Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions on this Saab

• 27-03-2018 2:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

The Aero is a lovely model IMO had a 93 vector TDI before and loved driving it. No mention of history would be a concern, timing belt etc. I'd say it's a UK car originally based on the reg so do a full history check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Don't those petrol Saabs suffer from oil sludge problems?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

bazz26 wrote: »
    Don't those petrol Saabs suffer from oil sludge problems?
    '99 - '02 do. '06 will be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭passatman86

They are a stylish looking car. I would like to feel how the 210bhp is delivered cause that figure is impressive. A lot of car for €1.5k.. I saw a lovely black convertible on d/d in dublin last summer and it was so tempting. Test drive would answer your question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I had one very much like it, fantastic seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Had a 93 Vector TiD... Easily my favorite car ever

They are a stylish looking car. I would like to feel how the 210bhp is delivered cause that figure is impressive. A lot of car for €1.5k.. I saw a lovely black convertible on d/d in dublin last summer and it was so tempting. Test drive would answer your question

I have an 05 Arc. The power is delivered very subtly. I’d describe it as ‘undercover arsehole’, meaning you can drive it like a stereotypical Audi driver would, but nobody expects you to because the car looks quite innocuous.

There is a push in the back when you put the foot down. Works best where it’s most useful though. Not a ‘tearing away from the lights’ car. More a ‘overtake in no time at all’ machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭XsApollo

I had an 05 vector tdi and then moved to an 06 Aero with the facelifted interior.
    My favourite car ever, sold it about 5 years ago to a m8 in work as he kept upping the offers for it and eventually convinced me .
    I still regret it.
    Had only 39kms on it when I bought it too and was mint.
    Lovely cars, for the money they are a bargain.

Also, there is a hatch door behind the rear armrests that opens into the boot.

So you can pack your skis, like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Well wear with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

endacl wrote: »

Always wondered what that was for :)

Well wear.

Useful forum: http://www.saabscene.com/

lawred2 wrote: »
    Always wondered what that was for :)

Also very handy in ikea when buying ‘long yokes’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

Bought a Saab 9-3 last week myself. Its the 2.0t so only 175bhp. Got it for €1200. Cracking car for that amount of money.
    Well wear with yours.

Jaysus. We've enough on this thread to start a club. The Saaboteurs? The Saabages? Saabonauts? Anybody an architect? Or a professor? We've a stereotype to smash too!

After reading this I want to another aero,
    They are like hens teeth now tho.
    Looked on piston heads and there is a nice 07 with 75k miles ,the facelift interior with Sat Nav.
    2450 sterling, 680euro VRT.
    Colour is crap tho, dark Navy.

Price is a bit steep, maybe get a few hundred quid off.
    I might put my A6 up on done deal for a couple of weeks and see if there are any takers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭RINO87

Jaysus. We've enough on this thread to start a club. The Saaboteurs? The Saabages? Saabonauts? Anybody an architect? Or a professor? We've a stereotype to smash too!

As of today I can join the club!!

RINO87 wrote: »

Do tell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

My 98 Astra G got one of those.

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    My 98 Astra G got one of those.

Astra? Not for skis then. Probably for transporting a spade from the allotment.

:p

XsApollo wrote: »
    After reading this I want to another aero,
    They are like hens teeth now tho.
    Looked on piston heads and there is a nice 07 with 75k miles ,the facelift interior with Sat Nav.
    2450 sterling, 680euro VRT.
    Colour is crap tho, dark Navy.

Price is a bit steep, maybe get a few hundred quid off.
    I might put my A6 up on done deal for a couple of weeks and see if there are any takers.

Well I’m joining the club again too :-D
    Agreed a price of 2075 sterling and picking the car up Saturday.

RINO87 wrote: »

Its an oil burner so dont know how that will go with the folks here!

9-3x TTID 180. Only been driving since last Thursday as I needed my old car insured til then. Its a peach!

My new bus.

looks lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Sky man

There is a 2013 Saab 9-3 for sale on done deal. I didn’t think they were made in 2013 what do you think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

Smashing colour. Wheels look great. Well wear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

I was interested in a Saab originally but my mechanic said parts would be hard to come by since the car was discontinued. Is he talking nonsense? I'd be interested in 9-3 petrols from 07-09

Basically a Vauxhall underneath. So he'd be talking bollocks imo.

ewj1978 wrote: »
    Basically a Vauxhall underneath. So he'd be talking bollocks imo.

Thanks. Just put a deposit down this afternoon on an '07 Linear 1.8 petrol. Not as exciting as the Aero but it's enough for me.

One previous owner but the service book was missing a few entries. I rang the guy who did the servicing and he's sure he can fill in the gaps so waiting on an email from him later before closing the sale. Inquired about the timing belt when I was talking to him as it was not checked in the book but marked under the bonnet as being done. (It's due in any event so it's going to get done again). He echoed what you've just said. "Yes it's a straightforward job. It's just an Opel kit".

I enjoyed the test drive anyway and it's an upgrade from what I'm used to. So I really hope he can confirm the details I'm looking for.

I got a surprisingly low quote for insurance for the reg number too.

A 07 car with a full service history? Nice!
    What did it cost you?

ewj1978 wrote: »
    A 07 car with a full service history? Nice!
    What did it cost you?

Just over 100k mile, for 1,300. NCT'd till next September.

To clarify, it was a demo model, then one owner for 9 years who serviced it religiously.

The mechanic passed on the service history to me by email last night. A full breakdown of itemised bills including details of items the owner wanted him to look at and how he addressed them. Much more than I expected.

I'd be happy to give him a plug simply based on that and the fact he was a gentleman on the phone, if anyone wants to PM. He's based in Dublin 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Iodine1

Sky man wrote: »
    There is a 2013 Saab 9-3 for sale on done deal. I didn’t think they were made in 2013 what do you think.

Saab closed in mid 2011, some cars hung around in garages until 2012, but 2013?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Zurbaran

Saab’s are great value for what you get. The sister had a 9-3 around 10 years ago, think it was a 03/04. Was nice and comfortable with a bit of poke. unfortunately it was also a write off as she bought from a dodgy dealer.

I was considering buying the op’s car but it wasn’t to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

I have a 09 linear , love it, lovely screen on the dash with DVD player, gps etc, a lot of car for little money

Just over 100k mile, for 1,300. NCT'd till next September.

To clarify, it was a demo model, then one owner for 9 years who serviced it religiously.

The mechanic passed on the service history to me by email last night. A full breakdown of itemised bills including details of items the owner wanted him to look at and how he addressed them. Much more than I expected.

I'd be happy to give him a plug simply based on that and the fact he was a gentleman on the phone, if anyone wants to PM. He's based in Dublin 12.

Throw a PM my way, as I might need some work done on my 9-3 in the near future.

Picked the car up at the weekend. Assuming my mechanic won't be as much help with getting parts, where's the best place for sourcing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

Picked the car up at the weekend. Assuming my mechanic won't be as much help with getting parts, where's the best place for sourcing?

you wont have trouble getting any parts in the motor factors really

As above most running gear is GM. Serviceable parts etc are all easily got from a motor factors. For bodywork/electrics/interior etc there's a crowd up on Donegal with a TON of Saab stuff. https://www.facebook.com/Saabsparesireland/
    Best of luck with the motor, I got one myself a few moths back. Some "interesting" moments, but for the most part its been a peach. Eats up the miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭zweton

Folks, on the lookout for a new car myself and liking the Saab alot.

What are thoughts on one below? Is this a good model? I think it looks lovely. Any faults you can see with it? Are they generally reliable?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-9-3-aero-180bhp-twin-turbo-just-tested/19828886

zweton wrote: »
    Folks, on the lookout for a new car myself and liking the Saab alot.

What are thoughts on one below? Is this a good model? I think it looks lovely. Any faults you can see with it? Are they generally reliable?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-9-3-aero-180bhp-twin-turbo-just-tested/19828886

Nice ,but €4500, not sure but i suppose its got the cheaper tax on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭zweton

390 road tax according to add, are they ok in diesel?

zweton wrote: »
    390 road tax according to add, are they ok in diesel?

Properly better then my 08 1.6 petrol Zafira which cost €514 to tax.