Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adult men with teenage hobbies.

• 14-02-2018 2:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I had the two young lads over last night for a curry and to watch Spurs in the Champions League. I'd noticed it before, but now that my time around them is a bit more limited I see that they really are chalk and cheese.

The younger fella is into his sport, is a right little horndog, bit of a smart lip on him, but what you'd call a fairly balanced young lad. It's the older lad I'm worried about. He's mad into wrestling, computer games (up all hours of the night unless the ex cuts the internet), watching cage fighting and reading comic books. He also dresses in baggy black clothes, and seems to be permanently moppin' around with a pus on him that would turn milk sour. He also seems to love arguing about stuff like religion and money, and can be a right pain in the hole to be honest. He listens to metal music as well, but I'm not too worried about that, as his auld lad was a fan of Guns N' Roses, Aerosmith, Whitesnake etc when he was younger.

Question is, should I be worried about him, or will he grow out of it? I don't want him to be a grown man who goes to a convention dressed as that Data lad from Star Wars, or queuing to buy front row seats for a WWF match in Dublin. And while I don't read many books meself, I'd hope he would read something more than comic books about superheros and baddies. I was reading Tommy Tiernan in the paper a few weeks ago, and he was going on about grown men acting like teenagers, 40 year olds playing computer games and acting the eejit. I don't want the little lad to turn out like that. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

What adult male doesn't enjoy the odd ****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I had the two young lads over last night for a curry and to watch Spurs in the Champions League. I'd noticed it before, but now that my time around them is a bit more limited I see that they really are chalk and cheese.

The younger fella is into his sport, is a right little horndog, bit of a smart lip on him, but what you'd call a fairly balanced young lad. It's the older lad I'm worried about. He's mad into wrestling, computer games (up all hours of the night unless the ex cuts the internet), watching cage fighting and reading comic books. He also dresses in baggy black clothes, and seems to be permanently moppin' around with a pus on him that would turn milk sour. He also seems to love arguing about stuff like religion and money, and can be a right pain in the hole to be honest. He listens to metal music as well, but I'm not too worried about that, as his auld lad was a fan of Guns N' Roses, Aerosmith, Whitesnake etc when he was younger.

Question is, should I be worried about him, or will he grow out of it? I don't want him to be a grown man who goes to a convention dressed as that Data lad from Star Wars, or queuing to buy front row seats for a WWF match in Dublin. And while I don't read many books meself, I'd hope he would read something more than comic books about superheros and baddies. I was reading Tommy Tiernan in the paper a few weeks ago, and he was going on about grown men acting like teenagers, 40 year olds playing computer games and acting the eejit. I don't want the little lad to turn out like that. :(

Are you actually being serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Relikk

Sounds like you're taking the piss, but is he harming anybody else by doing the things he does?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

You sound like a teenager pretending to be an adult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Begs all sorts of questions like why had you got two young lads over and why do you think you're their parent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

If he's happy , that's all that counts ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Colonel Claptrap

What's a teenage hobby?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Johnny.....are you my papa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

Firstly those bands are not metal bands. Metallica is barely metal.

Secondly get over yourself. You owe your child, as you decided to have him. It doesn't work the other way around. He owes you nothing. He has every right to be whoever he wants to be. Worry all you want it won't get you anywhere.

Edit: ...or you're taking the piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

There's nothing really wrong with any of that, whatever age you are. He's not exactly torturing small animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

What about grown women with child hobbies - like collecting teddies and being a princess? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Better off being happy while paddling your own canoe than feeling meh while trying to fulfill the expectations of others.

More power to the lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Relikk wrote: »
    Is he harming anybody else by doing the things he does?

No, not a bit at the moment, apart from thinking he's some sort of philisopher or intellectual, and boring the hole off people with what he thinks are deep insights. I'd just hate to see him acting the same way when he was 30. To be honest I'd like to see him play some sport, go out sniffing for the ride, and spend less times on indoor nerd pursuits. I'm just wondering if he will grow out of it or will he become an adult manchild?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

What's a teenage hobby?

See post #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I've a nephew that fits this description exactly. The fecker is in his late 20's and is a permanent student - he must have about 3 utterly useless degrees at this stage. Both parents are hardworking. When he's not on some stupid march, he's arguing with people about how great this country would be under socialism. Dunno what his problem is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Data is from Star Trek the Next Generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,390 ✭✭✭Cordell

40 year olds playing computer games and acting the eejit
    I'm 40, still playing computer games, still listening to metal and hip hop and punk, not acting the eeijit though - I've my own family to take care of. So yeah.

LE: you're the star of THAT thread, hats off, sir.

kneemos wrote: »
    Begs all sorts of questions like why had you got two young lads over and why do you think you're their parent?

No need to be smart, lad. My marriage is over, and my two teenage sons were over to visit their auld fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

I had the two young lads over last night for a curry and to watch Spurs in the Champions League...

Is enjoying comic books somehow more juvenile than feeling an affinity with a football club located 400 miles away from where you live?

Everyone has different interests OP, live and let live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

No, not a bit at the moment, apart from thinking he's some sort of philisopher or intellectual, and boring the hole off people with what he thinks are deep insights. I'd just hate to see him acting the same way when he was 30. To be honest I'd like to see him play some sport, go out sniffing for the ride, and spend less times on indoor nerd pursuits. I'm just wondering if he will grow out of it or will he become an adult manchild?

Christ you sound like some barrel of laughs yourself.
    Grow up for the sake of Lucifers ****e.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Johnny.....are you my papa?

Jesus horse, I doubt it! Maybe try the postman?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Supports Spurs.

Questions the choices of others. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

These parody style threads are a throwback :pac:

I'm sure his "mate" will arrive in with some like minded opinion later on. Keep up the good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

Gravelly wrote: »
    I've a nephew that fits this description exactly. The fecker is in his late 20's and is a permanent student - he must have about 3 utterly useless degrees at this stage. Both parents are hardworking. When he's not on some stupid march, he's arguing with people about how great this country would be under socialism. Dunno what his problem is.

Inherited ****ty deal from the previous generation :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

OP, go to a Hamleys toystore and go to a free member of staff. There should be one available since it's not Chrimbo.
    Ask them what range of toys are suitable for a male teenage hobbyist. Then avoid grown men like myself with these pursuits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Let me guess, you need to cut your hair and stop wearing jeans at a certain age too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

Data was from Star Trek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

I’m on the road to 40. Still enjoy gaming.
    I never got into wrestling, comics or sci-fi conventions at any age but I’d find someone in their 30/40s into all of them a bit weird to be honest. Especially those that dress up for the conventions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭gargargar

The question is, have you grown up yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,215 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

You seem a little traditional about life to be honest. Not everybody is like that anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Get Real

You say you don't want him to be a grown man buying front row tickets to a wrestling match. Would you mind if your other son was a grown man buying tickets to a premier league match?

He has different interests to your usual "football type" Young lad. But what's the difference? One seems to be more popular and acceptable, and I've an interest in football and soccer myself. But at the end of the day, grown men follow it just like children and teens do.

I don't see a problem with your son being different in his interests, fair play to him. Takes even bigger balls to be like that. If you yourself may not be interested, I think you should at least show interest. He's not taking drugs or anything. He's a young man following what he's into.

Edit:now that I think about it, don't all men (myself included) have teenage hobbies? Things that young lads and adults alike are into? Be it premier league, gaa, talking about women, playing video games, airsoft, paintball, go karting, formula one?

I never got into wrestling, comics or sci-fi conventions at any age but I’d find someone in their 30/40s into all of them a bit weird to be honest. Especially those that dress up for the conventions.

I'm surprised the gene for this behaviour hasn't disappeared from human DNA, as I presume these people don't breed.

Supports Spurs.

Questions the choices of others. .

I question that choice myself sometimes, Man. Moved to London in the late 80's for work and Spurs became my team. The era of Lineker and Gascoigne etc. Very happy with progress these days though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Firstly those bands are not metal bands. Metallica is barely metal.

Are you one of these lads who needs a br00tal br3akD0wN in drop-A for it to be METAL enough?

OP as long as he stays off the anime I wouldn't be too worried

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

If there your kids would you not just hope there HAPPY ,
    No matter what they like or don't like if they are happy and its hurting anyone else who cares,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Its better than taking drugs and robbing people isnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I am stuck in a terrifying sort of Limbo here. I'm 46, and the only computer game I play is Euro Truck Simulator II. But I went and got the CPC IRL, just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Data was from Star Trek

I feel this is the most worrying thing about this thread!

OP how could you not know this ?

What kind of a childhood did you have ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Playing computer games > watching hours of mindless television

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Reading about what Tommy Tiernan has to say is the most worrying part of your post OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,597 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

What hobbies are grown men allowed to have OP? Shoveling turf and drinking all of their wages down the local on payday?

No matter what they like or don't like if they are happy and its hurting anyone else who cares,

That's all I want for them to be honest, and I'll support them as best as a flawed man like meself can. I'm just wondering if he will continue down the same path, and be stuck in this sort of teenage/adult inbetween world. I don't think that would be too good for him to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

... but I’d find someone in their 30/40s into all of them a bit weird to be honest. Especially those that dress up for the conventions.

I find it odd that anyone over 18 would go to a pub dressed as football player to watch their team play. But this behaviour is considered normal, even particularly masculine, whereas dressing up as other things is not.

But it takes all sorts, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

41266d1344416588ddf6e6897e81a050--ted-quotes-father-ted.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

What about someone in their 30s/40s that dresses up in the costume of a football player from a team 400 miles away and spends his/her evening shouting at an inanimate box in the corner of their living room??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

That's all I want for them to be honest, and I'll support them as best as a flawed man like meself can. I'm just wondering if he will continue down the same path, and be stuck in this sort of teenage/adult inbetween world. I don't think that would be too good for him to be honest.
    You never mentioned what age they where ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,872 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

o1s1n wrote: »
    What hobbies are grown men allowed to have OP? Shoveling turf and drinking all of their wages down the local on payday?
    Others hobbies may include
    - Putting ferrets down their trousers
    - Talking about "the old days"
    - Breaking any technology and asking their children to fix it
    - knocking the wife about a bit

El Tarangu wrote: »
    I find it odd that anyone over 18 would go to a pub dressed as football player to watch their team play. But this behaviour is considered normal, even particularly masculine, whereas dressing up as other things is not.

But it takes all sorts, I suppose.

People who go around dressed as a footballer (unless they are playing football) are commonly referred to as "full kit w@nkers" and are rarely seen anywhere. If you mean people who wear football jerseys, sure probably 70% of the country do between soccer and football at some point in the year.

gmisk wrote: »
    Others hobbies may include
    - Putting ferrets down their trousers
    - Talking about "the old days"
    - Breaking any technology and asking their children to fix it
    - knocking the wife about a bit

T'would take some practise to do all four at once - could get the ferrets riled up to dangerous effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Gravelly wrote: »
    People who go around dressed as a footballer (unless they are playing football) are commonly referred to as "full kit w@nkers" and are rarely seen anywhere. If you mean people who wear football jerseys, sure probably 70% of the country do between soccer and football at some point in the year.

Rarley see continetntals in football or sports jerseys casually, not sure if it's down to ultras. Seems to be more common in Ireland.