Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric only from 2030?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The Green Party clowns might promote wood pellet burning cars and destroy us all like they did with diesel promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,628 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Cosmo K wrote: »

It’s very aspirational in an environment where technological progress is expected but production is uncertain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Not a hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I havn't read the article but that headline should stipulate the ban in the purchase of new petrol and diesel vehicles by 2030.

Any existing petrol and diesel cars can be ran and traded for as long as the infrastructure allows, surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Lol, it's lofty claims Friday again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Cosmo K wrote: »
    Wow! I didn't expect that!

Governments are full of grand plans, like Irish Water and residential water charges, for instance. A plausible proposition, but enacted with utter incompetence and dreadful timing, so the people stuck two fingers up at the insult and it went away.

This proposition to ban sales of fossil fuel cars after 2030 and refuse NCTs for them after 2045, will only work if the market is ready for it and if the CBA stacks up. And I mean all costs and impacts. If we have a 100% renewable grid by 2045 (which we wont), it might make sense, but if we have to burn more gas, peat and coal to run 3 million electric vehicles, then its utter nonsense. And what about heavy vehicles and plant? I cant wait to see an electric excavator and earth mover and the 10 acres of battery packs theyll need to deliver enough energy.

Announcements like those from Volvo saying they shall drop fossil fuel burning engines from production in a few short years may become more commonplace. Battery technology may skip a few evolutionary steps and deal with range anxiety and perhaps the Govts lofty target might just be met naturally. But I doubt it.

Me, in 2029, as I shall be 53, I shall buy a nice condition 2015 Mercedes Benz S500 AMG and tidy it up, mind it, upgrade the software now and then and when it gets to 2045, lash it on the classic motor tax until I'm dead. You'll never catch me alive in one of those duracell powered pansy wagons!! Although the hearse might be....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

So what happens if the tech isn't there yet to support being able to run an electric van or car all day without a charge? There are people that need that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

I read it as a ban on diesel and petrol only cars, logically hybrids are excluded?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Hurrache wrote: »
    I read it as a ban on diesel and petrol only cars, logically hybrids are excluded?

Hopefully that's all it will be, by then pretty much everything will be hybrid anyway so that is eminently achievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

I have a wall chart somewhere, produced by CIE in 1948 a few years after it was formed. My father at the time had worked for the GS&WR which was incorporated into CIE. On the chart it proposed an underground rail system extending from Lucan, Dundrum and Howth and traversing the city. The idea was to replace the aged tram system, and incorporate the new double decker bus alongside the underground system. Completion was to be in time for the 1966 bi-centenary of 'The Rising'.
    Need I say any more !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭billbond4

Someone should ask government if were all driving electric cars in 2045, where is all the income that used to come from fossil fuel cars going to come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Wonder how they will tax the motorist with no fuel to tax, will house electricity be marked green?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭billbond4

Air tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Wonder how they will tax the motorist with no fuel to tax, will house electricity be marked green?

Road pricing I'd say, otherwise I have no idea. They can't charge VRT for a while (if they want us to go green) so that's out. They could charge more for public transport but they want us to use that so they can't do that either.

They could charge more PAYE but given that it's been the long established FG policy to reduce it (and our tax rates are way out of line with other countries - it's absolutely bonkers to be charging the top rate of tax at just €34,000).

This is one of the many things they haven't thought through in their attempt to look hipster and all sophisticated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭kyote00

Also to make this move to electric cars worthwhile in terms of a reduction in C02 emissions, then all the generated electricity in the world will need to be from renewables by 2030

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

I remember in 2002 Tuam was categorised a Hub town.
    Enuff said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Enuff said.

A hub for what...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,837 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Its Just another magical Government pipe dream. As if they care they will not even be in power by the time its supposed to happen. Maybe there party might be but not many of the ministers there now will be. They will be all off enjoying there big fat pensions.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

You'll get it whether you asked for it or not. It's Europe wide, worldwide indeed. Your betters know what's best for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Larbre34 wrote: »
    A hub for what...

All part of the great Spatial Strategy with very fast broadband, infrastructure, industry etc etc

It never happened by the way!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Tuco88

Typical Irish government move = "Introduce the ban 10 years ahead of the UK" Great so we can all take our hard earned cash up north for 10 years.

Its the Diesel story again. New car sales of Diesels are down a bit. The imports are rocking off the boat more diesels on the road now tham ever ha.

How will rural Ireland work with electric cars?
    Charge points in the 80% of Irish housing estates in the cities, run the cables across the paths?

Whats this wounder fuel to power the grid wind? Ha ffs..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I must have missed it, when was Danny Healy-Rae put in charge of the Nat. Dev. plan?

2030, what a load of tripe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Tuco88 wrote: »
    How will rural Ireland work with electric cars?

Great, I imagine. Small windmills and large .areas of solar panels will provide fairly cheap juice and there is plenty of space to park the yoke near a plug.
    Cars will have twice the range in 2030, enough to go the Munster final and back.

The fellow parking on the street in D6 will have a problem.

Great, I imagine. Small windmills and large .areas of solar panels will provide fairly cheap juice and there is plenty of space to park the yoke near a plug.
    Cars will have twice the range in 2030, enough to go the Munster final and back.

The fellow parking on the street in D6 will have a problem.

If they set the date to 2040 id believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

[QUOTE=Larbre34;106171587

Announcements like those from Volvo saying they shall drop fossil fuel burning engines from production in a few short years may become more commonplace. Battery technology may skip a few evolutionary steps and deal with range anxiety and perhaps the Govts lofty target might just be met naturally. But I doubt it.

Volvo are continuously misquoted on what they announced. They will not be investing in diesel technology. They will still be producing fossil burning engines but it will be the existing engines for the foreseeable. All their engine r+d will be for more sustainable technologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

Governments are full of grand plans, like Irish Water and residential water charges, for instance. A plausible proposition, but enacted with utter incompetence and dreadful timing, so the people stuck two fingers up at the insult and it went away.

This proposition to ban sales of fossil fuel cars after 2030 and refuse NCTs for them after 2045, will only work if the market is ready for it and if the CBA stacks up. And I mean all costs and impacts. If we have a 100% renewable grid by 2045 (which we wont), it might make sense, but if we have to burn more gas, peat and coal to run 3 million electric vehicles, then its utter nonsense. And what about heavy vehicles and plant? I cant wait to see an electric excavator and earth mover and the 10 acres of battery packs theyll need to deliver enough energy.

Me, in 2029, as I shall be 53, I shall buy a nice condition 2015 Mercedes Benz S500 AMG and tidy it up, mind it, upgrade the software now and then and when it gets to 2045, lash it on the classic motor tax until I'm dead. You'll never catch me alive in one of those duracell powered pansy wagons!! Although the hearse might be....

What the actual? There's some serious misconceptions and general gib****edness already in this thread. How many if ye have actually driven an EV? Jesus like!
    EV motors knock the crap out of an ICE and the only thing holding them back is the batteries.

The battery tech is moving along nicely and in 12 years time all the options you want will be there range wise.
    I'm speaking here as someone who has had a few decent 200+ bhp ICE cars and moved to an EV. Im back now in a PHEV and honestly cannot wait until I can buy a long range full EV next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

stesaurus wrote: »
    What the actual? There's some serious misconceptions and general gib****edness already in this thread. How many if ye have actually driven an EV? Jesus like!
    EV motors knock the crap out of an ICE and the only thing holding them back is the batteries.

The battery tech is moving along nicely and in 12 years time all the options you want will be there range wise.
    I'm speaking here as someone who has had a few decent 200+ bhp ICE cars and moved to an EV. Im back now in a PHEV and honestly cannot wait until I can buy a long range full EV next year.

I’ve got a few cars but I’ll bet any money that I can drive from my home in sligo to an appointment in Dublin say college green for 1 hour and back in a far handier manner like many hours less in my 1977 bmw than you can in any electric car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

Tigger wrote: »
    I’ve got a few cars but I’ll bet any money that I can drive from my home in sligo to an appointment in Dublin say college green for 1 hour and back in a far handier manner like many hours less in my 1977 bmw than you can in any electric car

Not sure of your point? Is that something you do on a daily basis? Sounds horrible really and isn't at all representative of the vast majority of journeys.
    But if your really saying any EV, then a Model S wouldn't have any issues with that trip.
    Next 2 years will have most of the major manufacturers offering ranges in the 400km region. That's the big tipping point and that's just in the next 2 years.

I will say the EV is a serious machine. Look at the bhp thats possible its mental and thats at entry level cars. Once the back is broken on batteries its away.

Not sure of your point? Is that something you do on a daily basis? Sounds horrible really and isn't at all representative of the vast majority of journeys.
    But if your really saying any EV, then a Model S wouldn't have any issues with that trip.
    Next 2 years will have most of the major manufacturers offering ranges in the 400km region. That's the big tipping point and that's just in the next 2 years.

Whta the range on a model s at 120 kmph?

My point is a 41 year old car is more relevant for non city living than a new ev

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

The time to recharge and the lack of public charging infrastructure and the fact that the available chargers are always full or blocked by other car parkers makes having an electric car a pain in the proverbial for long journeys.

Is it possible to rent a trailer filled with a precharged set of batteries to plug into a low charged car? Or to quickly exchange batteries in a fashion similar to gas cylinders?

I know batteries condition and ability to store charge deteriorates over time but would it be possible to build up a stock of trailers filled with batteries to be used when people are stuck for time on a long journey?? Or is there too much variation in battery quality over time to make such a scheme possible??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Bob_Marley

<stop messing, moderator>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭kyote00

Think I will hold off until the flying cars come.....:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Enuff said.

Tuam?
    Enuff said as you say.

And that was what was wrong with previous plans, no joined up thinking.

I'm sure Tuam is fine, but it wouldn't be in most people's top 50 places to live.

I'll have a wild guess that some local FF politician had a say in it?

As for the car plans - most car manufacturers will be all electric by then anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Sabre Man

Tigger wrote: »
    Whta the range on a model s at 120 kmph?

It depends on a few factors. There's calculator near the bottom of this page, so you can play around and see for yourself:
    https://www.tesla.com/en_IE/models

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

And what about heavy vehicles and plant? I cant wait to see an electric excavator and earth mover and the 10 acres of battery packs theyll need to deliver enough energy.

We already have electric excavators ;)

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bagger_288

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

doolox wrote: »
    The time to recharge and the lack of public charging infrastructure and the fact that the available chargers are always full or blocked by other car parkers makes having an electric car a pain in the proverbial for long journeys.

Is it possible to rent a trailer filled with a precharged set of batteries to plug into a low charged car? Or to quickly exchange batteries in a fashion similar to gas cylinders?

I know batteries condition and ability to store charge deteriorates over time but would it be possible to build up a stock of trailers filled with batteries to be used when people are stuck for time on a long journey?? Or is there too much variation in battery quality over time to make such a scheme possible??

It's impossible to easily replace the batteries in EVs. All they can do is try to reduce the charge time but that will require a lot of capacity in the supply system to deliver it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

This is all complete shīte. It’s the usual lies that we hear before an election. They are promising thousands more homes, tightening up of planning regulations, motorways and road upgrades. We have heard it all before and none of it happened. Ireland will be 10-15 years behind everyone else when the time comes. They’re expecting people to buy only EV’s in 12 years time yet they have done zero to promote the take up of EVs in the last election. Like I said it’s pure horseshít from a spineless government.

Del2005 wrote: »
    It's impossible to easily replace the batteries in EVs. All they can do is try to reduce the charge time but that will require a lot of capacity in the supply system to deliver it.

Tesla tried this at one location in California but it didn't prove popular despite swapping the battery in about 90 seconds.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H5V0vL3nnHY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Bob_Marley

A few backhanders from the corporations pushing EV's can do wonders for a product.
    Watch the price of Electricity go sky high for everyone when enough people sign up.
    It's all about having more control over people and less freedom.

Plug in & Toyota/Lexus hybrids & EVs by 2030 for passenger cars.... completely realistic to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Needles73

Augeo wrote: »
    Plug in & Toyota/Lexus hybrids & EVs by 2030 for passenger cars.... completely realistic to be fair.

How is it realistic? Most of our electricity is generated from fossil fuels so are we ready to replace that with what....? Are we ready to upgrade entire generation capacity and transmission network in the next 12 years.