Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are An Garda Síochána trying to turn everyone against each other?

• 15-02-2018 1:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭

Gardai appeal for public to report anyone with a low income living a lavish lifestyle

THE Criminal Assets Bureau (CAB) have appealed for lifestyle information including details of luxury cars, powerful motorbikes, designer clothing and exotic foreign holidays in a bid to track down crime gangs.

The public appeal for lifestyle data came as CAB officers are now focusing multiple operations outside the greater Dublin area.

Detectives believe that some gang members have deliberately switched their personal bases outside Dublin in a bid to avoid the spotlight.

Now, CAB have appealed to the public to report any lifestyle issues that they might consider suspicious ranging from individuals who don't have any specific means of income and yet who drive powerful, expensive cars and enjoy multiple foreign holidays each year.

In other cases, detectives have asked people to report anyone who may appear to have a job but whose spending appears vastly greater than their likely wages.

The primary target of the operation is drug operations - but CAB are also determined to crackdown on burglary gangs, smugglers and organised prostitution networks.

CAB are also concerned at reports of an upsurge in illegal money-lending.

"If people have unexplained wealth, we want to hear about it," a CAB source said.

"The only way we can target these criminals is with information which helps us to focus our investigation resources."

However, that monitoring now extends to social media in a bid to determine the cars, clothing, jewellery, holidays and general spending of individuals.

Despite the obvious risks, some Irish criminals have been foolish enough to post photos on social media which involved elements of their lifestyle - and found themselves facing CAB queries as to the source of the funds involved.

CAB works closely with key Garda units and is briefed on all relevant data from PULSE, the Garda computer system.

Roughly six out of ten CAB operations are now focused on the greater Dublin area - but the bureau is determined to crackdown on criminals trying to hide their wealth in other cities including Cork, Galway, Limerick and Waterford.

Both senior Gardaí and CAB officers stressed that all information received from the public will be treated in the strictest confidence.

“The Gardaí have local profilers which are trained by the bureau to assist in CAB enquiries," Chief Supt Ger Dillane said.

"But we depend on information - and the public are vital to assisting us with these vital investigations. People need to know that a tip-off will not result in them appearing in court and most information taken by us is on an anonymous or confidential basis," he said.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/gardai-appeal-for-public-to-report-anyone-with-a-low-income-living-a-lavish-lifestyle-36606977.html

TLDR

If you think someone is living a lifestyle you think they couldn't afford.

Call the Garda

Arent people going to be reporting anyone and everyone without knowing facts about a persons financial background?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

I have no problem with this. Scumbags get caught. Honest successful people produce a tax return. Case closed.

I know I'm being simplistic, but you get my point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/gardai-appeal-for-public-to-report-anyone-with-a-low-income-living-a-lavish-lifestyle-36606977.html

TLDR

Call the Garda

Arent people going to be reporting anyone and everyone without knowing facts about a persons financial background?

What if you do know the facts behind someone's financial background?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,219 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It's fairly easy for them to rule out somebody without much hassle. If this led to a few assets being seized I think it would be worth while. Often tough money is just laundered through businesses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

A few years back I opened mail for a government agency. There's already a serious amount of tattle-talery goes on. This is just the guards / CAB saying they want a part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

TLDR

Call the Garda

I couldn't give two ****s if it brings those draining the system via illegal means to court and plugging gaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

TLDR

Call the Garda

Seriously??

I think if the type of people CAB are chasing moved into my area I'd want them out pronto.......better CAB paying them a visit than some of their erstwhile colleagues or 'rivals' making a housecall and the rest of us getting caught in the crossfire.

Somehow I doubt they're after plumbers doing cash jobs and using that to fund a holiday in Florida!

The thread title is titled in a slightly provocative way - if someone is cheating then you should report them.
    At the end of the day we are all paying for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I don't pay my taxes to pay for the CAB to tell me that I have a duty to help them to find leads so that they can continue to do their jobs that I pay them to do. They can fork right off with that shyte. And if they think they are fooling me with their faux concern for putting everything right well they can think again. And if I come in contact with someone who looks like they won the lottery I won't be following CAB's suggestion rather I will try to get to know them a little bit better.

AllForIt wrote: »
    I don't pay my taxes to pay for the CAB to tell me that I have a duty to help them to find leads so that they can continue to do their jobs that I pay them to do. They can fork right off with that shyte. And if they think they are fooling me with their faux concern for putting everything right well they can think again. And if I come in contact with someone who looks like they won the lottery I won't be following CAB's suggestion rather I will try to get to know them a little bit better.

Do employees of the CAB not pay taxes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

Aren't you supposed to report a suspected crime anyway? Hardly need to be told that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

A few years back I opened mail for a government agency. There's already a serious amount of tattle-talery goes on. This is just the guards / CAB saying they want a part of it.

Who said we're a nation of begrudgers?

Me - I've enough to contend with in my own day to day life to be running grassing up someone I suspect is scamming somw system or other.

If I witness first-hand criminality, that's a different story entirely, but I've very little time for busy body begrudgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Huexotzingo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

Me - I've enough to contend with in my own day to day life to be running grassing up someone I suspect is scamming somw system or other.

If I witness first-hand criminality, that's a different story entirely, but I've very little time for busy body begrudgers.

But this isn't aimed at people scamming the system, it's aimed at criminal gang members. It's stated repeatedly throughout the statement. Wanting to help lock up these murdering c#nts isnt begrudgery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

Jawgap wrote: »
    Seriously??

I think if the type of people CAB are chasing moved into my area I'd want them out pronto.......better CAB paying them a visit than some of their erstwhile colleagues or 'rivals' making a housecall and the rest of us getting caught in the crossfire.

Somehow I doubt they're after plumbers doing cash jobs and using that to fund a holiday in Florida!

Maybe not but if they do investigate that plumber they will have to arrest him anyway. He did break the law and they still have to do their job.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I don't think you understand what the CAB is.

They aren't interested in people claiming the dole while they have a job or not declaring the income for the odd cash jobs they do on a Saturday morning.

Rory28 wrote: »
    Maybe not but if they do investigate that plumber they will have to arrest him anyway. He did break the law and they still have to do their job.
    This is like saying if I phone the Guards and say wee Jimmy down the road stole a Cadburys chocolate bar from the SPAR on the corner they'd investigate him and then have to arrest him.

If you tell CAB that the plumber down the road just went on holiday to Florida you'll be ignored. Probably forever.

ceegee wrote: »
    But this isn't aimed at people scamming the system, it's aimed at criminal gang members. It's stated repeatedly throughout the statement. Wanting to help lock up these murdering c#nts isnt begrudgery

Read the post I responded to for context at least ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

When you're the Garda and you're really not fit for purpose do a Leo and deflect to others.

Still can't find anyone who supports crime, dole fraud, fraud against the state; tax evasion/expenses, shady contract allocation by Garda/government (natonal/local).

Mind you how it's dealt with depends on who''s doing it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

AllForIt wrote: »

So you're not all for it?

awec wrote: »
    This is like saying if I phone the Guards and say wee Jimmy down the road stole a Cadburys chocolate bar from the SPAR on the corner they'd investigate him and then have to arrest him.

If you tell CAB that the plumber down the road just went on holiday to Florida you'll be ignored. Probably forever.

Or maybe you wont be ignored. I dont know how they choose to investigate people and neither do you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,059 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I was going to report Matt Barrett but i think they may know all about him already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I am going to have to sell the yellow range rover now:(

I don't think you understand what the CAB is.

They aren't interested in people claiming the dole while they have a job or not declaring the income for the odd cash jobs they do on a Saturday morning.

Again.
    Read the post I responded to for context at least ffs.

Or maybe you wont be ignored. I dont know how they choose to investigate people and neither do you.
    I know what the CAB is though.

They investigate proceeds of serious crime. Drug dealers, gangs, prostitution rings etc.

Normal people with real jobs taking in some extra income they don't declare for tax are of absolutely no interest to them. It's not serious crime, the sums of money are too small, they are no danger to society.

They investigate proceeds of serious crime. Drug dealers, gangs, prostitution rings etc.

Normal people with real jobs taking in some extra income they don't declare for tax are of absolutely no interest to them. It's not serious crime, the sums of money are too small, they are no danger to society.

Well if that is the case then I am all for this. Assuming they only target real criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

I never understood what licking an informer's bum bum was supposed to achieve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭the sheriff is HERE

The CAB need to start with the Byrne's in crumlin and the kinahans and trickle down from there they can come in and out of Ireland with the best of everything yet have never worked they've seized a nice bit already from them but more needs to be done,

Is this like the dutch recently who are seizing expensive clothes, watches, shoes, and passports and anything you can't explain if you're not working but living the life.

What about the clever crims who get a business man to launder their money and invest in property while they drive sh!te cars and wear pennys clothes while living in council estates?

Runs off to see if CAB are selling expensive items on eBay at a steal :}

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

So you're saying that CAB will not investigate what they are requesting from the public.

eg:

Dodgy looking family I have no information about seem to have the best of everything.

But they seem to be at home all the time.

The only thing that standing out to me is that they look dodgy.

Will CAB hang up or investigate it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I am going to have to sell the yellow range rover now:(

Can I have your bullet proof Mercedes?

CAB are not interested in tradesmen or women doing cash jobs and dodging tax.

Their remit is "....the illegally acquired assets of criminals involved in serious crime."

If you rang them to complain about Peter the plumber taking cash and not issuing receipts they'd tell you, politely, to fúck off by suggesting you contact another agency such as Revenue.

So unless the plumber is also doing a sideline in drug importation, human trafficking or armed robbery they're not interested.

Or put it this way, are there any examples of them (CAB) doing tradesmen for dodging VAT or tax?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

Jawgap wrote: »
    CAB are not interested in tradesmen or women doing cash jobs and dodging tax.

Their remit is "....the illegally acquired assets of criminals involved in serious crime."

If you rang them to complain about Peter the plumber taking cash and not issuing receipts they'd tell you, politely, to fúck off by suggesting you contact another agency such as Revenue.

So unless the plumber is also doing a sideline in drug importation, human trafficking or armed robbery they're not interested.

Or put it this way, are there any examples of them (CAB) doing tradesmen for dodging VAT or tax?

So how do they tell from a random call by the public that Peter is a plumber without any type of investigation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

So how do they tell from a random call by the public that Peter is a plumber without any type of investigation?

well if you call up to report Peter the plumber and you tell them you think he is dodgy because he takes a couple of holidays a year they wont be interested. They only care about serious criminals. They might do a cursory investigation to see if he is known to gardai but probably not a lot more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

How difficult is it for the Garda to look up the vehicle registration database and find big cars?
    Or is that too clever?

diomed wrote: »
    How difficult is it for the Garda to look up the vehicle registration database and find big cars?
    Or is that too clever?

more incredibly time consuming i would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭PCX

Or is that too clever?

My guess is that many serious criminals are smart enough not to have too much registered in their own name.

more incredibly time consuming i would think.
    On my little PC I can analyse the pedigrees of 40 horses a second, and that starts with finding their 126 ancestors before doing the analysis.
    If there is a will there is a way.

On my little PC I can analyse the pedigrees of 40 horses a second, and that starts with finding their 126 ancestors before doing the analysis.
    If there is a will there is a way.

thats great. Not sure how it is relevant though.

Well, there are 800,000 horses in the database.

My guess is the number or cars in Ireland would be about the same.
    The owner, the address, the make, model will be in a database.
    Now if you load up the price lists for Ferrari, Mercedes, Porche, Audi, Range Rover, and other expensive makes with the model and price you have the ingredients.

I bought a magazine for €3.99 last week.
    Motoring Life - 2018 Ultimate car Buyers Guide
    They are all in it, and if they are not you can go online and find the rest.
    For example, the magazine has six Range Rover models

You have the makes and models and owners.
    You have the car prices.

High-end cars would be imo much less than 1% of the total.
    You will end up with a selection of a few thousand expensive cars and their owners.

If you think it is impossible it will be impossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

No mention of any reward. If I'm gonna turn grass, there'd better be something in it for me, that's all I'm sayin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭PCX

Now if you load up the price lists for Ferrari, Mercedes, Porche, Audi, Range Rover, and other expensive makes with the model and price you have the ingredients.

You have the car prices.

You will end up with a selection of a few thousand expensive cars and their owners.

If the cars etc are not registered in their own name then you would have to look up all of the registered owners then look into their financials. Then you would have to investigate all of those you think might have a lower income than they might need to afford the property.

The vast majority would be explainable by loan, inheritances, property sales, increased business, savings, money from family etc with a very small portion being connected with serious crime. It would be massively labour intensive for the return you would get.

People are generally not as forthcoming about having their personal finances as open to scrutiny in real time as they might be about pedegree horse ancestry. A tax return is not due in till november the year after the money might be made and then the analysis can start - not exactly real time or hard for cartels to organise to stay ahead of!

You have the car prices.

and then somebody has to go an individually check the income of every owner.

And if they do not have declared income for income tax, or an inheritance that was subject to inheritance tax you have your select group of people with unexplainable income. All this is on computer databases in different government departments, or their control.

If properly designed a list of unexplained assets should be coughed out of the computer in a few seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

So you're saying that CAB will not investigate what they are requesting from the public.

eg:

Dodgy looking family I have no information about seem to have the best of everything.

But they seem to be at home all the time.

The only thing that standing out to me is that they look dodgy.

Will CAB hang up or investigate it?

CAB will look at the information that they are given. If they think that it relates to somebody who is involved in serious crime, they will look into it further.

If they get information about some fella who is on disability benefit but has a three year old Fiat and goes to Torremolinos twice a year, they might not suspect serious criminality.

If they hear about someone who is on jobseekers allowance and no other apparent source of income but drives a new Lamborghini, has large houses in Dalkey, Belgravia and Monte Carlo, who jets off to Puerto Banús every second month, they are likely to suspect serious criminality and they will want to know about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

TLDR

Call the Garda

:pac: Powerful motorbikes. You can buy a motorbike that will destroy a 100k euro BMW for 3k euro. I suppose we should rat up on anyone driving a car worth more than that also.

I'd have some degree of respect for the Gardai if they themselves weren't prepared to break the law to gouge a pay rise out of us all a short time ago. Gimps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Dear Gardai/CAB,

Please visit Rathkeale.

Regards,

People of Ireland

They likely triangulate the information.......take any tip they receive and put it into their intelligence model, and see if it's presents a profile that's worth further investigation. And by further investigation probably some initial desktop checks......if they're legit or not the type of criminal they're interested in, they move on.....it's not like they're stuck for work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Dear Gardai/CAB,

Please visit Rathkeale.

Regards,

People of Ireland

There are plenty of rathkeales out there at this stage ... Longford , mullingar , Tuam , Ennis , castleisland , kilrush , Tipperary town etc etc ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭as_mo_bhosca

hurler32 wrote: »
    There are plenty of rathkeales out there at this stage ... Longford , mullingar , Tuam , Ennis , castleisland , kilrush , Tipperary town etc etc ....

I know a three of those towns very well. You may have a point but nothing compared to the cars on display in Rathkeale, especially over Xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

The Garda launch an appeal for us to report people to CAB? So reading between the lines they are really saying "look its been proven time and time again that we are sh**e at our job, we are corrupt to the core and the only thing we can do is fob the work of sorting lawlessness out is to another government agency. Now leave us alone, my pizza's getting cold and I've have a load of overtime to book in for ignoring people when they ring looking for help".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Report all the travellers, yeah?