Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What changed in your life since your very first post on Boards?

• 26-02-2018 7:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I know there's some members here who've been active for a very long time. Some people make the most of Boards and talk about their life and put a lot of their experiences in silico. I thought it might be interesting to ask people how they have changed personally and what has changed in their life since their very first post.

For me it was getting a PhD, becoming a post doc, getting a patent and realising that there's more to life. I think I've mellowed more too and seen a lot more of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I've gone grey - whether due to the passing years or Boards is debatable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

My age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I've gone grey - whether due to the passing years or Boards is debatable.

I'm also turning into executive streaks. The girls don't seem to mind though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I'm also turning into executive streaks. The girls don't seem to mind though.

That's the PhD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Just realised I joined boards half my lifetime ago. :eek:

So, eh, quite a lot!

begbysback wrote: »
    That's the PhD

Yea it was actually. Never thought it would be that stressful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

eh, its been two weeks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Had a baby, changed career, dog died, aged 10 years

Try_harder wrote: »
    eh, its been two weeks...

I hadn't thought this thread through really, but a lo can change in two weeks. Have you also went grey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I've moved countries twice, had a child, got married and finally learned to drive. Apart from that I haven't been up to much

eh no. I got called to supervised exam for EO in CS???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

Had a child...she's 10 now...I keep leaving...and coming back...1 of these days I'll go and that will be it... but until then I'm just a happy boomerang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I had just turned 15, I'm now 29. So yes, lots has changed in the last 14 (!!) years. Did my Junior Cert and Leaving Cert. Got a degree. Had a few jobs. Been in the same one now for a few years. Been with the same fella now for nearly 6 years. My dog died, got a another dog. Travelled a lot. Lost weight and then put it on again. Got braces. Learned to drive.

Loads of other stuff...but it has been half my life!

Lia_lia wrote: »
    I had just turned 15, I'm now 29. So yes, lots has changed in the last 14 (!!) years. Did my Junior Cert and Leaving Cert. Got a degree. Had a few jobs. Been in the same one now for a few years. Been with the same fella now for nearly 6 years. My dog died, got a another dog. Travelled a lot. Lost weight and then put it on again. Got braces. Learned to drive.

Loads of other stuff...but it has been half my life!

It's mad isn't it. This place is like the diary I never kept.

My first foray into boards was 15 years ago.

Since then, bought a house. Changed jobs.

plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Law Degree - finally; fantastic encouragement and a few verbal slaps form various people in the Legal Discussions forum.

Diagnosed with ADHD and found support for this and associated issues in the relevant forums.

Got endless technical support from the guys in PC B&U so I'm not sure a faster PC is much of a life change but...

Law Degree - finally; fantastic encouragement and a few verbal slaps form various people in the Legal Discussions forum.

Diagnosed with ADHD and found support for this and associated issues in the relevant forums.

Got endless technical support from the guys in PC B&U so I'm not sure a faster PC is much of a life change but...

Well someone in AH with zero expertise thinks thats fake, so you know...

I hate idiots who have groundless beliefs but are unbelievably sure they are correct.

Well done btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

14 years on boards so a lot has happened. Finished university, twice. Met someone. Got to see some of the world. Emigrated. Put myself in a position to have a financially comfortable life. At the same time came to appreciate that having a good life means caring about things other than just yourself and your job.

Tl;dr, I basically just grew up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Finished PhD, moved abroad, came back, moved abroad, came back, broke up with 7 year GF, met current wife 2 months later, became a lecturer, had 2 kids, ran a small online business, bought a plane, made this post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

I've learned not to respond to frivolous threads.....

....oh wait!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Nothing I'm still a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

16 years, half my life, on my original account.

A lot changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Gosh, lets see. Failed the leaving cert. Tried a PLC in Radio Journalism, ****ed it up. Tried a PLC in liberal arts, ****ed that up. Tried the same PLC in Liberal Arts, ****ed it up. Took a year off education. Tried the same PLC again for the third time, guess what happened. Tried a PLC in Archeology/History and ****ed it up. Fantastic. Lost a fair bit of weight though at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭drillyeye

I made a cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

I just realised I signed up to Boards.ie four days before 9/11. :eek:

It seems to have taken me another two years to make my first post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭9or10

eviltwin wrote: »
    Had a baby, changed career, dog died, aged 10 years

Mine too, same age. Hit me very hard :(

I wish you well ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

peckerhead wrote: »
    I just realised I signed up to Boards.ie four days before 9/11. :eek:

It seems to have taken me another two years to make my first post.
    What were you up to in the meantime Osama?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Bad:

Started with pretty good jobs but hit the recession hard and still not out of the woods (I've been stuck in multiple ruts for years).

Good:

Traveled and live abroad, getting my degree this year, amazing friends and family not sick of my crap. I'm a better guitar player than I ever thought possible (yay study breaks). Learned to ride motorbikes and toured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

10 years ago. I think I've basically just gotten fatter.

I just had a look at some of my earliest posts and I was ****eing on about much the same guff then as I am now.

So yeah, it's been a real roller-coaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

None of your business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Kuva

Bit Facebooky, this thread would just drag you down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

OP: What changed in your life since your very first post on Boards?

Me: My sanity...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I changed me jocks

Well, when I say changed, I mean I turned them inside out about 12 months ago

Had to celebrate me inauguration somehow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I united the clans, slew a mighty dragon, and learned how quinoa is pronounced. Not at all like it reads! Who knew...

endacl wrote: »
    I united the clans

Feck off Lent

5391517592436.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

I used to associate learning with books, glasses and nerds!

But now, I love to learn. Not useless facts, I hate useless facts! They are so useless and serve no purpose!

But I love to learn about other peoples life lessons, opinions and experiences. Sometimes, I try to apply this to my own life. To help me become a better person!

I also learned that I need to be a lot more self confident! Displaying a lack of confidence causes others to lose hope and faith in me. I suppose, that this realisation of self confidence has come about, simply because I have had a number of achievements in the last few years. Somethings which I never thought was possible for me!

job seeker wrote: »
    I used to associate learning with books, glasses and nerds!

But now, I love to learn. Not useless facts, I hate useless facts! They are so useless and serve no purpose!

But I love to learn about other peoples life lessons, opinions and experiences. Sometimes, I try to apply this to my own life. To help me become a better person!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

I changed me jocks

Well, when I say changed, I mean I turned them inside out about 12 months ago

Had to celebrate me inauguration somehow!

I find the simple wall test to be beneficial! If you peg the pair of jocks at the wall and if they don't stick. They are good for another number of weeks, months and/or years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Upgraded my ram to 16mb so I could finally play quake 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

My eyebrows, man. For years they just sat there doing whatever the hell it is that they do. Then one day they just started growing for no apparent reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

My postcount. Though not by much, as Boards made a sly rule change about 10 years ago. I'm not bitter about it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

Left school went to college got a job, wished I had never left college

The usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

So OP what's your fantastic PhD about ?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

My ten year anniversary as a Boards member was on 2 Feb - only realised when I checked for this thread!

I was in a terrible relationship at the time (don't think he's on Boards anymore), which ended not long after I joined Boards.

I moved to London and got a job in media. Made some great friends, met a grand fella and have recently changed job again. After living at home with my parents for 26 years, I've lived in 5 flats in the last 7 years!

I'm also much more comfortable in my skin now compared to back then. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I joined in July 2009. I was eventually learning to drive and passed the test in that October. In 2010 I probably wasn't that active as my Dad was sick and lost him in the November. I had another child after an 11 year gap. The eldest has done her Leaving , 5 yrs in college and now working. The middle child after many struggles along the way is finally doing her Leaving and applied for a course. I became an aunt for the first time :). At the moment am in the process of getting my mother's house sold and all that entails, as she is sick again. Bit of a rollercoaster really, like many of ye !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I was in 1st year of college when I joined.

I graduated, got a crap recession job, got a slightly better job, had 2 serious break ups, left the country for a year, came home again, was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis, met the man of my dreams and have a job that I love (most days).

So quite a bit really.