Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road rage drive

• 20-02-2018 7:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭

Hello

Today when i was driving from college back to my accommodation(I am a novice driver), i stopped at a traffic light and turning right but i couldn't turn right because there were cars coming. Suddenly a guy keeps beeping from me behind and he than shouts at me and sticks his middle finger at me.

After i get the green arrow to turn right he was driving up close, When i turned right to my accommodation and stopped at the gates to open them he followed me in but parked the car at the start of the turn and started to run down to me.

I couldn't drive off because the gate was opening i locked the car and put the window up but he managed to get his fingers in and tried to pull the window down but he wasn't able and kept shouting at me.

My friend than ran and tried to get the security at our accommodation but they weren't there and i think he realized that she went to get the security and ran back to his car.

But my question is should i let the guards know about this? There are cameras there so it would be on the CCTV and i had 3 other friends in the car? Like i think if he pulled the window down he would try to grab me as he was really angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

If you are willing to give the Gardai a statement and give evidence in court (if necessary) then yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭martyoo

What a horrible experience. I think you should report him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

It is wrong what he done but it may be a junction where you go to centre as once you can clear the junction when turning right.

The roads have sensors in them at certain points and more often then not people don't drive up to them so lights end up going red in many cases where if touching off sensor it will stay green longer.

Was the light all arrows or were you hanging back waiting for filter light ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭IrishGrimReaper

Please file that with the guards, no one should be subjected to something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

tomstud12 wrote: »
    But my question is should i let the guards know about this?

Yes. This person needs to be taught a lesson.

He may try to do it agin and the next person may not react in time.

Be prepared to go to court though as the gardai may need you as a witness.

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

They couldn't turn because of oncoming cars.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

It is wrong what he done but it may be a junction where you go to centre as once you can clear the junction when turning right.

The roads have sensors in them at certain points and more often then not people don't drive up to them so lights end up going red in many cases where if touching off sensor it will stay green longer.

None of that matters. Op was waiting for oncoming traffic to clear and then to be able to proceed safely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The other driver should be put up on charges for what he did.
    Do report him with any details you can think of.

TheChizler wrote: »
    They couldn't turn because of oncoming cars.

I know that I was wondering if that may have started it all off.

Of course it's totally nuts.

My phone died.

I've been followed and had all sorts of craziness over the years. I'm a guy, no issue looking after meself.

Definitely report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭babi-hrse

Road Traffic Act, 1961
    Interfering with a motor vehicle.
    Nobody should be doing that doesn't matter what a ****ty day they had. The only case you could have for trying to force your way into a person's window would a hit and run.
    You had sexual relations with their relative.
    You damaged their property
    You narrowly avoided hitting a pedestrian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Out of interest, what exactly was he shouting at you? Just intrigued as you don't mention what he said which could give us a greater insight into why he did what he did. Not saying you did anything wrong or anything, just gives us a better overall picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Hopefully you have the reg of his car, otherwise nothing can be done about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

i hope you got his reg , you have a witness, now report that cockwomble

guy beeped me out of it on a green and waved like a lunar ball at me ,
    cos i waited for a car in the middle of the road to move out of the junction as it was in a dangerous postion

i gave him the finger and pointed at my dash cam - he backed the f*ck off sharpish .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭tomstud12

Thanks for all the replies and advice

Here you can see how he runs over to the car. It's not great quality but you can see him.

https://streamable.com/5a0pn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

tomstud12 wrote: »
    Thanks for all the replies and advice

Here you can see how he runs over to the car. It's not great quality but you can see him.

https://streamable.com/5a0pn

Definitely report him. Even if you were supposed to enter the junction to trigger a sensor there's absolutely no reason for his actions. Imagine what happens the next person who doesn't move off fast enough for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭tomstud12

Del2005 wrote: »
    Definitely report him. Even if you were supposed to enter the junction to trigger a sensor there's absolutely no reason for his actions. Imagine what happens the next person who doesn't move off fast enough for him.

Yes i know and my girlfriend was with me and her friends and they said like what if that was a woman in the passanger seat like someone would be so scared that they wouldn't drive again.

And just want to add if he was in such a rush and i didn't move fast enough for him why did he follow us all the way to our accommodation and than had time to shout abuse at us. He was properly aggressive trying to get into the car like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭ace_irl

I had a very similar, thankfully not as serious, incident at the weekend. 100% report him, even if the gards only have a word with him he'll think twice before he does it to somebody else. I hope you're okay, it's very scary. I was lucky that I had a dash cam on my car and my dad sitting beside me. The man in question **** himself when he realised I wasn't a little girl in my car by myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

have to say I'd have kept my finger on the "up" button for the window....

He's an asshole, it's exactly what the N plates are for, even if you were wrong, allowances should be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I'll say one thing for him - he can bloody run! On a positive note, he'll do that to the wrong person some day, and get a (probably long overdue) hiding. Report to the Gardaí, but I'd be dubious as to whether they will do anything.

This has happened me in work and also in a car twice.

One was where I was using the gf car and it was a Yaris. This recovery truck drive up behind at a red light just off the motorway flashing and beeping.

I was like what the lights were red and all lights working on car.

He followed me for quite some time and tried to run me off the road and he also got out 3 times with a breaker bar in his hand.

I reported this and cops investigated it but got nowhere with who was driving.

In work I was followed numerous times, blocked in, threatened, spat at, punching windows and windscreen etc. Pulling off wipers.

Some real crazy people out there.

2 women in a BMW followed me after they nearly hit me when they were in wrong lane, they blocked me in up the road and were screaming and saying one was a county councilor and was going to have my job.
    These are very long stories but the last one they were interviewed and given a public order penalty notice and driver got a fine for motoring offence.
    Very funny as they admitted to what I said happened and still thought they were right.
    Best part was I had CCTV footage and the guards on my side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

This has happened me in work and also in a car twice.

One was where I was using the gf car and it was a Yaris. This recovery truck drive up behind at a red light just off the motorway flashing and beeping.

I was like what the lights were red and all lights working on car.

He followed me for quite some time and tried to run me off the road and he also got out 3 times with a breaker bar in his hand.

I reported this and cops investigated it but got nowhere with who was driving.

In work I was followed numerous times, blocked in, threatened, spat at, punching windows and windscreen etc. Pulling off wipers.

Some real crazy people out there.

2 women in a BMW followed me after they nearly hit me when they were in wrong lane, they blocked me in up the road and were screaming and saying one was a county councilor and was going to have my job.
    These are very long stories but the last one they were interviewed and given a public order penalty notice and driver got a fine for motoring offence.
    Very funny as they admitted to what I said happened and still thought they were right.
    Best part was I had CCTV footage and the guards on my side.
    Jaysus, you must be a very bad driver or else a lunatic magnet.

I saw a thicko in his 30's pull into a disabled space at a shop last night. When he was reversing out, there was an older man in a 4x4 driving out of the car park and he stopped at a pedestrian crossing, the thicko was reversing towards him so he didn't move off and beeped his horn to warn him but thicko reversed into the 4x4. Thicko was going to drive off but the 4x4 driver got out and when thicko saw that he was smaller than him he gets out shouting abuse at him, calling him a retard and asking if he wanted his teeth shoved down his throat. The 4x4 driver stayed calm while thicko hurdled abuse at him. The the 4x4 drivers passenger got out he was around 14 and thicko turned on him then asking if he wanted a fight. He then accused the 4x4 driver of driving into him but a woman got out of her car and said she saw the whole thing and thicko said he had a reversing camera and gave a few roars at her then sat into his car and drove off. They took his number and rang the Gardai.

Why do people with reversing cameras think that there is no need to look behind when reversing? I suppose if it were a child he'd do the same.

Hi Dakota Dan.

I spend a lot of time on our roads and I have come to the conclusion that I am a magnet for them I've given up as to why.....

I'm not going to say I'm a perfect driver in any way but in all of the incidents I haven't started the issue or been a cause in anyway.

I find if you drive like they do they tend to keep on going.

Any update tomstud12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

I had a woman flash lights, beep horn and tailgate me the whole way home before.
    I changed lanes coming up to a roundabout and she thought it was too close to her coming up on my inside, it wasn't really there was plenty of space.
    Getting close to my house I wondered if she was going same way as me anyway or following me to have a fight so I got to a part of the estate you can just keep circling so I went around it twice fully the mad bitch kept following me. The third time going around she eventually got the message and headed off waving frantically and I could see her shouting.
    I wonder what the plans in her head were, was she going to fight me? She was on her own. Crazy bitch she was. I'm a large grown man I just can't see what way she thought it was a good idea and could end well for her.

Another woman (sorry this isn't meant to be a gender bashing post, just coincidence) drove into the back of my dad's Hilux with her little car at a junction (not traffic lights junction) he had started to go then braked when he saw something coming. She kept going and hit him, very gently. She got out and started roaring that she had a baby in the car and even said she has a sticker to say so (yes love, on the back of your car, we were in front of you and you crashed into us). Guards came to that one, as far as I know she never tried any injury claim or anything but that was bizzare. Guards were baffled at her rants. No damage apart from a crack on her bumper.

Moral is, lunatics everywhere. You found one. Report it I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

I had a woman flash lights, beep horn and tailgate me the whole way home before.
    I changed lanes coming up to a roundabout and she thought it was too close to her coming up on my inside, it wasn't really there was plenty of space.
    Getting close to my house I wondered if she was going same way as me anyway or following me to have a fight so I got to a part of the estate you can just keep circling so I went around it twice fully the mad bitch kept following me. The third time going around she eventually got the message and headed off waving frantically and I could see her shouting.
    I wonder what the plans in her head were, was she going to fight me? She was on her own. Crazy bitch she was. I'm a large grown man I just can't see what way she thought it was a good idea and could end well for her.

Another woman (sorry this isn't meant to be a gender bashing post, just coincidence) drove into the back of my dad's Hilux with her little car at a junction (not traffic lights junction) he had started to go then braked when he saw something coming. She kept going and hit him, very gently. She got out and started roaring that she had a baby in the car and even said she has a sticker to say so (yes love, on the back of your car, we were in front of you and you crashed into us). Guards came to that one, as far as I know she never tried any injury claim or anything but that was bizzare. Guards were baffled at her rants. No damage apart from a crack on her bumper.

Moral is, lunatics everywhere. You found one. Report it I'd say.

You should have told her baby or no baby that she should watch where she is going.

Yesterday a British man came up behind me at at junction stopped and after a few seconds he hit my bumper. He didn't bother his arse getting out of the car I checked and it was bumper to bumper no damage. I said it was alright and he said very timidly sorry about that. I was going to ask him how did he manage to hit my car after stopping but couldn't be bothered. I presume he went checking his phone and took his leg off the brake.