Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thoughts on English people

• 22-03-2018 9:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭

Controversial topic, but no better place to post it. What are people’s views on the English. People from around the world probably view us as very similar and often confuse us as one for another. Don’t get me wrong I’m no Hibernianby any means England/Britain have given the world many great things particularly the beautiful game and many of the greatest bands of all time. But I must say I find English people to very unpleasant generally, there’s a profound arrongance amongst a large portion of society and it seems a very insular divided culture, a very unfriendly atmosphere I sense whenever I’m there, everything seems too formal and segregated. Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I think they're nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I always find people who end their bladderings with “thoughts?” annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

branie2 wrote: »
    I think they're nice

Except for the ones who aren't.

Well. That about wraps this up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Most sound with some arseholes like everywhere. If you find the country divided or unfriendly then your the problem OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

They're like most nationalities. Some lovely, polite, generous, friendly, and amusing people. Others arrogant, stand-offish, loutish, insular and crude. Same could be said for the Irish, French, Americans, Mexicans.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

They're ok. I like it when we support our boys in Man U together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

They seem to have a lot of arrogant dkicheads, but then so do we, only real difference is that they have 12 times our population, so possibly 12 times as many dkicheads as we have.
    There is also a small minority that tend to look down on their definition of the lower classes and of other races, no doubt we have some of them too :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Think they are very nice in general

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,852 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

About 25% of them are descended from Irish people. They are the nice ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

They're okay just like most of the irish are okay.find the northern english nicer that alot of those in the south however.alot more humble and self depricating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Route1 wrote: »
    But I must say I find English people to very unpleasant generally, there’s a profound arrongance amongst a large portion of society and it seems a very insular divided culture

Firstly, I think English people are amazing, possibly the second best in the world, after the Chinese, of course. In response to your point above, there is more of a class divide in England, for definite but I certainly wouldn't consider English people to be unpleasant. People from the north of England and Ireland are pretty similar, in my eyes. I've seen some awful examples of snobbery and twatish behaviour, far worse than anything I've seen in England, in the RoI, particularly during the celtic tiger years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Sidebaro

I generally find that there's a similar ratio of arseholes to decent folk in every grouping of people be it English, hat wearers, Scorpios or dogs. I mean, dogs are sound but there are some woeful prickish dogs too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

I love England. And Scotland. Have never been to Wales, this is something I must rectify in the future. But any English person I've ever met has been nice.

There's something about English women though... goddamn. Most beautiful women in the world........... Kate Beckinsale, Emilia Clarke, Michelle Keegan, Emily Blunt, Elizabeth Hurley... and they're just the ones I can think of at the top of my head!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I like some, I don't like some.

jaxxx wrote: »
    I love England. And Scotland. Have never been to Wales, this is something I must rectify in the future. But any English person I've ever met has been nice.

Wales is beautiful and Cardiff is a great spot for a night out but Swansea was a let down for me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I've only ever met nice English people as far as I can remember, but then again I'm never going to be in a place where I'll meet the bad ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,179 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I've only ever met nice English people as far as I can remember, but then again I'm never going to be in a place where I'll meet the bad ones

Me too , i know many English , met many and all lovely people . Same as any country in the world I guess some good some bad and many just ordinary folk trying to get along with life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

Most of them are nice people, you always find a few people are ignorant. I have been to Liverpool, Newcastle upon Tyne and London.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Married one, they're grand.

Most of the English people I know are delightful. Generous, caring, intelligent, capable, funny, and of course extremely attractive.

And I'm not just saying that because I'm English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭badabing106

I am highly attracted to all female English politicians over 50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Route1

I don’t agree with the sentiment that you get a similar distribution of personality type everywhere. I think people’s behaviour is very reflective of culture they are brought up in, that’s not to say every Irish person is lovely. But I find Brazilians, Americans, Spanish, Canadian people in my experience to be really nice and engaging. I also mean to say I find Scottish people entirely different to both English and Welsh and find them a good sort.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,501 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The English are a lovely people. Well, not physically of course.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Seek help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

The English are a lovely people. Well, not physically of course.

If it pleases the court, I would like to direct your attention to Exhibit C:
    There's something about English women though... goddamn. Most beautiful women in the world........... Kate Beckinsale, Emilia Clarke, Michelle Keegan, Emily Blunt, Elizabeth Hurley...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,161 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

I think the vast majority of them are like us. But the Jacob Rees Mogg types and Chelsea supporting bald pot bellied right wing thug types I have an issue with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Blankety categorising entire nationalities as xyz is stupid. Honestly, as a rule it is.

There are certain cultural trends of course which you will find to wildly varying degrees in some parts of the world, but these never translate into "xyz are unfriendly" or whatever. I've lived here for over a decade. People are sound, some aren't. C'est la vie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

A great bunch of lads. Strange looking but decent geezers. Can't really warm to the place though. The non classical architecture is very brutish, lacks warmed. They really made the place quite ugly after the war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

Like people everywhere, some are lovely, some are middling and some are a pain in the behind. I'm not a fan of their government but that doesn't mean I have to judge the people by that marker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,179 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

FTA69 wrote: »
    Blankety categorising entire nationalities as xyz is stupid. Honestly, as a rule it is.

There are certain cultural trends of course which you will find to wildly varying degrees in some parts of the world, but these never translate into "xyz are unfriendly" or whatever. I've lived here for over a decade. People are sound, some aren't. C'est la vie.

Exactly . People all over the world are the same . Some great , some thugs , some lovely , some ****es , some amazing . Same in every country

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,501 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

If it pleases the court, I would like to direct your attention to Exhibit C:

Sound reasoning there alright.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I'll tell you how good the English are, they put Father Ted on air during the fag end of the troubles and gave us all a good laugh as well as making feck a word used in polite society!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

They're like most nationalities. Some lovely, polite, generous, friendly, and amusing people. Others arrogant, stand-offish, loutish, insular and crude. Same could be said for the Irish, French, Americans, Mexicans.....

That tells you nothing about national differences in cultures and personalities which do exist.

I like the English. They are a very funny people. The idea that we are more “craic” is nonsense. I actually do like posh English people too, over privileged of course but good company.

I’ve only seen the Chelsea supporter type once, in Chelsea as it happens before a match. It’s strange that such a posh area attracts those fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I was in England yesterday and can confirm that most of them are perfectly pleasant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Love their sense of humor.
    Python, Adams, Pratchett, Young Ones, Fast Show, Little Britain.
    Music, Queen, Beatles, Sabbath, Purple, Led Zep and acres of prog.
    Literature, where to start? Where to end?
    Try German humor, music, literature, TV and you appreciate the Brits...
    Suppose it's different living there, but have spent time over there and worked with a lot of English people.
    I am a bit of an anglophile I guess.

I like the English. They are a very funny people. The idea that we are more “craic†is nonsense. I actually do like posh English people too, over privileged of course but good company.

Michael McIntyre is English and he ain't funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Just love their English soccer commentators in World Cup or European competitions.

Try German humor

Is there such a thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,189 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I like them, but I couldn't eat a whole one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Seek help.

Beat me to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

Not a fan of them in general, I'm sure there's a few nice ones though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

They are people, from England.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Michael McIntyre is English and he ain't funny.

That certainly disproves the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

^^^^ West Brits the lot of ye!

Nah, think they're sound. Have worked with a lot to them, and find them very pleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭shaunr68

As a sassenach living in Ireland this thread gives me a warm fuzzy feeling, big hugs all round! :)

Thanks lads, love you too, so much I moved here. I take it this means you'll be cheering on our footy players in the World Cup this summer?

*ducks for cover*

Chelsea supporting bald pot bellied right wing thug types I have an issue with.

You need to take a trip to Stamford Bridge. Think you are thinking back to the 80s and the days of the firms. Most Chelsea fans today and normal folk. Love their plastic flags. The premier league is a very tame league when it comes to fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Pros

tumblr_mkj170Fq0g1rthy6ko6_r3_250.gif

Cons

130417CMC_Thatcher-45t.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

I think we're all pricks