Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

guarda escort for GAA star

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Maybe this is part of the new National Transport Strategy.
    The Bullet Patrol Car - Galway to Dublin.

Unfortunately it's a limited service as to how many can fit in the back of a Hyundai. Fare can be paid in cash or donuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

in fairness I've seen that lad play and he is very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

At least they weren't going too fast sure. lol. I'm not a GAA person but plenty of drunk priests and drunks in general are given lifts in those patrol cars every night of the week. Let them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

farmchoice wrote: »
    in fairness I've seen that lad play and he is very good.

In fairness wtf has that to do with anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Listen, shure, its our national game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭georgina toadbum

I'd guess the OP supports the team that lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I presumed it was a story of a few GAA stars with an escort who is dressed as a cop.
    Well how wrong I was!

This is an outrage.
    Baahhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

It's a Sunday. It's the GAA

Get over yourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

Bob Harris wrote: »
    In fairness wtf has that to do with anything?
    what? wtf are you talking about? he is a good player he would be addition to any club/college team, obviously if he was no good or even average this would be a disgrace, but he is good, in fairness he's very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

I'd guess the OP supports the team that lost.

The footballer in question lost.

Would they not use the Garda helicopter?
    Stop play in Tullamore, land the helicopter, take off, stop play in Santry, land the helicopter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Meh, you're just angry you lost the match :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭georgina toadbum

The footballer in question lost.

Maybe they are blaming him for the loss :D

farmchoice wrote: »
    what? wtf are you talking about? he is a good player he would be addition to any club/college team, obviously if he was no good or even average this would be a disgrace, but he is good, in fairness he's very good.

Did he really need a Garda escort though? Is it a good use of already stretched resources?

Maybe he was being harassed by the Jobstown 5 scrotes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

The cops should be out looking for real criminals.

Like that bollocks who reffed the Meath U17B hurlers off the pitch last week against Wicklow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

A pair of cops in Alabama helped me get to the Greyhound station on time for my bus back to Jacksonville.

Good ole boys, God bless them. Athnaíonn southerner southerner eile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Gombeenry at its finest.

Totally indefensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

I though a GAA lad getting a quick ride from Coppers was par for the course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Well it's simple. Next time they moan about lack of resources bring up this. Then they'll have a handy way to get more resources by reducing crap like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Rediculous .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

He's doing it for the parish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

I have absolutely no problem with it whatsoever.

Quit your moaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,945 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Surprised the Garda copter wasn’t called into action

garda escort for GAA star
    Anyone else disappoint the story did not feature female garda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,805 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ah shur lookit, plays the gaa and comes from a well-respected family. Handy when you're stopped at a checkpoint as well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

Its the indo so I'm assuming they were unable to punctuate and it should have read "in a garda's car'. I call bull**** - no source and no confirmation.

more likely that an off duty member of Corofin drove him up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Stupid scheduling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭lifeandtimes

Its the indo so I'm assuming they were unable to punctuate and it should have read "in a garda's car'. I call bull**** - no source and no confirmation.

They'll have to retract and apologise if they camt provide a source to confirm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

If it was a Garda car it's irrelevant whether the Garda was on duty or not. Garda cars are obviously not meant to be used by off duty Gardaí.

That being said I don't really have a problem with it. This article smacks of pettiness to be perfectly honest. It's not a big deal whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭buckwheat

My polite indignation know no bounds :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

Any Huberman got an escort to Punchestown a few years ago because she was late to judge the best dressed lady competition. I’ve no problem with someone who’s justifying their existence on the planet getting an escort to something worthwhile like a match.

Any Huberman getting one to the races because she can’t get her square head there on time is a far, far worse use or misuse of resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Tullamore's finest taxi service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Absolutely ridiculous waste of already tight resources. Beyond idiotic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

No harm done at all. Delighted that the player got to play both games. I say well done to everyone involved. TBF, how often would this ever happen.
    Great to see the usual GAA haters out in force...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I don't support it, but in the grand scale of Garda fúck ups this one comes in somewhere close enough to the bottom.

Slightly less annoying than Huberman getting one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭kellsred

Noveight wrote: »
    I don't support it, but in the grand scale of Garda fúck ups this one comes in somewhere close enough to the bottom.

Slightly less annoying than Huberman getting one.

I'd give Huberman one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

washman3 wrote: »
    No harm done at all. Delighted that the player got to play both games. I say well done to everyone involved. TBF, how often would this ever happen.
    Great to see the usual GAA haters out in force...;)

I love the GAA and played it all my life winning championships on the way but I can't fathom how wreckless this was. What if there was a serious RTA elsewhere and ambulance cover was used up. The guards would need to be fully engaged.

We are never going to be a serious country and its f**k up after f**k up. People defending instances like this just show why the mayhem will never end.

Nothing against the player but the decisioning of the guards is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Nothing surprises me when it comes to GAA tbh. It's a game in which players can carry out vicious criminal assaults on other players within the field of play that would see you arrested and in court on the street. "But ah sure it's just some good old boys having a match" seems to the national attitude to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Nothing surprises me when it comes to GAA tbh. It's a game in which players can carry out vicious criminal assaults on other players within the field of play that would see you arrested and in court on the street. "But ah sure it's just some good old boys having a match" seems to the national attitude to it.

Is 'contact sport' a new concept to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Well done to the guards. Great to promote the national sport and help out a talented young player.

Not surprised the nerds around here are upset but that's par for the course here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

topper75 wrote: »
    A pair of cops in Alabama helped me get to the Greyhound station on time for my bus back to Jacksonville.

Good ole boys, God bless them. Athnaíonn southerner southerner eile.

Louisiana.. Geaux Tigers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Louisiana.. Geaux Tigers!!

No twas Mobile AL to Jacksonville FL.

I was counting on getting a taxi from hotel but there were none available in that district of Mobile the morning I was leaving. Too far to walk and clock was applying pressure. The girl I was with had more assertiveness than I and just straight out knocked on a cop car window and told them of our plight. Irish accent charmed them. They drove us at pace out to the station at the edge of town, no siren though. We foolishly offered a $20 as thanks but they freaked and drove away. Got some looks off the other passengers assembled outside the station. Should have made some donation to their benevolent fund or something. Sound pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Well after the last Garda and "escort" shenanigans I'm glad it was just a glorified car pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,805 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

What next, a Garda escort so a prize winning bull can make two livestock judging contests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

I pulled a Garda in Coppers one night and by the time we got outside there was an unmarked car waiting for us. So you could say I got a Garda escort for a Garda escort!

First they came for the socialists...