Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The big SNOW thread merge

• 23-02-2018 10:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭

I've been camped out in the weather forum for the last week and well indications are we are in for quite a week of extremely cold weather with a very very real expectation of heavy snow on the Eastern seaboard.

It's been mentioned in the media more and more for the past few days, but I think people have gotten a dose of weather warning fatigue so potentially are ignoring this. But it's been steadily ramping up such that met eireann have finally mentioned we 'could' be heading for a red weather warning related to this with severe transport disruption.

The indications suggest it could be similar to 2010s big snow event.
    Now obviously everyone is trying to play a cool hand but it's getting to a point where it's wise to take precautions.
    There is a winter preparedness thread stickied on the forum with some useful information.

If you have a small shovel etc best to stick it in the car with a few bits and pieces this weekend.

Having the weekend to get things sorted would be better than finding out about this during the week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

I'll be filling everything with anti-freeze tomorrow, The MF 35 split the block back in the mid 1960's during a similar freeze up. It was welded back together and its going fine fifty years later.

Perfect timing to change the front shocks on the drive tomorrow.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

I'm convinced at this stage these weather warnings are like clickbait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

BillyBobBS wrote: »

A lot of them are rubbish yes, but I don't believe this is one of those. For most people it won't make any difference anyway, but if you are living on high ground or are commuting in the East it would be wise to take some precautions, even if they turn out to have just been precautions.

Most people would do these anyway if it was December but complacency will have set in by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Should stay cold and dry for the weekend at least. Great weather really. Much better than our usual Atlantic winter variety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

A lot of them are rubbish yes, but I don't believe this is one of those. For most people it won't make any difference anyway, but if you are living on high ground or are commuting in the East it would be wise to take some precautions, even if they turn out to have just been precautions.

Most people would do these anyway if it was December but complacency will have set in by now.

I think that you are overestimating most people. Most people don't clear their windscreen on frosty mornings never mind pre their car for winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

I normally leave my car in the garage when the weather gets frosty but last time we had bad snow the door froze and couldn't get the car out. Will be throwing a few essentials in the car tomorrow

Jesus just looked at the weather forum, embarrassing. Its a bit of snow not a tsunami or volcano eruption

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

Its a change from the damp mundane crappy rainfest we are so used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Jesus just looked at the weather forum, embarrassing. Its a bit of snow not a tsunami or volcano eruption

It's gone complete the boy who cried wolf, feck all snow the whole country this year, a 20 year old Corolla on Landsails would go through it like a Yeti.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

Billybob is in for a surprise next week so !

barney 20v wrote: »
    Billybob is in for a surprise next week so !

We'll see. Sure it's just snow for flip sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Bandito909

Anyone know where to buy cans of that snow grip spray?

Bandito909 wrote: »
    Anyone know where to buy cans of that snow grip spray?

Seen a site called winterstores.ie selling it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Should stay cold and dry for the weekend at least. Great weather really. Much better than our usual Atlantic winter year round variety.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I’m after buying six huskies

Are they better than horse power? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,373 ✭✭✭ongarite

Front wheel drive with them isn't it. Should be good for the snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I prefer reindeer's for the extra torque.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

I love all the joking about this, but yet, when the couple of inches comes, the country grinds to a halt because most people don't prepare, and can't handle the conditions at all. Also not to forget rural areas that don't get the gritter passing by and can get more lying snow with less traffic.

I'm prepared, but my choice of jalopy does that all by itself for the most part. No harm in encouraging people to be ready. BTW, this will be cold, and a foot of snow is not in any way out of the question, even if it doesn't materialise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

It'[s not as bad as the creamfest that was The Hurricane

Anyway

Rear wheel drive. Summer tyres. This'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

Enjoyyyyu

RWD + summer tyres + traction control off = a lot of fun driving for the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Yeah the weather is gone completely "boy who cried wolf". I'll be doing nothing to prepare because I'm not a weather enthusiast and I havn't been even mildly inconvenienced by any kind of weather condition this winter and I have both a long and early/ late commute.

All this ****e of status yellow and orange warnings. I don't even know which is more important and clearly neither are really as there has been countless quantities of both over the winter and really all I've needed is to de-ice my windscreen some mornings.

It's all part of something that I can't put my finger on. Something generation snowflakey, excuse the pun. The powers that be could possibly benefit from these reports to ensure they have trucks/ men/ grit organised because as a layman, if I need to do anything more than de-ice my windscreen I'm probably going to stay at home if there is six inches of snow overnight. We aren't a country that gets frequent snow so work are reasonably forgiving that one day every decade that you can't make it because of it.

Next week will be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Met Eireann had great craic when they has to consult "Their colleagues in Miami" - they just can't face being boring anymore after their one day of excitement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Every time there's a severe weather warning "up to -10" was the last one, it was maybe -1.

Every second week there's news articles 'Met eireann issues warning blah blah" yeah grand, so it's cold again. Nothing new really.

I'm working the night shift this week so it will be just like every other cold week. I'll slip in the carpark going out to the car, de-ice the thing for 5 minutes more than usual while waiting to clock out, get in the car, get annoyed while I sit idle outside waiting for the gate to slowly close, then drive home 10kph slower than normal while waiting 2 minutes longer for the heat to kick in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

If it gets really bad you can eat them. I think the vegans would like that - they're always asking why we don't eat dog. Wouldn't be my cup of tea but hey if you're stuck;)

7 day forecast for Dublin is less than terrifying. A little snow and some cold days & nights.

Augeo wrote: »
    7 day forecast for Dublin is less than terrifying. A little snow and some cold days & nights.

This one? :confused:

http://m.met.ie/weather-warnings.aspx?t=National

gozunda wrote: »

That's not a 7 day forecast for Dublin :)
    It's a non specific speel.

Augeo wrote: »
    That's not a 7 day forecast for Dublin :)
    It's a non specific speel.

Ah ok ;)

Ah well, the people in Dublin will be fine sure that's all that matters..

Simply put, the Dublin urban area gets the lowest rainfall totals in Ireland, because of wicklow rain shadoweffect and the highest average temperature, due partly to it being an urban centre. It also has the best road network, and high traffic volumes help keep road temperatures up. It doesn't get harsh weather like rural areas do.

During the 2010 'event' temperatures in Dublin were hovering in the -6 to -10 range. Where I live in rural Carlow got -15 and 3x the amount of snowfall that the capital got. This is shaping up to have a similar pattern, with the rural southeast looking likely to be worst affected. People in these areas do need to take heed of these things. Life is very different here. I hope it's not as bad as the warnings suggest, but if it is, then rural areas are tough places to live

Oh Christ.... forgive me, if things are bad in rural carlow that would indeed be horrendous for the country

Poor Dublin attitude Augeo... unfortunately in my experience it's all too common. No it wouldn't be bad for the whole country, but it would be for all of my elderly relatives and neighbours, many on their own well which could freeze and so on.. not to mention we have to deal with the roads largely on our own... sure it would suit all the city folk better if rural Ireland just went away altogether...

You seem to have a chip on your shoulder..... lots of rural dwellers too & I live in a little town myself, not Dublin.

My point is the weather warning and this thread title are quite likely to be OTT to a large degree. Some weather fanatics mentioned 1947 prematurely so there's a seeming duty to hope for the worst.

No chips... just responding to the idea earlier, not yours, that a forecast for Dublin represents Ireland, which is too prevalent. Your "Oh Christ" comment led me to believe that you cared nothing for rural areas or the people within them.. maybe it's just Carlow.. I dunno

I agree that the whole 'weather warning' thing is out of hand, and very much in danger of the Boy who cried Wolf scenario. This time all the leading weather forecast models are in agreement though, and while it's not going to be end of the world stuff, my original point was that most people don't prepare in any way... so what harm if they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭MarkN

Are you actually having an internet row over the weather lads?

No, a discussion about whether or not motorists and others should prepare for an upcoming spell of winter weather. It just became evident that there's 2 very different viewpoints.. that's what a forum discussion is for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Joanne Donnelly said it will snow. That's all anyone needs to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Same type of warnings on UK tv, I've had the show chains, shovel, a couple of hessian sacks and some warm clothes and boots in the boot of the car since the last time it got down to -3 or -4 with a risk of snow in January. I drive a fair bit though and could be 200+ miles from home some days.

Always worth keeping the tank full and some food and drink in the car, YOU might be fine getting home, every clown who cant drive in the snow on their landsails/triangles who just happens to have blocked the motorway and offramps will still stop you.

We have had snow on and off this morning in Kent, temps hovering around 0 to -1. Snow not really sticking so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

BigEejit wrote: »
    Same type of warnings on UK tv, I've had the show chains, shovel, a couple of hessian sacks and some warm clothes and boots in the boot of the car since the last time it got down to -3 or -4 with a risk of snow in January. I drive a fair bit though and could be 200+ miles from home some days.

Always worth keeping the tank full and some food and drink in the car, YOU might be fine getting home, every clown who cant drive in the snow on their landsails/triangles who just happens to have blocked the motorway and offramps will still stop you.

We have had snow on and off this morning in Kent, temps hovering around 0 to -1. Snow not really sticking so far.

I skip the motorway whenever there's snow. You've got more options for a diversion whereas on the motorway if a pileup happens and multiple lanes become blocked you're stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

If we do get snow, I wonder will there be DoneDealers trying to capitalise on this by over pricing their "Jeeps" (ie any 4 by 4 SUV) in preparation for each subsequent "winter" for the next 5 years :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Well, well, well...

Travel chaos in the capital!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Balls.... I need to get to work, from Limerick to North Cork.... How the **** do I do that lol.

At least I have 2 loafs of bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

... and revving like a gobshyte won't get you moving.

That's it really.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I cleared mine just to get my boots out of the back seat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

endacl wrote: »
    ... and revving like a gobshyte won't get you moving.

That's it really.

I seen a car, lady neighbour drive out of drive with a few finger scrapes of snow cleared.

How she could see out I honestly don't think she could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Ace Ventura driving style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

Hade to clear the snow of mine just to find it, its white!