Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did anyone else Not watch the match yesterday?

• 18-03-2018 10:38am
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I don't like Rugby. I used to like it as a teenager, I played it for years, same with football - but I simply don't like either and don't like watching them. So yesterday was a huge game, I have no interest so I didn't watch it. But when people find out, wow - they go mad! Sacrilege! Several of my friend who are not even into Rugby usually themselves can't believe I didn't watch it. Like I've betrayed my country. I don't see why it's mandatory to watch a game because of where I was born. I actually went out driving and there was surprisingly a fair bit of traffic around, so I'm not the only one.

I joke that people treat me as some sort of leper since I have no interest in either football or rugby. I just don't see why it's socially necessary? I have many other interests, that I am actively involved in and actually partake in. 99% of ball supporters never play it - they just use it as an accompanying to drinking, and frequently its the only thing they are able to talk about with any level of knowledge or authority...

Anyone else here not watch the game?

Mod: Don't discuss the Jackson case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I listened to it on the radio.

That Michael Corcoran is a pain in the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

I didn't watch it. I never liked rugby, gaelic or hurling.

I watch football, sometimes golf and tennis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

Zascar wrote: »
    I don't like Rugby. I used to like it as a teenager, I played it for years, same with football - but I simply don't like either and don't like watching them. So yesterday was a huge game, I have no interest so I didn't watch it. But when people find out, wow - they go mad! Sacrilege! Several of my friend who are not even into Rugby usually themselves can't believe I didn't watch it. Like I've betrayed my country. I don't see why it's mandatory to watch a game because of where I was born. I actually went out driving and there was surprisingly a fair bit of traffic around, so I'm not the only one.

I joke that people treat me as some sort of leper since I have no interest in either football or rugby. I just don't see why it's socially necessary? I have many other interests, that I am actively involved in and actually partake in. 99% of ball supporters never play it - they just use it as an accompanying to drinking, and frequently its the only thing they are able to talk about with any level of knowledge or authority...

Anyone else here not watch the game?

No, you're not a leper........you're a pariah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Lofty123

I didn't watch it either. I don't like Rugby, Golf, Horse Racing or U2. Some friends say my citizenship ship should be revoked😮

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

I didn't watch it either. No interest in rugby or football. Also, I live in Kilkenny and I have no interest in hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭mattser

padd b1975 wrote: »

Can't stand his commentary. Comes across as very put on. He ain't no Bill McClaren, but who is.

To answer the question, I saw the last 15 minutes. Fair play to them.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Personally I just can't stand the 'sound' of a match on tv at all. It's like a high pitched annoying screeching tone to me. Generally just the whole way people go on about rugby annoys me a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

padd b1975 wrote:
    mattser wrote:
    Can't stand his commentary. Comes across as very put on. He ain't no Bill McClaren, but who is.

I think he's very good. Helps paint a good picture of the game environment and atmosphere for those not watching on television.

• Site Banned Posts: 406 ✭✭Pepefrogok

I like the world cup etc but it's hard to get excited about the six nations, it's either England or Ireland will win it with the odd Welsh go at it, France are crap really, so is Scotland and Italy shouldn't even be in it, what I am saying is it's not overly competitive is it? Might as well just have an Ireland v England test series.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

What match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

We're event junkies. That's why so many people watched yesterday's game. It's also why there are 470,000 people who would say they say Munster beat the All Blacks in '78.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭seablue

I didn't watch the match. I don't follow rugby or any other team sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Personally I just can't stand the 'sound' of a match on tv at all. It's like a high pitched annoying screeching tone to me.

Brave, from an Electronic Music mod.

Dunf Dunf Dunf Dunf:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

I didn't watch it either. I never watch any matches - during one of the World Cup matches I went swimming while the rest of the country watched Ireland lose. I went to meet friends in the pub afterwards and faced similar commentary to that which you describe.

I did feel a bit bad for the life guard at the swimming pool who had to sit poolside and make sure I didn't drown instead of being squashed into the tiny little office with his colleagues watching the match, but there's a small chance he too was part of the disinterested group. It was bliss having the entire pool to myself - wish Ireland would qualify for these mega-matches more often :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Watched it alright, Salah is unreal.

Pepefrogok wrote: »
    I like the world cup etc but it's hard to get excited about the six nations, it's either England or Ireland will win it with the odd Welsh go at it, France are crap really, so is Scotland and Italy shouldn't even be in it, what I am saying is it's not overly competitive is it? Might as well just have an Ireland v England test series.

Until yesterday we were 4th in the amount of 6 nations wins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

I actually did watch the match, I watch a lot of matches as I believe it makes me an interesting person to talk to on a Monday around the water cooler. I offer passing co workers my insights and observations on tactics and strategy, I comment upon the dubious nature of refereeing decisions and I enjoy the superior feeling it gives me when someone didn't watch it.

Is that what you want to hear? happy now?

let me be in your gang? please? I promise I won't watch any more matches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Lots of sports out there I don't watch, I just don't bitch about it.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

I drove from Newtownmountkennedy to Sandyford, during the first half of the match. The M50 was as clear as an early Sunday morning. I called in to the Carrigmines shopping complex on the way and it was almost deserted.

Usually that stretch of the M50 is very busy on a Saturday afternoon and Carrigmines is usually packed to capacity.

It was as quiet as a post apocalyptic movie scene yesterday, the viewership for the match must have been very high - probably with a big pub viewership considering the day that was in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

padd b1975 wrote: »

Wish he'd stop saying "now".

Until yesterday we were 4th in the amount tournament wins

Fixed that for you. For 6 nations wins we're joint third with Wales on 4, behind France with 5 and England with 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

did my food shopping yesterday while the match was on. had the supermarket to myself. bliss

We're event junkies. That's why so many people watched yesterday's game. It's also why there are 470,000 people who wpuld say they say Munster beat the All Blacks in '78.

As low as that, only 470,000 people say that Munster beat the All Blacks in '78. Thought millions would say that :p:p:p:p:p

Sorry. There should be another zero there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭mattser

Pepefrogok wrote: »

Yea, good point. With no radio commentary, just TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭bigar

I am never aware of matches for any sports The only time I realise there must be some match is when the roads are congested with fans for some kind of sporting event (you recognise them by the flags and scarfs being displayed in or out their car).

My circle of friends are then same so I am wondering if we are some kind of subculture where sporting events do not mean a thing?

• Site Banned Posts: 406 ✭✭Pepefrogok

Until yesterday we were 4th in the amount of 6 nations wins

Yeah but who's your money on for next time? Yip England or Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Congratulations. Your sports team beat the other sports team.

I'll never understand how people will get so emotional over watching something so meaningless.

Beyond talking about your country, if you refer to your team as 'us' or 'we' I'll judge you instantly and we can never be friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

I didnt watch it. I sent the alarm for the Liverpool match later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Didn't watch, have zero interest in rugby. Utterly boring sport and the amount of bandwagoners is incredible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I watched teh last 20 out of one eye warming up for the Liverpool match, Ireland were hardly going to mess up yesterday so the match wasn't freighted in much drama really.

I didn't watch it.
    Shock & horror, I didn't even drink yesterday.
    Which I think now makes me, NO CRAIC!!!

The worst insult in Ireland.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Steviesol

Quite sickened by what's going on with Rory Best and the lads, so have not watched any six nations this year. Turns my stomach.

Steviesol wrote: »
    Quite sickened by what's going on with Rory Best and the lads, so have not watched any six nations this year. Turns my stomach.

Jesus, you may as well not watch the Horse racing in Cheltenham because most jockeys are male, and considering what the still innocent until proven guilty ex Ireland rugby players got up to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭baylah17

Steviesol wrote: »
    Sanctimonious petty childish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Go sports!

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I didn't watch it but I did check the score now and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭HandsomeBob

Not into ruggers so had no interest. I'm consistent in my non bandwagon ways across a number of sports though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Jesus, what a bunch of miserable fcuks inhabit boards sometimes.

Congrats to Ireland - the Rugby, Cheltenham & thousands of Irish folks trekking over to England to celebrate a bit of success.

Fixed that for you. For 6 nations wins we're joint third with Wales on 4, behind France with 5 and England with 6.

I know the figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Jesus, what a bunch of miserable fcuks inhabit boards sometimes.

Congrats to Ireland - the Rugby, Cheltenham & thousands of Irish folks trekking over to England to celebrate a bit of success.

Shocking. Some people don’t enjoy the same interests as you. Have a lie down and 2 aspirin and see if you feel better later.

I know the figures

All the more perplexing then.

You'd need to re-read my post in that case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭CPTM

.. But when people find out, wow - they go mad! Sacrilege! Several of my friend who are not even into Rugby usually themselves can't believe I didn't watch it. Like I've betrayed my country. I don't see why it's mandatory to watch a game because of where I was born.

They sound like idiots, don't mind them. I loved watching the match but you have your own things going on. I have loads of mates the same, and I feel the same when it comes to Irish football(soccer). To each their own I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

splinter65 wrote: »
    Shocking. Some people don’t enjoy the same interests as you. Have a lie down and 2 aspirin and see if you feel better later.

Same interests is irrelevant.

I've little interest in rowing, boxing or athletics, but I'm glad to see us do well in those events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Didn't see any of the 6 nations can't be bothered with rugby any more loved it when I was younger was hyped in 2000 the last time Ireland won grand slam but same as the gaa just not bothered anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭secman

No interest in egg chasing so we got the groceries in, roads and shops were empty, saw laxy 3 min of game, TV 3 didn't half milk it though, was it on for 10 hours ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If I wanted to watch a crowd of half-domesticated bullocks galloping round a field I wouldn't have sold the farm.

secman wrote: »
    No interest in egg chasing so we got the groceries in, roads and shops were empty, saw laxy 3 min of game, TV 3 didn't half milk it though, was it on for 10 hours ?

They showed all three matches.

England-Ireland was the second match.

You'd need to re-read my post in that case

They won the six nations last week, the Grand slam yesterday.