick’s Day. This ‘paddys’ day sh1te is very irritating......no such thing as ‘Georgie’s day in England, Andy’s day in Scotland of davey’s day in wales...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,597 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

how about we move on to whether you can get meat on the menu in all resturants or the stigma of having a ham sandwitch on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Now you'll have a slew of threads being started by posters langers in the pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

At my local, it's not gonna be a Good Friday...it's gonna be a Great Friday.

I cringe every time someone says it. Just sounds so contrived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

jmayo wrote: »
    When I first saw the thread title I thought it was an RIP thread for, you know Jesus.

It was a shit Friday for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Road-Hog wrote: »
    It’s st Patrick’s Day. This ‘paddys’ day sh1te is very irritating......no such thing as ‘Georgie’s day in England, Andy’s day in Scotland of davey’s day in wales...?

Ah..... you mean St Pattys Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

It was a shit Friday for him.

He might be kinda pissed how it got named

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Blud

The sh1te of having to compare everything to what they do in the UK is irritating.

It's Paddys Day. Embrace it.

Your feedback is valuable to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Patww79 wrote: »

Well Ireland does have a problem with drink, Good Friday or not. Go into any A&E or town centre in the country on any given Thursday, Friday or Sat night and you can see that.
    Now some people will just whine about the fact that their local is closing on GF even though it doesn't have to.

The pub nearest to me is not opening until 5pm and one of my neighbours is not happy about. Got cornered in Tesco earlier by her and had to listen to her whinge about it. Reckons they should stay closed if they are going to leave it that late.

Pathetic reflection on a large section of society that there was such a focus on this.....could never understand the obsession. Only positive will be the lack of over weight people in queues with their trolleys loads of cans/wine etc in the supermarket around 9pm on Thursday evening

I would say the off licenses are p*ssed.
    The volume of drink they sold on the Thursday was huge.
    It was like prohibition was about to come in and yet it was one freaking day.

I can slowly but surely seeing the move to making Good Friday just a normal work day.
    It has already happened for a huge chunk of people, it is only the unions who are preventing it in other places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

They will rise again on Monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Back to complaining about the price of drink in pubs, and how they do all their boozing at
    home anyway. It was a grand old tradition for those who wished to observe it, and the boozing on the Thursday evening was top class. As were the house parties if you believe the media. Now it’s just another Friday.

Blud wrote: »
    The sh1te of having to compare everything to what they do in the UK is irritating.

It's Paddys Day. Embrace it.

It's Paddy's Day in the UK. If you wanted to move away from the UK angle, go for the American 'St. Patty's' option. I use that myself but if people want to stick with our version instead, I am more than happy to stick with Paddy's Day.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Its a real dissappintment. The good friday parties used to really bring people together though a spirit of togetherness. Now there will be a load of people wining about its absinthe. I suppose its a boon to the aleing pub trade, some of whom are a whiskey away from closing. But I feel that its a very important day for many people, a sort of givey, sherry kinda day when those with cans help those without. Whether youre a north cider or a south cider we could all enjoy it. I hope this brings clarety to the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Now you'll have a slew of threads being started by posters langers in the pub

Nothing new there, then...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I've mostly just heard people complaining about how all the craic at the house parties won't be the same :pac:

Years and years of "We should be allowed to go to the pub on Good Friday!"

Then: "OK, jesus, ye can go to the pub"

And: "You ruined it" :(:mad:

There's no pleasing people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Celticfire

how about we move on to whether you can get meat on the menu in all resturants or the stigma of having a ham sandwitch on the day.

Give it another 2000 years or so.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

hopefully there will be entainment for the kids because im getting sh1tfaced

Who exactly is 'Ireland' then? Because I'm from here and I don't have any problem, nor do 99% of the people I know. And guess what? They're from here too.

You're talking absolute manure like many before you and that many will after you with the same thinking.[/QUOTE]

Ah jaysus if you don't think we have issues around drink then I reckon you are a bit deluded or have a drink problem yourself.

Last summer I remember coming across a village festival in Italy.
    It was medieval stuff with guys dressed up as knights doing sword fights and the like.
    There was then an acrobat fire eater guy doing a show in a village square later in the evening.
    It was all very family oriented, even at 10pm.
    I then thought of some Irish village and town festivals and just did a comparison in my head.
    Yes there were people sitting outside having meals and drinking wine, but there was not one sign of anyone sh**faced.
    Not one sign of anyone who had been on the sauce for most of the day or evening and now was wandering around locked out of their head.

Have a talk to people who have to work in A&E or emergency services about what they run into at weekends.

Ireland, the RoI, has the second highest rate of binge drinking in the world. Have some of that manure. Do I need to say anything more on the subject or are you going to continue to debate that there is no drinking problem? The fact that the level of binge drinking is so high here makes it difficult for people to recognise it as harmful behaviour, as drinking to excess has been effectively normalised here. You are a perfect example of that.

What is the logic behind that and why meat? Why do they not fast completely, instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Celticfire

Berserker wrote: »
    Ireland, the RoI, has the second highest rate of binge drinking in the world. Have some of that manure. Do I need to say anything more on the subject or are you going to continue to debate that there is no drinking problem? The fact that the level of binge drinking is so high here makes it difficult for people to recognise it as harmful behaviour, as drinking to excess has been effectively normalised here. You are a perfect example of that.

Second :eek::eek: Thank God for this extra day of drinking. Hopefully it will get us to where we belong ..... First.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Its a real dissappintment. The good friday parties used to really bring people together though a spirit of togetherness. Now there will be a load of people wining about its absinthe. I suppose its a boon to the aleing pub trade, some of whom are a whiskey away from closing. But I feel that its a very important day for many people, a sort of givey, sherry kinda day when those with cans help those without. Whether youre a north cider or a south cider we could all enjoy it. I hope this brings clarety to the situation.

It does. They can get the dram home after all the festivities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,979 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

jmayo wrote: »
    I would say the off licenses are p*ssed.
    The volume of drink they sold on the Thursday was huge.
    It was like prohibition was about to come in and yet it was one freaking day.

It's disgraceful Joe.
    Now I don't have an excuse for stocking up as if prohibition was about to come in...

I haven't ticked every item on the list yet!
    http://www.kingcocktail.com/homebar.htm

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Have we had an Easter Lily thread this year yet?

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

The second coming of Paddy's day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Vicxas wrote: »
    The second coming of Paddy's day!

Nah, people still have to go to work. It's a normal Friday for those who have to.
    I'm out of the country for the weekend anyway so I'll be having pints on Friday regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

At least we still have our annual Poppy thread every November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

There will still be plenty of Good Friday threads. "it's a bank holiday but my boss wants me to work", "it's a bank holiday so why don't I get double time", "it's a bank holiday, my job won't be open but my boss says that I have to take it as a days holiday"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

Celticfire wrote: »
    It's that time of year again when the annual complaining of not being able to purchase alcohol on Good Friday usually took place..... alas no more.

Another tradition lost forever.......

Great news :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Friday threads haven't been good for ages...

To Arthur!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭cbreeze

Now all we have to wait for is the pubs open on Christmas Day, like everywhere else in the world!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Who exactly is 'Ireland' then? Because I'm from here and I don't have any problem, nor do 99% of the people I know. And guess what? They're from here too.

You're talking absolute manure like many before you and that many will after you with the same thinking.

Your friends down the pub, yeh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

cbreeze wrote: »
    Now all we have to wait for is the pubs open on Christmas Day, like everywhere else in the world!:D

And down the country