Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

M50 incident flat tyres

• 19-02-2018 11:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭rosmoke

On my way to the airport on northbound, while driving on m50, I went over something what looked like a truck's driveshaft (huge and thick metal bar).
    Bottom line I got 2 flat tyres and incident support unit was there but couldn't take the bar from the road till traffic cleared up a bit ...
    2 other cars had flat tyres as well, the platform pick me up and dropped me to a service near by (sound of him), after he scratched a bit my front bumper underneath ..

I had to buy 2 tyres, have receipt and everything, who pays for it?
    Cheers

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

You I'd guess?

Who do you think should pay for It?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭rosmoke

Well I imagine someone who didn't secure his load.
    Why would I pay for someone else's mistake? m50 is full with cameras ..

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

rosmoke wrote: »

One could argue that if you were driving wihdue care and attention you'd have noticed the "huge and thick metal bar" and taken action to avoid It? Would you like a summons on top?

Sure the m50 is full of cameras which will have recorded your poor driving

Good luck getting them to go through cameras to try an track that, the man power required would cost way more than a set of tyres

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

Who do you ring when you break down on a motorway?

You're joking or bored?
    You can't avoid a 1.5m long bar when you are driving with 90km/h on 3rd lane and you have cars in your right and left.

Also there were 2 other cars that went over it, it was actually very dangerous and the lad from m50 incident support unit has also confirmed that it wasn't my fault and I couldn't have avoided it.

Ajsoprano wrote: »
    Who do you ring when you break daiwn on a motorway?

The m50 has a dedicated breakdown service run from their control room. It's an excellent service I once broke down in rush hour and they were with me in about ten minutes

Who do you ring when you break down on a motorway?

M50 support unit were there on the scene and they won't let you change the wheel on the side of the road as it's unsafe (at least that's what he said when it's driver's side), so they call the platform and it drops you to the 1st exit for free.

You're joking or bored?
    You can't avoid a 1.5m long bar when you are driving with 90km/h on 3rd lane and you have cars in your front and left.

Also there were 2 other cars that went over it, it was actually very dangerous and the lad from m50 incident support unit has also confirmed that it wasn't my fault and I couldn't have avoided it.

Nope I'm serious

You didn't see it and just blindly drove into It?

Just pay up and move on.

Stheno wrote: »
    One could argue that if you were driving wihdue care and attention you'd have noticed the "huge and thick metal bar" and taken action to avoid It? Would you like a summons on top?

Sure the m50 is full of cameras which will have recorded your poor driving

This is total bull in fairness. It physically impossible to travel at a speed to avoid any potential obsticle. Even an sizeable iron bar would be almost invisible on a road surface at any distance.

I hate when people make the "you should always be able to stop statement" as it's simply not possble unless everyone drive around at 5kmh on every road including motorways.

The op had very little chance of any comeback but that does not change the fact that it's not his fault a dangerous obsticle was left in the middle of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

If you ran over an iron bat on the road in Belmullet who would you expect to pay for your tyres. ?
    Just because it's the m50 it's not your fault !!

Nope I'm serious

Just pay up and move on.

what else was he going to do, swerve into a bunch of other cars at speed and cause a major accident?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Few years ago, driving from Dublin to Limerick on the motorway a truck entered the gravel trap going the opposite direction on the motorway spraying stones onto the opposite road direction.
    I had my bonnet nicely re decorated and windscreen had about 10 holes in it.
    I payed for the repair as did the other motorists who were unfortunate.

Truck was probably unaware of the events they caused. I think its unfortunate but just comes down to bad luck.

Nope I'm serious

Just pay up and move on.

I've seen it and I pressed the break, but if I would've pressed the break more I would've caused an accident !

Stop imagining unreal situations.
    I just told you a fact that was confirmed by the m50 support unit that were on the scene !

This is total bull in fairness. It physically impossible to travel at a speed to avoid any potential obsticle. Even an sizeable iron bar would be almost invisible on a road surface at any distance.

I hate when people make the "you should always be able to stop statement" as it's simply not possble unless everyone drive around at 5kmh on every road including motorways.

How did the cars the up claims was ahead of them avoid It? Honestly I'm sick to death of people not wanting to take responsibilityfor their ****ups

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

The m50 has a dedicated breakdown service run from their control room. It's an excellent service I once broke down in rush hour and they were with me in about ten minutes

So you just sit and wait? It’s embarrassing I’m driving so long and never thought of this.

I've seen it and I pressed the break, but if I would've pressed the break more I would've caused an accident !

Stop imagining unreal situations.
    I just told you a fact that was confirmed by the m50 support unit that were on the scene !

No you expressed their opinion you could have put on your hazards and braked

So you actually saw the obstruction?

How did the cars the up claims was ahead of them avoid It? Honestly I'm sick to death of people not wanting to take responsibilityfor their ****ups

If he hit a cow on the road or skidded on a bit of muck the farmer responsible would be hauled in front of the court, as has happened many times. What's so different about this situation??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Stheno, your posts are normally a voice of reason and level headedness. Poor form imho, if it can be proved where it came from why should the OP pay?

So you just sit and wait? It’s embarrassing I’m driving so long and never thought of this.

In my case my timing belt went near the n4 junction.
    I pulled onto the hard shoulder and rang my insurance as I've breakdown cover but ten minutes later the m50 guys arrived.

I think it's the only motorway with this service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Good luck getting them to go through cameras to try an track that, the man power required would cost way more than a set of tyres

Won't happen as the cameras don't record footage, unless something has changed recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Hurrache wrote: »
    Won't happen as the cameras don't record footage, unless something has changed recently.

are they just for monitoring traffic flow?

No you expressed their opinion you could have put on your hazards and braked

So you actually saw the obstruction?

Let me make it easier for you.
    It wasn't my fault or the other's 2 other drivers who went over the drive shaft.

I saw the obstruction and I had one second to react, the car in front of me went over it, I went over it, I had cars in left and right.
    I was there and I'm saying that I couldn't avoid it, you were not there.
    I'm driving for 8 years claim free, not from yesterday.

I have a big dent on my alloy as well, have to find someone who repairs them.

Stheno, your posts are normally a voice of reason and level headedness. Poor form imho, if it can be proved where it came from why should the OP pay?

Op has said they saw the obstruction and chose not to brake, so took a chance and now wants someoneto pay. My oh drove through a flood recently despite a warning and damaged his car, should the council pay for not having flood defences in place? I think not.

Personal responsibility has a lot to be said for it

There was a really nuts story on joe Duffy last month that where a guy had a springleaf come off a truck in front of him, go through his window and if there had been a passenger it would have gone straight through their head.

I actually avoid driving behind trucks ever since hearing that, frightening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Unless the shaft fell off the vehicle in front of him directly into his path, then we are talking about hitting a 1.5 meter object that was already laying in the road. Driving with due care and attention involves seeing things like that.

Also, I know some of the M50/Kelly recovery lads, sound as they come but their opinion as to blame or fault carries as exactly as much weight as anybody elses.

Let me make it easier for you.
    It wasn't my fault or the other's 2 other drivers who went over the drive shaft.

I saw the obstruction and I had one second to react, the car in front of me went over it, I went over it, I had cars in left and right.
    I was there and I'm saying that I couldn't avoid it, you were not there.
    I'm driving for 8 years claim free, not from yesterday.

I have a big dent on my alloy as well, have to find someone who repairs them.

Wheel wizards in finglas are excellentat alloy repairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Op has said they saw the obstruction and chose not to brake, so took a chance and now wants someoneto pay. My oh drove through a flood recently despite a warning and damaged his car, should the council pay for not having flood defences in place? I think not.

Personal responsibility has a lot to be said for it

OP did not say he chose not to brake. He said he braked in such a way as not to put other road users in danger which resulted in going over the metal bar. Will you cop on to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

So much for safe distance behind the car in front.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

You should ride a horse like some of the lads on here op, next time you can just jump over any debris left in your way. If right was right then the truck or whatever was transporting that should be held accountable to compensate you. Even if camera's were recording I doubt they'd just give out the footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

My good deed for the day was to change the wheel for a women who hit the same thing on the M50 today, she mentioned a few cars had hit it.
    There was a huge cut in the tyre where she hit it.

You are not reading my posts, I said the car in front of me had a flat tyre as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

Why are people talking so much bull blaming the OP for not taking action when he saw the object. Holy jesus, he saw it at the last second and did the right thing I believe.
    Lets say for example he jams on or swerves to avoid it..... we all know the M50, it is not a normal road. If he had of reacted badly he could have caused a nasty pile up with disastrous consequences.
    Get off his case. Some people in here really think they are such amazing drivers that they would always react 100% the right way every time with split second reactions. Idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Actually joking aside, technically he might have a point, if you suffered damage and significant expense from somebody else's negligence I'm sure you have a decent case... Only if he saw who caused it or have dash cam footage.

Reminds me of the guy a few months back who's car got hit by a steel pole on the m50 and he didn't realise till after that it speared through the windscreen past his head and stuck into the back seat...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

If surprised someone hasn't said what if that metal bar was a child etc. :rolleyes:

Why are people talking so much bull blaming the OP for not taking action when he saw the object. Holy jesus, he saw it at the last second and did the right thing I believe.
    Lets say for example he jams on or swerves to avoid it..... we all know the M50, it is not a normal road. If he had of reacted badly he could have caused a nasty pile up with disastrous consequences.
    Get off his case. Some people in here really think they are such amazing drivers that they would always react 100% the right way every time with split second reactions. Idiots.
    I'd a timing belt blow on the m50 at 5pm on a weekday in massive traffic.

Hazards on and into the hard shoulder meant the truck behind me didn't slam into me

Even if you are the correct distance behind the car in front, if they hit a metal bar in the road and you have cars either side of you there is **** all you can do but drive over it considering the speeds involved on the m50

Feel for the op, thank God is wasn't someone on a bike it would have taken them out of it and we wouldn't just be talking about a flat tyre

Hazards on and into the hard shoulder meant the truck behind me didn't slam into me

I'm not looking at proving you it was or it wasn't my fault, because you clearly have you're mind set.

Let's presume it wasn't my fault, and a truck didn't secure it's load, what do you do?
    Btw, I was told by someone else today to go to Wheel Wizards, I'll check them out tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

Em... well done

Even if you are the correct distance behind the car in front, if they hit a metal bar in the road and you have cars either side of you there is **** all you can do but drive over it considering the speeds involved on the m50

Feel for the op, thank God is wasn't someone on a bike it would have taken them out of it and we wouldn't just be talking about a flat tyre

I got scared a bit and there was a bit of panic set on alright, the lad from m50 support unit said in cases like that he has to call guards and they block all m50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Gold star.

I'm not looking at proving you it was or it wasn't my fault, because you clearly have you're mind set.

Let's presume it wasn't my fault, and a truck didn't secure it's load, what do you do?
    Btw, I was told by someone else today to go to Wheel Wizards, I'll check them out tomorrow.
    Do. They are excellent to deal with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

If he hit a cow on the road or skidded on a bit of muck the farmer responsible would be hauled in front of the court, as has happened many times. What's so different about this situation??

No one can identify which vehicle the object came from so there is no one to sue. For the MIBI you need the registration. To get the registration they'd need to have the camera on the exact spot where the item was before it fell off the vehicle, to prove that it was not there before vehicle x went past and was after, so how do you propose that they get the evidence?

It's an obstacle on the road and this is why we are told to keep a 2 second gap. So everyone is responsible. The vehicle which lost the item, the OP for not leaving enough space to see and avoid the item and the people following too close to the OP for them not being able to stop safely.

Just be thankful that the part which fell off didn't cripple the vehicle or the OP and other drivers would have been in a serious multi vehicle nose to tail. Then it would have been the OP's fault and the fault of the following drivers.

So if the vehicle stops dead and gets hit from behind because the following driver hasn't left enough space its the following driver st fault, but if a piece falls off the lead vehicle its the lead vehicle at fault for the following driver not leaving enough space.

I know I said 1 second but it was more than that, if I slammed on the brakes maybe I could've come to a halt before the object, but no one in their right mind would wish to come to a halt on 3rd lane on m50.

It was actually a choice that I made, I chose to slow down as much as I could without risking a rear end crash and go over the object (as I couldn't go left/right), get a flat tyre instead of causing a long series of crashes.

Del2005 wrote: »
    No one can identify which vehicle the object came from so there is no one to sue. For the MIBI you need the registration. To get the registration they'd need to have the camera on the exact spot where the item was before it fell off the vehicle, to prove that it was not there before vehicle x went past and was after, so how do you propose that they get the evidence?

It's an obstacle on the road and this is why we are told to keep a 2 second gap. So everyone is responsible. The vehicle which lost the item, the OP for not leaving enough space to see and avoid the item and the people following too close to the OP for them not being able to stop safely.

Just be thankful that the part which fell off didn't cripple the vehicle or the OP and other drivers would have been in a serious multi vehicle nose to tail. Then it would have been the OP's fault and the fault of the following drivers.

So if the vehicle stops dead and gets hit from behind because the following driver hasn't left enough space its the following driver st fault, but if a piece falls off the lead vehicle its the lead vehicle at fault for the following driver not leaving enough space.

Don't agree, your driving at 120 and the car in front smashed into a metal bar throws it up in the air and you have a split second to swerve or hit it knowing you probably have cars left and right and you could cause a catastrophic accident if you swerve.

That 2 second gap would appear very very small when you take into account human behavior, speed involved, shock etc.

It's a load of bollox to say if the 2 second gap had been adhered to everything would have been fine.

How do you know he didn't leave a 2 second gap ? even if he left a 3 or 4 second gap he probably would have still hit it.

I always leave a huge gap when driving and if a piece of metal flew in my direction when doing 120 the last thing I would do is wildly swing into an ajoining lane which is what seems some are suggesting should have been the course of action. Or you could slam on the brakes and cause a massive pileup and again maybe a fatality, pick your poison

Even if you had enough time to brake smoothly you would still have to hit it or else you have the time to look left and right before swerving, yeah right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭secman

About 5 years ago I hit a van wheel in the middle lane of the m50. It didn't fall off the van that was immediately in front of me. It was rush hour early morning traffic, I could not avoid it as all lanes were full of traffic and moving. My car went up on 2 wheels and fell back down hard. The van wheel shot across to outside lane and a Starlet hit it, took the sump straight out of the Starlet. My car a 320d was still drivable but was kind of stuck in " straight on " . Never found out where the wheel came from, had to claim on my own fully comp policy, €5k of damage to the car, an awful lot of unseen damage, steering rack, undercarisge damaged, radiator, 2 wheels written off too.
    Thankfully no people injured. Frightened the shiete out of me when I was doing 100kph on 2 wheels :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭beefburrito

There must have been some wallop when the timing belt went, did it rip your engine apart,pistons all over the road I'd say.

So you managed to pull your car to the hard shoulder when you we're doing 40kmh in gridlock , gold medal to you sir. Obviously a serious driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Wailin

Nope I'm serious

Just pay up and move on.

Clippity clop the high horse brigade are here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Some of the responses blaming the op are crazy.
    It's not his fault. It may he difficult to find the culprit however it's worth a try. Some driver may have had a narrow escape behind whatever dropped the metal piece and reported it or whatever so you never know.