Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Diesels, diesels everywhere but not a car to drive

• 26-03-2018 7:59pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15

So I'm looking at getting a new car.

I go onto some of the larger car dealer websites and I can easily filter down to petrol cars using the search tool.

However, when I go onto the websites of some of the local smaller and family run car dealership websites, some of them don't have the filter to weed out diesels. I look at the car specs and start grinning, she's a beaut .. only to notice ...... it's a diesel.

I go to the forecourt to have a real look at some cars and lo, most are diesel. Some of the cars which don't have the information card displayed for one reason or another, I get in, have a feel around the car and tart liking it ... I use mywheels.ie to check the registration .. and lo ... another diesel.

Why is our market saturated with tractor engine shyte ? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Dregro wrote: »
    Why is our market saturated with tractor engine shyte ? :(

Cheap tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭nsi423

I know your pain! Very few petrols to choose from. I ended up buying an electric car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Go up North or to the UK and your u can have your pick of make model spec and colour in any petrol car you desire.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 Dregro

Go up North or to the UK and your u can have your pick of make model spec and colour in any petrol car you desire.

Three letters my friend:
    V
    R
    T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Eh, you pay VRT on any car you buy.

Out of interest what petrol cars were you interested in buying until you found out they were all diesel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Cheap tax.

Not the only reason though is it? After all, go electric if you want cheap tax and even cheaper fuel, as well as a host of rebates and grants...

Reasons for so many diesels?
    Cheap tax
    Fuel economy
    Lies about diesel being a greener fuel, pushed not only in Ireland but all over Europe.

Most of the diesels you see on the forecourts of smaller dealers are imports from the UK...

When people stop buying diesels, add they are now beginning to, the imports well stop.

Some people have legitimate use for diesel cars, most don't.

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Not the only reason though is it? After all, go electric if you want cheap tax and even cheaper fuel, as well as a host of rebates and grants...

Reasons for so many diesels?
    Cheap tax
    Fuel economy
    Lies about diesel being a greener fuel, pushed not only in Ireland but all over Europe.

Most of the diesels you see on the forecourts of smaller dealers are imports from the UK...

When people stop buying diesels, add they are now beginning to, the imports well stop.

Some people have legitimate use for diesel cars, most don't.

My parents bought me a diesel eco-box car for my 21st birthday, around that time my commute to / from work was 100 km on motorways each way. I was very grateful for it. I'm 27 now and still driving that car. I'd like a petrol now. I only commute 38 km each way to work, mostly on 60 km/h roads.

I'm also considering an automatic. Although some of my work colleagues have mocked me for wanting an auto. I drive through a lot of stop / start traffic. Cycling / public transport ain't an option for me due to where I live and distance from work.

Nobody is criticizing your choice of car but going by the opening rant about diesels being everywhere I thought you were looking for a Mustang or BMW M4.

And you don't need to check mywheels to see if a car your sitting in is diesel or not, just start it up.

I must say though that this thread has a very familiar theme to it and my spidey senses are tingling. I'd say this is not your first time on here despite the new account. ;)

bazz26 wrote: »
    Nobody is criticizing your choice of car but going by the opening rant about diesels being everywhere I thought you were looking for a Mustang or BMW M4.

And you don't need to check mywheels to see if a car your sitting in is diesel or not, just start it up.

I must say though that this thread has a very familiar theme to it and my spidey senses are tingling.

Sorry bud, hope I didn't seem hostile :) I know that everyone here has petrol in their veins so I look like an amateur talking about cars :P

I wouldn't have the keys when I'm sitting in it. I don't like to bring the salesperson over f I'm just browsing. Everyone knows the sound of a diesel versus petrol.

I've been told to stay a million miles from hybrid. Any truth to that advice?

Hybrids are grand IMO. If an auto is your preference the Toyota hybrid would be ideal for you.... decade + of experience & reviews. Relatively trouble free.

Augeo wrote: »
    Hybrids are grand IMO. If an auto is your preference the Toyota hybrid would be ideal for you.... decade + of experience & reviews. Relatively trouble free.

I had my eye on a Toyota Auris. Automatic, hybrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 nextcarC5

Just go on to any car website carzone, carsireland, donedeal and the likes and filter by petrol and whatever else tickles your fancy?

Sure diesels have been the norm since 08 but there are still petrol cars if you look properly xD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Or any of the Lexus range.

If you do an advanced search on any car sales site you can filter by petrol etc

nextcarC5 wrote: »
    Just go on to any car website carzone, carsireland, donedeal and the likes and filter by petrol and whatever else tickles your fancy?

Sure diesels have been the norm since 08 but there are still petrol cars if you look properly xD
    ba_barabus wrote: »

If you read my OP, you'll see that I acknowledged that. I said that some of the websites operated by smaller family-run dealers don't offer that service on their website.

Would ya not just use carzone.ie ?

If you read my OP, you'll see that I acknowledged that. I said that some of the websites operated by smaller family-run dealers don't offer that service on their website.

I spotted that but most of those places are on a website such as carsireland or donedeal and can be filtered down. I don't know of any garage that isn't but not saying they all are.

Can you show us an example of what you're talking about

Fair enough, that's my bad - Apologies.

Next question is why you are going on to these if they're usually listed on the big ones anyways? :p:p

Would a nice 166 or 5 series etc not tickle your fancy?

nextcarC5 wrote: »

Would ya not just use carzone.ie ?

Jesus weeps bitter tears.

What are you hoping for with this thread?

Mom & Dod not paying for this one ?

OP is banned lads, my spidey senses were correct.

Who was it?

Looks like the serial troll who appears here regularly under new accounts trying to stir a bit of controversy. Usually the threads have a very similar theme and style about them which he just ain't good at hiding. :D

Hmmmm nextcarC5is a new account too..... maybe I'm the same person MUHAHAHAHAHA.

(I'm actually not though, please don't ban me :D:D)
    Looks like the serial troll who appears here regularly under new accounts trying to stir a bit of controversy. Usually the threads have a very similar theme and style about them which he just ain't good at hiding. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Have to say I don't see much trolling here compared some of the other forum boards here, like after hours for instance.

This thread is a parody of itself as there's actually plenty of petrols being sold new in larger cars now again and there are plenty of choices available from the UK for a good petrol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Why does this chap bother trolling the motors forum, surely a lot more troll jollies to be had over on personal issues or religion, or politics...but trolling motors? never understand the appeal.

If we/ye/they/mods etc know who it is would they not just ban him!
    Never understood the appeal myself either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,938 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

He was a former mod on this forum.

MojoMaker wrote: »

I'm still lost

Me too but it's probably well before my time:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭morritty

MojoMaker wrote: »
    Big fan of VWs? That's the only less active former mod i can think of, recently anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

The same clowns are trolling the military forum as well. Wanting to join a special forces unit and says the Irish army are ****e. Dumbass mod in there didn’t even cop they were brand new accounts and blatantly trolling.